#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #311613365

Model #88459180

Store SKU #1004864762

  • Year-long color with Color Advantage
  • 3-in. layer helps prevent weeds by blocking growth and sunlight
  • Helps conserve soil moisture
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

Exclusive
+
+
Price:

Product Overview

Earthgro by Scotts Mulch uses Scotts Color Advantage to provide year-long color, guaranteed. Made from forest products, Earthgro Mulch helps conserve soil moisture, moderate soil temperature and prevent weeds naturally by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3 in. D. for longest color, keep mulch dry for 24-hours after application. To optimize color, it is recommended to turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-months to 4-months.
  • Color advantage helps maintain color for up to 12-months
  • Helps beautify landscapes while deterring weeds by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3 in. D
  • Shredded mulch beautifies landscape areas and the wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature
  • Best results, keep mulch dry for 24-hours after application and turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-months to 4-months
  • Available in 3 colors: brown, red and black
  • Test



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area at 3 In. (sq. ft.)
8 ft²

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (cu. ft.)
1.5 cu ft
Color Family
Red
Material
Wood
Mulch Type
Shredded

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.6
    out of 1,029 reviews
  • 47% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,029 reviews
Year-long color guarantee - yeah, right....
We have used Scott's Earthgro red mulch in the past and have generally been satisfied. We have experienced the color variations from bag to bag that many other reviewers describe here). This year purchased 32 bags of mulch (we typically mulch every other year) and put them down in early June. We were happy with the color consistency of the mulch in the batch we purchased this year. It's now early September and the 3 month old new mulch looks just as washed out and color faded as the two year old mulch we covered over in June (see pic below). We had four bags left over from the job in June and put those down after adding some flowers in a mulched area (see pic below). Time to see if Scott's will stand behind their "year long color guarantee".
by
Response from ScottsCustomerCareSep 8, 2021
We are sorry you were not satisfied. We value your feedback and would like to know what we can do better. Our products carry a satisfaction guarantee, at your convenience, please contact us to see what we can do to help. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. Scotts
    Color varies from bag to bag
    I recently purchased 40 bags and found the color to be inconsistent from bag to bag. I purchased the red color. Each bag stated it was red, but some were more of a brown or natural color so my flower beds have a variety of color in them. Also keep in mind that this brand is a 1.5 cubit foot bag, whereas other vendors have 2.0 cu. ft. bags
    by
    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 22, 2021
    Thank you for your feedback on Earthgro Red Mulch. We're sorry you were disappointed. All of our products are supported by a money-back guarantee, so if we can help troubleshoot or answer any questions, please contact our Consumer Services team at 877-220-3089. Scotts
      The Red Mulch was actually BROWN!!
      We ordered 70 bags of this Scott's EarthGro Red Mulch and had it distributed by our landscaper. We though the mulch looked brown once it was down, but it had recently rained and we figured it just looked brown because it was wet. Well that wasn't the case, it was and is BROWN! After contacting Scott's to resolve the issue, they agreed to refund the price of the mulch. But, that doesn't take into account 1) the cost to distribute it, twice ($80 x 2); 2) the cost to replace the mulch now that it is no longer on sale (purchased for $1.98 per bag, now $3.38 per bag; 3) the cost for delivery by Home Depot ($79). Also, it will take 30 days to receive a refund! This was a terrible experience and I would never purchase Scott's EarthGro mulch again. H. Hamilton
      by
      Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 9, 2021
      We’re sorry you had this frustrating experience. The color and texture of the mulch can slightly differ depending on where the product was made and the supplies available. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
        1 person found this helpful
        color production is all over the map
        The last 3 years we have gotten Vigaro but HD decided not to stock it locally and instead heavily stocked this mulch. And with it being on sale for the Memorial Day holiday we decided to get the front gardens done with it. Opened the first bag and thought we had mistakenly got the brown mulch bag....nope. This "red" is so close to a brown. Then I starting opening the rest of the bags. these bags were all on the same shrink wrapped pallet I picked up from HD. The pics show how dramatically one bag of red looks to the next. Either they mistakenly put the brown in the red bags...OR...the person coloring them at the factory is color blind. There is NO excuse for all of these color variations for the same brand and same lot of bags. If I had paid normal price for these I would have been livid. As it currently stands I already have them in the gardens. Now my wife and I are having to try and mix it together as best as we can to blend it. I am so thankful we aren't in a mandatory HOA because I can imagine we would get a notice saying we didn't properly coordinate our color.
        by
        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 25, 2021
        I would like to apologize for your experience with Scotts Earthgro Red Mulch. It is unusual for mulch color to vary this much. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. Please refer to this product review when calling. Scotts
          Scott’s Earthgro red mulch
          Very inconsistent color, bought all red bags most of it looks brown. Will not buy next year for sure. Probably why it was on sale!
          by
          Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 27, 2021
          Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated to ensuring that all of our consumers have a positive experience with our products, so if you are unsatisfied in any way, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts is dedicated to delivering a high quality product at a value price, so please give us the opportunity to address this issue with you. Scotts
            1 person found this helpful
            Disappointed
            I purchased 21 bags of Earthgro Red Mulch yesterday for some landscaping that I ignored in 2020 COVID. I have always gotten red mulch to contrast the house and shrubs. I understand that these are 'locally made' so I can tolerate the bits and pieces of square chunks of lumber from some job-site cleanup. I will also give a pass to the mold/decay found in some of the bags but when the bag is labeled RED Mulch it is unacceptable to get 21 bags of brownish mulch. Unfortunately I need 15 more bag to complete my project, so in 2022 I will not be purchasing this product.
            by
            Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
            We are sorry the color of your Earthgro mulch was unsatisfactory. Our mulch is produced regionally, so it is not uncommon for there to be slight variations in the color. That being said, your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. Therefore, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
              2 people found this helpful
              3 Different Shades of Red in the EarthGrow Red Mulch
              If you want a consistent color with this mulch then I would suggest waiting until Vigoro comes back into stock. See the picture, I bought this mulch over a couple of days (Saturday - Monday). As you can see, there is 3 different shades of red. THIS IS ALL DONE WITH SCOTTS EARTHGRO RED MULCH..
              by
              Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 30, 2021
              We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                4 people found this helpful
                DO NOT USE IF YOU WANT RED!
                This was a bad year for scotts. Between reading other reviews and my own experience, I will not be using any more Earthgro for awhile. And sadly I purchased 30 bags. It is not red. It is more of a brown. And very chunky and mixed with other things. I have found random stones, and even a yellow bit of plastic. I am thinking that they're starting to use construction material from the amount of crap I am finding. I'll use it because I have no other choice. But I wanted red.
                by
                Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                We are sorry the color of your Earthgro mulch was unsatisfactory. Our mulch is produced regionally, so it is not uncommon for there to be slight variations in the color and texture. Also, despite our best efforts at keeping the product pure, occasionally foreign material can enter the mulch during the process. That being said, your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. Therefore, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                  5 people found this helpful
                  Wrong color
                  I purchased 24 bags to do my front and back yard and they were all wet when I got them which is why I didn’t question the darker color but once a couple of days went by, they still looked very dark. I needed more mulch but they were out of Scott’s so I bought another brand and there was a HUGE difference! It actually turned out they were brown labeled as red. I contacted the company but they haven’t responded and it’s been over a month. Never again.
                  by
                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 13, 2021
                  We’re sorry to hear that you’re dissatisfied with the Earthgro by Scotts Mulch product, and we’re committed to ensuring a quality experience to our consumers. We do offer a consumer guarantee for all of our consumers, and we would like the opportunity to make this right for you; please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 at your earliest convenience. Scotts
                    1 person found this helpful
                    Ombré mulch
                    Unless you’re indecisive and want red, black and brown mulch all in 1 bag, I would avoid this “red” mulch. I ordered 10 bags for pick up and by the time I realized most were awful looking after cutting them open, it was too late and I wasn’t putting opened bags in my trunk to return. Waste of money.
                    by
                    Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 13, 2021
                    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read of your disappointment with this product. We are dedicated to ensuring that all of our consumers have a positive experience with our products, so if you are unsatisfied in any way, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                      6 people found this helpful
                      Thanks so much for my mulch not matching colors even from the same skid.
                      After buying so much mulch in the past, I just thought new mulch from you would be the same.
                      by
                      Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 13, 2021
                      Thank you for your feedback. Our products carry a consumer guarantee. To ensure a year long color, make sure to turn the mulch every 3 months. If you would like any further assistance or to find out more about our product guarantee, please call us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                        4 people found this helpful
                        Wrong Color
                        Ordered 6 bags of red mulch per curbside pickup and the color was actually brown. Didn't realize until I cut 3 bags and started to dump out or I would have returned to the store. I've used red mulch at my home for years and now I will have to keep buying this brand for this season so the color will be similar. Not happy with Scotts right now. WOW!!
                        by
                        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 30, 2021
                        We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                          5 people found this helpful
                          Brown some red
                          Do not Buy! More brown than red color and I emailed Scotts and they did not respond. I bought 6 bags on March 25, 2021 what a waste of money and time.
                          by
                          Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 1, 2021
                          We are sorry to learn of your disappointment with Scotts Earthgo Mulch. Your satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and we stand by the promises made in our advertisements. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089, and reference this product review for assistance. Scotts
                            7 people found this helpful
                            Scotts Name taking Huge Hit!
                            Reviews already posted about how bad this mulch is are accurate. The packaging should read "Scotts Multicolor Mulch"! I opened 4 bags before spreading and ended up with 4 different colors. Home Depot is also responsible for selling such a substandard product. I have 11-1/2 more bags that will be going back and Home Depot needs to call Scotts out for failure to provide quality mulch for so many of us trying to make our landscaping look on point. SHAMEFUL!!
                            by
                            Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 12, 2021
                            We're sorry to read about your disappointment with the Earthgro by Scotts Mulch, and appreciate your feedback. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                              6 people found this helpful
                              its brown!!!
                              Not hppy at all. First its brown!!! I usually get a different brand and saw i saw it was local which was awesome. But finding chunks of wood and plastic pieces as well. I bought 20 bags which usually is plenty for my yard and it only filled half. So what do i do now? Spend more money on this awful product, rack it all up, or get another product but will be mixed with a different color on othe parts of my yard. Im so fruatrated The quality control is awful. HD this is not good!! Dont buy.
                              by
                              Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 15, 2021
                              Bobby, we're sorry to hear Scotts Earthgro Red mulch didn't meet your expectations. We'd like to offer our assistance with the product guarantee. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                                • Recommended
                                6 people found this helpful
                                NOT RED!!
                                I purchased this "Red" mulch because Home Depot was out of the other brand that I was already using. Upon applying it to my garden I immediately noticed that this mulch is not red but more of a dark brown. Not even close to being red. I needed mulch and didn't want to bag it back up and return so now I have a two-toned garden.
                                by
                                Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 12, 2021
                                We're sorry to read about your disappointment with the Earthgro by Scotts Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your convenience, please call us at 877-220-3089 for assistance. Scotts
                                  4 people found this helpful
                                  There is nothing red about.
                                  Look at the pic, it’s anything but red. Wasted not a lot of money but it’s a hassle to cover it up.
                                  by
                                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 28, 2021
                                  Hi Bob, we're sorry that you were not satisfied with the color of our Earthgro Red Mulch. Please know that if you're even unhappy with any of our products, for any reason, you may reach out to our Consumer Services team at 877-220-3089 and we would be happy to troubleshoot and review our product guarantee. Scotts
                                    2 people found this helpful
                                    Not red at all
                                    The gas station mulch is better then this. I bought 15 red bags and eventhough the bags said red the mulch was nothing but dirty old mulch with barely any red to it. One bag was full of black bugs and another had mold. I thought since it was Scotts it would be good...lesson learned.
                                    by
                                    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 28, 2021
                                    We are sorry to hear that this was your experience with our Earthgro Red Mulch - this is certainly not the quality we expect from our products. Please know that all of our products are backed be a No Quibble Guarantee; simply call our Consumer Services team at 877-220-3089 and we would be happy to troubleshoot and review our product guarantee. Scotts
                                      2 people found this helpful
                                      Inconsistent color
                                      We bought over 20 bags of this red mulch and the color was very inconsistent. Some bags were brighter red and some looked more brown. I had to end up opening bags and mixing them together in order to make it work. This definitely prolonged the process This mulch is more the shredded type, not the chips.
                                      by
                                      Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 28, 2021
                                      Hi Amy, we're sorry to hear that our Earthgro Red Mulch was inconsistent in color. We want our consumers to have faith in our products, which is why we back everything we sell with a No Quibble Guarantee. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 877-220-3089 and we would be happy to review the product guarantee. Scotts
                                        • Recommended
                                        3 people found this helpful
                                        Earthgro RED mulch more brown than red
                                        I purchased over 40 bags of RED mulch - over 20 bags of Scotts Earthgro RED mulch and remainder of aless expensive (same price/bigger bag) mulch (V***** brand). I used the Scotts brand in the higher visibility areas of my landscaping since it would be seen more often and I wanted to make a good impression. I used the less expensive mulch in the out-of-the-way areas figuring the quality would be not as good. I was disappointed to find that of the 20+ Earthgro bags, 14 were distinctly browish while the remaining Scotts bags were the expected red color. On the other hand, the cheaper brand was more consistently red. Considering Scotts to be a good brand I expected more quality than I ended up with - very disappointing. Since I had already lugged all these bags home and opened them, it was too late to return them and too expensive to buy even more mulch to correct the landscaping. Next year, I will rethink buying based on brand and go for more value. The attached picture shows a side-by-side comparison of the two mulch brands - Scotts was on the left and the less expensive brand on the right - clearly the cheaper brand was more red.
                                        by
                                        Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 15, 2021
                                        We're sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Earthgro Red Mulch and we appreciate your feedback. We'd like to gather some additional information and assist you with our product guarantee. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                                          2 people found this helpful
                                          Terrible product made by Scotts, sold by Home Depot. Shame on you!
                                          Bought 20 bags, paid full price. Upon opening discovered brown (not red), rotten, smelly stuff. See the picture attached. Maybe it was good when it was shipped from Scotts, but what Home Depot is selling is junk. Just threw everything into the garbage. Really disappointed in Home Depot.
                                          by
                                          Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 12, 2021
                                          We are sorry you were not satisfied. We value your feedback and would like to know what we can do better. Our products carry a satisfaction guarantee, at your convenience, please contact us to see what we can do to help. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                                            2 people found this helpful
                                            Terrible product made by Scotts, sold by Home Depot. Shame on you!
                                            Bought 20 bags, paid full price. Upon opening discovered brown (not red), rotten, smelly stuff. See the picture attached. Maybe it was good when it was shipped from Scotts, but what Home Depot is selling is junk. Just threw everything into the garbage. Really disappointed in Home Depot.
                                            by
                                            Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 12, 2021
                                            Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated to ensuring that all of our consumers have a positive experience with our products, so if you are unsatisfied in any way, please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts is dedicated to delivering a high quality product at a value price, so please give us the opportunity to address this issue with you. Scotts
                                              2 people found this helpful
                                              red mulch is brown
                                              Very diappointed with this mulch. Its not red. Its brown - purchased in Bartlett illinois home depot
                                              by
                                              Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 12, 2021
                                              We're sorry to read about your disappointment with the color in the Earthgro by Scotts Mulch We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                                                • Recommended
                                                2 people found this helpful
                                                Terrible Product
                                                My experience with this product this year was horrible. I opened three of the eight bags I needed and found all three to be decompossing and brownish. Not even close to being red. I will not even open the other five. They also smelled horrible.
                                                by
                                                Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 28, 2021
                                                We're sorry that the Earthgro by Scotts Mulch wasn't the quality that you've come to expect. We would like to extend our product guarantee with you, so at your convenience, please give us a call at 877.220.3089. Scotts
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  2 people found this helpful
                                                  Color fades fast
                                                  The red color faded to brown within 2 weeks. I laid a thick layer in hopes that it would keep the weeds at bay, but it did not stop them. In the attached image this product is on the right, you can see that it is definitely not red, but more of a brown color.
                                                  by
                                                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 20, 2021
                                                  We're sorry that the Earthgro by Scotts Mulch didn't keep the color as expected. For best results, the mulch should be applied when rain is not expected for 24-48 hours and the area should not be watered for 24 hours after applying to allow the mulch the fully dry which helps to set the colorant. We would like to extend our product guarantee with you, so at your convenience, please give us a call at 877.220.3089. Scotts
                                                    1 person found this helpful
                                                    Chips, not Mulch
                                                    I bought a bag of this and this is not mulch. These are large wood chips. Luckily it still worked for my needs but it's no where near being "shredded" as advertised. It was very mixed and mostly large wood chips.
                                                    by
                                                    Response from ScottsCustomerCareJun 11, 2021
                                                    We are sorry to hear of your experience with Earthgro Red Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                                                      3 people found this helpful
                                                      Red Mulch ?
                                                      I bought this mulch today and am very disappointed in the quality and color , there are pieces of branches and shredded plastic in the mixture. The color is more brown than it is red, I will go back to the Vigoro product which is a superior product.
                                                      by
                                                      Response from ScottsCustomerCareOct 4, 2020
                                                      We are sorry to hear that you encountered issues with Earthgro Red Mulch. We would like to assure you that we make every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. Please rest assured that we will forward your information on to our Quality Assurance Department so they can investigate this matter and look for ways to make sure this does not happen again. If you are willing, please contact us at 877-220-3089 so that we can rectify this for you. Scotts
                                                        4 people found this helpful
                                                        IT’S NOT ALL RED
                                                        I have been buying this mulch for years and have always been very satisfied. We bought 16 bags last month. I put it down tthis week. At least four of the bags were BROWN not red. I am very dissapointed in this product. Home Depot and Scotts should be ashamed for selling a product like this!
                                                        by
                                                        Response from ScottsCustomerCareAug 14, 2020
                                                        We apologize for the issues you have encountered with Scotts EarthGro Red Color Advantage Mulch. Mulches are produced regionally at different plants and sometimes there may be 2 plants distributing to the same market. Because the wood material varies, the wood absorbs the colorant will vary as well. If you are willing, please contact us at 877-220-3089 so that we can rectify this for you. Scotts
                                                          4 people found this helpful
                                                          Earthgro RED Mulch is NOT RED Color
                                                          I ordered 55 bags of Earthgro Red Mulch and other stuffs from Home Depot. When I open the mulch bags , the color is drak brown. It doesn’t look bad but I was not expecting this color.
                                                          by
                                                          Response from ScottsCustomerCareAug 7, 2020
                                                          We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Earthgro Red Mulch. Because the wood material varies, how that wood absorbs the colorant will vary as well. The color difference will usually go away with exposure to sun and rain. We want you to be confident about our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                                                            5 people found this helpful
                                                            Last Sunday I decided to spruce up my flower beds, so I purchased 24 bags of Scotts Red Mulch and...
                                                            Last Sunday I decided to spruce up my flower beds, so I purchased 24 bags of Scotts Red Mulch and some bags of top soil. I was going to order a load of the same type of product from a landscaping company but changed my mind. I purchased the bags at Home Depot where they loaded them on to my son’s small trailer and getting home we dispersed them around my 3 flower beds. I found them easy to open by pulling on the sides of the bags then slowly dumping them on the weed mat I laid as I went down each area. The bags were light and easy to carry, as opposed to using a wheelbarrow full of loose product. As I laid a few bags I continued to spread the mulch with a rake, making sure I had enough to cover evenly. The job took just over an hour with the help of my son and we did not have to clean off the driveway where we would have had the pile of mulch normally dumped. The job was easy, fast and very rewarding. After it was completed the family was very glad we chose the Scotts Red Mulch in handleable bags.
                                                            by
                                                            • Verified Purchase
                                                            • Recommended
                                                            2 people found this helpful
                                                            Showing 1-30 of 1,029 reviews