#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #205810449

Model #XE50T09EL55U1

Store SKU #1001301851

Store SO SKU #1001230764

Performance Plus 50 Gal. Tall 9 Year 5500/5500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator

$67900
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • Electronic LED system indicates element and thermostat operation
  • Make sure it fits: measure your space to ensure dimensions fit
  • Provides ample hot water for homes with 3-5 people
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$67900

Product Overview

The Rheem Performance Plus 50 Gal. Electric tall water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 3 to 5 people. This unit comes with two 5500-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. An electronic LED system indicates element and thermostat operation. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 9-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 2-year in home labor warranty.
  • 50 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 3 to 5 people
  • Electric water heater is easy to maintain
  • Delivers 62 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • 9-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 2-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • Dual 5500-Watt heating elements
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Uniform energy factor 0.93
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Meets 2015 NAECA standards
  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Electric Tank Water Heaters

Performance 50 Gal. Medium 6-Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater
current product
Performance Plus 50 Gal. Tall 9 Year 5500/5500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED Indicator
Performance Plus 50 Gal. Medium 9 Year 5500/5500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED IndicatorTop RatedGladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff
BrandRheemRheemRheemRheem
NamePerformance 50 Gal. Medium 6-Year 4500/4500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water HeaterPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Tall 9 Year 5500/5500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED IndicatorPerformance Plus 50 Gal. Medium 9 Year 5500/5500-Watt Elements Electric Tank Water Heater with LED IndicatorGladiator 50 Gal. Medium 12 Year 5500/5500-Watt Smart Electric Water Heater with Leak Detection and Auto Shutoff
Price
$51900
Buy 3 or more $487.86
$67900
$68900
Buy 3 or more $647.66
$86900
Buy 3 or more $816.86
Ratings
(6851)
(1438)
(1883)
(1503)
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)50 gal50 gal50 gal50 gal
Application TypeResidentialResidentialResidentialResidential
Water Heater ProfileMediumTallMediumMedium
Required Volt Connection240 volt240 volt240 volt240 volt
Wattage (watts)4500 W5500 W5500 W5500 W
Household Size3-53-53-53-5
Efficiency LevelSuper HighSuper HighSuper HighHigh
Water Heater FeaturesOverheat Protection,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveOverheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief ValveGlass-Lined Tank,Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve,Vacation Mode,WiFi
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Kilo Watt
5.5
Product Depth (in.)
20.25 in
Product Height (in.)
58.875 in
Product Width (in.)
20.25 in
Tank Valve Size (in.)
0.75 in
Water Connection Size (in.)
3/4 in

Details

Amperage (amps)
22.92 A
Application Type
Residential
Efficiency Level
Super High
Electricity Phase
Single Phase
Finish Family
Gray
First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)
62
Fuel Type
Electric
Household Size
3-5
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor
Maximum Temperature (F)
150 °F
Minimum Temperature (F)
90 °F
Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)
50 gal
Number of Elements
2
Pack Size
1
Product Weight (lb.)
121 lb
Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)
45 gal
Required Volt Connection
240 volt
Returnable
90-Day
Tank Lining Material
Glass
Tank Warranty
9 Year
Uniform Energy Factor
0.93
Water Heater Features
Overheat Protection,Self Cleaning,Temperature Pressure Relief Valve
Water Heater Profile
Tall
Wattage (watts)
5500 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
UL Listed
Labor Warranty
2 Year
Part Warranty
9 Year

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.3
    out of 1,438 reviews
  • 83%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 1,438 reviews
Excellent Hot Water
Installed this heater in September 2019. Hardest part was walking it up 4 floors. That was absolutely BRUTAL. I took a gamble as I read mixed reviews, especially the dreaded "A120" code. That was easily solvable. During the removal of the old heater and install of the new one, a small bit of water found its way into the pan. That what's throws the code. I set up a small shop fan and let it blow for a few hours to dry out the bottom moisture sensing ring. Bingo! code cleared. Auto close valve reset with no issues. I also opted to use SharkBite fittings and valves with 1/2" copper pipe. (Why? Well, I'm lazy and I've never had one leak in 15 years. They're approved for use in all 50 states. They're also good to 200 psi.) I decided to add a filter on the cold-water supply side too, glad I did. Easy to blow down and even easier to replace the filter element when needed. Oh, and yes, I have an expansion tank, it's not visible from the angle I took the photo. I opted for the Econet module. I'm glad I did. You can incorporate this into your schedule and lower the heater temperature on your schedule. You can also use geofencing. Works like a BOSS. The 12-year warranty is also a big plus. All things considered; I highly recommend this unit.
by
    • Recommended
    Needs service out of the box
    Do not buy one with the leak sensor. The sensor does not work and shuts the water off. I have not even used it yet and rheem wants me to call a repair man.
    by
    Response from RheemMay 5, 2022
    Hi Brett,

    Thank you for this review. We understand the frustration this may have caused and apologize for the inconvenience. The water heater you are reviewing comes with 12-year parts and tank warranty, as well as, a 3-year full in home labor warranty. Please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. at your earliest convenience to speak with one of our analysts.

    Derius rheem
      Leaking on first fill up out of box.
      Immediately started to leak on the first fill up out of the box. Im very unimpressed! Looks like it will be a cold shower tomorrow morning until I can get Rheem on the phone. I didn’t even get a chance to energize the heater.
      by
        2 found this review helpful
        Lasted 4 Months before leak…
        Bought new online from HD in Nov 2020.Worked fine for 4months until the alarm sensor started going off.Trouble connecting EcoNet to the WiFi didn’t help anything.Unit is leaking and waking us up in the night for months.Been a 4 month ordeal getting HD+Rheem to work together to replace the unit.Had to find a technician and pay to confirm what I was telling them.Now have to pay to uninstall the old, buy a new one, pay have it installed, then they’ll reimburse me with a check.Keep searching!!
        by
          2 found this review helpful
          Rheem Hot Water Tank
          Easy to transfer from the store by putting the seats down in the SUV. Installs fairly easy. Suggest buying at the same time all new connectors for your hot & and cold line attachments - dont use your old ones. It will save you from multiple trips back to Home Depot during the install.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          2 found this review helpful
          Piece of Mind
          Happy with performance and added features such as leak protection and advanced controls. Really like the 12 year warranty.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          6 month old Junk
          Worst purchase ever... If you like waking up to leak alarms when there aren't any, no one showing up to repair it, being sent parts to repair it yourself, and resetting bluetooth every time you lose power - BUY IT!! Stick with a basic water heater!
          by
          Response from RheemJan 10, 2022
          Hi Dennis,

          We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and would like to speak with you in greater detail about your customer service request. I will be reaching out to you the email address you have provided and look forward to speaking with you soon.

          Jennifer rheem
            9 found this review helpful
            Major piece of junk **DO NOT BUY**
            Doesn't connect very easy to the WIFI, and it's literally on the other side of the wall. Controller burnt up and is now useless. They want me to uninstall it and bring the whole thing back, to replace control panel
            by
            Response from RheemMar 22, 2022
            Please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            We apologize for the inconvenience and we would like to opportunity to assist you with any questions or concerns you have about the application. Please call our dedicated EcoNet Support Team at 800.255.2388 between the hours of 8 AM and 8 PM EST and one of our analysts will be happy to help you.

            Jennifer rheem
              9 found this review helpful
              garbage lasted 6 months, rheem support useless
              we bought this December 2020, nothing but A105 lower element errors. this results in no hot water. Rheem support said it would be a month before anyone could look at it. Garbage. I replaced the (tested good) element, same error. HD has none in stock so I can't even swap it...
              by
              Response from RheemJun 14, 2021
              Hi Aaron,

              We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and would like to speak with you in greater detail about your customer service request. I will be reaching out to you the email address you have provided and look forward to speaking with you soon.

              Jennifer rheem
                16 found this review helpful
                Disclaimer: I'm not a plumber but I have a decent...
                Disclaimer: I'm not a plumber but I have a decent grasp on plumbing. I installed this unit myself a little over a month ago. In total it took about 3 hours from start to finish. I was in a unique position to be able to buy this and wait for it to ship instead of needing a new unit ASAP and buying whatever was in stock. Install was a breeze other than this unit being much taller than my older 50 gallon tank, which required me to raise up my supply lines. The app is nice to be able to adjust the temperature and view your energy usage (which is a huge plus). The app says you can put it in vacation mode, but I wasn't able to (which isn't a big deal to me). Despite this, I would still give it 5-stars because I bought the unit to heat my water, not because of an amazing (or crappy) app. Before I get lectured, you can't see the expansion tank because it's behind the ducting.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                4 found this review helpful
                Showing 1-10 of 1,438 reviews