#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 317100789

Model # XE50T10HM00U0

Store SKU # 1010059453

Performance Platinum ProTerra 50 Gal. Tall 0W Element Residential Electric Water Heater w/Heat Pump & 10-Year Warranty

$1998.00
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo† suggested payments with months† financingApply Now
  • Easy Install & Saves Energy; Plugs-in to a standard 120V outlet
  • Built-in Wi-Fi enables control and monitoring at home or away
  • Same-day installation in most areas. Call 1-855-400-2552 by noon.
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

Introducing the Rheem ProTerra Plug-in Heat Pump Electric Water Heater. Like the Rheem Proterra models, this 50 gallon model is known for its high efficiency. The ProTerra Plug-in was created to make it easier to replace your natural gas tank with an electric model. Over 4.5X the efficiency of a standard gas water heater, it saves up to 55% on energy costs. For added savings, it can be scheduled to heat at off-peak hours (lower price) for increased energy savings. Plus, it's ENERGY STAR Certified so it may qualify for tax credits and/or utility rebate programs. As its name indicates, ProTerra Plug-in has a factory-installed plug. It plugs into a standard 120v wall outlet for easier installation. It's a true heat pump water heater in that it uses heat pump technology to heat incoming water rather than using heating elements which traditional electric models use.It's Eco-Friendly. By replacing your natural gas water heater with ProTerra Plug-in, you'll have more efficiency, zero emissions, and a reduced carbon footprint--these make this model a Rheem Sustainability Standout--which signifies it's highly sustainable.Finally, it's Smart: with its built-in WiFi and the EcoNet app, you can check hot water availability, set Vacation Mode, track energy usage, and schedule off-peak heating to save even more. As Performance Platinum, it comes with a 10-year warranty and a 1-year in-home labor warranty for peace of mind.This model is best for households with 2-3 people.

Highlights

  • Replacing an electric water heater search for Rheem platinum hybrid, it's Rheem most popular heat pump water heater and ideal for electric replacement
  • Natural gas replacement: factory-installed electrical plug enables easier installation, it plugs into a 120-Volt wall outlet
  • Sustainable: over 4.5X the efficiency of a standard gas water heater with 3.0 uniform energy factor
  • Smartest: built-in Econet Wi-Fi technology allows you to manage hot water and avoid cold showers, track weekly, monthly and yearly energy usage and manage heating schedule your mobile device
  • Save even more with ENERGY STAR rebates: it's ENERGY STAR certified so it may be eligible for rebates in your area, check for rebates through your state and local government or utility provider
  • Eco-friendly: reduces carbon footprint with 75% reduction in energy use, plus, it's zero emissions
  • Self-cleaning: fights sediment build-up at the bottom of the tank to prolong tank life and maintain efficiency
  • Demand response ready: if your utility requires a grid connection, connect without any additional equipment costs thanks to its CTA 2045 port, save more with off-peak scheduling
  • Ductable: duct colder exhaust air into your attic, another room or out of your home
  • Easy to maintain: premium brass drain valve for easy draining
  • Warranty: 10-year warranty with 1-year in-home labor warranty
  • Leak detection and auto shutoff sold separately, upgrade to proterra plug-in HS models for built-in leak detection and auto shutoff
  • Savings and efficiency information is located on product specification documents
  • With any wifi connected device, for best performance use your phone or tablet to check the wi-fi signal strength in the area where the water heater will be installed prior to purchase
  • Heat pump water heaters generate condensation, remember to plan accordingly
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 317100789

Model # XE50T10HM00U0

Store SKU # 1010059453

Specifications

Dimensions: H 61.75 in, W 22.25 in, D 22.25 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)

22.25 in

Product Height (in.)

61.75 in

Product Width (in.)

22.25 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in

Details

Amperage (A)

15 A

Application Type

Residential

Efficiency Level

Super High

Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

55

Fuel Type

Hybrid

Household Size

3-5

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

140 F

Minimum Heat Pump Temperature (F)

37 °F

Minimum Temperature (F)

110 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

50 gal

Number of Elements

0

Pack Size

1

Power Options

Hardwired

Product Weight (lb.)

218 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

45 gal

Remote Access

Remote Access

Required Volt Connection

120 volt

Requires Hub?

No Hub Required

Returnable

90-Day

Smart Home

Smart Home Enabled

Smart Home Protocol

Wi-Fi

Tank Lining Material

Glass

Tank Warranty

10 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

3

Voice Control Hub Required

No Voice Control

Water Connection Location

Side

Water Heater Features

Demand Response Ready, Vacation Mode, WiFi

Water Heater Profile

Tall

Wattage (watts)

0 W

Works With

Alexa

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

UL Listed

Labor Warranty

1 Year

Part Warranty

10 Year

Questions & Answers

62Questions
caret
Q:I have a contractor that has said that a 120v version will not work in Northeast Ohio. I have my got water tank in my basement so shouldn't it be fine to operate a unit with no auxiliary heating because the building itself is heated?
by|Apr 1, 2024
3 Answers
Answer This Question

A:  I'm no expert but it says these are best suited to the south where ground water temps are higher. This probably won't be able to keep up/ heat the water efficiently.

by|Apr 7, 2024
    1 found this answer helpful

    A:  Hi Connor and thank you for your question. The unit plugs into a standard 120v wall outlet for easier installation. Please ask your tech specifics why he/she thinks it would not work. for further assitance, you may want to call 866-279-4566.

    by|Apr 1, 2024
      1 found this answer helpful

      A:  The temperature of incoming ground water comes into your house at about 52-54 degrees, regardless of whether you live in Georgia or Minnesota. The earth is generally a constant temperature, unless you are near a geothermal vent.

      by|May 13, 2024
        1 found this answer helpful
        caret
        Q:Does the tank need to be vented
        by|Mar 22, 2024
        3 Answers
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Ronnie and thank you for your question. No it does not.

        by|Mar 26, 2024

          A:  No, it's all electric

          by|Mar 23, 2024

            A:  No, it does not need to be vented as there are no combustion products like you'd get with a gas water heater. It does however need to be situated where it has access to sufficient air flow/ventilation.

            by|Jun 5, 2024
              1 found this answer helpful
              caret
              Q:We are in South West Virginia, close to the North Carolina border. This will be installed in an inside utility room in our basement that will never reach below 37 degree Fahrenheit. Should this still work? I would prefer a 120v option.
              by|Mar 18, 2024
              1 Answer
              Answer This Question

              A:  Hi JohnD and thank you for your question. Yes.

              by|Mar 19, 2024
                caret
                Q:What is the difference between rheem XE65T10HMS00U0 vs XE65T10HM00U0?
                by|Mar 14, 2024
                1 Answer
                Answer This Question

                A:  Toms, Thank you for your question. The XE65T10HMS00U0 comes with the leak detection and auto shutoff valve. The other one does not have those features included.

                by|Mar 15, 2024
                  Showing 1-4 of 62

                  Customer Reviews

                  3.9 out of 5

                  • 3.9 out of 25 reviews
                  • 75% recommend this product
                  Filter by:
                  Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews
                  Electricity usage hasn't gone up.
                  This replaced a propane water heater. My water heater closet is 2' x 3', and this barely fits. By using some street elbows, pex push on fittings, and 3/4" pex pipe, I was able to tuck/wrap the water lines in so I can close the outside door to the water heater closet. My PG&E bill has not gone up at all. Propane use is down insanely. I don't use a lot of hot water - turning it on a couple times a day. This will pay for itself in three years. Plus, $720 federal tax rebate.
                  by
                  Response from RheemMar 14, 2024
                  Hi,

                  That you for this 5-star review. It’s great to hear that your new ProTerra Electric Water Heateris working well for you and fitting into your space, even though it’s a tight fit. It sounds like you’ve done a fantastic job with the installation using street elbows, pex push on fittings, and 3/4" pex pipe.

                  The fact that your PG&E bill hasn’t increased and your propane use has significantly decreased is a testament to the efficiency of this water heater. Plus, the $720 federal tax rebate is a nice bonus!

                  It’s also impressive that you’ve calculated the payback period to be three years. That’s a relatively short time to recoup the cost of such a major appliance.

                  Thank you for sharing your experience.

                  Derius rheem
                    • Recommended
                    I guess they aren't in stock since it took a while to ship, but it arrived. Side on one of the water heaters was scratched and dented, but it still worked. Installation was easy and worked flawlessly. It took a long time to heat up the first time (like overnight) but has worked flawlessly ever since. I've ordered 4 more to use in my other buildings.
                    by
                    Response from RheemMar 13, 2024
                    Robert,

                    Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your 5-star review. We hate to hear of the experience you encountered with the scratch and dent found on your water heater. We are thrilled to hear of your experience on the performance of your water heater and how it is encouraged your purchase of additional water heaters. If you need assistance on your water heaters, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

                    Derius rheem
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Seems like a good. My only complaint is that if you like long hot showers you definitely need to size it up by 1 or 2.
                    by
                    Response from RheemMar 1, 2024
                    Danny,

                    Thank you for this 4-star review. We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the performance of your new water heater. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 10-year parts and tank warranty as well as a 1-year labor warranty for your peace of mind. Please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                    Derius rheem
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Poor Quality control
                    Noticed a dent on the side near the top but was in the back and cosmetic and couldn’t wait 2-3 weeks for another. Missing screws on tank. Water was gushing out of the mixing valve assembly. It turned out the connections were hand tightened at the factory. Switches itself to “away” randomly. The app (android)is a nightmare to set up. If it switches to “away”mode you have to manually switch it (because it loses the connection with the unit) and hope it keeps.Woke up to ⅓ tank. Buyer beware.
                    by
                    Response from RheemNov 14, 2023
                    Hi,

                    Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope the issue has been resolved. The water that you have reviewed includes a 10-year parts and tank warranty, and a 1-year labor warranty for your convenience. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                    Derius rheem
                      2 found this review helpful
                      Great replacement for my old gas’s water heater. We have 3 living at home and we only use about 1.8 to 2 kWh each day. Essentially my water heater is now solar powered. Brings water team up pretty fast. Only about 3 hours after install and the tank was 100% at 120F. Great if you live in the right climate…
                      by
                      Response from RheemJun 18, 2024
                      Hi Chan,

                      That’s fantastic to hear! We’re thrilled that the Performance Platinum ProTerra 65 Gal. Tall 0W Element Residential Electric Water Heater has been a great replacement for your old gas water heater. It’s wonderful to know that it’s meeting your household’s needs while also being energy efficient. Your 5-star review and positive feedback is greatly appreciated!

                      Derius rheem
                      • Verified Purchase
                      I contacted Home Depot's recommended handyman to help me install the heat pump water heater. The handyman refused the job. I did it myself and feel very good about it. Two of the factory-installed connections to cold and hot water directly at the heater were little more than hand-tight and leaked badly after turning on the water pressure. That is the manufacturer's fault and not Home Depot's. I could fix those leaks rather easily.
                      by
                      Response from RheemMay 15, 2024
                      Hello,

                      Thank you for your 4-star review! Rheem appreciates your feedback as it will help us in our overall goal to create the best product and experience for our current and future customers. Thank you for choosing Rheem.

                      Isaiah rheem
                      • Verified Purchase
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      120v, 80 gal supplies adequate water for 2 people at low electrical consumption. We haven't tried really pushing its limits. We run it at 120 degrees. When we have guests we'll probably run it at 140. It's a little noisy and generates a lot of cold air, so I wouldn't install it near your living area; ours is in the garage. I plan to vent the cold air outside in the winter. Phone app is pretty useless.
                      by
                      Response from RheemApr 17, 2024
                      Michael,

                      Thank you for sharing your experience with the Performance Platinum ProTerra 80 Gal. Tall 0W Element Residential Electric Water Heater. It’s great to hear that it provides adequate water for 2 people at low electrical consumption and that you have the flexibility to adjust the temperature when you have guests.

                      Your feedback about the noise and the cold air it generates is very valuable. Venting the cold air outside in the winter sounds like a smart solution. It’s also good to know that the unit might not be best suited for installation near living areas.

                      We are sorry to hear that the phone app hasn’t been useful for you. This kind of feedback can be very helpful for others considering this water heater.

                      Thank you for taking the time to share your insights!

                      Derius rheem
                      • Verified Purchase
                      No. Did not meet expectations. In fact, I must contact a Rheem repair person to look at my water heater for a couple of faulty parts. Very disappointed.
                      by
                      Response from RheemApr 2, 2024
                      Hello,

                      We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                      Isaiah rheem
                      • Verified Purchase
                      it work great
                      It was installed by a professional that gad a hard time starting it because it was too new gir him. In the end after we set the shut off valve installed to NO, it started and wirk fine cooling my garage too.
                      by
                      Response from RheemFeb 23, 2024
                      Hi,

                      Thank you for this 4-star review. We are glad that your new water heater is working well for you. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

                      Derius rheem
                        • Recommended
                        Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews

                        Compare Similar Items

                        current item

                        Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

                        50 gal

                        65 gal

                        80 gal

                        80 gal

                        Required Volt Connection

                        120 volt

                        120 volt

                        240 volt

                        120 volt

                        First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

                        55

                        55

                        87

                        72

                        Water Heater Features

                        Demand Response Ready, Vacation Mode, WiFi

                        Demand Response Ready, Vacation Mode, WiFi

                        Demand Response Ready, Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

                        Demand Response Ready, Vacation Mode, WiFi

                        Wattage (watts)

                        0 W

                        0 W

                        4500 W

                        0 W