#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #302976074

Model #12385

Store SKU #610372

DryDex 32 oz. Premium Lightweight Low Dust Joint Compound

  • Fills holes and cracks in drywall, plaster, wood, stone, and more
  • Paintable and sandable for both indoor and outdoor projects
  • Applies pink, dries white to show when the surface is paint ready
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

DAP DryDex Spackling, America's #1 seller, offers a unique Dry Time Indicator that goes on pink and dries white helping identify when a patched surface is dry and ready to be sanded and painted. This patented technology eliminates the guesswork and reduces the chance of errors. It's ready-to-use formula spreads easily for fast, professional repairs.
  • Won't shrink or crack
  • Ideal for filling holes and cracks in surfaces such as drywall, plaster, wood, brick and stone
  • Ideal for interior and exterior projects
  • Can be used for small or large hole repairs
  • Easily sandable
  • Provides professional results
  • Can be sanded and painted
  • Ready-to-use formula
  • Easy water clean-up

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
10 ft²
Product Depth (in.)
5
Product Height (in.)
4.75
Product Width (in.)
5

Details

Container Size (gallons)
.25
Drying Time (hours)
24
Drywall Features
Dust Control
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Product Weight (lb.)
2.8825
Tinted
No

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 2,338 reviews
  • 74% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 2,338 reviews
Pealed after painting
I applied 2 coat on compound, sanding in between , left dry overnight. Painted the next day this flat latex and second coat a day later. When applying the second coat I noticed a little lifting. lifted about everywhere the was joint compound
by
Response from DAPProductExpertNov 15, 2021
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see you low star review on DAP Premium Lightweight Joint Compound. The issue that you describe typically results from attempting to sand/paint the compound prior to reaching a fully dried state. Sanding/painting prior to reaching a fully dried state will lead to undesirable results. Because you did not provide any details regarding your project, it is difficult to provide you with a more specific response or product usage guidance in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience and to offer additional application/finishing guidance. DAP
    1 person found this helpful
    Covers well and easy to use....
    Covers well and easy to use.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    If you’re looking to diy some textured art, this is...
    If you’re looking to diy some textured art, this is perfect for it! Easy to work with, gives awesome coverage & texture, easy to see when it’s dry & a snap to clean up, plus you can’t beat the price! It has a bit of weight to it but not so much that you can’t hang your piece like normal. Definitely recommend for that purpose!
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    2 people found this helpful
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Good for quick patching jobs!
    I have a lot of holes in my walls from hanging all sorts of things. This spackling paste makes for a quick patching job to cover up holes and other very small dents in on my walls. The spackling is pink but dries white so you know when you can sand and then paint!
    by
      • Recommended
      Does not dry..
      This product has good idea to include dry color indicator. But the problem is this thing never dries. I waited for 1.5 days after a first application, but I still see pinky color where gaps were filled with this. I ran a fan to dry this up quicker, but did not help. This product is also very sticky, like jelly, so very hard to control and apply. I would not buy this again. The attached picture is my wall 24h after the first application. The pink color is still visible.
      by
      Response from DAPProductExpertFeb 22, 2021
      Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP DryDex Spackling. DryDex Spackling is a water-based formula, as such, the sole drying mechanism is the evaporation of water. Dry time can be significantly impacted by cool (air and/or application surface), humid application conditions, moisture in the application surfaces and/or by thick (deep) applications of the patch. As indicated on the product package and supporting product literature: "One application is usually sufficient for small repairs. For repairs deeper than 1/8”, apply two or more layers allowing spackling to dry between applications." As depicted in the photograph (attached in your review), it would appear that the thinner edges of the repair have dried (turned white), and the center-most potion of the repair has not yet fully dried (still pink). This would likely signal/indicate a change in application depth/surface conditions in that area. Because you did not indicate the size/depth of the repair, application surfaces, surface preparation, application technique or application conditions, it is difficult to provide a more detailed response in this format. Should you wish to provide more details or to discuss this matter further, please free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
        3 people found this helpful
        Junk
        This stuff had hard bits in it right out of the gate. Impossible to work with. Even tried a little water and a mixer hoping the compound was not fully mixed. Didn’t work. For a more expensive spackling paste, I expected more. Don’t buy
        by
        Response from DAPProductExpertFeb 8, 2021
        Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP DryDex Spackling. Based on your commentary indicating: "This stuff had hard bits in it right out of the gate.", it would appear that you may have purchased material that is aged or beyond its normal shelf life. As product ages, it will thicken to the point of becoming difficult or impractical to use (newly purchased may not necessarily be of recent manufacture). At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you, when calling in, please have the product package available, as we will need to collect production information from it (to date the product) and so that we can reach out to the store location where you purchased this product (if necessary). DAP
          Adds perfect texture in creating DIY projects on tin, glass, plastic and wood items.
          Adds perfect texture in creating DIY projects on tin, glass, plastic and wood items.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          DryDex Works Fantastically
          I’m finding it comical that contractors say it’s a horrible product...It doesn’t dry well and they are unable to sand it. Before buying this house, I was an inexperienced white collar worker who had never done any home improvement projects. The contractors that worked on my house renovation left it looking poorly and I had a lot of patchwork to do. This product was perfect. I have had zero issues and the walls look 1000 times better than they did when a “professional” was here. Of course it takes longer to dry depending upon how thick you apply it and after it has turned white, it’s good to go. Any kind of glitteriness will disappear with proper sanding and then proper painting. Also for those who say it dries out quickly… I have found that the smaller containers do not have the greatest lids. I bought a 32 fl. oz. container and that lid snaps on very well. I dispense small amounts into a smaller container each time I use it so I don’t dry out the large one and I double up by also putting the 32 oz. container into a gallon Ziploc for even better storage.... its been a bright pink/fuscia each time I’ve opened it.
          by
            • Recommended
            13 people found this helpful
            Drips from ceiling
            Needed to patch small 1/4" around ceiling fan kept dripping down. Tried 3 x's and it is still too soft. Never had this happen before.
            by
            Response from DAPProductExpertJul 31, 2020
            Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP DryDex Spackling.Slumping (product "running") typically results from these compounds being applied too thickly in a single application layer. As indicated on the product package label guidance as well as supporting product literature: "One application is usually sufficient for small repairs. For repairs deeper than 1/8”, apply two or more layers allowing spackling to dry between applications." At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you and so that we can offer some guidance on how best to proceed. DAP
              2 people found this helpful
              Showing 1-10 of 2,338 reviews