Internet #202035334

Model # 27318

Store SKU #504309

0046609273186

Empire

18 in. Stiff Ruler

  • Ideal for measuring surfaces up to 18 in.
  • Durable stainless steel construction
  • Features 1/16 in. and mm graduations
$ 8 49
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

18-inch ruler featuring a hole on the end for easy hanging


Hole Allows for Easy Hanging

A hook on the end of this ruler makes it easy to hang when it is not in use, keeping it in easy reach.

18-inch stainless steel ruler designed for lasting strength


Stainless Steel Construction for durability

Thick stainless steel construction makes this ruler a lasting tool with a straight edge.

Stainless steel ruler with inch and mm markings


Clear Markings in Inches and Millimeters

Bold black markings in both inches and mm make it easy to get a precise measurement using this ruler.

  • Ideal for measuring surfaces up to 18 in.
  • Durable stainless steel construction
  • Features 1/16 in. and mm graduations
The Empire 18 in. Stiff Ruler is designed for long-term use. The ruler is crafted with stainless steel for strength and durability and features etched black graduations, allowing measurements to be read more clearly. It also features inch measurements up to 16ths and metric measurements up to millimeters. It has a hanging hole for easy storage.
  • Stainless steel construction
  • Graduations read in 8ths, 16ths, and millimeters
  • Permanent and accurate photo-engravings/electrolytical etchings
  • Heavy-duty aluminum straight edge – 1 1⁄8" width
  • Extra thick material for added durability
  • Hang hole included for convenient storage
  • 1 year limited warranty



Product Overview

  • Ideal for measuring surfaces up to 18 in.
  • Durable stainless steel construction
  • Features 1/16 in. and mm graduations
Model #: 27318
Sku #: 504309
Internet #: 202035334

The Empire 18 in. Stiff Ruler is designed for long-term use. The ruler is crafted with stainless steel for strength and durability and features etched black graduations, allowing measurements to be read more clearly. It also features inch measurements up to 16ths and metric measurements up to millimeters. It has a hanging hole for easy storage.

  • Stainless steel construction
  • Graduations read in 8ths, 16ths, and millimeters
  • Permanent and accurate photo-engravings/electrolytical etchings
  • Heavy-duty aluminum straight edge – 1 1⁄8" width
  • Extra thick material for added durability
  • Hang hole included for convenient storage
  • 1 year limited warranty



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Empire Empire Milwaukee
Name 36 in. Old Time Wooden Yardstick 6 in. Pocket Ruler 18 in. Stiff Ruler 78 in. Composite Folding Ruler
Price
98¢
$1.97
$8.49
$17.24
Ratings (25) (14) (42) (54)
Measurement Standard SAE Metric,SAE Metric,SAE SAE
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
.031 in
Assembled Height (in.)
20.25 in
Assembled Width (in.)
2.25 in

Details

Foldable
No
Hand Tool Type
Ruler
Material
Steel
Measurement Standard
Metric,SAE
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Hand Tool

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Product is warranteed on a manufacturer's defect.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
.031 in
Assembled Height (in.)
20.25 in
Assembled Width (in.)
2.25 in

Details

Foldable
No
Hand Tool Type
Ruler
Material
Steel
Measurement Standard
Metric,SAE
Returnable
90-Day
Tools Product Type
Hand Tool

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Product is warranteed on a manufacturer's defect.

Questions & Answers

I need a ruler without a cork back. Is this what I am looking at?

I need a ruler without a cork back. Is this what I am looking at?
Asked by: Hats
No cork here
Answered by: BraseltonDad
Date published: 2018-12-07

How thick is this ruler? I want to use it as a guide for a rotary cutter.

How thick is this ruler? I want to use it as a guide for a rotary cutter.
Asked by: Anonymous
It's 1 mm thickness and made by stainless steel.
Answered by: Alexandre
Date published: 2019-06-20
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_2
  • loc_, sid_202035334, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 91ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

18 in. Stiff Ruler is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to useWell bult... Easy to useWell bult
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Has a Crook in it In woodworking terms, this ruler has a Crook (curve) in it, which makes it worthless.
Date published: 2016-12-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good sized ruler with multiple scales...good for the shop Sometimes my tape measure is not the right measuring tool - particularly for certain woodworking projects. A ruler works better. This 18-inch ruler is a good size for projects that require precision. I have found that 12-inch rulers are generally not long enough and anything plastic will either bend or get nicked and then quickly become useless. This ruler solves the problem. 1. The markings do not start at the end, so you are sure that the first inch of the ruler is a full inch, and not worn down or cut just a hair short 2. There are two sets of scales, plus metric: 1/16" on one side, 1/32" on the other and MM on both sides 3. Stiff, but still flexible The only thing to note is that this ruler is stiff, not rigid. It is slightly flexible even though it is made of stainless steel.
Date published: 2015-02-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handy length Nice rule. Only complaint is I would rather have scale begin at the edge of the material rather than a quarter inch in.
Date published: 2013-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from stainless steel ruler---excellent product right size, right graduations, stainless, perfect---very reasonable price---free shipping--what more could you ask for
Date published: 2011-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I would like to have been able to buy it in 12 inches instead of 18, but we needed some rulers wi... I would like to have been able to buy it in 12 inches instead of 18, but we needed some rulers without cork and this was all I could find.
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dual scales. Markings don't start at edge. HD Store SKU # 504309. The ruler markings start about 1/8" from the left end. On the front the top scale is in 32nds and the bottom scale is in millimeters that has stamped 10, 20, ... 450. On the back the top scale is in 16ths and the bottom is in millimeters. The only thing I'm worried about is if this "stainless" steel rulers can corrode. I'm using it for photo mats. It is made in India and inspected in the USA.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I needed an 18" straight edge to check the relief on my guitar neck while I adjusted the action. ... I needed an 18" straight edge to check the relief on my guitar neck while I adjusted the action. I looked in several stores and was about to give up finding what I was looking for. Then I thought I would try Home Depot and I found exactly what I needed. The ruler was the right length and weight and allowed me to determine the relief on the neck was where I wanted it to be.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the ruler- easy to sanitize since I yse it... Love the ruler- easy to sanitize since I yse it for measuring pastry dough! Nice length for all my bakes!
Date published: 2019-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice high quality ruler. Nice high quality ruler.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to read and well made. Not 5 stars because index doesn't start at 0 but closer to 1/8" so c... Easy to read and well made. Not 5 stars because index doesn't start at 0 but closer to 1/8" so can't use as inside measuring device.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fits in my pocket and it's easy to see markings.... fits in my pocket and it's easy to see markings. This is why I purchased this product.
Date published: 2018-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from its a awesome ruler. its a awesome ruler.
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good rigid design.... Good rigid design.
Date published: 2018-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light weight and sturdy I am using this product as a straight edge as well as a measurement tool. I was looking for a ruler about 1 1/2 inches wide. This one is only an inch, but is working well, I was also afraid this item might be too light, but it works great and is much easier to work with and transport than the yard stick I was using before. Because the product is metal, I don't have to worry about shaving off parts of the wooden yardstick with my rotary cutter. I would highly recommend this product. It has made my task much easier.
Date published: 2014-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for, made of just the... Exactly what I was looking for, made of just the right metal and priced well. Recommended. Now I will look for a same in 1 meter length
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Measures up! I lost my original metal ruler and it was time for a replacement. I ordered this ruler and was happy it arrived with a vinyl sleeve that I was able to mount to the side of my work table. Now I have a handy place to keep it so I don't lose it again. The ruler is a good quality and the numbers and measurements are all etched into the metal. I expect this to be the last ruler that I will need to purchas (as long as I don't lose it again.) I would recommend this as a good everyday item.
Date published: 2015-04-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from High quality, straight and accurate This is a great rule. It's pretty stiff and sufficiently thick to run a pencil or knife against. The etching is very strong and easy to read. Being stainless, I don't have to worry about rust leaving it in my garage which is not climate controlled. The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is because the graduations (measurements) do not start at the edges of the rule. This makes getting inside measurements a little tricky. For the price, you definitely cannot go wrong.
Date published: 2015-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2018-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The ruler will work perfectly ... The ruler will work perfectly
Date published: 2018-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Because it is metal, the edges do not become dented like the plastic rulers and t... Great product. Because it is metal, the edges do not become dented like the plastic rulers and the length is perfect at 18 inches. it covers more grounds when making lines and marking longer pieces of paper, etc...
Date published: 2017-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only 1 thing stiffer than this ruler This was truly an epic ruler. "Empire" really is a proper name for this device. It draws a remarkably straight line. And as for stiffness? It's right up there with the stiffest
Date published: 2017-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ruler It's a ruler! I like the metal ruler because with the wood rulers the edge pulls out or tweaks. I like to use it as a straight edge as well as a measuring tool. Sometimes 12 inches isn't enough!
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am using the ruler to make a measuring devise... I am using the ruler to make a measuring devise for my table and it is working out well
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent, rigid, and thick. Works great and well worth the money. Excellent, rigid, and thick. Works great and well worth the money.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Is what advertised nice number reading Is what advertised nice number reading
Date published: 2017-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I love my new dryer. It has the settings that i desire for different fabrics. It is quiet, and easy to use.
Date published: 2015-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stiffy The ruler worked well for what I needed it for and will be handy in the future.
Date published: 2017-03-21
  • y_2019, m_7, d_15, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_, sid_202035334, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 63ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT