#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 309627149

Model # XE40M12CS55U1

Store SKU # 1004435919

Store SO SKU #1004356714

Gladiator 40 Gal. Medium 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff

$724.22
Buy 3 or more $651.80
Apply Now
Pay $674.22 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Built-in leak detection and auto shutoff protects your home
  • Built-in Wi-Fi enables control and monitoring at home or away
  • Restricted in Demand Response States: See below before purchasing
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Gladiator 40 Gal. electric water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 2 to 4 people. The Gladiator water heater is unlike any other water heater because it provides the Power to Know, the Power to Control, and the Power to Protect. The Power to Know: detect potential leaks with the 360° LeakSense Leak Detection system. The Power to Control: integrated EcoNet Wi-Fi enables management of water temperature, tracking of energy usage and monitoring from your phone. The Power to Protect: Features the LeakGuard Auto Shutoff Valve, which engages in the unlikely event a leak is detected, to protect your home from water damage. Its self-cleaning feature prolongs tank life and maintains the water heater's efficiency. As a Performance Platinum, the Gladiator has a 12-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 3-year in home labor warranty. This model comes with 2 5500-Watt stainless steel heating elements.

Highlights

  • Attention Washington and Oregon Residents: This water heater does not meet demand response requirements in your state; Regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in a state that requires demand response water heaters
  • If your home is in a state that requires Demand Response water heaters, please select an approved Demand Response model available on homedepot.com.
  • 40 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 2 to 4 people
  • Power to know: built-in LeakSense leak detection system alerts you of any leak large or small, internal or external
  • Power to control: built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi technology allows you to manage hot water, track energy usage, and set modes like vacation mode from your mobile device
  • Power to protect: protect your home from water damage with LeakGuard, the auto shut-off valve that shuts off incoming water and locks water in
  • Delivers 55 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • Self-cleaning: fights sediment build-up at the bottom of the tank to prolong tank life and maintain efficiency
  • Hot water availability indicator: know before hot water runs out via EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • Vacation mode: save money on water heating costs while away by setting your water heater in vacation mode from your mobile device with the EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 3-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.93 Uniform Energy Factor (UEF) means it's high efficiency, saving money on energy bills with low energy usage
  • Dual 5500-Watt stainless steel heating elements
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Thick, premium sacrificial anode rod and Rheemglas tank lining combine to protect the tank from corrosive elements in the water
  • As with any WiFi connected device, for best performance use your phone or tablet to check the WiFi signal strength in the area where the water heater will be installed prior to purchase
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 309627149

Model # XE40M12CS55U1

Store SKU # 1004435919

Store SO SKU #1004356714

Specifications

Dimensions: H 48.375 in, W 20.25 in, D 20.25 in

Dimensions

Kilowatt

5.5

Product Depth (in.)

20.25 in

Product Height (in.)

48.375 in

Product Width (in.)

20.25 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in

Details

Amperage (A)

22.92 A

Application Type

Residential

Efficiency Level

Super High

Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

55

Fuel Type

Electric

Household Size

2-4

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

150 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

90 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

40 gal

Number of Elements

2

Pack Size

1

Power Options

Hardwired

Product Weight (lb.)

108 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

36 gal

Remote Access

Remote Access

Required Volt Connection

240 volt

Requires Hub?

No Hub Required

Returnable

90-Day

Smart Home

Smart Home Enabled

Smart Home Protocol

Wi-Fi

Tank Lining Material

Glass

Tank Warranty

12 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

0.93

Voice Control Hub Required

No Voice Control

Water Connection Location

Top

Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile

Medium

Wattage (watts)

5500 W

Works With

Google Assistant

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

UL Listed

Labor Warranty

3 Year

Part Warranty

12 Year

Questions & Answers

274Questions
caret
Q:my old hotwater is a foot taller than this. So what kind of hoses do i need for this new tank for the hot and cold water?
by|Jul 16, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  debz, Thank you for your question. We would recommend checking with local coding.

by|Jul 16, 2024
    caret
    Q:The “Gladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff” was delivered to me today laying down in a car. Is there a problem with that? I haven’t opened the box.
    by|Jul 9, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi David and thank you for your question. Please check the unit and ask your installer before they put it in if there is any damages.

    by|Jul 9, 2024
      caret
      Q:What is the estimated monthly watts consumption for the 40 Gallon 5500?
      by|Jul 6, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi Rafa and thank you for your question. The energy guide shows the Estimated Yearly Energy cost of $489. The estimated yearly energy use of 3493 kWh.

      by|Jul 8, 2024
        caret
        Q:My lower element has gone bad in less than 90 days. What do I do?
        by|Jun 28, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Help and thank you for your question. For technical issues, please call the number on your unit or in your user manual.

        by|Jun 28, 2024
          Showing 1-4 of 274

          Customer Reviews

          4 out of 5

          • 4 out of 2,167 reviews
          • 61% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 2,167 reviews
          Leak Sensor is TOO SENSITIVE
          This hot water tank has been nothing but trouble. The "Service Needed" alarm goes off on multiple occasions showing water leak error, but no water is found. First the automatic water shut off was replaced which solved it. Then the alarm went off again. They replaced the leak sensor. Then I was asked to wait a while to see if it cleared, which it did. *Then 3 weeks later the same water leak alarm went off, and goes off every 24 hours. Said it might be the humidity, but it wasn't humid in May!
          by
            Total lack of Quality Control
            I installed the 40 gal Rheem Plus electric water heater. It was an easy install, everything went smooth. I filled the water heater and checked for leaks, none at the time. After a few minutes, I started to wire up the electrical, when I noticed water slowly pooling in the base of the electrical box and around the top of the heater. It was a slow, steady leak from inside the water heater! I should have payed more attention to the 1 star reviews, since I have the same issues as others. Don’t buy!
            by
            Response from RheemJul 16, 2024
            Dave,

            Thank you for sharing your experience. It’s unfortunate to hear that you encountered a leak with your new water heater. Your feedback is valuable and can help others make informed decisions. We hope you were able to find a resolution or a suitable replacement. For additional help, please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.


            Derius rheem
              Easy Install DIY
              Ordered this water heater Thursday night and received it Friday afternoon. This was my first time installing my water heater and i mudt say everything was pretty sttaight forward. Those shark Bite lines make it a breeze. Wiring was straight forward. Sp far it works great. Lets hope this one last another 10 years or so.
              by
              Response from RheemJun 26, 2024
              Hello Rick,

              Thank you for your 5-star review! We are glad that the installation was quick and easy for you. If you ever need assistance with your water heater, remember that our dedicated Technical Support team is just a phone call away. You can reach us at 866-279-4566 anytime between 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Thank you for choosing Rheem!

              Isaiah rheem
                • Recommended
                Broken after 2 months
                Stopped working after 2 months due to a faulty control panel. The repair is covered under warranty from Rheem, but I won’t have hot water for a week while I wait for the parts to arrive. I absolutely cannot recommend this product, spend a few more dollars and buy a water heater from a plumber supply service. They get better quality stuff. Home Depot is selling junk.
                by
                Response from RheemJun 26, 2024
                Doug,

                We are sorry to hear about your negative experience with your water heater. It’s unfortunate that it stopped working after just 2 months due to a faulty control panel. While it’s good that the repair is covered under the warranty, it’s inconvenient to be without hot water for a week while waiting for the parts. Thank you for sharing your experience.

                Derius rheem
                  My plumber helped me select the water heater and expansion tank. It is nice to have hot water when I want it, and there are no leaks. This water heater is close to silent!
                  by
                  Response from RheemJun 21, 2024
                  Hello,

                  It is great to know that you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater and it is living up to your needs. Thank you for the 5-star review and for choosing Rheem!

                  Isaiah rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  easy install and great heater
                  Install and setup was super easy. Love the leak protection is built into the bottom verse a cord thats plugged in. The connect to wifi was easy and setup with the app worked well and i love how easy it is to see the level of hot water available. As a family with little kids its nice to know. I am also liking the fact it has an emergency main water shutoff valve incase of a leak. Very nice piece of mind. Recommend this to anyone looking for a great 12 year warranty electric water heater
                  by
                  Response from RheemMay 21, 2024
                  Hello Samantha,

                  Rheem is grateful for your decision to select Rheem Water Heating for your residence, and we value the time you’ve taken to write this 5-star review. Thank you!

                  Isaiah rheem
                    • Recommended
                    Replaced my water heater with this Rheem 50 gal. Water heater has worked great. I like that it shows the user how much hot water is available through the Rheem app.
                    by
                    Response from RheemApr 18, 2024
                    Hello!

                    We are glad to hear that you’re enjoying your Gladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater. It’s great that the water heater is working well for you and that you find the Rheem app useful for monitoring your hot water availability. It’s always nice when technology makes our lives a bit easier.

                    Derius rheem
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Just installed it. Working fine.
                    by
                    Response from RheemApr 18, 2024
                    Hello,

                    We are glad to hear that your Performance Plus 50 Gal. 5500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater is working fine after installation. It’s always great when things go smoothly.

                    Derius rheem
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Two water heaters returned due to leaks
                    Tried two different water heaters and both leaked. Water forced from under flange rings. Had to reseal the t&p valve and another nipple. The water forced from under the insulation somewhere. Don’t know how Rheem is staying in business with all the returns.Third time I went to a plumbing store and purchased a Ruud pro water heater. It has not smart features but No problems with leaking with this one.
                    by
                    Response from RheemApr 5, 2024
                    Harold,

                    We are really sorry to hear about your experience. It’s certainly frustrating to encounter issues with new products, especially when it’s something as essential as a water heater. We are glad to hear that the water heater you purchased from a plumbing store is working well for you. Your feedback about the water heater you reviewed is valuable and could help others make informed decisions. If you have any more questions or need further assistance, feel free to call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                    Derius rheem
                      2 found this review helpful
                      by
                      Response from RheemMar 19, 2024
                      Hello,

                      Thank you for this 5-star review and for choosing Rheem!

                      Isaiah rheem
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Showing 1-10 of 2,167 reviews