#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 100150616

Model # 4001 DD

Store SKU # 439940

4900 CFM Down-Draft Roof Evaporative Cooler for 1800 sq. ft. (Motor Not Included)

$699.00
Apply Now
Pay $649.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Designed to work in dry/arid climates
  • Is not an air conditioner
  • High quality components at low costs
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
caret
Product Details
  • Designed to work in dry/arid climates
  • Is not an air conditioner
  • High quality components at low costs
About This Product

The Champion Cooler Down Draft Evaporative Cooler Motor Not Included features a 1-piece bottom pan that resists corrosion by helping to eliminate the need for seams, spot welding and sealing materials. The cooler's metal surfaces are coated with a polyester powder finish that provides a beautiful appearance and helps protect against moisture, chalking and discoloration. This cooler is great for arid climates. This evaporative cooler performs best in dry, arid climates.

  • Cools 800 - 1800 sq. ft. to help keep your living space comfortable
  • Circulates air at 4400-4900 CFM based on motor selection
  • Designed for use with 1/3 or 1/2 HP, 1-speed and 2-speed motors (sold separately)
  • Easy water connection for continuous use
  • Cabinets made from heavy-gauge galvanized steel to resist weather and impact
  • All metal surfaces treated for corrosion with electrostatically applied UV-stabilized polyester powder finish
  • Bolted construction for easy installation and access to replaceable parts
  • 1-piece bottom pan for leak-proof operation keeps maintenance low
  • High-performance water pump ensures even water delivery
  • UL classified for safe operation
  • Evaporative cooler performs best in dry, arid climates
  • Made in Denison, TX
  • Which type of evaporative cooler is best suited for your needs?
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS
Product ID #: 100150616Internet #: 009009310035Model #: 4001 DD
caret

Specifications

Dimensions: H 34.5 in, W 34.13 in, D 34.13 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)34.13 inProduct Height (in.)34.5 in
Product Width (in.)34.13 in

Details

Air Volume (CFM)4900Color FamilyCream
Color/FinishCool SandCommercial / ResidentialCommercial / Residential
Cooling Area (Sq. Ft.)1800Discharge directionDown Draft
Evaporative Cooler FeaturesNo additional featuresEvaporative Cooler Pad MaterialWood Fiber
Evaporative Cooler Product TypeWhole House Evaporative CoolerIncludedNo additional components or accessories are included
Indoor/OutdoorOutdoorInlet - Single/Duel/DuctedDucted
MaterialGalvanized SteelMaximum compatible motor horsepower (hp).5
Motor IncludedNoMount LocationFloor Mount, Roof Mount, Wall Mount
Pack Size1Product Weight (lb.)137 lb
Returnable90-DaySingle or dual inletDucted
Water Tank Capacity (Gallons)9

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and ListingsUL ClassifiedManufacturer WarrantyFor 8 years from date of purchase, we will replace the original base assembly if water leakage should occur due to rust out. One year from date of purchase, we will replace any original part provided by Champion Cooler which fails.
caret

Questions & Answers

244Questions
caret
Q:Hi I'm replacing my old champion downdraft cooler which is a 4401DD with this 4900 DD. The current roof jack is 20 in x 20 in, is it the same on this 4900?
by|Feb 19, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hello! Yes, the duct opening on the 4900 is the exact same as the 4401 model as they have the same cabinet. -Melissa, AIRCARE

by|Feb 20, 2024
    caret
    Q:What size are the pads?
    by|Feb 6, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hello, Ralph! The pad media for this model measures 33 x 36 inches. If you have any other questions about our product, please email info@essickair.com. -Melissa, AIRCARE

    by|Feb 22, 2024
      1 found this answer helpful
      caret
      Q:What size of covered needed for this champion cooler 4900 cam down-draft roof evaporative cooler
      by|Dec 2, 2023
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hello! The size of this cover should be the size of the cooler give or take. This cooler measures 31-1/2 H x 34-1/8 W x 34-1/8 D. -Melissa, Champion

      by|Dec 4, 2023
        caret
        Q:how do you remove the pads
        by|Oct 24, 2023
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hello, Kenny! Please see our video on how to remove the pads from your 4000 down draft cooler. If you have any other questions regarding your cooler, please email us at info@essickair.com. Video here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_VFWrRs4ks -Melissa, Champion Cooler

        by|Oct 25, 2023
          Showing 1-4 of 244
          caret

          Customer Reviews

          4 out of 5
          • 4 out of 311 reviews
          • 75% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 311 reviews
          Poor quality
          Price is good. The rivets used to hold the platform where the motor mounts to broke within the first couple of months. We had to buy some nuts and bolts to fix it and welded it together for extra stability.
          by
          Response from EssickAirProductsOct 4, 2023
          Hello, Tami! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear you had an issue with your cooler. We’d like to help you resolve this, so give us a call at 1-800-643-8341, 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m. CST, Monday through Friday. You can also email us at info@essickair.com. Thank you. -Melissa, Champion Cooler
            I own a hvac company and i get these all the time because price and availability, everytime i get...
            I own a hvac company and i get these all the time because price and availability, everytime i get one i look at it and it looks fine and then i pull all the wrap off of it and find dents in all most everyone I have had, nuts falling off bolts that i have to put back on. the only reason i recommend this is because its one of the only coolers i can get up here.
            by
            Response from EssickAirProductsNov 30, 2020
            Hello! We hate that you received a product with manufacturing issues. If you will reach out to us at info@essickair.com; we'd love the opportunity to make this right. Thanks! -Melissa, Champion Cooler
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            4 found this review helpful
            Cheapest piece of crap I've ever purchased
            The box had no issues and it was wrapped in plastic. So when I got it home and opened it up the top was crushed. And of course the old unit was off and I didnt have an extra two hours to take it back. So went ahead and got on the roof to mount. Went to take the nuts and bolts off the top, figured I could bang it back into shape. Well most the screws were stripped. So i have this piece of crap on my roof. If in luckly it will last me two months. Total waste of money and my time.
            by
            Response from EssickAirProductsJun 25, 2020
            Hello, Bry365! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear you had an issue with your install. We’d like to help you resolve this, so give us a call at 1-800-643-8341, Monday through Friday, 7:30 - 5.30 CST. You can also email us at info@essickair.com. Thank you. -Melissa, Champion Cooler
              5 found this review helpful
              105 outside 70 inside, even down to 68, had re-adjust thermostat.
              105 outside 70 inside, even down to 68, had re-adjust thermostat.
              by
              Response from EssickAirProductsJun 9, 2020
              Hello, Leroy! Thank you for taking the time to review and rate our product! We appreciate the stars! -Melissa, AIRCARE
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              Setup was easy and it’s so much easier to install and maintain. I had a huge mastercool before, ...
              Setup was easy and it’s so much easier to install and maintain. I had a huge mastercool before, but the Champion cooler puts out at least 6 times the amount of air. Our house never got below 78-80 in the summer before and now we have to shut it off or we get too cold. Yesterday it was 98 degrees outside and inside it was 71. Wish I had bought this cooler years ago!
              by
              Response from EssickAirProductsMay 12, 2020
              Hello, David! Thank you for choosing Champion Cooler for your cooler needs. We aim to provide the best for our customers. Thanks for the stars! -Melissa, Champion Cooler
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              The hole for electrical connection was covered by a piece of metal welded firm;y to to the cooler...
              The hole for electrical connection was covered by a piece of metal welded firm;y to to the cooler body. Removing the cover was hardest pare of installation. It took me one half an hour to remove it using different tools and finally because it was firmly welded to the body , the body was damaged. It is strongly suggested to do not use the cover or do some thing that it can be removed easily.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              5 found this review helpful
              Cooler installed with no problems. Though 3/4” PWR cord hole had to be drilled out. Unit came wit...
              Cooler installed with no problems. Though 3/4” PWR cord hole had to be drilled out. Unit came with water pump, fan belt, motor mounts, drain and water bleed off T and tubing. Installed 1/2 hp motor with two speeds. Sprayed liquid black tar on bottom pan to prevent rust. Good install manual was included. Unit arrived with no damage or defects from factory. Shipping took two weeks to be delivered. Unit came on big wood pallet of which shipper would not take away. Air flow is good after adjusting window openings at end of duct run. Cool air only when humidity is below 30%. With 105 degrees outside the cooler brings inside to 80 degrees. Using two ceiling fans to help with air circulation. In conclusion, cooler arrived in excellent condition and after installed runs and cools very nicely.
              by
              Response from EssickAirProductsSep 26, 2019
              Hello, Nivram! Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are so glad you love your evaporative cooler. Melissa, Champion Cooler.
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              7 found this review helpful
              Getting the unit on the roof was, of course , no small task; but it was accomplished with no misf...
              Getting the unit on the roof was, of course , no small task; but it was accomplished with no misfortune. Due to the age of the house, and existing down shaft, some tweaking needed to happen before it sat well. Moving the pump and holder for the float to appropriate positions was easily accomplished. Water hook-up was a breeze. Electrical hook-up was strange because of the equipment provided; the wires in the provided plug-ends were made of aluminum, which needed to be connected to our existing copper wires; this would incur the purchase of special, expensive wire connectors. We decided to use our old plug-ends with the copper wires. Plus, we used the motor that had been on the old unit, so we saved on that expense. The unit does what is designed for very well. We have 2200 sq. ft. of room area (including downstairs) and are enjoying the cooler air in our home.
              by
              Response from EssickAirProductsSep 26, 2019
              Hello! We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Thank you! Melissa, Champion Cooler.
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              4 found this review helpful
              Right size for my 1600 square ft house. It was such a great buy, i went back to buy another to sa...
              Right size for my 1600 square ft house. It was such a great buy, i went back to buy another to save in my storage unit for years later.
              by
              Response from EssickAirProductsJul 26, 2019
              Carol, thank you for the review. We love hearing from happy customers! Thank you, Tammie / Champion Cooler
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              Bought a house last summer. Had a old Sears Kenmore cooler on the roof. Live in Nevada. Couldn't ...
              Bought a house last summer. Had a old Sears Kenmore cooler on the roof. Live in Nevada. Couldn't use it between 12 and 7. All it did was blow hot air. installed this two weeks ago. It's been high 90's all week. On low cool the house is 70. Love it.
              by
              Response from EssickAirProductsJul 10, 2018
              We're so happy to hear that you're loving your cooler. Thanks so much for taking the time to give us your feedback! - Sydney, Essick Air Products
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              7 found this review helpful
              Showing 1-10 of 311 reviews