Internet #311613365

Model #88459180

Store SKU #1004864762

1.5 cu. ft. Red Mulch

  • Year-long color with Color Advantage
  • 3-in. layer helps prevent weeds by blocking growth and sunlight
  • Helps conserve soil moisture
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
Price:

Product Overview

Earthgro by Scotts Mulch uses Scotts Color Advantage to provide year-long color, guaranteed. Made from forest products, Earthgro Mulch helps conserve soil moisture, moderate soil temperature and prevent weeds naturally by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3-in. depth. For longest color, keep mulch dry for 24 hours after application. To optimize color, it is recommended to turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-4 months.
  • Color Advantage helps maintain color for up to 12 months
  • Helps beautify landscapes while deterring weeds by blocking growth and access to sunlight when applied at a 3-in. depth
  • Shredded mulch beautifies landscape areas, and the wood composition helps conserve soil moisture and moderate temperature
  • For best results, keep mulch dry for 24 hours after application, and turn or rake the top 1 in. of mulch every 3-4 months
  • Available in 3 colors: brown, red and black



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area at 3 In. (sq. ft.)
8

Details

Bag Capacity/Dry Volume (cu. ft.)
1.5 cu ft
Color Family
Red
Material
Wood
Mulch Type
Shredded

Warranty / Certifications

Mulch and Soil Council Certified
Yes

Questions & Answers

22Questions34Answers

How does Scotts monitor the quality of its mulch each year ? After my own experience and reading...

Asked by RP65 July 23, 2020
5
Answers

I bought red mulch, it said on the bag red but it was brown the did deliver one bag of red

Playground safe ?

Asked by Garret July 6, 2020
5
Answers

It has dye on it that will transfer to clothing.

Pet friendly? Dog likes to eat and chew

Asked by Cundylu June 28, 2020
3
Answers

Sometime

I am concerned about termites. Termites attracted to this product? I bought 4 bags yesterday but now have concerns

Asked by Angel June 27, 2020
5
Answers

I have never had a problem with termites after using this product. We've been using it for years.

HOW MANY BAGS MAKE 1 YARD

Asked by randy June 21, 2020
4
Answers

Most bags of mulch hold 2 cubic feet. This is a little less per bag but there are 13-1/2 bags in a yard at 2 cu ft. We always buy extra mulch every year because some areas of the flower beds need a deeper mulch application.

I've been using Scott's mulch for years now & I recommend using it around flower.beds. How long. will this sell be on

Asked by Rick June 20, 2020
3
Answers

Last year I used Virgo brand

Is it toxic to pets?

Asked by DJ June 17, 2020
2
Answers

I am not an expert but it appears that this mulch is not toxic to animals. It seems to carry a full guarantee from Scotts who would not subject the company or public to toxic products harmful to people or animals.

Why hasn’t this mulch gone on sale this spring like it has for like the past 5 years?

Asked by Bridgette June 8, 2020
2
Answers

It just did go on sale. Time to stock up! The sale price is not quite as cheap as in past years but this is probably the best price you'll get this yr.

Is the 8.99 delivery price per bag? And how far do you deliver? Or is there a set delivery charge on really large orde

Asked by Dee June 3, 2020
3
Answers

I order 100 bags charged 89.99

Is the red mulch available cant seem to find it anywhere n.c.

Asked by Carol May 31, 2020
2
Answers

Check HomeDepot

1.5 cu. ft. Red Mulch - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 824 Customer Reviews
  • 3.8 out of 5 stars overall
53% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
5star-icon(415)
4star-icon(120)
3star-icon(68)
2star-icon(79)
1star-icon(142)
Sort By:
Red Mulch ?
I bought this mulch today and am very disappointed in the quality and color , there are pieces of branches and shredded plastic in the mixture. The color is more brown than it is red, I will go back to the Vigoro product which is a superior product.
Was this helpful?
3
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareOctober 4, 2020
We are sorry to hear that you encountered issues with Earthgro Red Mulch. We would like to assure you that we make every effort during manufacturing to ensure our products stay as pure as possible. Please rest assured that we will forward your information on to our Quality Assurance Department so they can investigate this matter and look for ways to make sure this does not happen again. If you are willing, please contact us at 877-220-3089 so that we can rectify this for you. Scotts
IT’S NOT ALL RED
I have been buying this mulch for years and have always been very satisfied. We bought 16 bags last month. I put it down tthis week. At least four of the bags were BROWN not red. I am very dissapointed in this product. Home Depot and Scotts should be ashamed for selling a product like this!
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareAugust 14, 2020
We apologize for the issues you have encountered with Scotts EarthGro Red Color Advantage Mulch. Mulches are produced regionally at different plants and sometimes there may be 2 plants distributing to the same market. Because the wood material varies, the wood absorbs the colorant will vary as well. If you are willing, please contact us at 877-220-3089 so that we can rectify this for you. Scotts
Earthgro RED Mulch is NOT RED Color
I ordered 55 bags of Earthgro Red Mulch and other stuffs from Home Depot. When I open the mulch bags , the color is drak brown. It doesn’t look bad but I was not expecting this color.
Was this helpful?
2
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareAugust 7, 2020
We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Earthgro Red Mulch. Because the wood material varies, how that wood absorbs the colorant will vary as well. The color difference will usually go away with exposure to sun and rain. We want you to be confident about our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
Last Sunday I decided to spruce up my flower beds, so I purchased 24 bags of Scotts Red Mulch and...
Last Sunday I decided to spruce up my flower beds, so I purchased 24 bags of Scotts Red Mulch and some bags of top soil. I was going to order a load of the same type of product from a landscaping company but changed my mind. I purchased the bags at Home Depot where they loaded them on to my son’s small trailer and getting home we dispersed them around my 3 flower beds. I found them easy to open by pulling on the sides of the bags then slowly dumping them on the weed mat I laid as I went down each area. The bags were light and easy to carry, as opposed to using a wheelbarrow full of loose product. As I laid a few bags I continued to spread the mulch with a rake, making sure I had enough to cover evenly. The job took just over an hour with the help of my son and we did not have to clean off the driveway where we would have had the pile of mulch normally dumped. The job was easy, fast and very rewarding. After it was completed the family was very glad we chose the Scotts Red Mulch in handleable bags.
Was this helpful?
0
0
Scott's Earthgro RED Mulch is NOT RED Is
You would think that you would be able to depend on Scott's as a good brand.. Not so. The color is no longer RED Like it was in previous years.. Very disappointing.. All 15 bags!! See pix along the home vs last year's on the chockie garden in front.. No matching. NOT HAPPY w/HOME DEPOT or SCOTTS
Was this helpful?
0
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareAugust 3, 2020
Toni2177, we apologize for this experience with our Earthgro Red Mulch. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
No consistancy in color
Bought 5 bags from Apple Valley MN store one day. Went back for 6 more base a few days later. Same bag/label on all bags, taken from same pile. Terrible color difference. A lot of wasted time for me. Who's going to come and remove the wrong stuff and dispose of it? Me??? Don't think so. B-E-W-A-R-E.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareJuly 31, 2020
RickyO, we're sorry to hear the color on your Scotts Earthgro Red Mulch didn't match. We'd like to gather some additional information and assist you with our product guarantee. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Scotts
Nice color nice wood chip after I applied earthgro red...
Nice color nice wood chip after I applied earthgro red mulch stop growing weeds & wild plants.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Scott’s Earthgrow red is half red, half brown?
Bought 18 bags, knowing I would need another 30-40. After opening and emptying all 18 where they were to be spread, it was evident that it wasn’t 100% red! Terrible product! Like everyone else, thought it might ”dry out” and the color would change, not at all. Should’ve returned the 17 after opening the first... will be going back to HD and voicing displeasure and asking for a refund. They have to know they are selling inferior, mislabeled product. It should be labeled half red/half brown... not happy at all!! If HD unwilling to refund, I will be disputing with CC company. Have used this before and don’t remember it being “this bad”. Come on Scott’s, why are you doing this to your customers? Refund=give Scott’s another chance in the future, no refund= Well, you know...
Was this helpful?
3
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareJuly 2, 2020
We apologize that Earthgro Red Mulch did not meet your expectations. Our mulches are produced regionally at different plants, so the wood material can vary slightly batch to batch and more so between manufacturing plants. Because the wood material varies, how that wood absorbs the colorant will also vary. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call us and refer to your review to see what can be done. Our phone number is 877-220-3089. Scotts
Mulch keeps weeds out and improves appearance while retaining moisture
Mulch keeps weeds out and improves appearance while retaining moisture
Was this helpful?
1
0
Not Red
Bought 30 bags of this “red” mulch. Some bags were brown or almost black. I thought it would change as it dried out. It didn’t. Also some bags had white flecks of something in them. I’ve always used Vigoro brand and have never been disappointed, but they were out of stock. I should have waited. Terrible product.
Was this helpful?
1
0
Response from ScottsCustomerCareJuly 1, 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are dedicated to providing consumers with high quality products at a value price, and if we have not done that in this case, we would like to discuss this with you directly and have the opportunity to make it right for you. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089 at your earliest convenience. Scotts
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers