#1 Home Improvement Retailer

40 in. Tow-Behind Combination Aerator-Spreader

$48900
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Time-saving tool finishes large lawn projects quicker
  • Aerates soil so soil, water, oxygen and nutrients access roots
  • Spreader has precise flow control with adjustable stop features
  • View More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$48900

Product Overview

Finish two big lawn projects at once with John Deere's 40 in. Tow-Behind Aerator-Spreader. This time-saving tool not only aerates the soil, allowing water, oxygen and nutrients to reach grass roots, but also drops seed, fertilizer and lime directly into the perforated soil. The durable steel spreader hopper supports up to 100 lbs. of material and features calibrated flow control with adjustable stop features. The aerator's 8 in. diameter powder-coated steel tine stars resist rust and perforate the soil up to 2 in. Multitasking has never been easier!
  • 40 in. working width; up to 2 in. penetration
  • Spreader hopper capacity of 100lbs., 1.74 cu. ft.
  • 132 steel tine tips, 8 in. Dia stars; powder-coated steel
  • Calibrated flow control with adjustable stop feature
  • 10.5 in. x 4 in. transport wheels; single lever engagement
  • Universal hitch connects to most riding lawn mowers and lawn tractors, includes hitch pin
  • Includes 16-gauge weight tray for adding additional weight (for aggressive operations)
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
45.25 in
Assembled Height (in.)
16.5 in
Assembled Width (in.)
17.5 in
Clearing Width (In.)
40 in
Maximum Penetration (in.)
2
Working Width (in.)
40

Details

Application Type
Lawn Care
Assembly Required
Yes
Features
Adjustable Flow System
Fits Brands
Universal
Fits Brands
Universal
Fits Models
All models with rear hitch plate
Included
Hitch Pin
Material
Steel
Product Weight (lb.)
90
Refurbished
No
Returnable
90-Day
Riding Mower Features
Pneumatic Tires

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
2 Years

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.3
    out of 57 reviews
  • 55% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 57 reviews
This aerator-spreader is way better than my old agifab. It's...
This aerator-spreader is way better than my old agifab. It's heavy duty in how it's made and in the weight. I have had yet to add any additional weight on it. Alton has pneumatic tires which I think helps with the bouncing around and has a smoother ride.
by
  • Verified Purchase
I’m having trouble keeping the agitating chain on it’s sprocket....
I’m having trouble keeping the agitating chain on it’s sprocket. The chain is extremely loose & I do not see any adjustment.
by
    great product
    I have yet to buy this product, it appears that JD does build a bit better , I personal like those fat tires, and no other company throughout of a weight tray, the only consistently weak part is that single chain driven system, perhaps if it was a double or even triple chain driven system it would be more effective and not fall off or break. further more stop with the plastic cover that is so cheap, and also possible up the caring load, so come on JD , DON'T take the cheap road out in materials. Us home owners are just trying to make are little piece of heaven nice and presentable. , thanks for listening.
    by
      • Recommended
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      For assembling....Hard to put together. Spikes exposed while putting together. Instructions not g...
      For assembling....Hard to put together. Spikes exposed while putting together. Instructions not good at all, difficult to follow (I can usually follow pretty good). Will update when I finally get to use it.
      by
      Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceJun 10, 2021
      Thank you for your feedback! We have recently updated the manual. You may have the older version. You can give us call at 877-728-8224 and we would be happy to email you the current copy! We hope to hear you are satisfied with the operation of your Aerator Spreader. Brinly
      • Verified Purchase
      Best aerator/ spreader out there.
      Product arrived in 7 days. Delivery was to my front door. No scratches or mars on the carton or contents. Assembly was a breeze. No missing parts. 100% satisfied with my purchase... Highly recommend !
      by
        • Recommended
        Overall Good Product - Needs Improved Instructions and Slight Design Changes
        As the title says, it's overall a good product just needs a few modifications. I bought one of these a few weeks ago and have already run it over about 5 acres between my yard and a couple of friends yards. Here's what I love about it: All steel constructions (except tine spacers and chain guard), pneumatic tires, heavy. What I don't like, the middle support for the tine shaft is very thin/flimsy metal; already have had two of the spacers on the tines wear pretty heavily due to rubbing as parts shifted during use. Luckily, I'm pretty handy and have been able to make some minor modifications/add in some washers to make this better. Honestly, it's a good product and the only reasons I didn't give it 5 stars were: -Poor assembly instructions. I don't know how the average homeowner could complete this on their own, let alone using the instructions. In order to assemble and attach the drawbar, I ended up finding it FAR easier to attach the drawbar to the box FIRST and then use a C-clamp to bring it together in the middle for the final bolts. Additionally, the instructions could've been a little more clearly matched to the images in the instructions. The pictures on instructions were clearly made with an older revision of the product than the one I had. -Heavier metal for the box/supports of the tine shaft. I've had some minor flexing/bending where the tine shaft goes through the box for support which has caused some of the plastic spacers to prematurely wear. I, fortunately, have some spare ag parts laying around in the shed and can modify this slightly to be more durable with a little time and effort. -More washers. There are several spots on this that having a large fender washer between the bolt head and the the metal the bolt is going through are beneficial; again, going back to surprising spots of wear on the implement due to odd design choices. -placement of one of the studs for the raise/lower arm; in the picture of the product the forward most "stud" for the lever interferes with attachment due to it running into the side of the spreader box; you can work around this by only loosely attaching the bolt/stud and then later tightening it when completing assembly. -Raise/lower level placement; while not a "big deal" because only 2 of the tines are connected to the shaft to run the agitator (meaning you can run with the thing down even when turning) it would be nice to be able to raise/lower the implement from the seat of my mower. Again; while I had a lot of "negative" feedback; it was only small nitpicky things that (for most people) I don't think would be a big problem (accept assembly). I noticed most of this stuff simply because of how much I used it on the first day I had it. If I had to make the decision again, I would still buy this product, but for those whom have not yet purchased it and are thinking about it; beware that assembly can be difficult; that aside, solid product.
        by
          • Recommended
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Run away!
          This is THE biggest waste of money in my entire life. The drive chain pops off and has no adjustments or metal idler, the driveline is plastic that breaks and strips. It is a promising concept that was obviously cheaper out on to cut costs in essential areas. Completely disappointed this POC is branded with the John Deere name.
          by
          Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceMay 7, 2021
          We are sorry that you had trouble with your AS-400JD Aerator Spreader. Please reach out to us directly so that we can discuss the issues you have experienced. You can reach us the following ways, you can call us at 877-728-8224, email us at customerservice@brinly.com or live chat with us on www.brinly.com. Brinly
            Worked great, only one issue presented itself. The weight tray will not stay in place on abnormal...
            Worked great, only one issue presented itself. The weight tray will not stay in place on abnormal terrane. A peg on both sides of the tray would possibly resolve the issue.
            by
            Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceApr 22, 2021
            Thank you very much for your review on your aerator-spreader. I will definitely share your experience and recommendations with our team. Thank you again for the helpful feedback! Brinly
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Great product....once you put it together....this monster will require two people (at least one w...
            Great product....once you put it together....this monster will require two people (at least one with muscles) to put it together.....the instructions are not very easy to follow because the pictures are so hard to see exactly what they are pointing to... But once you get it together, you will feel great joy in your accomplishment!
            by
              • Recommended
              1 person found this helpful
              crap
              Piece of flimsy crap. One run and the throttle handle doenst stay put & one wheel is messed up. Doesnt hold enough material & you spend all day refilling it. Find something bigger & tougher.
              by
              Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceApr 9, 2021
              We are sorry to hear you had trouble with your product. We would like to understand what happened so that we can help you get your Aerator Spreader up and operating as it should. Please reach out to us directly. You can contact us the following ways. You can call us at 877-728-8224, email us at customerservice.com, or live chat with us on www.brinly.com. Brinly
                1 person found this helpful
                Very nice once it was assembled. Just have to watch...
                Very nice once it was assembled. Just have to watch the points on the splitters, very sharp. Instructions could have been a little better , a little trail and error.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                I had it put together it works great everything went together relatively easy some instructions ...
                I had it put together it works great everything went together relatively easy some instructions were off a little bit but I figured it out so overall it's a very good product it does the job
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Easy assembly. Works well even with dry ground. Result speaks louder than words. My yard is bea...
                  Easy assembly. Works well even with dry ground. Result speaks louder than words. My yard is beautiful. Excellent buy!
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Hard to assemble
                  I've never been unable to complete assembly on anything until now. Instructions were not helpful. Frustrating as their are not that many parts, but nothing lined up when trying to install the second wheel to the frame. Couldn't find any online resources or YouTube video's either. For the price of this product you'd think they would have better instructions or maybe a link to an installation video. I finally packed it up and returned to Home Depot for a refund.
                  by
                  Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceOct 23, 2020
                  Dear Rick, we are sorry to hear you had trouble with the assembly and the instructions. Please know that we are available at 877-728-8224 to help you with assembly. You can also use your local John Deere dealer for a resource of help. Please let us know if we can help you in the future, we would be happy to. Brinly
                    3 people found this helpful
                    The aerator is great. However the directions the came with it were not the easiest to follow and...
                    The aerator is great. However the directions the came with it were not the easiest to follow and all of the parts were thrown in one bag.. took longer than expected to assembly and some of the blades were bent during transport.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                    by
                    Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceJul 9, 2020
                    A low rating tells us this purchase didn't meet your expectations - and we are sorry for that. We would be grateful to know what issues you encountered, and to see if we can make it right. We stand behind our products, and do not like to disappoint our customers. Please reach out to us at 877-728-8224 or email to customerservice@brinly.com. Thank you! Brinly
                    • Verified Purchase
                    1 person found this helpful
                    My best aerator/seeder.
                    Did exactly what I was hoping it would do. I like being able to aerate the soil while dropping the grass seed at the same time. Saves time.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      3 people found this helpful
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      5 Star Review
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      4 Star Review
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Works great Aerator was easy to use and did wonderful job on my yard. Easy to use and adjust.
                      Works great Aerator was easy to use and did wonderful job on my yard. Easy to use and adjust.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      5 people found this helpful
                      I had no issues with assembling this spreader, which took...
                      I had no issues with assembling this spreader, which took about an hour. I seeded approximately 1/4 acre and it worked perfectly. Spreader seems to be well made and easy to adjust while on tractor.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      8 people found this helpful
                      Instructions were horrible. Parts were mislabeled with poor annotation. Picture of parts was not ...
                      Instructions were horrible. Parts were mislabeled with poor annotation. Picture of parts was not to scale, just a real head ache. Finally got it together, have not used it yet, it’s getting a “1” based on the horrific instructions.
                      by
                        8 people found this helpful
                        5 Star Review
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 person found this helpful
                        4 Star Review
                        Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        1 person found this helpful
                        It was easy to put together and well made. ...
                        It was easy to put together and well made.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        4 people found this helpful
                        Came with missing pieces. Was unable to spread top...
                        Came with missing pieces. Was unable to spread top sand.
                        by
                        Response from BrinlyCustomerServiceNov 9, 2018
                        We're sorry your aerator spreader was missing parts. Please give customer service a call at 877-728-8224, we will be happy to send replacements at no charge! Brinly
                        • Verified Purchase
                        3 people found this helpful
                        It was not easy to assemble or follow the directions...
                        It was not easy to assemble or follow the directions
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        3 people found this helpful
                        Showing 1-30 of 57 reviews