No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (13)
  • Precise and accurate
  • December 24, 2010
  • Recommended Product

This saw is both precise and accurate. I can cut the same cut multiple times and it's on the mark each time. I originally bought the Ridgid 10" miter because it was $30 cheaper, but ended up returning it because the cuts just were not accurate. I'm very pleased with this tool - it does everything it claims to do and it does it well. The only thing the saw doesn't have that I would like is a clamp. Without a built in clamp I find that my own clamps sometimes get in the way when doing bevel cuts (especially when the board is shorter). Therefore, you have to play around a bit to get the piece clamped down properly.

Tristan

Vermont
52 out of 52 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Tristan
  • It's my first time to own a miter saw, and I bought this DeWalt to replace a Ryobi that I had got...
  • September 28, 2017
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

It's my first time to own a miter saw, and I bought this DeWalt to replace a Ryobi that I had gotten a couple of weeks prior. I wanted an entry-level saw, and was shopping primarily by price. After trying out the Ryobi, I realized I needed a better machine, so I returned it and got this DeWalt. My primary reason was the accuracy and stability of the angle selection. This DeWalt clicks over to 45 or wherever, and stays there. Not 44, not 46, but 45. I felt like the Ryobi I had first purchased was hit-or-miss when selecting an angle. There was too much wiggle, and I didn't think the cuts would be repeatable with enough accuracy. This alone was worth the extra money that I paid for the DeWalt. It's well-built, and feels like a more professional machine. My first project was a leather stitching pony, and I'm happy with the results. I think the DeWalt will be a long-lasting addition to my hobby shop, and will work well for the projects I have in mind. Having said that, there are two things that disappointed me: 1) the bevel locking knob on the back of the machine is plastic, whereas the floor model I saw had a nice anodized aluminum knob, and 2) there's no work clamp included with the saw. DeWalt has one available, but it's overpriced, in my opinion. Those two exceptions were disappointing, but the quality of the machine and it's operation keeps me happy with my decision, and I can recommend this DeWalt DW713 for hobbyists and professionals.

Video & Photo

rustyinMS

34 out of 34 people found this helpful
more details...
By: rustyinMS
  • The Best Miter Saw I've Ever Owned
  • March 19, 2013
  • Recommended Product

I love woodworking, and before my wife bought me this saw, I did all of my cutting by hand, and by hand I mean miter box and hand saw. It was a great workout, and after many failed attempts I did start to get strait square cuts. After my wife got me this a year ago, I think I’ve only used my hand saw once. I use it for almost everything, from 4x4’s to 1x2’s and even some crown molding for some bookshelves I made one. With the vacuum attachment dust collection is a snap, my work and work area stays clean and safe. With the Precision Track and Stop System also from Home Depot, I can break the golden rule of cutting, measure once cut once, or twice, of 10 times. It’s a perfect saw if you love woodworking and are just getting started.

Pros Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting

Video & Photo

  • DIY

ClassicGarage

Kansas, USA
25 to 34, Male
32 out of 32 people found this helpful
more details...
By: ClassicGarage
  • Good Piece of Equipment for the Price Paid
  • June 12, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

The equipment worked right out of the box, and no calibration was necessary, and is perfect for those non-professionals who do a lot of woodworking around the house. It comes with a general purpose blade, so one will have to purchase a 60 or 80 tooth blade if doing trim work. Finally, the LED worklight system is a better value for those wanting precision cuts than the laser system, which requires frequent calibration. The only negative I can think of is that some of the attachments are rather pricey, and not easily found. For example, the DW7082 Vertical Clamp is out of stock in 80% of the dealers I researched and runs in the area of $50.00, including shipping. Typical clamps hanging around in the shop are not easily used, due to the housing of the unit.

  • DIY

mainecooncat

Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
65 or over, Male
22 out of 22 people found this helpful
more details...
By: mainecooncat
  • Nice saw
  • January 22, 2011
  • Recommended Product

I was borrowing the DeWalt 12" double bevel sliding miter from my father-in-law and decided to buy this one so I had my own. I really like the size of it because for me it's easy to store away. The 12" he had was just plain huge, and heavy. This 10" has plenty of room to cut trim and crown and you can feel the quality of the saw when cutting. I've used it for about 100 cuts so far and it's great. No complaints, it's a great saw if you want to store it when not in use.

jwandrews

Happy Valley, PA
21 out of 21 people found this helpful
more details...
By: jwandrews
  • Everything was square out of the box. I always go over my tools before ever using the first time ...
  • July 13, 2017
  • Recommended Product

Everything was square out of the box. I always go over my tools before ever using the first time to make sure they are going to be accurate, Built like a tank, yet simple and functional, a well designed and proven product from Dewalt. Negatives? No clamp, No laser. I would have rather had these than a blade which I did not use at all. Dust collection is terrible at best, but it makes square 90 deg cuts and right on 45 deg miters for my woodworking projects. Now I don't have to tear down the table saw set up (dado and box joints) to cut my boards to finish length or to make my precision miters. I do box making and I like to test cut box joints on my stock, then cut to length and re cut the finish box joints. Now I can do all of this without and tear downs!

Video & Photo

  • DIY

fb

65 or over, Male
14 out of 14 people found this helpful
more details...
By: fb
  • This is a great saw, right out of the box
  • June 05, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

I wavered back and forth over this model or others and am very happy with my choice. Easy to use, accurate, solid, reasonable price. I'm old school, don't need or want a laser or other stupid do-dad. Bring the saw down, line up the cut and you have a clean quick cut. Made my own workbench to support it and love my new shop.

  • DIY

bluethroat

Lamar, CO 81052, USA
55 to 64, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: bluethroat
  • Rock solid
  • December 18, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I've burned up more miter saws than most people will own. They're used in a light manufacturing environment and most simply aren't up to hundreds of cycles per day. Although I would've preferred a sliding saw for flexibility to do those odd projects, after playing with the saws in the store, I conceded that I couldn't get the rock-solid stability in a sliding saw that I found in this saw. No side-to-side flex, no blade wobble, no cheap blade guard mechanisms...all just solid. The gears are very quiet too. My last saw growled like an angry badger. If you need a saw that does exactly what it's supposed to do without compromise, every time, get this saw. It's a little more expensive, but worth it, if you can afford it.

Pros Durable, Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting Cons a little pricey
  • Pro

Disappointed

Greenfield, IN
45 to 54, Male
13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Disappointed
  • Oh, what a relief it is.
  • September 18, 2013
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Being 71 years old, female, retired, with arthritic hands and having limited experience doing carpentry, I highly recommend this compound miter saw for work such as cutting crown molding, floor molding, making simple boxes (e.g. for raised gardens) and the like. Never having worked with a compound miter saw before, I didn't even know how to raise the saw, so I called DeWalt. The service was great. At first the technician who answered my call thought I was pulling a prank, but when he realized I was serious, he handled my question with respect and very clear directions, guiding my hand to the release button through his words. The manual is clear and concise; I found the photographs very helpful. All in all, a purchase I'm delighted I made.

Pros Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, excellent manual

Fitzhayes

13 out of 13 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Fitzhayes
  • Smooth operating saw
  • January 19, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

First new saw in many years and I am very pleased with the overall operation, handling and weight. The noise level is great and the dust collector actually catches most of the dust. The angle settings are easy to see and set. I have had it for a few months and really enjoy it.

  • DIY

Cj1947

College Park, MD, USA
55 to 64, Male
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Cj1947