Internet #206113101

Model #583SLOWA 000

NextStep Children's Round Closed Front Toilet Seat in White

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$4097

Product Overview

This unique BEMIS Round Closed Front Toilet Seat accommodates both adult and child users equally, making it the perfect seat for all of your potty training needs. With NextStep, toddlers can use the seat with confidence, knowing it is sized to hold them, is securely attached to the toilet, and will not shift underneath them. The adult seat includes the WhisperClose feature which prevents both the ring and cover from slamming. Made with Earth-friendly materials and processes, BEMIS brings innovation to everyday life.
  • Built-In Potty Seat secures magnetically into cover when not in use to reduce clutter
  • EasyClean & Change hinge allows for seat to be completely removed from the bowl for EasyCleaning
  • WhisperClose hinge slowly and quietly closes eliminating slamming and pinched fingers
  • STA-TITE seat fastening system never loosens and installs with ease
  • Child seat removes when no longer needed or for easy cleaning
  • Durable enameled wood adult ring and cover with a superior high-gloss finish that resists chipping and scratching
  • Solid plastic putty seat is long lasting and stain-resistant
  • Fits all manufacturers' round bowls
  • Made with Earth-friendly materials and processes
  • Features:


Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Bolt Spread (in.)
5.5
Product Depth (in.)
16.75 in
Product Height (in.)
2.187 in
Product Width (in.)
14.375 in

Details

Bowl/Seat Shape
Round
Color Family
White
Color/Finish
White
Features
No Additional Features
Included
Hardware
Product Weight (lb.)
6.75
Returnable
180-Day
Seat Front Type
Closed
Seat Length (in.)
15.062
Seat Material
Molded Wood
Style
Minimalist,Modern
Toilet Seat Type
Toddler

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

34Questions25Answers

So disappointed. The plastic that secured the attachment broke after a week of use. What can be done about this?

Asked by Apatricia6 August 19, 2020
3
Answers

This comes with a warranty. I would contact the manufacturer. I hope this helps!

Not quite a year and the right hinge on the Next Step round toilet seat broke. Can’t use it now at all.

Asked by Robo21 June 1, 2020
1
Answer

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to learn that you have experience issue with our NextStep seat. Please contact our customer service at corp@bemismfg.com to discuss one year warranty. We pride ourselves on manufacturing quality products and it is unfortunate whenever we do not meet a customer's expectations. We look forward hearing from you.

Where is it made?

Asked by Stephen October 10, 2019
3
Answers

I’m pretty sure is was USA but it was two years ago

what do i do to replace this toilet seat only had for a few months and one of the hinges broke

Asked by cin February 19, 2019
2
Answers

cin, Thank you for contacting Bemis Manufacturing. First of all, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are always striving to exceed our customers' expectations. Bemis Manufacturing offers a one-year manufacturing defect warranty that is handled through the location of purchase. Please return your defective seat to the store for an immediate warranty replacement. The retail store does not have to keep your used seat in the store or handle it in any way. They will simply view the damage and give you a new warranty seat, sending your defective one home with you. If you encounter any difficulties while at the store, please have the store associate contact me at 1-888-722-6488. Thank you for your continued loyalty and please feel free to contact us with any more questions or concerns and reference CASE- #157325. Kindest Regards, Bemis Customer Service

How to I return for warranty? Only had for a few month, one of the hinges from the seat broke. T...

Asked by FEFD130 September 16, 2018
4
Answers

Talk to Home Depot , do you have the receipt ?

What is the best cleaning solution to prevent discoloration?

Asked by Lyddieanne March 8, 2018
4
Answers

I use clorox bathroom cleaner and elbow grease!

What is the difference between this product and the NextStep Round Closed Front Toilet Seat in Wh...

Asked by Stephie January 20, 2018
2
Answers

According to the specifications, the Model#483SLOW 000 is an 1/8" taller has has two other color options (bone & biscuit). It also may not be in stock at your store and will have to be ordered as compared to picking up Model# 583SLOWA 000 which seems to be an in stock item.

The toilet seat quick release mount keeps releasing, causing the seat to disconnect from the toil...

Asked by Topnotch November 5, 2017
2
Answers

no spacer comes with it, contact homedepot or manufacturer for more info

Every time I close the toilet seat the hinges pop out in the seat becomes and one side falls off. The seat is new

Asked by OB November 2, 2017
2
Answers

Those little claws of the toilet seat hinge don't grip the groove of the plastic bolt head well enough, so with precision, add a touch of super glue to each claw where it meets the groove of the plastic bolt head. Don't overdo it, but do it at every claw and on both hinges of the seat. I had the problem you described until I did this and then never had the problem again.

is there a cup for the front of the nextstep children's seat to prevent little boys from missing ...

Asked by Grandma October 29, 2017
2
Answers

Unfortunately, this seat does not come with a cup to prevent accidents. I hope this helps!

NextStep Children's Round Closed Front Toilet Seat in White - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 335 Customer Reviews
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars overall
64% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(193)
4star-icon(38)
3star-icon(22)
2star-icon(19)
1star-icon(63)
Sort By:
Where thou our magnet ?
Bought this new seat for our half bathroom that is used quite often in our house. We wanted something that didn’t slam for our 2.5 and 4.5 year old boys since the bathroom is literally in the middle of all the main rooms downstairs (living room, kitchen, dining room). Only have had it installed 6 months and we lost the magnet that holds up the toddler seat? Where did it go? No one knows... assuming it fell into the toilet during toddler use and flushed away it went. Now it’s just super annoying that the toddler seat slams when closing the lid or you having to pick up the small seat each time.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Good child seat but bad magnet
We got this seat when training our 2 yr old a little over a year ago. Works great but have 1 issue. The magnet that holds the kids seat is rusting and leaving a stain on the child seat. In a semi-wet spot such as a toilet seat, it shouldn't rust. Maybe it should be built and sealed into the cover rather than exposed? And now it has fallen out. The hole it was in is a mess. I would clean it out and glue it back in but not sure I want to do that with a rusty magnet. Other than that, it works great and would get 5 stars.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from BemisExpertAugust 28, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to learn our product did not meet your expectations. Please contact our customer service at corp@bemismfg.com to discuss your concerns. We would like to learn more about your experience. We take a pride in manufacturing quality products and we look forward hearing from you. bemis
Broke after 6 months
I am a normal 180lb guy and broke the seat just 6 months after buying it. I wasn’t doing anything epic when it broke either.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from BemisExpertFebruary 7, 2020
Thank you for you review of our Bemis seat. We are sorry that our product broke. Please contact our customer service at 1-888-722-6488 to discuss your warranty. Your case number is 195882. We pride ourselves on manufacturing quality products and their innovative features. We assure you your satisfaction is very important to us and we look forward to hear from you. bemis
Broken hinge after one year
Outer right side hinge broke after one year of limited use, made of plastic, seat is now useless.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from BemisExpertJanuary 13, 2020
Hello JD, Thank you for your review of our Bemis toilet seat. We sincerely apologize our product did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on manufacturing quality products. Please contact our Customer Service team if you have any questions or concerns. Your case number is 193151. We look forward to hearing from you. Bemis Manufacturing Customer Service Team bemis
Easy to assemble.
Easy to assemble.
Was this helpful?
0
0
This toilet seat has a design flaw, but Bemis is not alone in this. Do NOT buy any Whisper Clos...
Quality :
1
Value :
1
Ease of installation :
5
This toilet seat has a design flaw, but Bemis is not alone in this. Do NOT buy any Whisper Close( or "slow close" or "no slam") toilet seat with the Easy Clean & Change (or "Never Loosens") feature, especially if it is a heavier molded wood type like this toilet seat. The problem is that the tension of the slow close feature with the weight of the toilet seat causes the hinges to pop open and then the seat slams down on to the toilet. After it happens the first time it happens almost every time. Our seat always stays down, so in our case it is just the weight of the lid; the lid and seat together would be a much heavier load. Perhaps this won't happen with the light weight plastic seats, but with heavier molded wood, it is inevitable. And if the seat has the toddler seat and/or is elongated, this just adds more weight trying to pull up those hinges. Other manufacturers seats with the same feature have the exact same problem. Make sure your slow close seat has the regular bolted down hinges, not the Easy Clean or Never Loosens variety.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from BemisExpertAugust 1, 2019
Steve1969,

Thank you for your review. First of all, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are always striving to exceed our customers' expectations. Bemis Manufacturing offers a one-year manufacturing defect warranty that is handled through the location of purchase. Please return your defective seat to the store for an immediate warranty replacement. The retail store does not have to keep your used seat in the store or handle it in any way. They will simply view the damage and give you a new warranty seat, sending your defective one home with you. If you encounter any difficulties while at the store, please have the store associate contact me at 1-888-722-6488.

Kindest Regards,
Bemis Customer Service bemis
This was very easy to install and the seat is very comfortable. I like the fact that the lid clo...
This was very easy to install and the seat is very comfortable. I like the fact that the lid closes very slowly to prevent children’s hands from getting smashed. Additionally the child size seat doesn’t flop down when using the adult seat.
Was this helpful?
0
0
this seat is nice. the toddler sized seat is very convenient. I just wish it didn't slam down whe...
this seat is nice. the toddler sized seat is very convenient. I just wish it didn't slam down whenever it is used. also, it'd be better if there was more of a cup/lip at the front so it was harder for leaks to get through. unfortunately, this is the second seat purchased in 18 mo. the regular seat snapped off at the hinge on the previous one. i'd still recommend the seat, but I'm glad we'll be able to buy a standard seat in 18 mo!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Ditto bad seat!
Lets see if HD will do the right thing! The hinge gave out from using it!
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from BemisExpertMarch 14, 2019
Eric,
Thank you for contacting Bemis Manufacturing. First of all, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are always striving to exceed our customers' expectations. Bemis Manufacturing offers a one-year manufacturing defect warranty that is handled through the location of purchase. Please return your defective seat to the store for an immediate warranty replacement. The retail store does not have to keep your used seat in the store or handle it in any way. They will simply view the damage and give you a new warranty seat, sending your defective one home with you. If you encounter any difficulties while at the store, please have the store associate contact me at 1-888-722-6488. Thank you for your continued loyalty and please feel free to contact us with any more questions or concerns and reference CASE- #159131.

Kindest Regards,
Bemis Customer Service bemis
We own a Kohler Rialto K-3386 one-piece toilet. After the original toilet seat needed replacing ...
We own a Kohler Rialto K-3386 one-piece toilet. After the original toilet seat needed replacing we had to get a special kit to remove the seat because this toilet's design has integrated female threads for the toilet seat bolts. Having a small child who is heading toward potty training, we wanted a soft close feature and we loved the removable NextStep child seat of this model, so it was our choice. Once I opened the package I noticed the hardware was not going to work with our Kohler Rialto toilet, but being a problem solving father, I modified the plastic seat attachment hardware that was provided by Bemis with the seat. I basically cut the threaded portion of the plastic bolt off and then drilled a hole in the center of the plastic bolt head so that the threads of my old metal bolt could be used while the plastic bolt head with concentric groove that Bemis provided could be used with the plastic claws of the seat to hold the seat to the attachment bolt. It worked great! Then a complaint I've seen from others occurred: with just a little movement on the seat, the plastic claws from the seat hinge would pop loose from the grooved plastic bolt head and free the seat on one side. That was easily solved with precise application of a tiny bit of super glue at each claw on each hinge where it meets the groove on the plastic bolt head/spacer. After all, when would I EVER need the plastic claws of the seat hinge to be free from the groove on the plastic bolt head/spacer? Answer: Absolutely Never. We never experienced the problem again. Fast forward in time and now the soft close feature failed to work for the lid and we noticed the left hinge is leaking a black gray grease/fluid. OK, yeah, it's >$40, but we were happy with the seat and being from Sheboygan WI originally (very nearby Bemis HQ), we weren't ready to give up on Bemis, so I went to Home Depot and bought another one. When I got home with it and opened the box, that is when I noticed Bemis changed the hardware. Now as part of the Sta-Tite attachment mechanism, a metal bolt is integrated/bonded into a plastic spacer with the concentric groove for the same little tiny plastic claws on the hinge to attach to. I imagine this was an effort made to address complaints about the bolt popping out of the claws and firm up the design. Unfortunately, this design mod leaves me high and dry with the Kohler Rialto toilet I want to attach this seat to and even worse, this design change fails at fixing the problem. I know it doesn't fix the problem because we have a different toilet of conventional design where the Bemis-provided method of attachment for a seat can be used without modification. Still having confidence in Bemis, we bought a $47 elongated version of this seat for that toilet and I installed it today. The very first thing that occurred on first use was the integrated bolt/grooved spacer popped free of the little plastic claws of the seat hinge. I see a tiny application of super glue in my future for that elongated seat and am confident it will fix it, but because of the design change of the hardware I cannot make use of the new round seat on my Kohler Rialto. It would be great if Bemis made the attachment hardware from the initial design available so I can do the same mods and continue to use Bemis products on my Kohler Rialto toilet. Otherwise, I will have to find a different toilet seat solution for my family.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from BemisExpertAugust 28, 2018
Hello -

Thank you for contacting Bemis Manufacturing. We are very concerned about your comments. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly and learn more about your experience, as this is certainly not typical. Please call our Consumer Care center at 1.888.722.6488 and reference CASE# 138272. We hope to hear from you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Bemis Customer Service. bemis
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers