No Results Found

Refine by Rating

Customer Images (12)
  • It snaps just fine into the outlet hole. Works great as a Diffuser....a Muffler it is NOT. I real...
  • March 14, 2017

It snaps just fine into the outlet hole. Works great as a Diffuser....a Muffler it is NOT. I really couldn't tell the noise difference between it with it in or out. Sooo, if you want to buy it to make the vac quiter, don't bother. If you want to buy it to keep the jet of air from blowing everything all over the place in close quarters, then it works great for this application. So, would I recommend this product? As a Muffler....NO; As a Diffuser...YES.

Oly

23 out of 23 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Oly
  • Title of this item is a bit misleading...
  • September 23, 2015
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

In looking on YouTube for more information on this 'muffler', and in reading the reviews here on Home Depot, I really think they should change this from a 'Noise Reduction Muffler', to a Diffuser. Running the exhaust air from the various vacuums through this unit, does not do much in the line of reducing the noise (one video I watched the guy had a DB meter and showed 0.2 reduction in noise), but this 'muffler' does do a good job of diffusing the exhaust air. Most would think that this is a low priority item, but think of what the exhaust is going to do in a wood working shop... The exhaust air coming straight out of the back of the vacuum, stirs up all sorts of dust when it gets even near-by anything that has dust on it. The 'diffuser' does a pretty good job of breaking up that forceful air stream, helping to keep dust on your equipment so it can be vacuumed up, and not blown into the air, making you breathe the fine dust... screwing up a wet finish on something that you just built etc... Well worth the money as a 'Diffuser", but about worthless as a Noise Reduction Muffler - if you ask me (and that is what these reviews are all about - TRUE?? LOL

Pros Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install Cons wrong title
  • DIY

EZgoing

Elmira, NY
55 to 64, Male
18 out of 18 people found this helpful
more details...
By: EZgoing
  • Some improvement to the WD4070
  • February 03, 2011
  • Recommended Product

I added this to my RIDGID 4-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac model WD4070. You can hear a difference. Used a digital sound level meter from 3' and measured 91 dB without the muffler and 88 dB with the muffler in place. It does intrude a bit on the tool storage pocket's capacity. I don't have a way of measuring any loss of suction power but can't imagine there would be any comparing the effects of the 3-ply dust filter with this open cell diffusor. So, yes, it does technically reduce the noise. Overall the quality matches the RIDGID vac including the locking clip. The adapter isn't needed for the WD4070.

  • DIY

dplehman99

Portland, OR
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: dplehman99
  • A necessary attachment
  • October 12, 2011
  • Recommended Product

I think this muffler qulets the noise down of my 4 gallon Ridgid only slightly. It's biggest benefit is to difuse the exhaust to keep things from blowing all over the place when the vacuum is in use. Many other reviews have mentioned this fact and it's true! In fact, when I bought this part today, another gentlemen was buying one, also, because of the same problem. Personally, I think Ridgid should include this part, or something similar, to help with the exhaust problem. If a person had a small length of PVC that would fit in the exhaust hole, it would be easy to cap it off, drill some holes, and you'd have something for free that would do the same job. So, think about picking one of these accessories up if you get a Ridgid vac (or other brand) if keeping flying dust and debris to a minimum is important to you.

  • DIY

RichC

Springfield, PA
12 out of 12 people found this helpful
more details...
By: RichC
  • Keeps dust from flying around, Vac is still loud
  • December 21, 2011
  • Recommended Product

can't notice difference in the sound, but I am going to keep it because it keeps sheetrock dust from flying all over from the exhaust, It should be priced around $6 it is not really worth $13

BigKiller

11 out of 11 people found this helpful
more details...
By: BigKiller
  • Works as Advertised and then some
  • March 01, 2014
  • Recommended Product

I purchase this unit with the Ridgid WD4070 because my last shop vac (15 yrs old) spit out dust from the exhaust port, which is not good when detailing vehicles. I also wanted to muffle the exhaust a bit. I measured the sound level of my unit using a sound meter (at 3’) and the exhaust was 91db without the muffler and 83 db with the muffler. So, while it will not reduce the sound by ½ as someone mention here, it does reduce the sound as advertised. Note: The packaged does not say how much it reduces sound, but that it reduces the sound, so it works as advertised. I wonder how many of the reviewers that said there was no reduction in sound actually measured the sound levels. Oh, it does block the tool storage a bit. I am satisfied and glad I purchased this unit because it reduced sound levels and keeps dust from flying all over the place, which defeats the purpose of vacuuming.

Pros Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design Cons cost
  • DIY

Methodical

Maryland
45 to 54, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Methodical
  • Does Not Reduce Noise
  • September 06, 2010
  • Recommended Product

This product does not work as a noise reduction muffler. However, it does prevent the air from coming out the back, causing dust and dirt flying every where.

CPTHook

Silver Spring, MD
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CPTHook
  • This doesn't reduce noise
  • January 25, 2012
  • Verified Purchase & Recommended Product

Most of the noise made by Rigid Vaccums I've used is from the motor and not by the blowing air out the back. The title/discription of the product is thus misleading. If you read the box, it says it's an air difuser which is much more accurate. My suggested uses: I actually bought this not for it's noise reduction capabilities but for two other purposes which it serves quite well! 1. Difuse the air blowing out the back, working in a dusty environment the outlet often blows the dust around making it harder to clean, this difuses the air so it's not blowing so hard in any one direction. (This also prevents water from blowing out the back when sucking up water.) 2. When sucking up dirty water (like when my sewage backed up in to my basement) the vaccum will suck up all the floaties which easily clog the pump attachment... Using the difuser at the end of the vaccum to suck up dirty water acted as a filter that helped keep the pump clear of debris. Conclusion: If you're looking to prevent dust from blowing behind the vac or using it as a filter for wet debris while using the pump I'd recommend it. If you want it to reduce noise, it ain't happening with this device.

  • DIY

Timberlandbill

Winslow, ME
25 to 34, Male
7 out of 7 people found this helpful
more details...
By: Timberlandbill
  • Does not work
  • June 10, 2010

I was very excited about this muffler. My Ridid shop vac is LOUD. I have the 16 Gallon Detachable Blower Wet/Dry Vac. Maybe for some reason it's different than the vacuums the other reviewers have, I'm not sure. But with my vacuum this muffler did absolutely nothing at all. After I installed it, I noticed that all of the sound is coming from the motor exhaust at the top of the unit, not out of the vacuum exhaust. I'm sad to say this, but in my experience, this is the worst $13 I've ever spent. I will be bringing it back.

CraigV

Rhode Island
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: CraigV
  • makes it better
  • March 19, 2009
  • Recommended Product

it does make it a little quiter takes it down to the house vacum sound or a little less . I would buy it it is good to take the noise down.

djandme

Hendersonville TN
5 out of 5 people found this helpful
more details...
By: djandme