#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #309627202

Model #XE50T12CS55U1

Store SKU #1004435926

Store SO SKU #1004356724

Gladiator 50 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff

$789.00
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Built-in leak detection and auto shutoff protects your home
  • Built-in EcoNet WiFi enables control & monitoring at home or away
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with 3-5 people
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$78900

Product Overview

The Rheem Gladiator 50 Gal. electric water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 3 to 5 people. The Gladiator water heater is unlike any other water heater because it provides the Power to Know, the Power to Control, and the Power to Protect. The Power to Know: detect potential leaks with the 360° LeakSense Leak Detection system. The Power to Control: integrated EcoNet Wi-Fi enables management of water temperature, tracking of energy usage and monitoring from your phone. The Power to Protect: Features the LeakGuard Auto Shutoff Valve, which engages in the unlikely event a leak is detected, to protect your home from water damage. Its self-cleaning feature prolongs tank life and maintains the water heater's efficiency. As a Performance Platinum, the Gladiator has a 12-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 3-year in home labor warranty. This model comes with 2 5500-Watt stainless steel heating elements.
  • 50 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 3 to 5 people
  • Power to know: built-in LeakSense leak detection system alerts you of any leak large or small, internal or external
  • Power to control: built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi technology allows you to manage hot water, track energy usage, and set modes like vacation mode from your mobile device
  • Power to protect: protect your home from water damage with LeakGuard, the auto shut-off valve that shuts off incoming water and locks water in
  • Delivers 63 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • Self-cleaning: fights sediment build-up at the bottom of the tank to prolong tank life and maintain efficiency
  • Hot water availability indicator: know before hot water runs out via EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • Vacation mode: save money on water heating costs while away by setting your water heater in vacation mode from your mobile device with the EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 3-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.92 Uniform Energy Factor (UEF) means it's high efficiency, saving money on energy bills with low energy usage
  • Dual 5500-Watt stainless steel heating elements
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Thick, premium sacrificial anode rod and Rheemglas tank lining combine to protect the tank from corrosive elements in the water
  • As with any WiFi connected device, for best performance use your phone or tablet to check the WiFi signal strength in the area where the water heater will be installed prior to purchase
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.



  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Smart Water Heaters

current product
Gladiator 50 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff
Top RatedGladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffGladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffGladiator 50 Gal. Tall 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff
BrandRheemRheemRheemRheem
NameGladiator 50 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffGladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffGladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffGladiator 50 Gal. Tall 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff
Price
$78900
$859.00 Save $70.00 (8%)
Buy 3 or more $741.66
$79900
$869.00 Save $70.00 (8%)
Buy 3 or more $751.06
$79900
$83900
Ratings
(1080)
(1534)
(6070)
(2168)
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)50 gal50 gal50 gal50 gal
Application TypeResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
Water Heater ProfileTallMediumMediumTall
Required Volt Connection240 volt240 volt240 volt240 volt
Wattage (watts)5500 W5500 W4500 W4500 W
Household Size3-53-53-53-5
Efficiency LevelHighHighHighHigh
Water Heater FeaturesGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFiGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFiGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFiGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFi
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Kilo Watt5.5Product Depth (in.)20.25 in
Product Height (in.)58.375 inProduct Width (in.)22.25 in
Tank Valve Size (in.)0.75 inWater Connection Size (in.)3/4 in

Details

Amperage (amps)22.92 AApplication TypeResidential
Efficiency LevelHighElectricity PhaseSingle Phase
Finish FamilyGrayFirst Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)63
Fuel TypeElectricHousehold Size3-5
Indoor/OutdoorIndoorMaximum Temperature (F)150 °F
Minimum Temperature (F)90 °FNominal Tank Capacity (gallons)50 gal
Number of Elements2Pack Size1
Power OptionsHardwiredProduct Weight (lb.)123 lb
Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)45 galRemote AccessRemote Access
Required Volt Connection240 voltRequires Hub?No Hub Required
Returnable90-DaySmart HomeSmart Home Enabled
Smart Home ProtocolWi-FiTank Lining MaterialGlass
Tank Warranty12 YearUniform Energy Factor0.92
Voice Control Hub RequiredNo Voice ControlWater Heater FeaturesGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFi
Water Heater ProfileTallWattage (watts)5500 W
Works WithGoogle Assistant

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and ListingsUL ListedLabor Warranty3 Year
Part Warranty12 Year

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 1,080 reviews
  • 74%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 1,080 reviews
Easy install, does what it says it will do
Perfectly sufficient water heater for my family of 5. It recovers very quickly and was able to produce a lot of hot water within the first hour of installing it. It was easy to install and the app is handy when you want tonmake sure you have enough hotnwater before you go hop in the shower.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Excellent Hot Water
Installed this heater in September 2019. Hardest part was walking it up 4 floors. That was absolutely BRUTAL. I took a gamble as I read mixed reviews, especially the dreaded "A120" code. That was easily solvable. During the removal of the old heater and install of the new one, a small bit of water found its way into the pan. That what's throws the code. I set up a small shop fan and let it blow for a few hours to dry out the bottom moisture sensing ring. Bingo! code cleared. Auto close valve reset with no issues. I also opted to use SharkBite fittings and valves with 1/2" copper pipe. (Why? Well, I'm lazy and I've never had one leak in 15 years. They're approved for use in all 50 states. They're also good to 200 psi.) I decided to add a filter on the cold-water supply side too, glad I did. Easy to blow down and even easier to replace the filter element when needed. Oh, and yes, I have an expansion tank, it's not visible from the angle I took the photo. I opted for the Econet module. I'm glad I did. You can incorporate this into your schedule and lower the heater temperature on your schedule. You can also use geofencing. Works like a BOSS. The 12-year warranty is also a big plus. All things considered; I highly recommend this unit.
by
    • Recommended
    Needs service out of the box
    Do not buy one with the leak sensor. The sensor does not work and shuts the water off. I have not even used it yet and rheem wants me to call a repair man.
    by
    Response from RheemMay 5, 2022
    Hi Brett,

    Thank you for this review. We understand the frustration this may have caused and apologize for the inconvenience. The water heater you are reviewing comes with 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as, a 3-year full in home labor warranty. Please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. at your earliest convenience to speak with one of our analysts.

    Derius rheem
      Leaking on first fill up out of box.
      Immediately started to leak on the first fill up out of the box. Im very unimpressed! Looks like it will be a cold shower tomorrow morning until I can get Rheem on the phone. I didn’t even get a chance to energize the heater.
      by
      Response from RheemJun 8, 2022
      Hi,

      Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced because of the performance of your water heater. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty for your peace of mind. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage and service options.

      Derius rheem
        2 found this review helpful
        Lasted 4 Months before leak…
        Bought new online from HD in Nov 2020.Worked fine for 4months until the alarm sensor started going off.Trouble connecting EcoNet to the WiFi didn’t help anything.Unit is leaking and waking us up in the night for months.Been a 4 month ordeal getting HD+Rheem to work together to replace the unit.Had to find a technician and pay to confirm what I was telling them.Now have to pay to uninstall the old, buy a new one, pay have it installed, then they’ll reimburse me with a check.Keep searching!!
        by
        Response from RheemJun 9, 2022
        Hi Richard,

        Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced because of the leaking on your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed included a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage, and service options available to you on this issue.

        Derius rheem
          3 found this review helpful
          Rheem Hot Water Tank
          Easy to transfer from the store by putting the seats down in the SUV. Installs fairly easy. Suggest buying at the same time all new connectors for your hot & and cold line attachments - dont use your old ones. It will save you from multiple trips back to Home Depot during the install.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          2 found this review helpful
          Piece of Mind
          Happy with performance and added features such as leak protection and advanced controls. Really like the 12 year warranty.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          6 month old Junk
          Worst purchase ever... If you like waking up to leak alarms when there aren't any, no one showing up to repair it, being sent parts to repair it yourself, and resetting bluetooth every time you lose power - BUY IT!! Stick with a basic water heater!
          by
          Response from RheemJan 10, 2022
          Hi Dennis,

          We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and would like to speak with you in greater detail about your customer service request. I will be reaching out to you the email address you have provided and look forward to speaking with you soon.

          Jennifer rheem
            9 found this review helpful
            Major piece of junk **DO NOT BUY**
            Doesn't connect very easy to the WIFI, and it's literally on the other side of the wall. Controller burnt up and is now useless. They want me to uninstall it and bring the whole thing back, to replace control panel
            by
            Response from RheemMar 22, 2022
            Please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            We apologize for the inconvenience and we would like to opportunity to assist you with any questions or concerns you have about the application. Please call our dedicated EcoNet Support Team at 800.255.2388 between the hours of 8 AM and 8 PM EST and one of our analysts will be happy to help you.

            Jennifer rheem
              9 found this review helpful
              garbage lasted 6 months, rheem support useless
              we bought this December 2020, nothing but A105 lower element errors. this results in no hot water. Rheem support said it would be a month before anyone could look at it. Garbage. I replaced the (tested good) element, same error. HD has none in stock so I can't even swap it...
              by
              Response from RheemJun 14, 2021
              Hi Aaron,

              We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and would like to speak with you in greater detail about your customer service request. I will be reaching out to you the email address you have provided and look forward to speaking with you soon.

              Jennifer rheem
                17 found this review helpful
                Showing 1-10 of 1,080 reviews