#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 204697784

Model # XG40T12HE40U0

Store SKU # 1000034940

Store SO SKU #1001020882

Performance Platinum 40 Gal. Tall 12 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Tank Water Heater

$719.00
Buy 3 or more $647.10
Apply Now
Pay $669.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Platinum design provides long-lasting tank protection
  • 40-Gallon tank provides hot water for households with 2-4 people
  • Restricted in CA and UT – see disclaimer below
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Performance Plus 40 Gal. Natural Gas Tall Water Heater comes with a 40,000 BTU/hour environmentally friendly low NOx burner that provides ample hot water for households with 2 to 4 people. The push button ignition system ensures safe and easy startup. Its maintenance free combustion air intake system means there are no filters to clean and replace. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation.

Highlights

  • California and Utah Residents (Utah Effective 7/1/18): This Water Heater Does Not Meet Ultra LOW NOX (ULN) emissions requirements. Regulations prohibit the sale, shipment or installation of this water heater in any air quality district that requires ULN water heaters, please refer to the maps below to confirm if your home is in a district that requires ULN emission water heaters, and if so please select an approved ULN model
  • Delivers 84 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 12-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 3-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • 0.65 uniform energy factor indicates an energy efficient water heater
  • Maintenance free - no filter to clean or replace
  • Push button ignition system simplifies the startup process
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Rated for installations up to 10,200 ft.
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day service in most areas, or Visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Meets 2015 NAECA Standards
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 204697784

Model # XG40T12HE40U0

Store SKU # 1000034940

Store SO SKU #1001020882

Specifications

Dimensions: H 60.25 in, W 19.5 in, D 19.5 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)

19.5 in

Product Height (in.)

60.25 in

Product Width (in.)

19.5 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Vent diameter (in.)

3 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in

Details

Application Type

Residential

BTU Rating

40000

Efficiency Level

High

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

84

Fuel Type

Gas

Gas Connection Size

1/2 in

Gas Type

Natural Gas

Household Size

2-4

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

160 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

45 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

40 gal

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

135 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

40 gal

Recovery Rate at 90F Rise (gallons/hour)

40.4

Returnable

90-Day

Tank Lining Material

Glass

Tank Warranty

12 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

0.65

Vent Type

Atmospheric

Water Connection Location

Top

Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile

Tall

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

CSA Certified, FVIR Certified

Labor Warranty

3 Year

Part Warranty

12 Year

Questions & Answers

596Questions
caret
Q:The "Instructions / Assembly" and "Use and Care Manual" have different titles, but the content is the same, with the exception of the date codes in the footers. Is this a mistake? Which guide/date is current?
by|Jul 19, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Kurt, The Use and Care manual is the current guide.

by|Jul 21, 2024
    caret
    Q:How do I process a warranty for the tank?
    by|Jul 3, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi Gale and thank you for your question. For those issues, please call the number on your unit or in your user manual.

    by|Jul 5, 2024
      caret
      Q:What is the UEF the efficiency of the tank
      by|Jul 1, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi and thank you for your question. The Uniform Energy Factor (UEF) is .65.

      by|Jul 1, 2024
        caret
        Q:Does this model (Rheem Platinum Plus) have a built-in sediment trap? The manual mentions that some models have this feature, but not which specific models do.
        by|Jun 21, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Brent and thank you for your question. Where a sediment trap is not incorporated as part of the appliance, a sediment trap shall be installed downstream of the equipment shutoff valve as close to the inlet of the appliance as practical at the time of the appliance installation. The sediment trap shall be either a tee fitting with a capped nipple in the bottom outlet or other device recognized as an effective sediment trap. Do not use excessive force (40 ft/lbs. Max Torque) in tightening the pipe joint at the combination gas control (thermostat) inlet, particularly if teflon pipe compound is used, as the valve body may be damaged.

        by|Jul 12, 2024
          1 found this answer helpful
          Showing 1-4 of 596

          Customer Reviews

          4.5 out of 5

          • 4.5 out of 3,088 reviews
          • 85% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 3,088 reviews
          Easy install as a Diyer. So far so good
          by
          Response from RheemMay 22, 2024
          Hello,

          We are glad to hear that you found the installation of the Performance Platinum 40 Gal. Tall 12 Year 40,000 BTU Natural Gas Tank Water Heater from The Home Depot to be easy. It’s great that it’s been working well for you so far.

          Your feedback can be very helpful for others who are considering this water heater and might be planning to install it themselves. Enjoy the efficiency and reliability of your new appliance!


          Derius rheem
          • Verified Purchase
          This hot water heater is premium for sure! I was already happy that it is a 12-year unit, but the higher BTU rating permits it to heat faster and support a bath in our large rub while someone else is using the shower or washing clothes. Good stuff!!
          by
          Response from RheemApr 2, 2024
          Hello David,

          Thank you for choosing Rheem Water Heating for your home and we appreciate you taking the time to write this 5-star review! We are glad to hear that this water heater has met your needs and expectations. If you have any further feedback or questions, feel free to reach out to our dedicated Technical Support Team at 866-279-4566 during the hours of 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST.

          Isaiah rheem
          • Verified Purchase
          3 found this review helpful
          Gas valve damaged when I unboxed it. No hot water for a week now. Waiting on new part from Rheem. Unit never lit. Sitting in my basement fully installed and filled with cold water. Wished Rheem had shipped part overnight knowing our family had no hot water.
          by
          Response from RheemMar 1, 2024
          William,

          Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the damage discovered on the gas valve of your recently installed water heater. As a manufacturing partner with Home Depot, we take strides to provide you with excellent customer experience and water heating products. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as 3-year full in-home labor warranty. To better assist you, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with parts warranty coverage, and information on shipping.

          Derius rheem
          • Verified Purchase
          5 found this review helpful
          Warrning
          After I installed it, it worked OK. Month later product is not working. they make me wait 30 minutes online and after that they hang up on me. What are the worst service there is
          by
          Response from RheemJan 26, 2024
          Hi Sammy,

          Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

          Derius rheem
            11 found this review helpful
            Gas leak
            I bought a tank and had to return it due to a gas leak from the tank itself. Now I will be returning the second tank I purchased and changing companies. I used soapy water and electronic gas tester to test gas lines. The lines were installed good. There has been a leak in the combustion gas inlets. The odor has been pronounced but less the second time. Technically any odor is considered a leaking tank. All and all dissatisfied and wasted valuable time putting in and swapping tanks.
            by
            Response from RheemJan 4, 2024
            Hi,

            Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope the issue has been resolved. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year parts and tank warranty as well as a 3-year full in-home labor warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            Derius rheem
              8 found this review helpful
              Fed Ex Horrible
              would love to using my water heater but it was delivered all busted up. smashed and twisted. and goes all the way around the bottom.
              by
              Response from RheemDec 10, 2023
              Hi,

              Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Home Depot delivery. To better assist you with this issue, please contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

              Derius rheem
                4 found this review helpful
                Disappointed I didn’t open box at store to inspect for damage. The box indicated such, bottom had dents along with numerous scratches, documented (with pictures) once removed from box. If opened at store would a discounted been offered? Other damages: draft hood arms bended; jacket door compartment bended, door could not be initially installed.
                by
                Response from RheemSep 18, 2023
                Hi,

                Thank you for this 4-star review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced due to the cosmetic damage on your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 1-year labor warranty. For assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to help you with warranty questions.

                Derius rheem
                • Verified Purchase
                4 found this review helpful
                Poor Vent
                Bought it as advertised and recommended by my HVAC friend. But to my surprise, Rheem's engineer did a poor job when they cut the vent short which causes some of the vapors to dissipate too soon at the openings which then creates condensation around the cold water pipe connection as shown in the picture. This will cause rust and other issues around the base of the galvanized pipe sooner or later depending the customer's water quality.
                by
                Response from RheemSep 18, 2023
                Hi,

                Thank you for this 4-star review. If you need assistance with your water heater, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                Derius rheem
                  5 found this review helpful
                  It works
                  So far it's working like it should. We installed it ourselves and had no problems.
                  by
                  Response from RheemMay 19, 2023
                  Hi,

                  Thank you for this 5-star review. We are glad that installation of your new water heater has presented no problems for you. If you need assistance with your water heater, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                  Derius rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  4 found this review helpful
                  Fired right up! Nice unit!
                  This unit fired up, right out of the box. Pleased with the quality! Pleased with how the install played out. Love the 12 year warranty. However keep in mind the first "3" years is parts and labor for replacement. And the last 9 are parts ONLY. So far so good! Rheem makes a nice rock solid heater. Tim
                  by
                  Response from RheemJan 5, 2023
                  Thanks Tim! We appreciate you taking time to review the Rheem Performance Platinum 50 Gal. Natural Gas Tank Water Heater, glad to hear you are enjoying your new water heater!

                  Jennifer rheem
                    • Recommended
                    Showing 1-10 of 3,088 reviews

                    Compare Similar Items