#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205565911

Model #RY253SS

Store SKU #1001059129

Store SO SKU #1001009360

25cc 2-Cycle Attachment Capable Full Crank Straight Gas Shaft String Trimmer

$14900
Apply Now
Save up to $100 on your qualifying purchase.
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Durable Full Crankshaft Engine for Increased Reliability and Life
  • Easily Handles Outdoor Trimming Needs for a Manicured Look
  • Attachment Capable to Save Time, Money, and Space
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated
++
Price:
$14900

Product Overview

This RYOBI 2-cycle gas straight shaft string trimmer features a full crank engine that creates 2x longer life. Accepting RYOBI expand-it universal brand fit attachments, this string trimmer offers versatile operating function, allowing you to save time, space and money. Simply attach an edger, blower or even a tiller to the power head and quickly move from project to project. RYOBI makes string head reloads easier with the reel-easy string head, thread your string, twist the head and resume trimming. You will experience easier starting with the Zip Start carburetor and included ethanol shield 2-Cycle Oil. Backed by a 3-year warranty, trust the RYOBI 2-Cycle Gas Straight Shaft String Trimmer for your outdoor trimming needs.
  • Full crank engine for 2X longer life
  • Attachment capable: accepts universal brand fit attachments
  • Zip start carburetor for easier starting
  • Reel-easy bump-feed string head for faster reloads
  • Dual 0.095 in. line
  • Straight shaft for extended reach around and under obstacles
  • Ethanol shield 2-cycle oil included
  • Learn More about the RYOBI Platform Here



  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Gas String Trimmers

Exclusive25cc 2-Cycle Attachment Capable Full Crank Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer
current product
Top Rated25cc 2-Cycle Attachment Capable Full Crank Straight Gas Shaft String Trimmer
26 cc 2-Cycle Gas String Trimmer Full Crank 4- in- 1 Multi-Function with Pole Saw AttachmentExclusive4-Cycle 30cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
BrandRYOBIRYOBIBADGERRYOBI
Name25cc 2-Cycle Attachment Capable Full Crank Curved Shaft Gas String Trimmer25cc 2-Cycle Attachment Capable Full Crank Straight Gas Shaft String Trimmer26 cc 2-Cycle Gas String Trimmer Full Crank 4- in- 1 Multi-Function with Pole Saw Attachment4-Cycle 30cc Attachment Capable Straight Shaft Gas Trimmer
Price
$11900
$14900
$20697
$22900
Ratings
(3049)
(5534)
(338)
(3194)
Engine Cycles2 Cycle2 Cycle2 Cycle4 Cycle
Shaft TypeCurvedStraightStraightStraight
FeaturesAttachment CapableAttachment CapableAntivibration,Articulating Head,Attachment Capable,Edger Conversion Capable,Straight Shaft,Translucent Fuel TankAntivibration,Attachment Capable
Line Advance SystemBumpBumpBumpBump
Start TypeManualManualRecoil StartPull
Fuel Tank Capacity (oz.)12122011
Power TypeGasGasGasGas
RefurbishedNoNoNoNo
Engine Displacement (cc)25252630
CA (CARB) CompliantCARB CompliantCARB CompliantNot CARB CompliantCARB Compliant
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
11 in
Assembled Height (in.)
60 in
Assembled Width (in.)
10 in
Line Style Size
.095
Maximum cutting path diameter (in.)
18
Recommended Line Diameter (in.)
.095
Shaft Length (in.)
53

Details

Assembly Required
Yes
CA (CARB) Compliant
CARB Compliant
Engine Cycles
2 Cycle
Engine Displacement (cc)
25
Engine Type
2-Cycle
Features
Attachment Capable
Fuel Tank Capacity (oz.)
12
Head Type
Wind without Assembly
Included
No-tool Line Replacement,Replacement Head
Line Advance System
Bump
Number of Trim Lines
2
Power Type
Gas
Product Weight (lb.)
12.2
Refurbished
No
Returnable
30-Day
Shaft Type
Straight
Start Type
Manual
Tools Included
String Trimmer
Trimmer Line Type
String
Trimmer Type
Hand Held

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
3-Year Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 5,534 reviews
  • 90%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 5,534 reviews
I love It
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Lots of power, easy to use compared to other brands I had in the past. It's compatible with a lot of attachments, like edger or even a blower. Love at first use.
by
    • Recommended
    worst thing ive ever bought
    Where to begin. Throttle cable. Starter assemble. Also warranty work 90 minutes away. Only used for 2 seasons
    by
    Response from RYOBIOutdoorsAug 3, 2021
    Hello, Jayson82 - We are so sorry you are having a disappointing experience with your trimmer! We would appreciate the chance to discuss this further with you so we may turn this around! If you would, please keep an eye on your inbox for an email from us at reviews@ryobitools.com. RYOBIOutdoorTools
      • Recommended
      4 people found this helpful
      Snapped where u connect the attachments
      I have had this weed eater for about 2 mouths I was using the rototiller attachment and about 1 hr after putting it on the pice where u connect the weed eater snapped I am very disappointed with this eater!
      by
      Response from RYOBIOutdoorsJul 29, 2021
      Hello, Curtis48 - We are so sorry to read about that broken part! Please be looking for an email from us at reviews@ryobitools.com. We'd like to connect so we can work on providing you with a good solution. RYOBIOutdoorTools
        2 people found this helpful
        People should review only AFTER actually using the product !!
        Trimmer was cheap compared to other gas powered trimmer and that was the selling point for me, as I have a SMALL yard. Against my better judgment with other Ryobi products I purchased this trimmer. Couldn’t even finished the job before the engine failed, same day. I took to HD for a replacement & I was actually advised at HD to use other brands as Ryobi are famously unreliable and creates a lot heated discussions for the employees with customers. I also had purchased a Ryobi chainsaw that never started and leaf blowers that would only last 30 minutes. Just stay away from this brand and if you’re looking at the reviews, do take into consideration if the reviews was made by someone AFTER actually using the product.
        by
        Response from RYOBIOutdoorsJul 26, 2021
        Hello, Ryobimakestrash - We are sorry that during the first use, the string trimmer stopped working! That is certainly frustrating, and we're disappointed to hear about it! If you would, please be looking for an email from us at reviews@ryobitools.com. We'd be grateful for a chance to speak with you and see if we can leave you with a positive experience. RYOBIOutdoorTools
          5 people found this helpful
          More power than i EXPECTED!!
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] i bought this for my standard 1/2 acre home yard. It was easy to assemble, start and use.
          by
            • Recommended
            Blown through at least 4 of these
            I’ve had a bunch of tools for the expand-it line for over a decade now. The cost of the accessories was the main reason I’d replace the it when the motors failed after a season or two. The last two I bought barely made it a year. It’s almost a subscription service at this point. If your going to use this regularly, it’s not going to be worth the cost in the long run. Spend a bit more now, save the headaches. I’m sitting here with another dead one and plan on the tossing everything.
            by
            Response from RYOBIOutdoorsMay 24, 2021
            Hello, JKR - We are sorry to hear that your string trimmer has stopped working! We expect this string trimmer to provide you with years of reliable performance, which is why it backed by a 3-year limited warranty. Would you please keep an eye out for an email from us at reviews@ryobitools.com. It would be great to speak with you, so we can try and move your overall RYOBI experience in a better direction. RYOBIOutdoorTools
              1 person found this helpful
              Who needs attachments if engine doesn't run?
              I thought the was a great deal because of all the attachments. I bought the combo pack about three months ago for over $500 with the pole saw, trimmer, edger, blower and hedge trimmer. The first day I got it I attached all different attachments and was pretty happy with the operation of them all. Then.... the problems begin. I tried to use the trimmer for the 4th time and can't get it to start. I tried fresh gas, checked the spark plug and every other recommendation in the owners manual. I have always used ethanol shield mix or low ethanol gas as recommended in the manual. Finally took it back to HD for repair but haven't heard back yet. I miss my old 4 stroke Craftsman. I had it over 10 years and changed the spark plug once but was thinking since I just purchased some acreage I needed a new one. Oh yeah, the pole trimmer has leaked bar oil in my shop where I store it so the exposed 2x6's are soaked in oil and there is a spot on the concrete. I will never buy another Ryobi product again. Go with an echo or sthil for gas power and Dewalt or Milwaukee if you want the drill/impact set. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!
              by
              Response from RYOBIOutdoorsApr 29, 2021
              Hello, UnhappyBuyer - We're very sorry to read about your unsatisfactory experience with this combo kit! And we'd be happy to discuss this further. If you would, will you please email us at reviews@ryobitools.com? RYOBIOutdoorTools
                2 people found this helpful
                Great tool!!
                [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Just bought this and used it the other day even bought the hedge trimmer attachment and it works great! Easy to use!
                by
                  • Recommended
                  great mixed gas trimmer
                  I bought this trimmer July 2020 has been an awesome trimmer. Light weight amd powerfull. I love it
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    3 people found this helpful
                    Garbage
                    I bought this trimmer at Home Depot last season. I bought the tree trimming attachment. It worked just fine the first time I used it. I sold my Troy Built trimmer because this one was newer. That was a huge mistake. I have not yet had a pleasant starting experience with this piece of junk since the first time it was used. Several times I have brought this out to trim and edge my yard after mowing. More often than not, the sun will set as I am yanking away tryimg to crank this disappointment. I have been so irritated with this device that I may never buy a ryobi product again. Off to find a replacement that actually works. Please save yourself the frustration and find another product, preferably another brand!
                    by
                    Response from RYOBIOutdoorsSep 8, 2020
                    Hello, Drew - We are very sorry to hear about the trouble you've had starting the string trimmer! Please be looking for an email from us at reviews@ryobitools.com. We want to connect so we can move your experience in a better direction. RYOBIOutdoorTools
                      11 people found this helpful
                      Showing 1-10 of 5,534 reviews