Model # RA100

Internet #100141467

Store SKU #234360

PRO-LAB Radon Gas Test Kit
0683431991002

PRO-LAB

Radon Gas Test Kit

  • The kit includes two (2) short-term radon gas detectors
  • 1 out of 15 homes in the US have high levels of Radon Gas
  • Approximately 22,000 Amerians died each year from Radon Gas
$ 13 70
store icon Loading Buying Options...
package icon Loading Buying Options...
Sorry, but we ran into issues loading these options. Please try refreshing.

Frequently Bought Together

Frequently Bought Together

Product Overview

  • The kit includes two (2) short-term radon gas detectors
  • 1 out of 15 homes in the US have high levels of Radon Gas
  • Approximately 22,000 Amerians died each year from Radon Gas
Radon Gas is the #1 cause of lung cancer to non-smokers and has been found in every state in the US. PRO-LAB radon gas test kit makes it easy to test for odorless, colorless radioactive radon gas in your home, school or office. Testing is the only way to find out if your home has this deadly radioactive gas.
  • Radioactive gas typically moves up through the ground into your home through cracks and other holes in the foundation
  • Test kit comes with 2 detectors which meet EPA and the state requirements for real estate testing
  • 1 in 15 homes in the US have high level of this radioactive gas
  • $40.00 lab analysis fee required for standard lab results
  • Company will notify the consumer once they receive the customers test kit at the lab
  • Company will notify the consumer by email, fax or mail once they receive the test kit at the lab
  • Test kit meets EPA and state standards

Product Overview

  • The kit includes two (2) short-term radon gas detectors
  • 1 out of 15 homes in the US have high levels of Radon Gas
  • Approximately 22,000 Amerians died each year from Radon Gas
Model #: RA100
Sku #: 234360
Internet #: 100141467

Radon Gas is the #1 cause of lung cancer to non-smokers and has been found in every state in the US. PRO-LAB radon gas test kit makes it easy to test for odorless, colorless radioactive radon gas in your home, school or office. Testing is the only way to find out if your home has this deadly radioactive gas.

  • Radioactive gas typically moves up through the ground into your home through cracks and other holes in the foundation
  • Test kit comes with 2 detectors which meet EPA and the state requirements for real estate testing
  • 1 in 15 homes in the US have high level of this radioactive gas
  • $40.00 lab analysis fee required for standard lab results
  • Company will notify the consumer once they receive the customers test kit at the lab
  • Company will notify the consumer by email, fax or mail once they receive the test kit at the lab
  • Test kit meets EPA and state standards

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.25
Product Height (in.)
8
Product Width (in.)
6

Details

Biodegradable
No
Child safe
Yes
Commercial / Residential
Commercial / Residential
Detects/ Tests For
To find out if Radon Gas is a problem in your home or office
Number of Uses
1
Returnable
90-Day
Time Until Results
Mail to Laboratory

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
1.25
Product Height (in.)
8
Product Width (in.)
6

Details

Biodegradable
No
Child safe
Yes
Commercial / Residential
Commercial / Residential
Detects/ Tests For
To find out if Radon Gas is a problem in your home or office
Number of Uses
1
Returnable
90-Day
Time Until Results
Mail to Laboratory

Questions & Answers

Will the kits work if there is a sump pump in the basement. She

Will the kits work if there is a sump pump in the basement. She
Asked by: Curious
Yes, this kit will work as long as you follow the instructions. If I remember correctly, you want to have this kit near the center of the room, a couple feet off the ground. I would not put this into or right next to the sump pump. The majority (if not all) homes with an underground basement will have a sump well and pump. Depending on the size of the basement, you may want to get a couple of these.
Answered by: FunkHowitzer
Date published: 2018-11-11

Does the lab analysis cost $40 total for both tests contained in the kit or $80 total ($40 per test x 2 tests per kit

Asked by: Todd
The $40 is per kit.
Answered by: FunkHowitzer
Date published: 2018-11-11

How long does it take to get results

Asked by: Fred
Took me about 7 to 10 business days
Answered by: TABS
Date published: 2018-10-09

What if you were to paint in a room that was being tested for radon

Asked by: Hoover
I don't think you would get a true response because it says that it needs to be closed and no air movement to get a true response
Answered by: TABS
Date published: 2018-10-09
  • y_2019, m_2, d_16, h_18CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_20
  • loc_, sid_100141467, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=LAST_APPROVED_ANSWER_SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=BEST_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=POSITIVE_ANSWER_FEEDBACK_COUNT, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=NUM_ANSWERS, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 54ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT

Customer Reviews

Radon Gas Test Kit is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 285.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I purchased this kit to test my Michigan basement as I have half-full and half-crawlspace with op... I purchased this kit to test my Michigan basement as I have half-full and half-crawlspace with open dirt floors in the crawlspace. The directions were easy to understand, and the kit was convenient to use because I could perform it when and where I wanted without the hassle of scheduling a technician. I even received the results via email when they were ready. NOTE: Write down your 10 digit registration number on your own copy of the instructions so that you have it!! You need it to look up your results online!! Luckily I wrote it in the memo line of my check so I could see it from my bank statement. Also note, they must receive it within 10 days or the results are invalid. I shipped mine low-priority mail during the holidays, so my results were invalid. However, I was extremely pleased with customer service. I called and spoke with Donna. She explained the reason for the delay being related to the shipping method and sent me a free kit for retesting.
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Communications mishap, but otherwise fine overall Bought the kit and the setup was straightforward. It's two vials you open and place in your basement elevated above the floor for four days, away from drafts and traffic. You record your start and end times/dates, close the vials, and ship prepaid envelope with the filled form. Note though there is an additional 30$ fee for the actual lab testing/results you can pay by cheque or credit card. Communications could have been clearer. They will send results via email and not via regular mail. In addition, they emailed my results to the wrong email address. I knew this because I waited six weeks until I finally gave them a call. They corrected it quickly and resent the results right away to my email address. Had I followed up sooner or they sent it to the right address, the lead time would have been a reasonable two weeks from the time I mailed the vials. Besides this hiccup and the additional lab fee, I recommend this important test be done in your home for added peace of mind.
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not approved test in Canada If you understand radon concentration you would realize the duration of the test is the most important part of radon testing. It continuously changes according to pressures in your home, wind, barometric pressure, HVAC systems etc.... This is a short term test which is like finding out a point on a graph. This test is not approved in Canada only in US. Thermal stack effect changes our levels continuously. This test also is affected by humidity and storage so unless the hardware store is doing quality control this could easily give a false positive. Do you homework. Do not pick the least expensive test as you will have to retest anyway.
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Purchased and sent for testing. Over a week later received an email telling me they "received it... Purchased and sent for testing. Over a week later received an email telling me they "received it late and are prevented from performing the analysis". Told me to go buy another kit from home depot. A real scam! Do not buy and Home Depot should not offer this for sale!
Date published: 2018-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very unprofessional staff, unreliable laboratory. I was in a rush to get the results and paid $90... Very unprofessional staff, unreliable laboratory. I was in a rush to get the results and paid $90.00 for short term testing (2-4 days). I did not hear from them. I called several times nobody answer the phone or return my calls. Nineteen days later received an e-mail informing they could not conduct the test because they had just received the test kit and 19 days had elapsed since the day the test had been mailed out to them. When I questioned two employees why they did not return my calls they became very hostile. I then asked them to speak with Carlos Ochea, director of the lab and they told me he was not available. I was transferred to a man by the name of Ben Molina who informed me he was the Vice-President, also in a very hostile tone of voice, that refused to refund me for the money I sent them. If I had known that there was a limited period to test the kit I would have sent it by overnight mail (I did not see any remark about that on the kit).
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor experience with product. Samples were submitted and had no response from Prolab for a... Very poor experience with product. Samples were submitted and had no response from Prolab for almost 5 weeks. After inquiring via email as to the status, I was informed that the samples were not tested because they arrived too late. I believe without me inquiring, there would have been no response. When asked about a refund for the test kit, I was told to take it up with Home Depot, which there has been no response. Thus far, the experience has been very unsatisfactory and disappointing.
Date published: 2019-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from ..well I have nothing to compare the product to, but... ..well I have nothing to compare the product to, but it was pretty straight forward. You just take off the caps, place them in one of the suggested areas of the home, and leave them there for at least 48 hours. Then fill out some paperwork, put in all in the prepaid envelope and mail it back. Was just informed that they received it, and that they'll let me know within a week what the rating was.
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Another "Don't buy this kit". I see the review below and the exact same thing happened to me around the same time. However, they actually charged me for the analysis, even though they stated that the samples were too old. Same thing regarding post office. 21 days about. They sent me a pre-paid kit which did arrive with the package damaged and no test containers. I emailed customer service again and requested a refund of the analysis fee. It was ignored until I called in person. We will see if I get a refund. It has already been a two month process that now I have to work to get my money back for a test that was never analyzed. Plus, let's not forget the original cost of the test. I assume that something is a miss if the review below is the exact same as mine. Customer service didn't care and now I will no longer use ANY of their tests. HD, consider not using this product. Maybe you would like to refund me the test kit cost!!!??
Date published: 2012-12-28
  • y_2019, m_2, d_16, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.11
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_285
  • loc_, sid_100141467, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_homedepot
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-3.1.1
  • CLOUD, getContent, 126ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT