#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202263889

Model #553301

Store SKU #961261

1 gal. #ST-533 Cedar Naturaltone Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer

$4098
  • Complete weatherproofing protection from the elements
  • Durable advanced 100% acrylic formula
  • All-in-one wood stain and sealer
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated
+
+
Price:
$4098

Product Overview

The BEHR Premium Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Stain & Sealer provides mildew protection while waterproofing the surface. This stain protects your exterior wood surfaces from harsh weather conditions. This stain is ideal for decks, fences and siding and resists rain after 4 hours.
  • Ideal for application on exterior wood decks, fences, siding and patio furniture
  • For the best results, be sure to properly prepare the surface using the required preparation products as listed in the Use & Care Manual
  • Advanced 100% acrylic formula
  • Easy clean-up with soap and water
  • Mildew resistant finish
  • Waterproof formula provides protection in a wide range of climatic conditions
  • Resists UV damage for a long-lasting, freshly painted look
  • Can be applied to completely dry wood in temperatures between 35-90°F
  • Formulated for use with a pad applicator, brush, roller or sprayer for easy application
  • Coverage area: 1st coat 250-300 sq. ft., 2nd coat 500-600 sq. ft.; avoid applying finish too heavily, two thin coats required
  • Resists rain after 4 hours
  • Formula offers 6 years on decks and 8 years on fences and siding
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online Price includes a Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • Which type of exterior paint is best for your home?
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

Top Rated1 gal. Cedar Naturaltone Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Finish
current product
Top Rated1 gal. #ST-533 Cedar Naturaltone Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer
1 gal. #ST-330 Redwood Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer1 gal. #ST-146 Cedar Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer
BrandBEHR PREMIUMBEHR PREMIUMBEHR PREMIUMBEHR PREMIUM
Name1 gal. Cedar Naturaltone Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Finish1 gal. #ST-533 Cedar Naturaltone Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer1 gal. #ST-330 Redwood Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer1 gal. #ST-146 Cedar Semi-Transparent Waterproofing Exterior Wood Stain and Sealer
Price
$3798
$4098
$4098
$4507
Ratings
(2073)
(2277)
(1435)
(481)
TransparencyTransparentSemi-TransparentSemi-TransparentSemi-Transparent
Container Size1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon
Paint/Stain FeaturesLow Temperature,Mildew Resistant,UV/Fade Resistant,WaterproofLow Temperature,Mildew Resistant,UV/Fade Resistant,WaterproofLow Temperature,Mildew Resistant,UV/Fade Resistant,WaterproofLow Temperature,Mildew Resistant,UV/Fade Resistant,Waterproof
Stain & Sealer In OneNoYesYesYes
Base MaterialAcrylicAcrylicAcrylicAcrylic
Surface LocationDeck,Fence,FurnitureFence,Furniture,PatioDeck,Fence,FurnitureDeck,Fence,Furniture
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)300300300300
Substrate/Surface Usage TypeWoodWoodWoodWood
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
300

Details

Application Method
Brush,Pad,Paint Sprayer,Roller
Base Material
Acrylic
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Cedar Naturaltone
Dry to touch (min.)
120 min
Interior/Exterior
Exterior
Maximum Optimal Temperature (F)
90
Minimum Optimal Temperature (F)
35
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Features
Low Temperature,Mildew Resistant,UV/Fade Resistant,Waterproof
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Wood Deck Stain & Sealer
Recommended Number of Coats
2
Returnable
Non-Returnable
Stain & Sealer In One
Yes
Substrate Condition
Pressure Treated Wood,Unfinished Wood
Substrate/Surface Usage Type
Wood
Surface Location
Fence,Furniture,Patio
Time before recoating (hours)
2.0
Transparency
Semi-Transparent
Vertical/Horizontal
Vertical / Horizontal

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 2,284 reviews
  • 76% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 2,284 reviews
Very Good
Used it on horse stall gates and in arena. Went on easily. Good coverage. Would buy again.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Very impressed
I had many colors on my deck it covered and Looks the same on all of it. Seals very good with two coats.
by
    • Recommended
    Great
    I have no idea what type of wood people are using this on, but there is nothing orange about it, it's a cedar color just as indicated. I cleaned the deck with Behr all in one wood cleaner prior to applying and this morning the dew is already beading up. This is not anything like paint as some people said, it is totally a stain, and applies as such. Great product from Behr as usual.
    by
      • Recommended
      Needs recoat after 2-3 years
      The claim is - lasts 8 years on vertical surface. My siding started peeling after 2. It was applied before it was installed by experts. This is paint, not stain. It sets on the wood and peels rather than penetrate. I tried removing it with their stripper & brightner. Apply scrub rinse, don't use power washer on cedar. What a back breaker and it did not remove it all. Now support says sand it! I had quality oil based stain on my previous cedar siding for 30 years. Just hose the dirt off and reapply every 5 years.
      by
        1 person found this helpful
        horrible product
        3 months after putting on this product it is chipping away in several areas. My deck was new and cleaned with Behr products. I used two coats.. drying thoroughly in between. I’m very dissppointed, I have to remove this product and redo entire deck.
        by
        Response from BehrAug 12, 2021
        Hello, thank you for your review. I’m so sorry the stain is chipping in several spots. If the chipping is isolated to only certain spots, I recommend removing any loose coating, cleaning the surface with our All-In-One Wood Cleaner, letting it dry, then touching up the affected areas. If it’s more widespread across your deck, then it’s best to fully remove the coating, clean, and reapply the stain as you mentioned. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance. Our team is happy to help you! -Joni Behr
          • Recommended
          Worked great on my wooden fence and my stair case, love how the color came out.
          Worked great on my wooden fence and my stair case, love how the color came out.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Really pleased with the results
          Really pleased with the results
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Beautiful!
          Beautiful!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Total Failure After Three Years
          I applied this product on my new deck after waiting a while as my deck contractor recommended. The deck was prepared with Behr products as recommended. I applied two thin coats as directed by the label three years ago. One year ago I cleaned the deck and reapplied. In six months I began to see pieces peeling off. Now all horizontal surfaces are in total failure. Very disappointing. The warranty only pays for the cost of the product, with receipt. This is going to cost a lot to strip the whole deck an reapply. Do not use this product!
          by
          Response from BehrJul 15, 2021
          Hi Bobb, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the coating peeled so soon. This is not typical, and I understand your disappointment. If the issue is widespread, I recommend removing the coating, cleaning the surface with the All-In-One Wood Cleaner, and recoating. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
            Way to orange!
            Really disappointed with how our deck turned out. It is way too orangey-red. Deciding whether we should try to retain with something darker or strip it and start all over again. So disheartening.
            by
            Response from BehrJun 17, 2021
            Hello Jan, thank you for your review. I’m so sorry the color turned out too orange/red on your deck. If you prefer to have a transparent finish, I recommend removing the coating, cleaning the surface with our All-In-One Wood Cleaner, and reapplying the stain in the updated color of your choice. Alternatively, you could apply a solid wood stain like our Premium Solid Color Waterproofing Stain & Sealer over the current coating. Please keep in mind this will change the opacity of the finish to a solid color look. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to reach out to our Customer Care team directly for further assistance with this. Our team is happy to help you! -Joni Behr
              Peeling Right Off The Wood!
              I applied this on a new deck three years ago and always followed the directions explicitly. I cleaned it with their Behr product, brushed it with a push broom and power washed it. Two thin coats were applied. Last fall I reapplied because there were some bare spots. In the spring it was peeling off all over in small areas the size of a quarter or half dollar. It is continuing to peel off down to the bare wood. Every day there are more spots. The warranty is useless, they will replace the product or give you a refund. Keep your receipt. But now my deck is screwed! How can I fix this? Use this product at your own risk.
              by
              Response from BehrJun 9, 2021
              Hi Bob, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that your deck is peeling so soon. This is not normal, and I understand your disappointment. Because you mentioned that the coating continues to peel off, it will be best to remove the coating, clean the wood, and reapply. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly again if you need further assistance. Have a great day! -Giovanna Behr
                Behr stood behind their product
                I bought and applied two gallons of Behr Semi-Tranparent Cedar Naturaltone ST-5533 to an old shed. I hated the color, which was orange. In order to cover it, I had to use a solid color, and used Cape Cod Gray SC-365, which was almost white; hated that one, too. I then tried out seven different shades (sample size), and decided on Sandal SC-121. Long story short, Behr refunded the cost of two two gallons of Cape Cod Gray; I got the check today. (Home Depot refunded about three-quarters of my other outlay.) it was a very aggravating experience, but being reimbursed financially helped my attitude a lot. In future, I learned 1) that this particular type of paint darkens slightly over time, which the paint technician told me after the fact, and I did not know; and more importantly, get a sample size and test it! Pictures attached: 1) Shed after painting with ST-5533; 2) after partial painting with Cape Cod Grey SC-365; 3) with nine samples; and 4) almost completed with Sandal and Atlantic.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Still tacky!
                  We prepped exactly as instructed and let completely dry. 4 days in and it is still tacky! Bought huge fans and have had them running on the deck and still will not dry. When my children walked on it to get across once, it showed footprints. What can we do?!? Also, it isn’t semi transparent but more solid with 2 thin coats.
                  by
                    4 people found this helpful
                    Last 1 year on horizontal surfaces but many tears on vertical ones.
                    I have used thus product on a wood fence with amazing results so decided to try it on a deck. Big mistake. Paint is peeling everywhere after 1 year & i will have to strip everything. Do not buy for decks if you have winters where you live.
                    by
                    Response from BehrMay 14, 2021
                    Hi Daniel,

                    Thank you for reviewing Behr Premium Transparent Waterproofing Wood Finish. I'm very sorry to hear about the peeling issue experienced after one year, as that's not typical or what we want our customers to go through.

                    To fix the peeling issue, I recommend sanding off the loose stain before cleaning and touching up/recoating. If the peeling is widespread, it’d be best to remove the stain with Behr Wood Stain & Finish Stripper before recoating.

                    Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and I encourage you to contact Behr directly for further assistance. We'd love to learn more about your experience and find the best way to help.

                    Kindest regards,

                    Doris Behr
                      1 person found this helpful
                      peeling in sheets
                      We installed a new cedar deck during lock-down 2020. I sealed it with this cedar toned waterproofing finish. Only a few weeks later and it started peeling off in sheets. My cedar is ruined. Now I have to try to strip the whole thing and sand it.
                      by
                      Response from BehrMay 7, 2021
                      Hi Amy,

                      Thank you for reviewing Behr Premium Transparent Waterproofing Wood Finish. I'm very sorry to hear about the peeling issue experienced, as that's not typical or what we want our customers to go through.

                      The loose stain can be removed by power washing, sanding, or with a wood stain stripper. After stain removal, the deck can be cleaned with Behr All-in-One Wood Cleaner. The deck should dry for at least 24 hours before recoating within the recommended temperature (2-32C) and humidity (below 50%) range.

                      Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and I encourage you to contact Behr directly for further assistance. We'd love to learn more about your experience and find the best way to help.

                      Kindest regards,

                      Doris Behr
                        4 people found this helpful
                        poooooorrrr!
                        this product has caused me more pain over the years than its worth. now they have changed the formula and it DOES NOT MATCH the same product from last year. terrible, never will buy again. Inhave stripped and redone per behrs instructions, to the tee, and still shotty results. deck surface peels after one year, every year
                        by
                        Response from BehrMay 3, 2021
                        Hi jna224770,

                        Thank you for reviewing Behr Premium Transparent Waterproofing Wood Finish. I'm very sorry to hear about the color and peeling issues experienced, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through.

                        To fix the peeling issue, I recommend sanding off the loose stain before cleaning and touching up/recoating. If the peeling is widespread, it’d be best to remove the stain with Behr Wood Stain & Finish Stripper before recoating. If you have a moisture meter available, I also recommend checking the moisture in the wood. Anything higher than 20% can cause coating malperformance.

                        Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and I encourage you to contact Behr directly for further assistance. We'd love to learn more about your experience and find the best way to help.

                        Kindest regards,

                        Doris Behr
                          1 person found this helpful
                          False advertising
                          What you see on the brochure is totally different from what you get in real life. I expected a nice natural glossy color, instead I got an orange and not glossy color at all. Such a waste of money, now I have to repaknt everything because the color is so ugly. And not to mention the can indicates it cocerse approximately 300 Sq per can and that's totally false. This experience made me consider not referring this brand for my customers.
                          by
                            Semi- Transparent Stain
                            I wish I had looked at the reviews on this before buying. This stain is not transparent! It is ORANGE! My cedar fence is now a disaster..don’t know what I’ll do. And I have 61 more feet to go! I’m so unhappy with this, I will research other stains & most likely won’t be Behr product!
                            by
                            Response from BehrApr 19, 2021
                            Hi MM - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that this stain didn't turn out as expected. Our semi-transparent finish will add color to the wood while still allowing the wood grain and texture to show through. It's also best to apply this stain in a small inconspicuous area to ensure you're happy with the coverage and color. For a more transparent finish, we recommend checking out our Transparent Waterproofing Wood Finish (https://www.homedepot.com/p/BEHR-PREMIUM-1-gal-Cedar-Naturaltone-Transparent-Waterproofing-Exterior-Wood-Finish-50101/100112585) which will showcase the natural beauty of the wood. For further assistance with your project, please feel free to reach out to us directly. Best - Sara Behr
                              We did love the color!!!
                              I was looking for more clear Color to keep the color our wood deck more natural. We found this beautiful color and great product. We stained the whole deck and The results were incredible!! everyone saw it loved it!
                              by
                                5 Star? NOT!
                                So many good reviews for such a terrible product. The color is not transparent -- it's WAY too orange. It's been a few weeks and it's ALREADY FLAKING AND FALLING OFF. My cedar deck was new and cleaned and double coated as directed. I now have a mess of a project for next Spring. I should have trusted my instincts to avoid crappy BEHR products. Giving excellent review so more might see and avoid.
                                by
                                Response from BehrNov 9, 2020
                                Hi Mule65, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color did not turn out as expected, and that the coating is peeling off. This is not typical, and I understand your disappointment. To change the color, it will be best to remove the coating, clean with the All-In-One Wood Cleaner, and apply two new coats in a different color. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
                                  4 people found this helpful
                                  I wasn't thrilled with the color - it was more orange than I would have hoped for something label...
                                  I wasn't thrilled with the color - it was more orange than I would have hoped for something labeled "natural tone". Plus, we needed a second coat and even a month after staining, it's still a bit sticky/tacky.
                                  by
                                  Response from BehrNov 9, 2020
                                  Hi Sajca, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that the color did not turn out as expected, and that the finish is still tacky. This is not typical, and I understand your disappointment. I recommend cleaning the surface with soap and water. This will help the tackiness subside, as well as additional dry time. You also have the option of using the Solid Stain in a different color over the Semi-Transparent color. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. Please reach out to us directly if you need further assistance; our customer care team is happy to help you! -Giovanna Behr
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  2 people found this helpful
                                  Made my rustic/weathered deck look great! Thank you!...
                                  Made my rustic/weathered deck look great! Thank you!
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  1 person found this helpful
                                  The stain required for fencing in our neighborhood. I wanted to match the color for a couple of ...
                                  The stain required for fencing in our neighborhood. I wanted to match the color for a couple of other projects. This stuff goes on easilly with a brush and I had no issue with brush marks or coverage. The color and finish are quite nice though more opaque than the fencing because that was sprayed. It dries really quickly. And clean-up with soap and water could not have been easier.
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  • Recommended
                                  2 people found this helpful
                                  Have used this product on several project's. EZ application and clean up. Lasts longer than adver...
                                  Have used this product on several project's. EZ application and clean up. Lasts longer than advertised. Would recommend two coats for a more professional looking end product and better protection. Would use again.
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  • Recommended
                                  Deck
                                  I brought this product along with the all n one cleaner. I’ve never cleaned a deck in my life. The pictures will speak for me. This product is awesome. I highly recommend both products. I’m so happy never thought my deck would look like this again!!!
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                                    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                                    by
                                    • Verified Purchase
                                    Overall a good product. Went on well and the coverage is as expected, unless the wood is really ...
                                    Overall a good product. Went on well and the coverage is as expected, unless the wood is really dry then you will need more. I used it on pallet bench, deck and rails.
                                    by
                                    • Verified Purchase
                                    • Recommended
                                    1 person found this helpful
                                    Product was awesome, sprayed on nice and easy clean up
                                    Product was awesome, sprayed on nice and easy clean up
                                    by
                                    • DIY
                                    • Verified Purchase
                                    • Recommended
                                    Behr Waterproofing Exterior Finish
                                    As the name implies, this appears to be more of a finish than a sealer or protector of a deck surface. Mine started peeling after two years and now at the 4 year mark it looks awful. One board on the right is what it is like after I sanded. It appears I need to sand completely down to bare wood to remove the areas that really held up (like I wish it all had.) As I study the products, I am leaning to an oil based penetrating stain - four magical words that I think separates the "wood finish" from a reliable, durable surface.
                                    by
                                    Response from BehrJul 9, 2020
                                    Hi Al - Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear about the peeling on your deck. To fix the finish, we recommend removing the current stain, preparing the surface with our wood cleaner, then applying 2 new thin coats for uniformity. We'd like to assist you with this further. Please don't hesitate to reach out to our Customer Care team directly. We hope to hear from you! - Sara Behr
                                      4 people found this helpful
                                      This wood stain and sealer is easy to put on and cleans up easily. Everything beads off and it ha...
                                      This wood stain and sealer is easy to put on and cleans up easily. Everything beads off and it has a nice natural look. It was tacky for a few days after putting the second coat but now it's fine. Great look. Haven't been able to do the railing because of humidity, but can't wait to finish the job.
                                      by
                                      • Verified Purchase
                                      • Recommended
                                      Showing 1-30 of 2,284 reviews