#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #309627175

Model #XE55T12CS45U0

Store SO SKU #1004356720

Gladiator 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff

$769.99 $916.87
Save $146.88 (16%)
Special Buy ends in 6days : 13hrs : 49mins
Shop All Pro Special Buy of the Week
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Built-in leak detection and auto shutoff protects your home
  • Built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi enables control and monitoring
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with five or more people
  • View More Details
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$76999
$916.87
Save $146.88 (16%)

Product Overview

Ensure you and your guests will have hot water with this Gladiator 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff. It features Wi-Fi technology so that you can track water temperature and energy use with your cellphone. A self-cleaning option makes for an easy maintenance routine.
  • 55 gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with three to five people
  • Built-in LeakSense leak detection system alerts you of any leak large or small, internal or external
  • Built-in EcoNet Wi-Fi technology allows you to manage hot water, track energy usage and set modes like vacation mode from your mobile device
  • Protect your home from water damage with LeakGuard, the auto shut-off valve that shuts off incoming water and locks water in
  • Delivers 72 gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • Fights sediment build-up at the bottom of the tank to prolong tank life and maintain efficiency
  • Know before hot water runs out with the EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • Save money on water heating costs while away by setting your water heater in vacation mode from your mobile device with the EcoNet Wi-Fi app
  • 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • Three year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.92 Uniform Energy Factor (UEF) means it's high efficiency, saving money on energy bills with low energy usage
  • Dual 4500 watt stainless steel heating elements
  • Requires a 240V connection for installation
  • Thick, premium sacrificial anode rod and Rheemglas tank lining combine to protect the tank from corrosive elements in the water
  • As with any Wi-Fi connected device, for best performance use your phone or tablet to check the Wi-Fi signal strength in the area where the water heater will be installed prior to purchase
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.



  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.



  • California residents

Compare Similar Electric Tank Water Heaters

current product
Gladiator 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff
Gladiator 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffProTerra 50 Gal. 10-Year Hybrid High Efficiency Smart Tank Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection & Auto ShutoffSuprema 55 gal. 5500-Watt Flexible Capacity Electric Water Heater Lifetime Warranty
BrandRheemRheemRheemAriston
NameGladiator 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 4500/4500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffGladiator 55 Gal. Tall 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto ShutoffProTerra 50 Gal. 10-Year Hybrid High Efficiency Smart Tank Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection & Auto ShutoffSuprema 55 gal. 5500-Watt Flexible Capacity Electric Water Heater Lifetime Warranty
Price
$76999
$916.87 Save $146.88 (16%)
$78999
$941.16 Save $151.17 (16%)
$162999
$1936.42 Save $306.43 (16%)
$189000
Ratings
(2257)
(1131)
(2213)
(4)
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)55 gal55 gal50 gal55 gal
Water Heater ProfileTallTallTallTall
Application TypeResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
Wattage (watts)4500 W5500 W4500 W5500 W
Required Volt Connection240 volt240 volt240 volt240 volt
Efficiency LevelHighHighSuper HighSuper High
Household Size5+5+3-55+
Water Heater FeaturesGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFiGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFiGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFiTemperature Pressure Relief Valve
THD SO SKU10043567201004356723
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.4
    out of 2,259 reviews
  • 83%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 2,259 reviews
I like this water heater.
I think I can use this water heater for more than 10 years. It is a good value. Except for one thing I found. The water leak from the top heating element wasn't tightened enough. Opened the top cover because the felt water was too hot and tried to reduce the temperature. After the top cover removes, the sponge was wet. It is leaked. Price and it working good. Must check every element which are parts of main after installed. Problems are growing in hidden areas...
by
Response from RheemAug 11, 2022
Hi,

Thank you for this review. We are glad to hear that your new Rheem water heater is of a good value to you. If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

Derius rheem
    • Recommended
    2 found this review helpful
    21 yrs on old water heater not too bad. This one was very straight forward to install. It was a bit taller than the old one but only by about 2” so no problem. Heats water quick and with luck it will last half as long as older one.
    Easy straight forward stall
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    2 found this review helpful
    Defective water heater
    Brand new water heater was defective. Waiting for getting my refund from Rheem for removing their brand new defective unit ,transporting to Home depot,getting the new unit and reinstalling it back at my house by my plumber. Horrible experience...
    by
    Response from RheemSep 12, 2022
    Hi Zack,

    We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

    Derius rheem
    • Verified Purchase
    9 found this review helpful
    Rheem hot water heater issue
    Feedback on the rain performance hot water heater
    by
    Response from RheemJun 21, 2022
    Hi Joseph,

    Thank you for this review. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with technical questions, and warranty.

    Derius rheem
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Spend the extra $ on something better
    Replaced a less than three year old water heater of the exact same model due to the bottom rusting out. The first one was leaking terribly through the seams at the top of the water heater. The second one has incomplete threads on the cold side and needed to be returned. Now on the third one, the relief valve is allowing water to accumulate at the top and where the electrical connections are located. These water heater are either complete junk or HomeDepot received a batch of crap.
    by
    Response from RheemJun 16, 2022
    Hi James,

    Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the leaking on your water heater. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage, questions, and warranty options.

    Derius rheem
      9 found this review helpful
      Great Performing Water Heater But....
      I purchased the Rheem Performance 40 gallon electric water heater based on my research and the recommendations of a good friend; he’d just bought and installed the 50 gallon model. The Rheem 40 gallon heater has many of the features I wanted: dual 4500 watt heating elements, one year in home labor and six year limited tank and parts warranties, all for a decent price. While the unit has performed flawlessly, I did have two problems with the installation, both stemming from the factor installed tapered threads. The first being upon opening the box the threads were not properly cut, the second was the tapered threads were not compatible with American made adapters; the two combined for a two hour delay. I also decided to install an Intermatic timer which, according to research and reviews should save enough electricity for my wife and me to pay for the water heater, the timer and the plumbing supplies. While still new, I am very satisfied with the heater’s performance but caution the buyer to check the threads for damage and fit to the connecting adaptors before leaving the store!
      by
      Response from RheemJul 19, 2022
      Hi,

      Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying the performance of your water heater. If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

      Derius rheem
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      6 found this review helpful
      So far so good.
      Just installed it about 3 weeks ago, so far so good! I hope it will last as long as my previous water heater. We had 9 people at our home over Christmas and never had a hot water issue.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      2 found this review helpful
      Within 1 Yr: Replace the Upper Heating Element
      Easy to set up with instructions. The unit worked great for 8 months. The upper heating element was completely corroded & had broken at the bend. Further, the unit leaked from the upper element. Easy replacement, yet why was this unit so poorly made??
      by
        • Recommended
        6 found this review helpful
        Hit and miss quality
        First water heater I purchased had leak in top of tank or near the water lines. Home Depot took it back no questions asked. Replaced with different heater, all good second time.
        by
        Response from RheemNov 17, 2021
        Hi Trever,

        Thank you for taking time to write this review and provide valuable feedback on your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your first installation but happy to hear you are enjoying your new water heater. If we can be of any assistance in the future please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7AM at 7PM CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you.

        Jennifer rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        7 found this review helpful
        Not a top quality water heater but does the job so far
        These Rheem water heaters are the high volume/lower cost offerings. Mine had a very slight leak at the front panel for the upper thermostat/heating element. Did a leak test as directed by Rheem customer service and didn't detect a leak issue. The water seemed to be coming from somewhere between the tank and the outer shell. The insulating foam was wet and would trickle down the front of the water heater every once in a while. I'm assuming the water was trapped inside from factory testing or it was due to very high heat/humidity at the time of the install resulting in condensation. One other slight annoyance was how easily the thermostat/heating element cover plate screw stripped out even as I was being extremely careful not to overtighten.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        5 found this review helpful
        Showing 1-10 of 2,259 reviews