#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205810668

Model #XE40T06ST45U1

Store SKU #1001301799

Store SO SKU #1001230817

Performance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater

$489.00
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Inner tank design raises efficiency by lowering standby heat loss
  • Make sure it fits: measure your space to ensure dimensions fit
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with 2-4 people
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
caret

Product Details

The Rheem Performance 40 Gal. Electric tall water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 2 to 4 people. This unit comes with two 4500-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 6 year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 1 year in home labor warranty.
  • 40 Gallon tank provides ample hot water for households with 2 to 4 people
  • Electric water heater is easy to maintain
  • Delivers 54 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 6 year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 1 year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.93 uniform energy factor signifies an energy efficient water heater
  • Dual 4500-Watt heating elements
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Medium tank fits in a variety of indoor applications
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Meets 2015 NAECA Standards
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

432Questions
caret
Q:What's displayed in the LED? The picture is too tiny.
by|Nov 21, 2022
2 Answers
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Feng and thank you for your question. It says power upper element lower element

by|Nov 22, 2022

    A:  My water heater is not easily accessible but if I remember correctly the LED display shows water set temperature and also when the element is energized. Only one element runs at a time.

    by|Nov 24, 2022
      caret
      Q::What are dimensions of the box? I?m picking it up, will Stand it straight up to bring it home, but need to know dimensions of box as I have to make rom to store box in house until plumber comes out to install it. Exterior dimensions of box?
      by|Nov 19, 2022
      2 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  When I picked mine up, I stood it up to bring it home and had no problem storing it in my home. I'm not sure of the dimensions.

      by|Nov 22, 2022

        A:  Hi TomB and thank you for your question. The box is about 4" larger then the unit. Dimensions: H 58.875 in, W 20.25 in, D 20.25 in

        by|Nov 21, 2022
          caret
          Q:What are the dimensions of the box? I am needing to know if it will fit inside a suv.
          by|Nov 15, 2022
          1 Answer
          Answer This Question

          A:  Hello Karen, Thank you for your question. We don't recommend the unit to be laid as it can cause damages to internal parts, the unit should be transported standing up.

          by|Nov 19, 2022
            1 found this answer helpful
            caret
            Q:What amp breaker is needed
            by|Nov 15, 2022
            3 Answers
            Answer This Question

            A:  A 30 amp breaker is required for this hot water heater model I purchased. It of coarse depends on the model.

            by|Nov 26, 2022
              1 found this answer helpful

              A:  Ours us on 30 amp breaker but advise you review specs and installation guide.

              by|Nov 20, 2022

                A:  Hello Edward, thank you for your question. The unit requires a double 25 or 30 depending your incoming voltage.

                by|Nov 15, 2022
                  Showing 1-4 of 432
                  caret

                  Customer Reviews

                  4.5 out of 5
                  (3,176)
                  • 4.5
                    out of 3,176 reviews
                  • 89%recommend this product
                  Filter by:
                  Showing 1-10 of 3,176 reviews
                  I like this water heater.
                  I think I can use this water heater for more than 10 years. It is a good value. Except for one thing I found. The water leak from the top heating element wasn't tightened enough. Opened the top cover because the felt water was too hot and tried to reduce the temperature. After the top cover removes, the sponge was wet. It is leaked. Price and it working good. Must check every element which are parts of main after installed. Problems are growing in hidden areas...
                  by
                  Response from RheemAug 11, 2022
                  Hi,

                  Thank you for this review. We are glad to hear that your new Rheem water heater is of a good value to you. If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                  Derius rheem
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    21 yrs on old water heater not too bad. This one was very straight forward to install. It was a bit taller than the old one but only by about 2” so no problem. Heats water quick and with luck it will last half as long as older one.
                    Easy straight forward stall
                    by
                    Response from RheemOct 21, 2022
                    Hi Shaun,

                    Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                    Derius rheem
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    Defective water heater
                    Brand new water heater was defective. Waiting for getting my refund from Rheem for removing their brand new defective unit ,transporting to Home depot,getting the new unit and reinstalling it back at my house by my plumber. Horrible experience...
                    by
                    Response from RheemSep 12, 2022
                    Hi Zack,

                    We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                    Derius rheem
                    • Verified Purchase
                    10 found this review helpful
                    Rheem hot water heater issue
                    Feedback on the rain performance hot water heater
                    by
                    Response from RheemJun 21, 2022
                    Hi Joseph,

                    Thank you for this review. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with technical questions, and warranty.

                    Derius rheem
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    Spend the extra $ on something better
                    Replaced a less than three year old water heater of the exact same model due to the bottom rusting out. The first one was leaking terribly through the seams at the top of the water heater. The second one has incomplete threads on the cold side and needed to be returned. Now on the third one, the relief valve is allowing water to accumulate at the top and where the electrical connections are located. These water heater are either complete junk or HomeDepot received a batch of crap.
                    by
                    Response from RheemJun 16, 2022
                    Hi James,

                    Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the leaking on your water heater. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage, questions, and warranty options.

                    Derius rheem
                      11 found this review helpful
                      Great Performing Water Heater But....
                      I purchased the Rheem Performance 40 gallon electric water heater based on my research and the recommendations of a good friend; he’d just bought and installed the 50 gallon model. The Rheem 40 gallon heater has many of the features I wanted: dual 4500 watt heating elements, one year in home labor and six year limited tank and parts warranties, all for a decent price. While the unit has performed flawlessly, I did have two problems with the installation, both stemming from the factor installed tapered threads. The first being upon opening the box the threads were not properly cut, the second was the tapered threads were not compatible with American made adapters; the two combined for a two hour delay. I also decided to install an Intermatic timer which, according to research and reviews should save enough electricity for my wife and me to pay for the water heater, the timer and the plumbing supplies. While still new, I am very satisfied with the heater’s performance but caution the buyer to check the threads for damage and fit to the connecting adaptors before leaving the store!
                      by
                      Response from RheemJul 19, 2022
                      Hi,

                      Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying the performance of your water heater. If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                      Derius rheem
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      6 found this review helpful
                      So far so good.
                      Just installed it about 3 weeks ago, so far so good! I hope it will last as long as my previous water heater. We had 9 people at our home over Christmas and never had a hot water issue.
                      by
                      Response from RheemOct 21, 2022
                      Hi,

                      Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                      Derius rheem
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      2 found this review helpful
                      Within 1 Yr: Replace the Upper Heating Element
                      Easy to set up with instructions. The unit worked great for 8 months. The upper heating element was completely corroded & had broken at the bend. Further, the unit leaked from the upper element. Easy replacement, yet why was this unit so poorly made??
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        6 found this review helpful
                        Hit and miss quality
                        First water heater I purchased had leak in top of tank or near the water lines. Home Depot took it back no questions asked. Replaced with different heater, all good second time.
                        by
                        Response from RheemNov 17, 2021
                        Hi Trever,

                        Thank you for taking time to write this review and provide valuable feedback on your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your first installation but happy to hear you are enjoying your new water heater. If we can be of any assistance in the future please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7AM at 7PM CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you.

                        Jennifer rheem
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        8 found this review helpful
                        Not a top quality water heater but does the job so far
                        These Rheem water heaters are the high volume/lower cost offerings. Mine had a very slight leak at the front panel for the upper thermostat/heating element. Did a leak test as directed by Rheem customer service and didn't detect a leak issue. The water seemed to be coming from somewhere between the tank and the outer shell. The insulating foam was wet and would trickle down the front of the water heater every once in a while. I'm assuming the water was trapped inside from factory testing or it was due to very high heat/humidity at the time of the install resulting in condensation. One other slight annoyance was how easily the thermostat/heating element cover plate screw stripped out even as I was being extremely careful not to overtighten.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        5 found this review helpful
                        Showing 1-10 of 3,176 reviews

                        Frequently Bought Together

                        +
                        +
                        Price:
                        $48900

                        Compare Similar Electric Tank Water Heaters

                        Best SellerPerformance 40 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
                        current product
                        Performance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
                        Performance 30 Gal. Short 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Tall 9 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator
                        BrandRheemRheemRheemRheem
                        NamePerformance 40 Gal. Medium 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 40 Gal. Tall 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance 30 Gal. Short 6 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Tall 9 Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator
                        Price
                        $42900
                        Buy 3 or more $403.26
                        $45900
                        Buy 3 or more $431.46
                        $54900
                        Buy 3 or more $516.06
                        $77900
                        Buy 3 or more $732.26
                        Ratings
                        (7365)
                        (3175)
                        (2368)
                        (2682)
                        Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)40 gal40 gal30 gal50 gal
                        Water Heater ProfileMediumTallShortTall
                        Application TypeResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
                        Wattage (watts)4500 W4500 W4500 W4500 W
                        Required Volt Connection240 volt240 volt240 volt240 volt
                        Household Size2-42-41-23-5
                        Efficiency LevelSuper HighSuper HighHighSuper High
                        Water Heater FeaturesOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
                        THD SO SKU1001230839100123081710012308051001230771
                        View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product