#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #302260280

Model #145801

Store SKU #1002662629

1 gal. White Ceiling Flat Interior Paint & Primer

  • 100 percent acrylic-based paint with a mildew-resistant finish
  • Low-VOC formula promotes safer air quality in your home
  • Backed by a lifetime warranty for your satisfaction
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

BEHR MARQUEE Stain-Blocking Paint and Primer Ceiling Flat is BEHR's most advanced ceiling paint. It offers One-Coat Hide guaranteed in over 200 colors. The 100% acrylic formula delivers an antimicrobial-mildew resistant finish and is spatter and drip resistant, making it ideal for every room in your home.
  • Suitable for use on properly coated drywall/gymsum board, plasterboard, cured plaster, textured, smooth, popcorn and acoustic-style ceilings
  • Ceiling flat finish minimizes imperfections
  • 1 gallon high-performance coating covers up to 400 sq. ft. depending on color selected and surface porosity
  • 1 hour dry time and 2 hour recoat time
  • Spatter and drip resistant when used with high quality, synthetic rollers
  • Low VOC, 100% Acrylic
  • Tintable to more than 200 one-coat colors
  • Lock in water stains with MARQUEE Ceiling Paint as a spot primer
  • Stain-Blocking Paint & Primer in One
  • Use a high quality 3/8-1/2” nap roller cover, nylon/polyester brush or an airless sprayer (0.015-0.019” spray tip, 60 mesh filter)
  • Popcorn style acoustic ceilings; use acoustic ceiling roller cover (1/2-3/4" nap) or airless sprayer (0.015-0.019" spray tip, 60 mesh filter)
  • BEHR MARQUEE is a GREENGUARD GOLD Certified product. It is certified to GREENGUARD standards for low chemical emissions into indoor air during product usage. For more information, visit ul.com/gg
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online Price includes a Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • BEHR MARQUEE is backed with a Lifetime Limited Warranty






  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
400

Details

Application Method
Brush,Paint Sprayer,Roller
Base Material
Acrylic
Coating Product Category
Paint
Color Family
Whites
Color/Finish
White
Dry to touch (min.)
60
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Kit
No
Paint & Primer in One
Yes
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Features
Mildew Resistant,Splatter Resistant
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Ceiling
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Sheen
Flat/Matte
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Ceiling,Drywall,Plaster
Time before recoating (hours)
2

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Lifetime Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

21Questions27Answers

Why do some of the pictures for this paint show a texture? I’m looking for a paint with no texture and not sure if this is the right one.

Asked by LisaT June 20, 2021
3
Answers

Hi LisaT - Thank you for your question. Our Marquee Ceiling Paint will dry to a non-textured finish. Please keep in mind that it will not hide texture that's already on the surface. Best - Sara

In terms of scuff resistance, how does Marquee compare against Ultra's Scuff Defense?

Asked by christianlm May 25, 2021
2
Answers

I rather have Marquee than Scuff defense

Where can I find suggestions about what other decor colors will go well with my grey family distant star flat paint?

Asked by Marge January 28, 2021
1
Answer

Hi Marge, You can view coordinating colors by downloading Home Depot's ProjectColor App. https://www.homedepot.com/c/projectcolor I hope this information was helpful. Please feel free to reach out with any additional questions you may have. Best of luck with your project! ~Doris

The one-gallon can mentions a feature where someone can attach a pour spout. I cannot seem to lo...

Asked by PaintSplatter July 8, 2020
2
Answers

You have to ask for this pour spout at the paint counter. Even though it should be included without requesting it, since it is also the only way to twist of the cap. BY the way, I have used over 30 gallons of Marquee on various projects over the last 2 years and have found it to be the ONLY true one coat paint on the market after testing between Sherwin Williams, Pratt & Lambert, Benjamin Moore, Valspar, and Glidden. But sadly, Behr changed their can design recently to this plastic can with the screw off cap and pour spout. It absolutely sucks. With the lid in place and using this ridiculous excuse of a pour spout, paint goes everywhere when you pour it. Especially when pouring from a full can. That pour spout is horribly designed and is open on two sides (so it can be used like a wrench to remove the screw on cap). So the pour spout, being as big as it is (2" or so in diameter and being open on two sides), does not contain the paint in a controlled flow. It just pours out over the open sides and collects large amounts of uncontrolled paint on the "set back" opening of the lid and runs down the sides of the can. I have now decided I will never buy another can of Behr paint again, due to this horrible product change. Just too messy. And I have always used the red Shur Line pour spout lid on all paint cans because it absolutely eliminates all mess in pouring into a paint tray and allows me to store the paint with their collapsible pour spout in place, making it brain dead easy to continue pouring from an opened can, over a long period of time. Behr should have designed the rim of their new plastic can, so that traditional metal lids (and thus also the Shur LIne pour spout lid) would fit.

How do I determine how much paint I'll need to paint kitchen cabinets?

Asked by Mindy July 2, 2020
2
Answers

Surface area is a bit tricky especially if you’re painting the interiors too. It also depends if you’re brushing/rolling or spraying the cabinets. Two gallons is what I would say is a typical kitchen but it could easily be 3-4 gallons. I would use the Behr Cabinet and Trim in Semigloss. I highly recommend clean, scuff sand and prime them first. 1-2 gallons of primer.

What are pro/cons of Ultra vs. Marquee ceiling paints? What conditions would justify spending the...

Asked by Strategerizer April 16, 2020
5
Answers

Marquee is just a better paint plain and simple. I have brought Ultra in the past and would require more than one coat. The Marquee covers better, I still apply to coats sometimes just to make sure, but for the most part this paint covers well.

Does the Behr Paint and Primer in One come in smaller sizes like 1 quart? How many sqft does a qrt cover? Can it be mixed to your color preference?

Asked by DIYERh3re November 13, 2019
4
Answers

Hi DIYERh3re, thanks for writing in with your question. Our interior paints are available in quart sizes (except the ceiling paints). You can have them tinted to the color of your choice. Each quart will cover between 62-100 sq. ft. Please check with your local store for availability. Have a great day! -Giovanna

What type/brand of varnish do I need to use on top of the painting to keep it from fading. Is it ...

Asked by Sarah April 12, 2019
2
Answers

Nothing is needed. If exterior use use exterior paint...etc

Can I apply acrylic paint (artist paint) on top of a coat of Behr marquee paint? What do I use to...

Asked by Sarah April 2, 2019
3
Answers

Yes you can

What's the difference between the Pure White and the Ultra Pure White? I haven't been able to fin...

Asked by Moises December 11, 2018
3
Answers

Not easily seen difference if painted solid area but if making spotty repairs you may notice a difference between the whites

1 gal. White Ceiling Flat Interior Paint & Primer - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 741 reviews
  • 73% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 741 reviews
Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
Rating provided by a verified purchaser
by HomeDepotCustomer
Highly Disappointed
Product is not as described, not suitable for popcorn ceiling. Even the sqfts provided on the can do not cover in one can. Do not buy this product
by Irfan
Response from BehrMay 25, 2021
Hello Irfan, thank you for your review. I’m so sorry the paint didn't cover your ceiling as expected with the one can. Typically a 3.79 liter container of our Marquee Interior Ceiling Paint should cover 27.9-37.2 square meters. I recommend recoating across the surface to get better coverage on your popcorn ceiling. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance with this. Our team is happy to help you! -Joni Behr
Terrible
As Bill reviewed on 3/11/21, I couldn't have said it any better. I applied a total of 4 gallons for a kitchen. NOTE- there was nothing wrong with the ceiling prior to repainting. I just wanted to change from my Princeton white color to a ceiling white color. I started out with 2 gallons Marguee White ceiling flat wall paint. After paint dried, the blotches and roll marks became very visible. Then I went to HD and they suggested the Behr Plus. I applied 2 more gallons of this and only marginal improvement (see pic). Looks ok at night, but during the day when sunlight comes in, you see all the roller marks. The paint also leaves small pitting. So now, I went and purchased a pole sander and sanded entire ceiling!! I am contacting a painting contractor, who will probably use another brand paint. I have painted my entire house with Behr wall paints and have no prior problems. I have also painted ceilings before with other brands and have NEVER had this problem. This paint should be recalled!
by Wayne
Response from BehrMar 23, 2021
Hi Wayne,

Thank you for sharing your experience with Behr Marquee and Premium Plus Ceiling Paint. I'm very sorry to hear about the roller mark and texture issues you had, as it's definitely not what we want our customers to go through. Applying another coat perpendicular to to the roller marks should help improve the appearance significantly. Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and I encourage you to contact Behr directly for further assistance. We'd love to learn more about your project and find the best way to help.

Kindest regards,

Doris Behr
2 people found this helpful
Terrible paint, not flat, blotchy
I’m really disappointed in this paint. It is not flat but rather has a sheen to it especially in the sunlight. It also looks very blotchy. It goes on very thick but does not cover well at all. It takes several strokes to get good coverage. It took a gallon to cover a small kitchen ceiling. After it dried it showed swirls all over the ceiling. I would never buy this again.
by ST
Response from BehrFeb 22, 2021
Hello ST, thank you for your review. I am so sorry the sheen is blotchy and that the paint didn't cover well. Typically most colors will cover in 1-2 coats, though additional coats may be needed depending on the surface, application, and color. I recommend allowing the last coat applied to dry for 24 hours then recoating across the surface for better coverage and a more even sheen. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance with this. Our team is happy to help you! -Joni Behr
2 people found this helpful
Terrible. Not white and probably not “one coat"
I used the Bher Ultra ceiling paint in my living room, and it was great. This Marquee variety is terrible. Rathet than matching the ultra variety, the Marquee is a dull gray white that does not match and hardly seems like it would work with one coat. Stick with the ultra.
by JCL78
Response from BehrFeb 16, 2021
Hi JCL78,

Thank you for reviewing Behr Marquee Ceiling Paint. I'm very sorry to hear about the color issue experienced, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through. I understand how disappointing this must be, and I encourage you to contact Behr directly for further assistance. We'd love to find a way to help!

Kindest regards,

Doris Behr
1 person found this helpful
AVOID this paint- NOT FLAT
This paint is not flat, more like eggshell finish. I am an experienced painter and have used Behr products for 10+ years with no issues! BUT! This fancy ceiling paint is terrible as it has a shine to it and roller brush strokes are seen all over the ceiling when looking at the angle. For textured ceilings probably not a problem- hence all the 5 star reviews here, but terrible for smooth ceilings. After wasting $80 on Marquee, I bought Behr Premium Plus ceiling paint (half the cost) and tried on a little square. See the pictures!!! The little square of basic paint is TRUELY flat AND so much whiter!! The rest of the ceiling is Marquee with terrible shine and streaks from roller brush! Do not buy this paint for smooth ceilings!
by DF
Response from BehrFeb 9, 2021
Hi DF,

Thank you for reviewing Behr Marquee Ceiling Paint. I'm sorry to hear about the appearance and roller mark issues experienced, as it certainly isn't typical or what we want our customers to go through. Please contact Behr's Customer Care Department for further assistance with this matter. We'd love to find a way to help.

Kindest regards,

Doris Behr
Awful smudges
I’m an experienced painter. This is the third time I’ve tried Behr Marquee. It smudges something terrible. The first time I thought it was because I left the can outside in 50 degree weather. It smudges terribly in the closet. I sanded the wall and tried again with a fresh can. No issues. Then I tried again in the bathroom with a fresh can. Again it smudged. What happened is you put your first roller full on the wall. Then dip your roller for the next section and put that on the wall. Anything that touches the first section, immediately pulls and smudges. This should not happen. This is happening with a brush as well. Very annoying. I tried this a third time today with a fresh sample from Home Depot. I brushed it on and it immediately smudges. The formula is just too thick and ironically it does not cover in one coat. I will not be using marquee paint in the future. It requires multiple coats anyway so I will be sticking with Behr Ultra Photos are from brushing on a quick sample of an eggshell finish. I will have to sand it now
by Lwharma
Response from BehrFeb 1, 2021
Hi Lwharma, thank you for your review. I am so sorry our paint is smudging and that it is not covering in one coat as expected. Typically our Marquee Paint should cover in one coat when tinted to select colors from our One-Coat Color Collection and applied to a previously coated surface. Colors outside this collection may require additional coats to provide the coverage needed. If the paint continues to pull off the previous section as you roll or brush over it again, I recommend thinning the paint with up to 4 ounces of water to help extend the working time of the paint. If the coating left a texture on your project, allow the coating to dry for 24 hours, gently sand the surface smooth with 180-240 grit sandpaper, clean the surface, and touch up or recoat once the surface is dry. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance. Our team is happy to help you! -Joni Behr
The paint fell well below expectations. It took 3 coats and the finished product is passable at b...
The paint fell well below expectations. It took 3 coats and the finished product is passable at best. Not worth the money and does not deserve the hype. I would never waste my money on these Ceiling Paint again.
by TommyD
Response from BehrDec 21, 2020
Hello TommyD, we appreciate you sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't get the expected one coat coverage from our Marquee Ceiling Paint; that's not the experience we want our customers to have with our products. Customer satisfaction is important to us. Please feel free to contact our Customer Care team directly for additional assistance or if you have any questions. Have a great rest of your day. –Joanna Behr
Disappointed-Don’t buy if you care how your paint job looks
The guy at Home Depot encouraged me to try this for my house. I decided I would give it a try in my garage because I wasn’t really concerned with how it looked. Well I’m glad I didn’t use in my house. The paint had a thinner viscosity than I anticipated. However, when you put on the wall it just developed a dimpled paint look and I ended up having to paint really hard to fill the area in which then this left lines. It didn’t cover in one coat. I tried 5 Behr samples on the wall Prior to painting and it didn’t even cover the same color sample. You could see all 5 samples through the paint. It was almost impossible to cut in. You either needed to put a lot of paint down in which then it dripped/ran or you ended up again with this dimple look of paint and no paint. I tried a semi smooth roller, smooth roller and a paint brush and it was difficult to work with in all cases. The guy at Home Depot said it has to do with the user. Ha...I painted my whole house including ceilings, cabinets and trim with Behr paint and didn’t have an issue. Stick to the the Behr Ultra.
by Thea
Response from BehrSep 21, 2020
Hi Th12,

Thank you for reviewing Behr Marquee Interior Ceiling Paint. I'm sorry to hear about the coverage and finish issues experienced, as it certainly isn't normal or what we want our customers to go through. Please contact Behr's Customer Care Department for further assistance with this matter. We'd love to find a way to help.

Kindest regards,

Doris Behr
A ceiling paint with two different sheens?!
Bought this after making the poor choice to use premium plus ceiling paint. This paint does not cover and is more of an eggshell then a flat. Also my gallon was full of hardened acryllic chunks, which i had to clean off the ceiling (had paint shaken before use) also brushed on paint has different sheen then rolled on paint, i used a brand new brush, tray, and roller sleeve so no chance of contaminents. Will never use behr again, you shouldnt either.
by Kenree
Response from BehrJun 30, 2020
Hi Kenree - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that there were dried paint chunks in your paint can, and about the different sheens on your ceiling! If possible, we recommend giving the paint 24 hours to dry as the extra dry time will allow the sheen to even itself out. If you can still see a sheen difference after 24 hours, a second coat is needed for uniformity. For further assistance with your project, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We'd be happy to help. - Sara Behr
Showing 1-10 of 741 reviews