#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 309364425

Model # OPC506

6 in. 14 HP Gas Powered Kohler Engine Certified Commercial Chipper Shredder with Extended Axles and Trailer Tow Hitch

$299999
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo† suggested payments with months† financingApply Now
  • Features a 429cc CH440 Kohler engine covered by a 3-year warranty
  • Auto adjusting, 13 in. dual edge cutters for 6.25 Dia brush
  • Included steel toolbox with safety materials and assembly tools
  • View More Details
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 30 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
caret

Product Details

Make cutting trees and branches easier with this 6-in. 14 HP gas-powered Kohler engine commercial chipper shredder combo. Great for effective cutting of trees, branches, leaves and garden composting, it includes dual 13-in. cutting blades that are double-edge cut reversable for durability. Tool-free dual swing chutes open fast for quick drum access, and the feed chute comes with dual integrated handles for easy equipment moving, a quick-drop stand and a 2-in. ball removable tow bar. For convenience, it provides a steel toolbox with safety materials and assembly tools.
  • Kohler 14 HP CH440 engine with commercial 3-year warranty
  • Dual belt drive drum transmission 13 in. dual edge reversable cutting blades
  • Auto Adjust cutters for brush up to 6.25 diameter trees. Auto blade branch feeding
  • DOT approved for legal road towing: Extended 36 in. axle with code 8x3.37 DOT-T2018 4.80-8 QD-712-11 DOT 58C1 tires; tire size 17.5 d x 5.2 w grease bearing rims
  • D.O.T. approved 4.80-8 17.5 in. O.D. tires sitting on an extended 48 in. safety stability axle with removable tow bar and drop stand with a 2 inch ball coupler
  • Premium built-in toolbox
  • Key shutoff with lockout safety switch
  • Includes 3-year KOHLER® engine and 1-year DK2 chassis warranty
  • 3-year Kohler and 1-year DK2 warranty
  • Click Here to view Features & Benefits of this product
  • Click Here to view Features & Benefits of this product
  • Return Policy
caret

Specifications

Dimensions: H 48 in, W 37 in, D 85 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)85 inProduct Height (in.)48 in
Product Width (in.)37 in

Details

Bag/maximum load capacity (bushels)0Chipper blade materialOther
Chipper capacity (in.)6Commercial / ResidentialCommercial / Residential
ConditionNewEngine Cycles4 Cycle
Engine Displacement (cc)429Engine Torque (ft.-lb.)22.7
Engine Type14 HP 429cc CH440 Kohler Commercial EngineFeaturesSelf-Feeding
Feed capacity (in.)6Fuel Tank Capacity (oz.)236.8 oz
Horsepower (HP)14 hpHousing MaterialSteel
Power TypeGasProduct Weight (lb.)395 lb
ReconditionedNoReduction Ratio0
Returnable30-DaySelf-FeedingYes
Start TypeRecoil StartTranslucent fuel tankNo
WheelsYes

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty3-Year Commercial Engine Warranty/1-Year Chassis Warranty
caret

Questions & Answers

168Questions
caret
Q:Can this be towed by my lawn mower?
by|Nov 18, 2023
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Thank you for your inquiry! Yes, via a 2" ball to fit the coupler. If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us at support@detailk2.com or call us at 1(888) 277-6960 between the hours 8:00am-4:30pm EST. Thank you for choosing DK2! Farzad DK2 Customer Support

by|Nov 20, 2023
    caret
    Q:Is there an electric start kit I can add to my current DK2 ?
    by|Nov 16, 2023
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi Tony. Thank you for shopping at The Home Depot. According to Customer Service, this DK2 6 in. 14 HP Gas Powered Kohler Engine Certified Commercial Chipper Shredder is a pull start only. There is another model with the Koeler engine that has an electric start that is available. https://www.homedepot.com/p/DK2-6-in-14-HP-Gas-Powered-Kohler-Engine-Certified-Commercial-Chipper-Shredder-with-Extended-Axles-and-Trailer-Tow-Hitch-OPC506/309364425 Please let us know if we can be of further assistance. Rick_HD_OC

    by|Nov 16, 2023
    caret
    Q:What size is the box that it comes in?
    by|Nov 8, 2023
    0 Answer
    Answer This Question
    caret
    Q:Where do I get a repair manual for this
    by|Nov 8, 2023
    0 Answer
    Answer This Question
    Showing 1-4 of 168
    caret

    Customer Reviews

    3.9 out of 5
    (576)
    • 3.9
      out of 576 reviews
    • 71% recommend this product
    Filter by:
    Showing 1-10 of 576 reviews
    Assembled incorrectly - blew up after 7 hours
    Used it for 7 hours, until it started making a horrible racket and sparks were shooting out of the top. After disassembly, I saw that the bolt connecting the cutting wheel to the crankshaft had come loose. This allowed the wheel, with all of its teeth and hammers, to float away from the engine and come into contact with the metal housing. Either the bolt wasn't torqued correctly or they forgot to apply Loc-Tite. Now the teeth are bent on the cutting wheel. This thing is junk, do not buy.
    by
    Response from Detail K2 TeamSep 18, 2023
    Thank you for your feedback!

    We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. This is uncommon and those bolts are tightened to hold the wheel. We can look into this and get any defects resolved if you reach out to us at www.detailk2.com/warranty

    If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us at support@detailk2.com or call us at 1(888) 277-6960 between the hours 8:00am-4:30pm EST.

    Thank you for choosing DK2!

    Farzad
    DK2 Customer Support detailk2
      1 found this review helpful
      Axel broke
      The wheel axel broke after 5 pulls behind the lawn mower
      by
      Response from Detail K2 TeamOct 4, 2023
      Thank you for your feedback!

      We apologize for the inconvenience. Please reach out to us so we can get this resolved for you www.detailk2.com/warranty

      If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us at support@detailk2.com or call us at 1(888) 277-6960 between the hours 8:00am-4:30pm EST.

      Thank you for choosing DK2!

      Farzad
      DK2 Customer Support detailk2
        1 found this review helpful
        I was concerned about this chipper based on some of the reviews, but it exceeded my expectations. Easy to assemble. It was capable of self feeding branches of 2-3 inches and needed help with anything 3-6 inches to keep the chipper from stalling. Occasionally jammed if I overloaded it but easy to unjam and restart.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        2 found this review helpful
        opc566 chipper manufacturing issue Please Read!
        The first real disappointment was no blade bolt torque spec. "TIGHT" Is unacceptable! At 10 hours of running one of the blades broke. see photo. After disassembly I was horrified to find that the blade beds painted and also the threaded holes were full of paint!!!!!! You have to clean blade beds and threaded holes! clean and dry bolts and holes add a dab of Permatex 25210 tread locker, the max torque spec for the bolts is ~50ftlbs aka "tight?". Good luck!
        by
        Response from Detail K2 TeamOct 12, 2023
        Thank you for your feedback!

        We apologize for the issues you are experiencing with your DK2 equipment.

        Customer satisfaction is our #1 priority and we’re here to help. Please register your product at www.detailk2.com/warranty so a Customer Service Representative can contact you to help you get your problem resolved.

        In addition, you may call customer service for support, replacement, returns or warranty issues at our Toll-Free number, 1(888) 277-6960 between the hours 8:00am-4:30pm EST.

        We look forward to hearing from you soon!

        Farzad
        DK2 Customer Support Team detailk2
          6 found this review helpful
          The machine was easy to put together although the instructions left a lot to be desired. It fired right up after adding oil and gas. Have used it mainly on cedar/juniper. Takes it well if dry but green wood it will bog down sometimes. Have about 8 hours on it so far and I am really happy with it.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          1 found this review helpful
          For JayBee- DO NOT BUY DK2 - Warranty Is Fake
          I also have the OPC566E now for around 3-4 month and it worked great until the last time I used it and a blade broke doing damage to the drum and anvil. It actually looks as though the blade came into contact with the anvil which caused the blade to break. After contacting DK2 they are going to send me new blades and an anvil. The piece sticking up in the picture I thought was just a piece of metal... wrong, it's hard steel and a part of the anvil that got cut into.
          by
          Response from THD_CSOJun 6, 2023
          Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, We have reached out to the manufacturer and their reply is,Machine, we are sorry to hear that you’re not satisfied with your purchase. We want to ensure that you have the best possible experience with our products and would love for you to reach out to us directly so that we can have the opportunity to assist you further. Please contact us at 1+(888) 277-6960 or info@detailk2.com. We look forward to hearing from you!
            • Recommended
            DO NOT BUY DK2 - Warranty Is Fake
            My OPC556E sits dead in the corner of the garage. After just 6 hours of chipping soft, dry, year-old cedar, BOTH original blades fractured (the second fracture caused a bolt to shear at the drum). I believe the drum was shipped out of balance, and I asked for a replacement drum. I filed my warranty claim in January '23 but have received very little response from DetailK2 in the five months since. IF they bother to respond to an email, all I get is "We're waiting on parts". They won't commit to replacing the drum; they have only offered a COUPON for replacement blades. NO ONE ANSWERS THE PHONE. The warnings you see in other reviews are true. Unfortunately, this Canadian company does not care about (or does not have the ability to address) faulty/defective products. It's also disappointing that HOME DEPOT does nothing to address DK2's poor warranty support...this makes them look bad as well!
            by
              9 found this review helpful
              Not really a 3" chipper
              After opening the box and looking at the openings it didn't seem like it could fit a 3in branch, then I measured it. The hopper opening is 2 3/8, the opening for the branches is only 2 1/4. Not sure why this is advertised as a 3in chipper if it cannot even accept a 3in branch
              by
              Response from THD_CSOApr 19, 2023
              Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, We have reached out to the manufacturer and their reply is,Please send us the reviewer's contact information so we can reach out to them directly and address their complaint
                2 found this review helpful
                DK2 Woodchipper OPC 506
                Do not buy this product ever. Kept like new, then exhaust valve just snapped off and ruined the motor. Also, DK2 don’t answer their phone.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  4 found this review helpful
                  Dk2
                  The chipper works well. The emergency stop cord not so good. Still waiting for replacement.
                  by
                  Response from Detail K2 TeamOct 12, 2023
                  Thank you for your feedback!

                  We are glad to hear that you are enjoying the product and performance that comes with a DK2 product.

                  If you have any questions, do not hesitate to contact us at support@detailk2.com or call us at 1(888) 277-6960 between the hours 8:00am-4:30pm EST.

                  Thank you for choosing DK2!

                  Farzad
                  DK2 Customer Support detailk2
                  • Verified Purchase
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Showing 1-10 of 576 reviews

                  Compare Similar Items

                  current product

                  Chipper capacity (in.)

                  6

                  6.2

                  3.5

                  5.75

                  Engine Displacement (cc)

                  429

                  459

                  429

                  429

                  Features

                  Self-Feeding

                  Antivibration, Electronic Ignition, Portable, Replaceable Cutting Blade, Rust Resistant, Self-Feeding, Towable

                  Self-Feeding

                  Assembly Required, Electronic Ignition, Portable, Replaceable Cutting Blade, Towable

                  Commercial / Residential

                  Commercial / Residential

                  Commercial / Residential

                  Commercial / Residential

                  Commercial / Residential

                  Condition

                  New

                  New

                  New

                  New