#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202266018

Model #97275

Store SKU #786085

Newbury 6 in. x 6 in. Pressure-Treated Pine Classic Flat Top Post Cap

  • Post cap fits a 6 in. x 6 in. wood fence post
  • Treated to protect against decay and rot
  • Timeless look accents decks and other outside projects
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

A view of a decking railing install featuring the black round balusters

Create a Custom Look

Whether you’re building a new deck or refreshing an existing one, we’ll help you customize your railing.

A view showing the contour balusters installed allong a deck featuring the rail and stair rail

Dream Selection

Mix and match components to create a unique look.

A view looking outward to a yard featuring the deck gate installed on a pressure treated deck

Quality and Ease

Easy to install and simple to maintain, too. You can count on getting long-lasting value, style and performance.

An beauty shot of a deck overlooking a lake featuring the 6 ft pressure treated rail kit with round aluminum balusters

6 ft. Pressure-Treated Pine with Aluminum Baluster Rail Kit

Made of quality pine and black aluminum balusters, your new stylish railing will be the talk of the neighborhood.

A view looking outward to a beach featuring the deck gate installed on a composite deck

4 ft. x 3 ft. Adjustable Black Aluminum Deck Gate

Enhance your decking area with the safety and style of a DeckoRail Aluminum Deck Gate.

A lifestyle image showing the lightning rail installed in a horizontal and stair application

6 ft. Lightning Rail Deck Railing Kit

The fast and easy installation of the 6 ft. Pre-assembled lightning rail makes it the perfect product for the DIY'er and the professional deck builder.

A close up view showing who two rails are connected on a deck

Black Rail Connector Bracket (4-Pack)

This durable railing connector is pre-drilled for quick and easy attachment to both the rail and post.

A product image of a Deckorail metal post cap

4 in. x 4 in. Copper Pyramid Post Point

A product image of a Deckorail round baluster

3/4 in. x 26 in. Black Aluminum Round Baluster (15-Pack)

A product image of a Deckorail wood post cap

Newbury 4 in. x 4 in. Pyramid Wood Post Cap

A product image of a Deckorail rectangular baluster

32 in. x 1 in. Aluminum Bronze Rectangular Baluster (14-Pack)

A product image of a Deckorail wood and metal post cap

Verona 4 in. x 4 in. Black High Point Post Cap

A product image of a Deckorail contour baluster

32-1/4 in. x 1 in. Black Aluminum Contour Baluster (14-Pack)

Post caps beautifully accent your deck, railing or fence post tops and provides design flexibility. In fact, they’re the crowning touch on any outdoor project. Decorative as well as durable and practical, post caps add a unique, timeless, custom look both you and your neighbors will enjoy. No outdoor project is complete without the post caps that best suit your personal preference.
  • Made of pressure-treated wood for a long life
  • Flat top design
  • Easy to paint or stain
  • Post cap fits a nominal 6 in. x 6 in. wood post (actual post dimensions 5-1/2 in. x 5-1/2 in.)
  • Contains 1 post cap
  • Note: product may vary by store
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Post Caps & Tops

4 in. x 4 in. 3 Lumens Copper Plated Plastic Solar Post Cap (Common: 4 in. x 4 in. ; Actual: 3-5/8 in. x 3-5/8 in. )
current product
Newbury 6 in. x 6 in. Pressure-Treated Pine Classic Flat Top Post Cap
Verona 6 in. x 6 in. Copper High Point Pyramid Post Cap4 in. x 4 in. White Solar Post Cap
BrandVeranda Veranda
Name4 in. x 4 in. 3 Lumens Copper Plated Plastic Solar Post Cap (Common: 4 in. x 4 in. ; Actual: 3-5/8 in. x 3-5/8 in. )Newbury 6 in. x 6 in. Pressure-Treated Pine Classic Flat Top Post CapVerona 6 in. x 6 in. Copper High Point Pyramid Post Cap4 in. x 4 in. White Solar Post Cap
Price
Ratings
(414)
(133)
(99)
(592)
MaterialPlasticWoodCopperVinyl
Cap/top styleFlatFlatPyramidPyramid
FeaturesSolar,UV ProtectedPaintable,Pressure Treated,Stainable Solar
Fits Nominal Post Size3.5x3.55.5X5.56x64x4
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
7.5 in
Product Height (in.)
2.5 in
Product Width (in.)
7.5 in

Details

Cap/top style
Flat
Chemical retention (lb./cu. ft. )
0.06
Color Family
Brown
Color/Finish
Brown
Features
Paintable,Pressure Treated,Stainable
Fencing Product Type
Post Cap/Top
Fits Nominal Post Size
5.5X5.5
Material
Wood
Pressure treatment chemical
CA - Copper Azole
Product Weight (lb.)
1.2 lb
Returnable
90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
See store for details

Questions & Answers

6Questions12Answers

Can a small screw be used to secure to post without splitting the cap?

Asked by PeterPlanter October 21, 2019
3
Answers

Yes a screw can be used with a small head but first pre-drill it.

I need a 4x6 Flat Newbury Post cap. Do you make one?

Asked by Bob March 23, 2018
2
Answers

Depends on the squareness and moisture content of the 6x6...10 of 12 fit for me, the other two just needed a little “contouring” of the top of 6x6.

How far does the post cap come down on the post?

Asked by Barry May 20, 2017
2
Answers

About 3/4 - 1" max. They are very nice. Im so glad i decided to spend the extra money. They transformed the deck.

How long before these are in stock again?

Asked by powerfence October 5, 2016
1
Answer

Hi Powerfence! Thank you for your recent inquiry with The Home Depot. If your local store does not have the quantity needed, you can visit the Special Services desk to confirm availability in the area, and any special ordering options available. For further assistance, call our Customer Support team at 800-430-3376. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving you in the future. Thank you for shopping Home Depot.

I need one that is 8x8? Do you guys make this in that size? Thanks :)

Asked by Geo November 11, 2015
2
Answers

For special order options please contact your local PRO associate at Home Depot

Assuming this is 6 x 6 nominal, what is actual inner fit size for a 6 x 6 post, which is always smaller than nominal?

Asked by chance April 7, 2013
2
Answers

These fit snug on 6 x 6" pressure treated post which are actual 5.5 x 5.5. They are made to fit pressure treated deck posts. You want to be sure and put some strain or sealer on the like polyurethane.

Customer Reviews

  • 3.8
    out of 133 reviews
  • 49% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 133 reviews
Solid construction, smooth finish and fit perfectly. They look great painted but would also look ...
Solid construction, smooth finish and fit perfectly. They look great painted but would also look very nice stained so the wood grain showed through.
by Catander
1 person found this helpful
Poor quality
We bought these and built our fence two weeks ago. I already have 7-8 that are splitting and coming apart. $455 is a lot to pay for this to happen. I’m pretty upset and want something done about this. Please email me or call me ASAP.
by Marcy0326
Response from UFPI RepresentativeJul 23, 2020
We’re sorry to hear your expectations were not met. A representative will be in contact with you via email to discuss your issue. Thank you.
Very poorly made. Applied to 34 post caps per the directions. Within weeks they were cracked, ...
Very poorly made. Applied to 34 post caps per the directions. Within weeks they were cracked, and separated. I had to pull all of them off. I would not use these ever again.
by Adam
Response from UFPI RepresentativeJun 25, 2020
We’re sorry to hear your expectations were not met. A representative will be in contact with you via email to discuss your issue. Thank you.
POOR QUALITY
We purchased 39 of these less than 7 months ago and all of them need to be replaced already. The wood states they are treated but they did not hold up. All of them have started to split and show staples. Not sure if this is a quality issue but they did not hold up. We spent a lot of money on these and now they look horrible and old. I would not reccomend this product and hope we will be able to get a refund since the product states 1 year warrenty.
by LLF
Response from UFPI RepresentativeJun 17, 2020
We’re sorry to hear your expectations were not met. A representative will be in contact with you via email to discuss your issue. Thank you.
1 person found this helpful
do not waste your money
We bought 30 of these for fence post caps. Half of them are lifitng away from the base and staples are showing that hold this junk together. We built the fence 6 months ago. This product is a waste!
by crich
Response from UFPI RepresentativeMay 28, 2020
We’re sorry to hear your expectations were not met. A representative will be in contact with you via email to discuss your issue. Thank you.
3 people found this helpful
These caps are really poorly made. The quality of wood these days is poor enough - it's hard to ...
These caps are really poorly made. The quality of wood these days is poor enough - it's hard to accept that on top of that we're now seeing products made badly from bad wood. The cuts are uneven, the surface takes a good bit of attention to prepare for stain or paint (rough, with bad spots) and if you wanted a flat top, beware. The two we purchased had two different thicknesses, particularly noticeable on the top cut for the flat top, and one was actually cut on an obvious angle. No flat top here. Basically, it is what it says it is, but if you're looking for quality in material and workmanship and consistency from piece to piece this is not the product for you.
by GWH
Response from UFPI RepresentativeMay 22, 2020
We’re sorry to hear your expectations were not met. A representative will be in contact with you via email to discuss your issue. Thank you.
2 people found this helpful
Post cap failure
This product is unsatisfactory Even though painted and caulked all exposed caps have cracked As they were cemented to the post top Home Depot will not refund the purchase price of the ten caps I bought I offered photos of the failing caps however Home Depot would not consider a refund They should not sell this item I suggest vinyl caps that can stand the outside weather I have purchased vinyl caps to replace these flawed products
by RFC
2 people found this helpful
Great product love it
Great product love it
by Nicholas
1 person found this helpful
Very nice product and good customer service! Materials approx cost $350.00
Very nice product and good customer service! Materials approx cost $350.00
by Millie
Great looking post caps. It made the new deck look so nice. They need a coat of stain and poly ...
Great looking post caps. It made the new deck look so nice. They need a coat of stain and poly but I'm super happy with how they look. Worth every penny. And the small recessed flush mount deck lights in the handrail really makes it stunning.
by Woodworker7
Showing 1-10 of 133 reviews