#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202059049

Model #1222

Store SKU #253045

Store SO SKU #1000897582

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge

  • Moen cartridge easy to install and reliable with no leaks
  • Reviewers suggest using a cartridge removal tool
  • Comes with a twisting cap for loosening the installed cartridge
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

This Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge is designed for use with MOEN faucets. This durable, attractive cartridge is made of solid brass and offers hot/cold operation. Moen shower faucet cartridge replacement.
  • Replaces MOEN Posi-Temp cartridges
  • MOEN Posi Temp cartridge replacement includes twisting cap to loosen installed cartridge
  • Instructions included
  • MOEN shower cartridge replacement is for use with MOEN faucets
  • MOEN genuine part
  • MOEN shower faucet cartridge replacement has a limited lifetime warranty

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Faucet Cartridges

Single-Handle Replacement Cartridge
current product
Best SellerPosi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge
NAIAD Metering Faucet Cartridge with Fast Cycle Time Closure with Chrome Finish Knob238AB Metering Cartridge Push Button
BrandMOENMOENChicago FaucetsT&S
NameSingle-Handle Replacement CartridgePosi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower CartridgeNAIAD Metering Faucet Cartridge with Fast Cycle Time Closure with Chrome Finish Knob238AB Metering Cartridge Push Button
Price
Ratings
(302)
(1616)
(0)
(3)
Plumbing Part TypeCartridgeCartridgeCartridgeCartridge
ApplicationTub & ShowerTub & ShowerBathroom Sink,Kitchen Sink,Laundry/UtilityKitchen Sink
MaterialBrassMetalBrassMetal
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
0.9375 in
Product Height (in.)
4 in
Product Width (in.)
0.9375 in

Details

Application
Tub & Shower
Color/Finish
Brass
Color/Finish Family
Chrome
Fits Faucet Brand
Moen
Handle Part Type
Cartridges
Material
Metal
Pack Size
1
Plumbing Part Type
Cartridge
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Lifetime Warranty

Questions & Answers

104Questions41Answers

Sometimes I get a lot of hot water, sometimes I just get a small stream. Could this be the proble...

Asked by daveinmi April 27, 2021
3
Answers

Hello daveinmi and thank you for your interest in Moen products. Based on the information given, you may have some debris caught inside the inner balancing spool, which is blocking the hot water from entering the cartridge. As the original owner of the shower fixture, you can call our toll free number for a warranty replacement. If you have additional questions, please feel free to call us at 800-289-6636. Our current business hours are Monday through Friday from 9:00 am - 5:30 pm (Eastern Time).

Does this thing have a part number?

Asked by MR March 18, 2021
5
Answers

Model #1222

hi I have a old cartridge marked as "103258", and I need to replace it. can I use this model to ...

Asked by SERKAN March 17, 2021
3
Answers

Hello Serkan and thank you for your interest in Moen products. The Moen Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge is the correct cartridge replacement for your 103258 valve. If you have additional questions, please feel free to call us at 800-289-6636. Our business hours are 9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m. Eastern Time Monday through Friday.

Does it come with the set screw? My old one is so corroded, I'll have to use a drill & extractor...

Asked by Sam March 2, 2021
4
Answers

Only comes with valve and the grease to install the new valve.

Does the water supply need to be shut off in order to replace the cartridge ? Thanks for any res...

Asked by JS January 22, 2021
5
Answers

Yes it does need to be turned off.

I put a new Moen 1222 cartridge, But it still leaking water from showerhead

Asked by Paul December 31, 2020
5
Answers

The valve may need replacing. We have very hard water in Arizona and the calcium builds up inside the valve where the cartridge is seated. If you don't clean it out, it can deform or, scat the seals on the cartridge and cause it to leak/drip. Often times, I very carefully, so as not to gouge the brass, scrape the worst of the buildup from the valve with a knife. Then I use a scrounge pad and medium to fine steel wool to finish the job. You never want to use emory paper. Hope this helps.

Replace the cartridge and now the water will not shut off both cold and warm my running equally

Asked by Jesse December 31, 2020
2
Answers

Hello Jesse and thank you for your interest in Moen products. The Moen Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge should be installed with the brass stem of the cartridge with the notch at the end of it facing down at 6 o clock for the off position. If you have additional questions, please feel free to call us at 800-289-6636. Our current business hours are Monday through Friday from 9:00 am – 5:30 pm (Eastern Time).

Is there any other cartridge compatible with 1222 moen cartridge

Asked by Meoff November 12, 2020
5
Answers

I do believe there are other manufacturers

Can you replace a moen 1221 cartridge with 1222

Asked by KK October 24, 2020
4
Answers

I didn't see where you could do that. I checked Moen page and ti seemed to say I needed to replace a 1222 with a 1222 which worked great.

Water not mixing

Asked by LadyG October 11, 2020
5
Answers

May need a new cartridge

Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 1,617 reviews
  • 88% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 1,617 reviews
Read this! Super poor quality.
My house was built new and is now 8 years old. I purposefully avoided "builder grade" fixtures. Only two of them were Moen in the whole house. BOTH have failed within 8 years. The first one after 4 years and the second at the 8 year mark. First one, I could not turn off the water (Posi-Temp 1222). When I went to another plumbing supply house with the old failed part in hand, I was told that this part is used in builder grade, track home quality fixtures - awesome.... Here is the very serious part of my story - the second cartridge failure (the other Moen faucet I purchased - same model as first one) failed in such a way that it leaked both outside the shower wall and INSIDE the wall from the handle stem ruining my Kitchen ceiling below. When all is said and done, the failure of these parts will cost me a few thousand dollars. What happened to American made pride (Manufactured in the US with imported parts" - translation: Likely means assembled in the US with foreign parts). For what I paid for these fixtures, they should come with a Brass cartridge, not this piece of garbage plastic thing. I am a handy guy with a lot of life experience and work in the Manufacturing world and it is my opinion that this component is a shameful joke. I don't mind paying more for quality, but I seem to have been deprived of that option here. OK - Moen Customer Support, now you can reply with your canned Copy & Paste response: "Moen cartridges do not have an estimated life expectancy and are subject to standard maintenance based on varying factors such as system pressure and regional water conditions". Are you kidding me - "Moen cartridges do not have an estimated life expectancy" - who would say such a thing. Does Moen realize that is paramount to saying "it could last a day or 364 days". Additionally, I am pretty suspicious of all the "positive reviews" here. I am a pretty busy person, like most people are. Who has the time to write all these positive reviews. I only write them when in Shepard mode and feel I have to warn the public. Lastly, I am used to these parts lasting 20 years or more - not, "we can't tell you how long it may last".
by
Response from MoenJan 15, 2021
Hello JoeNuccio we are sorry to hear your Moen Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge leaked for you. The issue described in your review would have been best handled under Moen’s limited lifetime warranty. As the original purchaser of the Moen Posi-Temp rough in valve, you could have contacted Moen directly; we would have been happy to troubleshoot the issue and show you we stand by our products. Should you require any warranty or pre-purchase assistance, please feel free to call us at 800-289-6636. Our business hours are 9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m. Eastern Time Monday through Friday. Moen
5 people found this helpful
Perfect fit for MOEN single handle hot cold shower faucet
At first, It was almost impossible to pull the old cartridge out. I tried the plastic puller that came with the new cartridge, it was very flimsy and the thing just froze in there. Luckily, I was prepared, did my research and went ahead and bought the DANCO Cartridge Puller for MOEN. I have seen and watch reviews and they used this tool to pull stucked cartridge. After about 5 mins of turning left to right and pull out motion (repeatedly), I was able to pull it out, The black rubber around the old cartridge disintegrated in pieces. It looked like it clanged and bonded with the metal insert inside. I cleaned it off and used shop vac to take out small debris and particles around it. Once I cleaned it off, put it back the way I took it out just reverse process. I am not a handyman savvy type of guy, I work in the financial field. I managed to do this on my own and saved me $300 worth of plumbing service. The part cost me $49.00 and it came with the grease. I highly suggest you use that grease and lube on that sucker so when next time you need to replace it, it will be a little easier. Another helpful trick is that I was taking pictures step by step on how it looked like taking off the part so I know how to put it back. Your welcome!!!
by Junbugg
18 people found this helpful
easy to replaced,
easy to replaced,
by Handiman
4 people found this helpful
Easy to install so far no problem
Easy to install so far no problem
by Cj
2 people found this helpful
Moen is very "proud" ($) of their products but I have found them to be a reliable brand. Although...
Moen is very "proud" ($) of their products but I have found them to be a reliable brand. Although I purchased this product I ended up not needing it to resolve an issue I thought I had. Home Depot is GREAT about taking product back. The Posi-Temp Moen shower valve solved all the hot/cold issues we were having while taking a shower and a toilet flushing or the washing machine running. No more "Shock Therapy"!!
by DIYMoBob
I am absolutely sick of changing this part almost every 1 and half year on all 3 floors and 5 bat...
I am absolutely sick of changing this part almost every 1 and half year on all 3 floors and 5 bathroom on our house. About $50 for this part is absolutely ripoff there are entire units sold $75-$100 but they are ripping you off with this piece of junk just for a replacement part. We have a brand new house and unfortunately we chose Moen on all 5 bathroom on 3 floors and this part is keep failing. First it becomes tough to open and close the water then one day when you are done showering you cannot close the water it turns but doesn't do anything and i have to run to basement and shut the main water. This is a constant nightmare which occurs constantly, i fix one floor then couple months later the tenant knocks the door in the middle of the night and ask me to shut down the water. I am so sick of the constant repair but i also don't want to spend thousands to bring a plumper and change the entire units with a different brand.
by SmartShopper
Response from MoenAug 12, 2019
Thank you Smartshopper so much for the feedback you posted on the Home Depot website. Moen takes consumer comments very seriously and we are delighted to have the opportunity to assist you. When you purchase a Posi-Temp Pressure Balanced Shower Cartridge, it includes a 1-year warranty. Unfortunately, cartridges do not have a life expectancy as a number of factors can cause them to fail including quality of water, debris passing into it and amount of use. I would recommend ensuring that the valve is cleaned and flushed prior to installing the new cartridge, which should help prevent them from failing so fast. For warranty assistance, please contact Moen at 800-289-6636. Our business hours are 8:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. Monday through Friday Eastern Standard Time.
48 people found this helpful
Works great. Highly recommend purchasing the cartridge puller (sold separately). Would not have ...
Works great. Highly recommend purchasing the cartridge puller (sold separately). Would not have gotten it out without it
by Jeff
2 people found this helpful
fit and replaced the old one perfectly.
fit and replaced the old one perfectly.
by HomeDepotCustomer
Stoped the leak
Stoped the leak
by Rock
Good
Good
by Carpe
1 person found this helpful
Showing 1-10 of 1,617 reviews