#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 309627202

Model # XE50T12CS55U1

Store SKU # 1004435926

Store SO SKU # 1004356724

Gladiator 50 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff

$789.00
Apply Now
Pay $739.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Built-in leak detection and auto shutoff protects your home
  • Built-in Wi-Fi enables control and monitoring at home or away
  • Restricted in Demand Response States: See below before purchasing
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Gladiator 50 Gal. electric water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 3 to 5 people. The Gladiator water heater is unlike any other water heater because it provides the Power to Know, the Power to Control, and the Power to Protect. The Power to Know: detect potential leaks with the 360° LeakSense Leak Detection system. The Power to Control: integrated EcoNet Wi-Fi enables management of water temperature, tracking of energy usage and monitoring from your phone. The Power to Protect: Features the LeakGuard Auto Shutoff Valve, which engages in the unlikely event a leak is detected, to protect your home from water damage. Its self-cleaning feature prolongs tank life and maintains the water heater's efficiency. As a Performance Platinum, the Gladiator has a 12-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 3-year in home labor warranty. This model comes with 2 5500-Watt stainless steel heating elements.

Highlights

  • Attention Washington and Oregon Residents: This water heater does not meet demand response requirements in your state; Regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in a state that requires demand response water heaters
  • If your home is in a state that requires Demand Response water heaters, please select an approved Demand Response model available on homedepot.com.
  • 50 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 3 to 5 people
  • Power to know: built-in LeakSense leak detection system alerts you of any leak large or small, internal or external
  • Power to control: built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi technology allows you to manage hot water, track energy usage, and set modes like vacation mode from your mobile device
  • Power to protect: protect your home from water damage with LeakGuard, the auto shut-off valve that shuts off incoming water and locks water in
  • Delivers 63 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • Self-cleaning: fights sediment build-up at the bottom of the tank to prolong tank life and maintain efficiency
  • Hot water availability indicator: know before hot water runs out via EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • Vacation mode: save money on water heating costs while away by setting your water heater in vacation mode from your mobile device with the EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 3-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.92 Uniform Energy Factor (UEF) means it's high efficiency, saving money on energy bills with low energy usage
  • Dual 5500-Watt stainless steel heating elements
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Thick, premium sacrificial anode rod and Rheemglas tank lining combine to protect the tank from corrosive elements in the water
  • As with any WiFi connected device, for best performance use your phone or tablet to check the WiFi signal strength in the area where the water heater will be installed prior to purchase
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 309627202

Model # XE50T12CS55U1

Store SKU # 1004435926

Store SO SKU #1004356724

Specifications

Dimensions: H 58.375 in, W 22.25 in, D 20.25 in

Dimensions

Kilowatt5.5Product Depth (in.)20.25 in
Product Height (in.)58.375 inProduct Width (in.)22.25 in
Tank Valve Size (in.)0.75 inWater Connection Size (in.)3/4 in

Details

Amperage (A)22.92 AApplication TypeResidential
Efficiency LevelHighElectricity PhaseSingle Phase
Finish FamilyGrayFirst Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)63
Fuel TypeElectricHousehold Size3-5
Indoor/OutdoorIndoorMaximum Temperature (F)150 F
Minimum Temperature (F)90 FNominal Tank Capacity (gallons)50 gal
Number of Elements2Pack Size1
Power OptionsHardwiredProduct Weight (lb.)123 lb
Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)45 galRemote AccessRemote Access
Required Volt Connection240 voltRequires Hub?No Hub Required
Returnable90-DaySmart HomeSmart Home Enabled
Smart Home ProtocolWi-FiTank Lining MaterialGlass
Tank Warranty12 YearUniform Energy Factor0.92
Voice Control Hub RequiredNo Voice ControlWater Heater FeaturesOverheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
Water Heater ProfileTallWattage (watts)5500 W
Works WithGoogle Assistant

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and ListingsUL ListedLabor Warranty3 Year
Part Warranty12 Year

Questions & Answers

210Questions
caret
Q:With the leak detection system operating wil it work with a hot water circulating system installed on my current water heater?
by|Feb 28, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Dave, Thank you for your question. If the water heater detects moisture it will shut down, how this effects your existing water heater and the recirculation pump system you have in place is something you will want to discus with your installer directly.

by|Feb 28, 2024
    caret
    Q:does this work with a boiler ?
    by|Feb 26, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi kenn and thank you for your question. The unit you linked is a hot water heater that will produce about 39 gallons of pure hot water before the temperature start to diminish. What you do with the water once it leaves the unit is up to you.

    by|Feb 27, 2024
      caret
      Q:What is the demand response rate
      by|Feb 21, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Ewilkfamily, Thank you for your question. This model is restricted in Demand Response States. The closest model to what is below that would be demand response ready is XE50M09CG55U0. Demand response data will need to be discussed with your electric company.

      by|Feb 21, 2024
        caret
        Q:Why can’t I connect to my iPhone
        by|Feb 19, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Larry, Thank you for your question. We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing a problem with your water heater. To ensure that this gets rectified please call the customer service line to report this problem and discuss what next steps will be. Please call the number located on your tank for assistance.

        by|Feb 22, 2024
          Showing 1-4 of 210

          Customer Reviews

          4.1 out of 5
          • 4.1 out of 1,448 reviews
          • 65% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 1,448 reviews
          I really like the product. Easy to install and it has worked well for the past few weeks since installed. This unit is in a second home and I like the Vacation mode option and its ability to be controlled from my phone. While the product is great, I saw a couple of complaints about damage to the unit when purchasing from Home Depot. I had a similar issue as the unit had damage to sides and the bottom. Most of this was cosmetic, but I was not happy about how Home Depot handled the unit and since it was a special order, I could not wait to have another one shipped in to replace it. However, I will say that Home Depot did give me a discount for the damage.
          by
          Response from RheemFeb 23, 2024
          Hi,

          Thank you for this 4-star review. We are glad that the installation of your new water heater was simple and easy for you. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

          Derius rheem
          • Verified Purchase
          50 gallon hot water tank
          Tank damaged. Dented bottom of tank and two separate locations.
          by
          Response from RheemFeb 23, 2024
          Hi Baker,

          Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced due to the cosmetic damage on your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. For assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to help you with warranty questions.

          Derius rheem
            • Recommended
            My recommendation is Do Not Buy
            I bought this water heater and had it installed by Rheem. Since the installation in 2019, the water heater randomly shuts off and I would have no hot water. Sometimes it trips the breaker but most of the time it doesn't. It has gotten worse in the past few months and when I called Rheem to help resolve it, they told me that I need to get a multimeter and test the elements. I DO NOT recommend this water heater because of my past 4 years of experience. See pictures of rust after 4 years.
            by
            Response from RheemDec 10, 2023
            Hi Rocky,

            Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            Derius rheem
              5 found this review helpful
              Issues with Leaking Units...
              I had this unit installed in my house by a licensed plumber, shortly after he left there was an internal leak in the system. I tried making this point to Rheem gladiator support but no luck and they would only ship a part out to me without providing a plumber to fix the issue. I ended up in the situation where I had to remove this unit myself and return it to HD. I picked out a different unit and there ended up being another leak underneath the Leak Detection. Ended up with an AO Smith.
              by
              Response from RheemDec 10, 2023
              Hi Erwin,

              Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Derius rheem
                8 found this review helpful
                14 DAYS! Lower heating element failed/leaked
                Lower heating element began leaking after 14 days! Purchased/installed on 10/28/2023. Leaking on 11/11/2023. See photo - 14 DAYS! Factory heating element are claimed to be stainless steel (yeah right). Replaced both lower and upper heating elements with 5 year warranty stainless steel heating element from Home Depot - hopefully they last. Waiting to hear back from Rheem on warranty but not expecting much. Very disappointing Home Depot. Recommend you spend your money elsewhere.
                by
                Response from RheemNov 14, 2023
                Hi,

                Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the lower heating element failure on your water heater and hope the issue has been resolved. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                Derius rheem
                  4 found this review helpful
                  WARNING - Fire Hazard
                  We purchased this & had it professionally installed on 3/15/23. On 4/15/23 the heater sent a code to my app: Alarm Code - A114 : Safety Temperature Protection. Please contact your installer or local professional. I called Rheem & they sent out a plumber on 4/25/23. He removed the panel where the main control board is located & the components inside were melted. He told me you’re lucky your house didn’t catch on fire. DON’T RISK BUYING THIS UNIT! I’m going with a basic unit now.
                  by
                  Response from RheemApr 27, 2023
                  Hello,

                  We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                  Isaiah rheem
                    9 found this review helpful
                    2nd water heater since 2019
                    Purchased this water heater in December 2019 and I've had to get the water heater to replaced twice due to lower heating element failure, which is not repairable due to the damage it caused to wiring , I do not recommend this product, Also trying to get your money back from Rheem is an act of congress they will take there time paying you back and will only reimburse a curtain amount.
                    by
                    Response from RheemApr 5, 2023
                    Hi,

                    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                    Derius rheem
                      5 found this review helpful
                      LASTED A MONTH AND A HALF! 2nd one
                      Do not buy this unit unless you like being woken up by leak sensors and alarms. For 2 years I’ve dealt with this till the tank started leaking. I had to get a new one. Leak sensor started the first day and has continued ever since. Tech support sent me info to disable the sensor but I never got time to do it. Now on my second one it’s leaking after a month and a half. I will not have another put in!!
                      by
                      Response from RheemMar 17, 2023
                      Hi,

                      Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the leak on your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. For warranty assistance with your water heater, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage.

                      Derius rheem
                        7 found this review helpful
                        A114
                        Bought in 2020 A114 error code now we barely have hot water it shows we should have warranty I'll update if Rheem fixes the issue .
                        by
                        Response from RheemMar 17, 2023
                        Hi Liz,

                        Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the performance of your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. For warranty assistance with your water heater, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage.

                        Derius rheem
                          4 found this review helpful
                          A114
                          Bought in 2020 A114 error code now we barely have hot water it shows we should have warranty I'll update if Rheem fixes the issue .
                          by
                          Response from RheemMar 17, 2023
                          Hi Liz,

                          Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the performance of your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. For warranty assistance with your water heater, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage.

                          Derius rheem
                            2 found this review helpful
                            Showing 1-10 of 1,448 reviews