#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205810668

Model #XE40T06ST45U1

Store SKU #1001301799

Store SO SKU #1001230817

Performance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater

$47900
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Inner tank design raises efficiency by lowering standby heat loss
  • Make sure it fits: measure your space to ensure dimensions fit
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with 2-4 people
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

++
Price:
$47900

Product Overview

The Rheem Performance 40 Gal. Electric tall water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 2 to 4 people. This unit comes with two 4500-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 6 year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 1 year in home labor warranty.
  • 40 Gallon tank provides ample hot water for households with 2 to 4 people
  • Electric water heater is easy to maintain
  • Delivers 54 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 6 year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 1 year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.93 uniform energy factor signifies an energy efficient water heater
  • Dual 4500-Watt heating elements
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Medium tank fits in a variety of indoor applications
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Meets 2015 NAECA Standards
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Electric Tank Water Heaters

current product
Performance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
Performance 30 Gal. Tall 6-Year 3800/3800-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Manufactured Housing Side Connect Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Medium 9 Year 5500/5500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator
BrandRheemRheemRheemRheem
NamePerformance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 30 Gal. Tall 6-Year 3800/3800-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Manufactured Housing Side Connect Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Medium 9 Year 5500/5500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator
Price
$47900
$49300
$57900
$67900
Ratings
(2514)
(1036)
(223)
(862)
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)40 gal3040 gal50 gal
Water Heater ProfileTallTallTallMedium
Application TypeResidentialResidentialMobile HomeResidential
Efficiency LevelSuper HighHighSuper HighSuper High
Water Heater FeaturesOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
Fuel TypeElectricElectricElectricElectric
Household Size2-41-22-43-5
Wattage (watts)4500 W38004500 W5500 W
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Kilo Watt
4.5
Product Depth (in.)
19 in
Product Height (in.)
61 in
Product Width (in.)
19 in
Tank Valve Size (in.)
.75
Water Connection Size (in.)
.75

Details

Amperage (amps)
18.75 A
Application Type
Residential
Commercial/Residential
Residential
Efficiency Level
Super High
Electricity Phase
Single Phase
Finish Family
Gray
First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)
54
Fuel Type
Electric
Household Size
2-4
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Maximum Temperature (F)
150
Minimum Temperature (F)
90 °F
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)
40 gal
Number of Elements
2
Pack Size
1
Product Weight (lb.)
109 lb
Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)
36
Required Volt Connection
240 volt
Returnable
90-Day
Tank Lining Material
Glass
Tank Warranty
6 Year
Uniform Energy Factor
0.93
Water Heater Features
Overheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
Water Heater Profile
Tall
Wattage (watts)
4500 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
UL Listed
Labor Warranty
1 Year
Part Warranty
6 Year

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 2,514 reviews
  • 90% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 2,514 reviews
Not a top quality water heater but does the job so far
These Rheem water heaters are the high volume/lower cost offerings. Mine had a very slight leak at the front panel for the upper thermostat/heating element. Did a leak test as directed by Rheem customer service and didn't detect a leak issue. The water seemed to be coming from somewhere between the tank and the outer shell. The insulating foam was wet and would trickle down the front of the water heater every once in a while. I'm assuming the water was trapped inside from factory testing or it was due to very high heat/humidity at the time of the install resulting in condensation. One other slight annoyance was how easily the thermostat/heating element cover plate screw stripped out even as I was being extremely careful not to overtighten.
by
  • Verified Purchase
1 person found this helpful
Great, low cost water heater that does exactly what it is supposed to.
Great, low cost water heater that does exactly what it is supposed to.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
11 people found this helpful
50 Gallon
Replaced 20 year old Lochinvar that came with house..My Cat woke me up to flood...She wasn't happy with water all over floor.. Didnt even brush my teeth or had my coffee I drained old tank ..Cut old water lines out tossed it on a dolly to the garbage..All in my flip flops..Cleaned floors.. tossed wet stuff in washing machine then headed to home Depo..2 hours later family and animal's all happy I was done..New 50 Gallon Rheem Performance pushed out hot water..Took shower and finally brushed my teeth and had my coffee.. So far so good..Im old so hopefully I wont have to do that again.. Next up Rheen 2.5 ton A/C will be installed once hot weather cools off.. Im trusting you Rheem!!! Dont let me down.. Love Home Depo had everything I needed..
by
    • Recommended
    13 people found this helpful
    I've only had the unit a few weeks. Also my previous hot water heater was incredibly old and did ...
    I've only had the unit a few weeks. Also my previous hot water heater was incredibly old and did not perform any. Anything would have been an upgrade but this Rheem is good. Easy installation and performance thus far is wonderful.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    4 people found this helpful
    W/H Leaking from Thermostat (Poor Quality Control)
    Water heater leaking from the upper thermostat panel within minutes after installation was complete. Basement/carpet soaked. W/H has sticker " do not return to store. Call Rheem for assistance". Called for assistance 06/15/2020 and I am unable to get expedited service to get this resolved. First time buying this w/h and will not buy again. I do not recommend this product.
    by
      21 people found this helpful
      Been running this for about three weeks now, no issues. Performs as you would expect a new unit ...
      Been running this for about three weeks now, no issues. Performs as you would expect a new unit to perform and was easy to install. I only wished that the pressure relief valve would have been directed more to the front of the unit rather than the rear as this was going into a corner. No big deal, just a little more work with the discharge line. I read that you are not supposed to lay down hot water heaters when transporting, rather they should be in the upright position. An employee at Home Depot assured me that it was ok to lay the boxed unit down in the bed of my truck, carefully of course. I'm happy to say that I got this thing out of my truck, transported by hand truck down my 1940's narrow and steep stairs to the basement, unwrapped and installed with no dents! Cutting along the marked line at the bottom of the box and using that bottom portion of the box as a floor glide helped slide it close to the location.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      6 people found this helpful
      Able to install in same small space as old water heater and performs well
      Able to install in same small space as old water heater and performs well
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      4 people found this helpful
      Very good
      Very good
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      3 people found this helpful
      faulty connections and extended warranty
      Purchased 3 years ago and noticed rust build up over time coming from the intake and output ¾ nipples. Based on research and videos the issue were caused by manufacturer parts (all purchased from home depot). Additionally, the home depot warranty plan was just as bad, putting the blame on plumbing , not the manufacturer and denying my claim. Long story short I replaced the connections myself. Really upset with all my time wasted with the home depot warranty back & forth and water heater.
      by
      Response from RheemMay 18, 2020
      Hi Mark,

      We are sorry to hear about your experience. The water heater you have reviewed comes with a 6-year limited warranty for tank and parts. Please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with any warranty questions you may have.

      Jennifer rheem
        13 people found this helpful
        I just bought it easy installation work light supposed to do
        I just bought it easy installation work light supposed to do
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        3 people found this helpful
        Easy to install once you have the power is ready.
        Easy to install once you have the power is ready.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        2 people found this helpful
        Purchased a home a year ago and discovered the water heater was 16 years old and developing rust ...
        Purchased a home a year ago and discovered the water heater was 16 years old and developing rust at the base and had issues with it. I figured due to the age of my old water heater, it is time to get a replacement . I did some comparison and decided to go with the Rheem Performance 50 gallon 4500 watt unit. I purchased and installed it myself 3 weeks ago and it performs excellent and has great recovery time. I would recommend this unit to others.
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        4 people found this helpful
        Easy to do yourself and is working beautifully. Love Rheem products.
        Easy to do yourself and is working beautifully. Love Rheem products.
        by
        • DIY
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        2 people found this helpful
        Easy to install and works great. Delivers all the hot water I need
        Easy to install and works great. Delivers all the hot water I need
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        3 people found this helpful
        After less than two years the bottom heating element of this water heater went bad. We pulled it...
        After less than two years the bottom heating element of this water heater went bad. We pulled it out and it was completely rusted. So every two years we have to drain this 50 gallon tank and replace the heating element? I spoke with a friend who said he had the same thing happen after only a year. Same water heater from Home Depot. Then my husband saw on YouTube that Rheem was using old parts on new water heaters to save money. That makes more sense. Every other water heater has lasted at least 10 years. And ours is kept inside the house in an air conditioned laundry room. One other complaint, when we called the number on the water heater the technician tried to tell us that because we moved the water heater outside we may have voided our warranty. We told him we didn’t want 50 gallons of water on the floor of our house.
        by
        Response from RheemJan 5, 2020
        Hi LW,

        After having a chance to review your customer service request, it looks like we requested additional photos of your heater to help us property diagnose the issue. If you still need help with your heater please reply to the email we sent with the requested information or call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

        Jennifer rheem
          7 people found this helpful
          My old one sprung a leak after about 13 years. Very surprised it lasted that long!! I bought the ...
          My old one sprung a leak after about 13 years. Very surprised it lasted that long!! I bought the Rheem at Home Depot. Very easy to change out. Took maybe 30 minutes to do the change out. Hope I'll get the same life span as my old one??
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          3 people found this helpful
          Great water heater and a great price when I bought it. It heats up super fast and gives you cons...
          Great water heater and a great price when I bought it. It heats up super fast and gives you consistent hot water for way longer than you ever need. It was super easy to install as well and put into operation.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          3 people found this helpful
          To me, firstly, Rheem looks professional and awesome. By some reason, my previous water heater fa...
          To me, firstly, Rheem looks professional and awesome. By some reason, my previous water heater face to the side of the Heater system. I guess when they build the house, the water heater was install first. Then, when the contractor install the electrical Heater, the previous water heater tank was too heavy to move, so, they left it alone in the rediculous way. This Rheem Performance look less heavy than the old one I had. The heat is ok, it seems a little bit not as hot as the old one. The electrical consumption_ wait, because it's just 2 weeks around, not a full month bill circle. Let's see!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          2 people found this helpful
          Easy installation one week meets expations
          Easy installation one week meets expations
          by
          • Pro
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          3 people found this helpful
          Just installed it yesterday, no problems. Great price, easy to install by yourself. Water got hot...
          Just installed it yesterday, no problems. Great price, easy to install by yourself. Water got hot very quickly, very hot. I easily turned down the temperature and now everyone is safe from a burning accident.
          by
            • Recommended
            4 people found this helpful
            Easy to install. Looks great!
            Easy to install. Looks great!
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            2 people found this helpful
            The water heater was very easy to install and we had hot water 10 mins. After install.
            The water heater was very easy to install and we had hot water 10 mins. After install.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            1 person found this helpful
            The water heater was in good condition, fit perfectly and the plumber installed easily and profes...
            The water heater was in good condition, fit perfectly and the plumber installed easily and professionally.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            1 person found this helpful
            The Rheem Electric hot water heater was researched and although it was a little higher priced the...
            The Rheem Electric hot water heater was researched and although it was a little higher priced then other brands, we decided to purchase it because of the mostly positive reviews. The product was delivered properly in a sturdy box. It was easy to install and started to function immediately upon completing the installation. It has only been in use for two weeks and so far all is going well.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            3 people found this helpful
            Quick and easy install. Great product
            Quick and easy install. Great product
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            2 people found this helpful
            It was very easy to install and remove the old one. We upgraded from 40 gal that barely worked to...
            It was very easy to install and remove the old one. We upgraded from 40 gal that barely worked to a 50 gal that works awesome and now both bathroom showers can be used at once plus run the washer at the same time!!!! Which made the wife very happy! Thanks home Depot for the enjoyment of having hot water in my home. Your staff in Lewiston Idaho was very helpful and made sure we had everything to get the job done. Thanks again from the Ray Family.
            by
            Response from RheemOct 2, 2018
            Hi Mr. Ray,

            Thank you for purchasing the Rheem Performance 50-Gallon Electric Water Heater and for taking time to write this review.

            If you ever have any questions about your new water heater please call Rheem Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            Thank you again, Ray Family, for choosing Rheem for your water heating needs!

            Jennifer rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            11 people found this helpful
            Fit great. No installation problems. Did have to increase the water temperature to 135 as it co...
            Fit great. No installation problems. Did have to increase the water temperature to 135 as it comes from the factory set at 120 degrees. 120 is a little low. Not hard to do.
            by
            • DIY
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            2 people found this helpful
            I purchased this product to replace an 80 Gallon 28 year old Rheem. We did the math and determine...
            I purchased this product to replace an 80 Gallon 28 year old Rheem. We did the math and determined that 50 Gallons would be adequate. After Home Depot put us in contact with a contractor we were told it would take 5 days before we could get an estimate - 3 days at best. That was not an amount of time that we wanted to be without hot water, so we decided to do the install ourselves. The unit fit well inside of a Chevy Tahoe. I rented a utility dolly to remove the old unit, then installed the new. This unit was dead easy to install. We used a 24 inch plastic water pan and the Sharkbite 3/4 connectors which easily reduced the installation time. The tank filled in 5 minutes and the water was a hot in 15 minutes. It took about 50 minutes to remove the old unit and about 50 minutes to install the new. Plus 20 minutes to fill the tank and heat the water.
            by
              • Recommended
              39 people found this helpful
              Product was picked up by our contractor and once opened at my home had visible damage. They took...
              Product was picked up by our contractor and once opened at my home had visible damage. They took it back, pulled another, also visible damage, 3rd one was ok. Hours wasted by a paid contractor due to damaged product being sold.
              by
              Response from RheemSep 13, 2018
              Hi Davie,

              We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope you are enjoying your new heater. If you ever have any questions or concerns about your heater please call Rheem Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Thank you for choosing Rheem for your water heating needs.

              Jennifer rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              9 people found this helpful
              Replaced my 14 year old GE (which was made by Rheem) after it finally died a slow death. Tons of ...
              Replaced my 14 year old GE (which was made by Rheem) after it finally died a slow death. Tons of sediment inside which I should have seen coming, with the sandy area that we live in. Install was pretty easy as I already had flex lines installed beforehand. Hopefully this one can last as long as the one before did.
              by
                • Recommended
                1 person found this helpful
                Showing 1-30 of 2,514 reviews