#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Curb Mount Glass Skylights

Apply Now
Pay $210.10 after $25 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • A skylight visually expands a room and decreases energy needs
  • Replacement for existing old plastic bubble Skylights & more
  • Dual-paned argon gas filled Low-E3 glass for year round comfort
  • View More Details
How to Get It

Product Overview

VELUX skylights are an economical and energy efficient solution for adding more light to dark spaces in your home, as well as decrease the need for artificial light by bringing natural light in from above. Installing a skylight is one of the most impactful ways to enhance the brightness and beauty of a room, transforming ordinary areas into dramatic living spaces. VELUX operable "Fresh Air" skylights can be opened to create a chimney effect that draws air upward to improve air circulation and air quality within your home.
  • Curb mount skylights can be installed on a flat roof, however, VELUX curb mount flashing kits require a roof pitch between 14-60° for a tile roof, or between 10-60° for a shingle, shake or slate roof.
  • VELUX "No Leak" Skylights qualify for the 10-year "No Leak" installation warranty when installed with VELUX flashing (sold separately) for the appropriate roof type and pitch
  • Curb mount skylights are designed to fit a site-built curb (not included) and the skylight size you need is determined by the outside curb dimensions, which are on average 3 inches larger than the rough opening width and length
  • Solar powered curb mount venting skylights (VCS) are eligible for up to a 26% federal tax credit on both product and installation costs, making them very affordable
  • FCM or VCM skylight models with the "Go Solar" option also tax credit-eligible and include a solar powered blind, remote control, and internet gateway, which allows you to operate the blind with your smartphone
  • Solar powered & electric skylights (VCS and VCE) have an integrated rain sensor, which automatically closes the skylight during inclement weather
  • Laminated glass is recommended and is required by most building codes for out of reach applications
  • VELUX "Clean, Quiet and Safe" Low-E3 laminated glass has a Neat glass coating that keeps your skylight cleaner, reduces unwanted outside noise, and comes with a 10-year hail warranty against glass breakage
  • Since most VELUX curb mount skylight models are installed out of reach, manual venting skylights include a hook for operating the skylight, but a ZZZ 212 crank handle is sold separately for in-reach applications
  • Manual venting skylight control rod (ZCT 300) for out of reach applications is sold separately, and can operate multiple skylights
  • California residents see Prop 65 WARNINGS
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 583 reviews
  • 89%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 583 reviews
20 yr old skylight
Velux say lifetime warranty. Not true. I have 5 20 yr old skylights velux. All but on started to leak. Pro installer, no issue with anything but the garbage skylights. I do not recommend velux. Stay away. Second set in my lifetime. Leaking again. 20 yr max.
by
Response from VELUXCustomerServiceTeamSep 13, 2022
VELUX deck and curb mounted skylights have a 10 year product warranty as well as a 10 year No Leak Warranty when installed properly with VELUX flashing. These skylights also have a 20 year hermetic seal warranty for the glass. I'm afraid that we have never offered a Lifetime warranty on any of our products.
    Check them first!
    Of course I meant to check each skylight before installation, but it's easy to get behind when you're getting a new roof and managing an entire upstairs renovation. 3 of the skylights were perfect, but the fourth was the worst caulking job I've ever seen- black caulk smeared across the skylight. I have no idea how this got past quality control, so I'm left assuming that there is no quality control. I've cleaned it up as best I can but it still sucks.
    by
    Response from VELUXCustomerServiceTeamJun 7, 2022
    Thank you very much for your feedback and the photos. I’m sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with one of the skylights you received, and for the inconvenience it caused. There are quality control checks that occur at multiple points during the manufacturing process, so I’m passing along this information to our Product Management team and they will look into it. It would be very helpful if you could please call the VELUX Customer Service phone number at 800-888-3589 to report the issue directly to us and provide your contact information. Thank you for choosing VELUX!
      • Recommended
      Love these two skylights! Vents the cooking moisture and heat...
      Love these two skylights! Vents the cooking moisture and heat out of the kitchen. Brings in fresh air without the bugs. I added diffuser and grid support made from fluorescent lighting plastic. Pure sunlight was too harsh.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Fits like a glove....
      Fits like a glove.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      The skylight fits like a glove on the flashing.
      The skylight fits like a glove on the flashing. Well designed and engineered, NO hassle with alignment or fitting, not often you'll find that the flashing kits fits exact with the skylight. I bought the 22 1/2 x 34 1/2, my review doesn't seem to go under the size of window I bought, anyways, great buy. I'm not a contractor, just a handy DIY guy. Thanks.
      by
        • Recommended
        2 found this review helpful
        Very satisfied with the product. Easy to install with the pamphlet guide and video. This is the p...
        Very satisfied with the product. Easy to install with the pamphlet guide and video. This is the product with no leak.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        Just tested the hook.When I started to turn it by the rod, then it broke into 3 pieces right away...
        Just tested the hook.When I started to turn it by the rod, then it broke into 3 pieces right away. The hook is made by plastic which can not bear the twisting. Now I need to climb a ladder and use my hand to twist the hook manually every time I want to open the sky window.
        by
        Response from VELUXCustomerServiceTeamJan 20, 2020
        We are sorry to hear that this has happened and will be happy to provide you with a replacement. Please call our Customer Service team @ 1-800-888-3589 so that we can get your skylight back in working order again.
          8 found this review helpful
          We had 2 cracked dome plastic skylights that were over 25 years old. Now buying the domed type co...
          We had 2 cracked dome plastic skylights that were over 25 years old. Now buying the domed type costs more than the flat glass, so we ended up buying 4 to make them all match. These VELUX Fixed Curb-Mount Skylights fit perfectly over our existing curbs! Installation was super easy. The flat profile looks so much better from the outside. And the clear glass really brightens the room!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          3 found this review helpful
          We installed a pair of 22.5" x 22.5" solar-powered, fresh-air venting skylights to replace a much...
          We installed a pair of 22.5" x 22.5" solar-powered, fresh-air venting skylights to replace a much older fixed skylight in a vaulted ceiling. UPS delivered both units in perfect condition, arriving here in Hawaii within a few days of it being shipped. The only qualm was finding quite a bit of plastic shavings trapped between the screen and the glass of the skylight, as though it was never cleaned out before testing and packaging the units. Those were easily swept out before the final installation. The installation was easy enough. The most difficult part was finding the "on" switch. There's an opening along the bottom, inside edge of the skylight, and the small red sliding switch was recessed well within that opening. I had to use the blunt end of a barbecue stick to move the switch to the "on" position. After that, programming the remote to operate this solar-powered skylight was simple. The existing curbs for the original skylights were actually slightly undersized which meant additional framing had to be added to the outer perimeter of the original curbs. While this meant the skylights were a perfect fit, it also meant that the screens can't be removed -- because the original light shaft is smaller than it should be for this skylight. We didn't want to cut into the roof and build a whole new curb since the existing one was working fine and wasn't leaking at all. And it's not a big deal that the screens can't be removed. It can still be cleaned when necessary. What caught our attention, when we were looking for a skylight that could be opened, was that these automatically close when it starts raining. We were concerned that one day the skylights would be accidentally left open during a typical unexpected Hawaiian rain shower. Testing it with an artificial rain shower from a garden hose proved that it works as advertised. The skylights open and close slowly, taking around 70 seconds to fully open or close. The best part is that these venting skylights keep hot air from building up due to the vaulted ceiling, and allow the fresh tradewinds to circulate through the room. Time will tell as to how well they hold up. But they worked perfectly the moment they were in place.
          by
            • Recommended
            4 found this review helpful
            Easy install and it really brightens the room!
            Easy install and it really brightens the room!
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Showing 1-10 of 583 reviews