Internet #203367172

Model # 266164

Store SO SKU #1000111027

0320066044207

Varathane

1-qt. Traditional Cherry Stain and Polyurethane (2-Pack)

  • Provides stain color and protects interior wood in one easy step
  • Durable finish with rich, even color in less time
  • Fast drying formula covers 125 sq. ft. per quart
$ 30 58 /case
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • Provides stain color and protects interior wood in one easy step
  • Durable finish with rich, even color in less time
  • Fast drying formula covers 125 sq. ft. per quart
Varathane 1 qt. Traditional Cherry Stain and Polyurethane (2 Pack) are a fast and simple solution that allows you to stain and protect wood in just one step. Use to highlight wood's beauty on furniture, cabinets and more. Superior scratch resistance.
  • Perfect for interior wood finishing projects like furniture, trim, cabinets, doors and paneling
  • Covers 125 sq. ft.
  • Semi-gloss sheen
  • Durable, scratch-resistant formula is fast drying
  • Rich, deep colors
  • Dries in 1 hour
  • Cleans up with soap and water
  • Online Price includes Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, MN, OR, RI, VT
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Overview

  • Provides stain color and protects interior wood in one easy step
  • Durable finish with rich, even color in less time
  • Fast drying formula covers 125 sq. ft. per quart
Model #: 266164
Internet #: 203367172

Varathane 1 qt. Traditional Cherry Stain and Polyurethane (2 Pack) are a fast and simple solution that allows you to stain and protect wood in just one step. Use to highlight wood's beauty on furniture, cabinets and more. Superior scratch resistance.

  • Perfect for interior wood finishing projects like furniture, trim, cabinets, doors and paneling
  • Covers 125 sq. ft.
  • Semi-gloss sheen
  • Durable, scratch-resistant formula is fast drying
  • Rich, deep colors
  • Dries in 1 hour
  • Cleans up with soap and water
  • Online Price includes Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, MN, OR, RI, VT
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar

Compare Similar Products
Brand Varathane Varathane Varathane Varathane
Name 1 qt. Ebony Premium Fast Dry Interior Wood Stain 1-qt. Traditional Cherry Stain and Polyurethane (2-Pack) 1 qt. Black Cherry Stain and Polyurethane (2-Pack) 1 qt. Dark Walnut Stain and Polyurethane (2-Pack)
Price
$8.98
$30.58 /case
$30.58 /case
$30.58 /case
Ratings (1750) (36) (40) (59)
Container Size 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart 1 QT-Quart
Transparency Transparent Transparent Transparent Transparent
Coverage Area (sq. ft.) 275 125 125 125
View Product View Product View Product View Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 QT-Quart
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
125

Details

Application Method
Brush
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Traditional Cherry
Dry to touch (min.)
60
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
2
Paint/Stain Base Material
Water
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Key Features
Stain & Poly in One
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Shellac, Lacquer & Polyurethane
Returnable
90-Day
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
1
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 QT-Quart
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
125

Details

Application Method
Brush
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Traditional Cherry
Dry to touch (min.)
60
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
2
Paint/Stain Base Material
Water
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Key Features
Stain & Poly in One
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Shellac, Lacquer & Polyurethane
Returnable
90-Day
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
1
Transparency
Transparent

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Questions & Answers

Does it cover up scratches on table surfaces

None
Asked by: Ahmedking
no, it's polyurethane. You have to do a surface prep, sanding smooth.
Answered by: francois
Date published: 2019-01-06

Does it work on hardwood floors?

Has anyone used this on hardwood floors and can it be applied with a roller instead of a brush?
Asked by: captnmaximus
same as before, not why I brought it.
Answered by: Isaac
Date published: 2018-09-19

Can I apply Stain + Poly over previously polyurethaned oak cabinets with out stripping/major sand...

Can I apply Stain + Poly over previously polyurethaned oak cabinets with out stripping/major sanding? I want to change my kitchen from natural oak to a deeper color like Weathered Gray.
Asked by: Linda
Yes, it's the same as applying a new coat of polyurethane over existing polyurethane except it as a stain in it.
Answered by: francois
Date published: 2019-01-05
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_3
  • loc_, sid_203367172, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 7ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

1-qt. Traditional Cherry Stain and Polyurethane (2-Pack) is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 36.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stain, my door looks great... Great stain, my door looks great
Date published: 2019-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had 50 yr old interior hollow core doors that were stained without a sealant finish that sorely... I had 50 yr old interior hollow core doors that were stained without a sealant finish that sorely needed refinishing. After giving them a light sanding, I applied Varathane Stain+Poly with great results. Compared to just stain, I found the V Stain+Poly much easier to control and spread when using a brush. I used two to four coats on my doors depending on the existing color. When done, my doors all had matching color with a good shine. I could have stopped at that point as the finish is very good but I wanted to go just a little further. I followed up with another two coats Varathane clear semi-gloss. The end result is a rich and deep finish that has my old interior doors looking as good as my new exterior doors.
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from just what you need This product is exactly what you need for any project. Either professional or a do it yourselfers can successfully use this product, and make your project look perfect and expensive.
Date published: 2014-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use. Love the one step process. Went on evenly and dried to touch in an hour. So easy to use
Date published: 2014-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from true product I'm a wood worker and I will say for the money and availability you can not beat this product. It dries quick and evenly. It won't be gracious if you mess up staining , you will need to sand down again and reapply the product. I highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the self-pickup lockers! Arrived sooner than estimated at purchase... Love the self-pickup lockers! Arrived sooner than estimated at purchase time.
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for faded entry door Used on my faded entry door. Application was easy using micro fiber cloth. Sanded the door first with some 200 grit sand paper to roughen the surface. Taped the edges at the glass and just wiped the product on. Used two to three coats. Looks way better than before. No need to use brush, micro fiber cloth is a lot quicker. Remember to wear latex gloves.
Date published: 2016-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work on oak very well. Difficult to... Does not work on oak very well. Difficult to get the color deeper
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! The stain and polyurethane worked great, doing two jobs at once!
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from As for the product - love it. MAJOR disappointment... As for the product - love it. MAJOR disappointment that HD no longer stocks. I have to buy 2 qts at a time! How am I supposed to mix and match and rely on as a paint contractor. All oil in store. Tried it. Don’t like it as much. R&D may have screwed this up. May have to shop Menards in stock
Date published: 2018-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this color and product ... I love this color and product
Date published: 2018-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this product!❤ I love this product!❤
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stain works great, goes on easily and the brush cleans up fast with just water. However, like mos... Stain works great, goes on easily and the brush cleans up fast with just water. However, like most stains and polys you need to do 3 coats to get the shine to show up with a light sanding inbetween coats. This worked great on my White Pine ship-lap ceiling in a mudroom rebuild I put up. I then white-washed the same boards for the walls and the ceiling really popped at that point
Date published: 2017-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kitchen Shelves The shelves came out great. It was very easy to stir and to make sure the color was all mixed in, and it did not get any of the tiny bubbles that sometimes happens when stirring other polyurethane. As for clean up, it was very easy, just soap and water. I really like the Varathane product. I will use this again.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to use. Great finish that seems to... Very easy to use. Great finish that seems to be very durable. I used this product to refinish all my cabinets in the house and the project turned out awesome. Project needed two coats to get the desired finish. Just make sure you mix well before applying.
Date published: 2017-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works ok. Would not do nice furniture with it. ... Works ok. Would not do nice furniture with it. It’s quick!
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was as easy as the Home Depot rep Ray... It was as easy as the Home Depot rep Ray told me!
Date published: 2018-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really like this product. Refinishing is not my favorite thing to do. Refinishing with the stain/poly combination really simplifies the process. It was not at all difficult to get a smooth, even finish. And adding a second coat did not appreciably darken the color over the first coat. And clean-up was really easy.
Date published: 2016-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am very happy I went with Varathane, instead of going with the traditional minwax. I am very happy I went with Varathane, instead of going with the traditional minwax.
Date published: 2018-01-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 5 Star Review Rating provided by a verified purchaser
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job just watch for runs. Roll over and blend runs before they set up. Easy to apply wit... Did the job just watch for runs. Roll over and blend runs before they set up. Easy to apply with small foam roller. Easy soap and water clean up.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Covered much better than I expected. Color was as deep... Covered much better than I expected. Color was as deep as it was supposed to be.
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stain was very easy to work with I used two... Stain was very easy to work with I used two coats and turned out beautiful.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use,color is beautiful cherrywood,love the gloss dries fast... Easy to use,color is beautiful cherrywood,love the gloss dries fast
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The varathane went on very easy and covered completely... The varathane went on very easy and covered completely
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Water base gave bad finish ... Water base gave bad finish
Date published: 2017-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well Color was accurate and covered smoothly with foam brush.
Date published: 2016-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product great product
Date published: 2017-04-12
  • y_2019, m_7, d_22, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_36
  • loc_, sid_203367172, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 58ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT