#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 323676287

Model # UR3088FX12

Store SKU # 576832

Max 3/4 in. Push-to-Connect x 3/4 in. FIP x 12 in. Braided Stainless Steel Water Heater Connector

$21.30
  • Fastest way to connect PEX, copper, CPVC, or PE-RT pipe
  • Half the insertion force with double the burst pressure
  • Can be installed on wet lines and pressure tested immediately
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
Product Details

About This Product

SharkBite Max flexible water heater connectors are the fastest and easiest way to connect your water heater to existing pipes in your home. A newly designed stainless steel collet retainer delivers additional strength and durability and provides a 200 psi pressure rating. SharkBite Max connectors do not require a PEX tube liner, and a re-engineered body allows you to insert the pipe using less force and greater ease. No soldering, clamps, unions, glue, or special tools required. After inserting to pipe, stainless steel teeth bite down and grip the pipe tightly while a specially formulated O-ring compresses around the pipe to create a watertight seal. The flexible stainless steel braided hose reduces the need for extra joints or fittings, allowing for faster installs. Available in additional lengths (12 in. to 24 in.) and with integrated ball valve shut off.

Highlights

  • Compatible with PEX, copper, CPVC PE-RT, or HDPE pipe
  • Approved for electric and gas water heaters with flue vent
  • Requires no special tools to install on hot or cold-water lines
  • Can be installed on wet or dry lines pressure tested immediately
  • Rotatable after installation and removable
  • PEX tube liner not required
  • Approved for underground and behind-the-wall applications with no access panels (wrapping required when burying underground)
  • Low-lead DZR corrosion-resistant brass body
  • Rated to 140°F and 200 psi
  • Code approved, IAPMO Listed for details, see specification
  • 25-year warranty when used with PEX, copper, CPVC and PE-RT pipe, see warranty
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 323676287

Model # UR3088FX12

Store SKU # 576832

Specifications

Dimensions: H 1.29 in, W 1.29 in, D 12.01 in

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)

12.01 in

Product Height (in.)

1.29 in

Product Length (in.)

12 in

Product Width (in.)

1.29 in

Details

Application

Potable Water

Compatible Brand/Model

Universal

Finish Family

Silver Metallic

For Use With

Electric Tank, Electric Tankless, Gas Tank, Gas Tankless

Material

Stainless Steel

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

0.54 lb

Returnable

90-Day

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty

Must be installed per installation instructions.

Questions & Answers

6Questions
caret
Q:Can this be used on a water heater outside?
by|Apr 23, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Chris, The Max 3/4 in. Push-to-Connect x 3/4 in. FIP x 18 in. Braided Stainless Steel Water Heater Connector is intended for use inside. If you have any more questions you can call tech support at 877-700-4242. Kind regards,

by|Apr 23, 2024
    caret
    Q:Can I use these on cpvc pipe to bathtub faucet levers?
    by|Jun 12, 2023
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi, The SharkBite 3/4 in. Push-to-Connect x 3/4 in. FIP x 12 in. Braided Stainless Steel Water Heater Connector will connect to CPV C pipe that has been tested to the (ASTM D 2846, CSA B137.6). If you have any more questions you can call tech support at 877-700-4242. (Kind regards,)

    by|Jun 12, 2023
      caret
      Q:What do you use when you only need 4" of water line
      by|Dec 11, 2022
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi, The SharkBite 3/4 in. Push-to-Connect x 3/4 in. FIP x 12 in. Braided Stainless Steel Water Heater Connector has a 5" minimum bend radius. You could make a circle with the SharkBite 3/4 in. Push-to-Connect x 3/4 in. FIP x 12 in. Braided Stainless Steel Water Heater Connector to get the correct length. We offer a water heater connection set that you can use PEX pipe with the connectors to get the correct length. If you have any more questions you can call tech support at 877-700-4242. (Kind regards,)

      by|Apr 22, 2023
        1 found this answer helpful
        caret
        Q:I have sharkBite connectors on my hot water heater. They were installed approx. 7 years ago. I now have black specs in the hot water. I have replaced the anode rod suggested as a possible problem. I still have the black specs. I have flushed the tank many times which helps for a few weeks. I have seen comments on the internet suggesting that the inner lining on the braided stainless steel water connectors may be causing the problem. Could this be my problem ?
        by|Jan 19, 2017
        7 Answers
        Answer This Question

        A:  That is hard to say, you could turn off the water, remove the fitting and inspect the liner. Use a Q-tip to reach into the lined part and swab to see if it comes out black. IF it does not, then turn off the water heater and drain it part was and used a fiber optic camera to inspect the liner on it.

        by|May 4, 2023

        A:  Let us know if you can confirm that the inside of these hoses are deteriorating over time. When you replace them, cut one open and look inside.

        by|Mar 11, 2020

        A:  While I'm not a plumber, I would bet it is the lining of your braided hose. I had a similar problem twice with braided supply lines on faucets. After I replaced the hose no more black specs.

        by|May 4, 2023
          1 found this answer helpful

          A:  It could very well be especially if you have hard water. Hard water is brutal on hot water heaters. I recommended replace the hose each time you replace the anode rod.

          by|May 4, 2023
          1 found this answer helpful

          A:  Very easy to install.

          by|Mar 14, 2017

            A:  I don't know. Try replacing the sharkbite connector on your hot water line. they also make a solid copper line (or maybe stainless; not sure) if you think the braided line is the issue.

            by|May 4, 2023

              A:  I have used shark bites for many years and have never had this problem. I can not confirm or deny the theory that some one else proposed. However, it seems that if the shark bites were the culprit that after flushing and no other treatment that the black spots would be back in a matter of hours, not weeks.

              by|May 4, 2023
              Showing 1-4 of 6

              Customer Reviews

              4.8 out of 5

              • 4.8 out of 1,523 reviews
              • 93% recommend this product
              Filter by:
              Showing 1-10 of 1,523 reviews
              SharkBite Forever
              I installed a new pool & screen enclosure. I didn't have water access inside of encloser. So, using a splitter off of outside spicket I used a SharkBite (3/4 X 3/4 FIP 18") to 3/4" SharkBite 90-degree elbow to 3/4" CPVC piping. Drilled a 1" hole in screen enclosure SUPPORT RAIL & mounted SharkBite 3/4 x 3/4 Inch MHT 45 Degree Hose Bibb. Awesome engineering & thanks to SharkBite no LEAKS!
              by
                • Recommended
                Hose failure
                BEWARE! 10 years ago I installed these on my water heater along with a shark bite shutoff valve. Several months ago I started getting oily black flecks and flakes in my bathtub. I checked my faucets and found it there also. I suspected the shark bite hoses and went to replace them. The valve had also failed and I had to shut the water off to the house. The fittings were impossible to get off with the SB tool and had to call a plumber. The hoses had deteriorated and contaminated my entire hot water system. $300 later the problem was fixed but I’m still dealing with the mess in my hot water system. Still don’t know the extent of the damage to my fixtures and appliances. NEVER AGAIN!
                by
                Response from RWC SupportNov 10, 2022
                Hello, Allen. We apologize for the inconvenience you are experiencing with the SharkBite 3/4 in. Push-to-Connect x 3/4 in. FIP x 18 in. Braided Stainless Steel Water Heater Connector. We would be happy to work with you to ensure you are 100% satisfied with any SharkBite product, and we understand your frustration with the outcome. We encourage you to contact our Customer Service Team at 1-877-700-4242 so we can learn more about your installation and help troubleshoot. SharkBiteCashAcme
                  2 found this review helpful
                  Horrible quality
                  Purchased and installed in April 2022. Its now the end of August and i have black flecks of the rubber all throughout my plumbing. I found out after a kitchen sink and a bathroom sink lost hot water pressure days apart. According to Sharkbite they fixed this issue years ago, clearly its not the case. Now i have to replace the hoses, flush out the plumbing in the house, and have to replace 2 faucets now and who knows about the others. I’ve attached pics of the rubber flecks from the pipes.
                  by
                  Response from RWC SupportNov 14, 2022
                  Hello, Cole. If there is anything we can do to improve your
                  experience, please reach out to our Customer Service Team at 1-
                  877-700-4242 so we can assist. SharkBiteCashAcme
                    Failed within a year, rubber specs in water
                    Our plumber used these to install the new water heater from HD. We had to turn up the water heater to setting “B” (140 degrees) as we use a recirculating line (no pump) and the sharkbite fitting failed with rubber specs appearing in the tub and elsewhere. The cold water line was fine, it was the hot water line. We replaced them with copper flex lines. See photos.
                    by
                    Response from RWC SupportJun 2, 2022
                    Hi, Danny. Please give our Customer Service Team a call at 1-877-700-4242 so we can assist with the issue. SharkBiteCashAcme
                      6 found this review helpful
                      good quality
                      easy to install and look very sturdy
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      I just recently replaced one of my 50 gallon hot water heaters. These made the reconnecting job q...
                      I just recently replaced one of my 50 gallon hot water heaters. These made the reconnecting job quick and easy.
                      by
                      • DIY
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      I have been using these 3/4 in. Shark bite push to connect hot water heater connectors for quite ...
                      I have been using these 3/4 in. Shark bite push to connect hot water heater connectors for quite some time. Several years! These connectors make the project of replacing a hot water heater an extremely easy task. You have to make sure that you get the correct length for your connector because if it is to long it will be hard to connect without crimping the line. Very good product.
                      by
                      • Recommended
                      1 found this review helpful
                      I have been using these 3/4 in. shark bite push to connect hot water heater connectors for quite ...
                      I have been using these 3/4 in. shark bite push to connect hot water heater connectors for quite some time. Several years! These connectors make the project of replacing a hot water heater an extremely easy task. You have to make sure that you get the correct length for your connector because if it is to long, it will be hard to connect without linking the line. Very good product.
                      by
                      • Recommended
                      I'm busy replacing the PVC pipes that connect to my water heater with PEX piping. These SharkBite hose assemblies make for a quick and easy connection to my new PEX ready water distribution manifold. Water heaters come standard with 3/4 inch MIP fittings so the FIP connector on the SharkBite screws on with no problems. The other end of the SharkBite hose has a Push-Fit connector for my PEX pipe. It will also accept copper or PVC pipe.
                      by
                      • Recommended
                      I'm busy replacing the PVC pipes that connect to my water heater with PEX piping. These SharkBite hose assemblies make for a quick and easy connection to my new PEX ready water distribution manifold. Water heaters come standard with 3/4 inch MIP fittings so the FIP connector on the SharkBite screws on with no problems. The other end of the SharkBite hose has a Push-Fit connector for my PEX pipe. It will also accept copper or PVC pipe.
                      by
                      • Recommended
                      Showing 1-10 of 1,523 reviews