#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202057139

Model #230031

1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)

Contains 2 gallons ($54.48 /gallon)
$108.96 /case
Apply Now
Save up to $100 on your qualifying purchase info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Durable polyurethane for interior wood floors with no odor
  • Self leveling floor poly dries fast, protects high traffic areas
  • Easy to use, non yellowing floor finish covers up to 500 sq. ft.
caret

Product Details

Varathane 1 Gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (Case of 2) is high-performance polyurethane formulated with patented Aluminum Oxide nano-technology for durable, long lasting protection. Low odor, self-leveling formula provides superior scuff, scratch and stain resistance. Designed to enhance the natural beauty of wood.
  • Ideal for protecting interior wood finishing projects and applications including furniture, doors, cabinets and trim
  • Covers 500 sq. ft.
  • Gloss finish
  • Self-leveling, no brush strokes
  • Over twice as durable as traditional wood finishes
  • Fast drying formula, dries to the touch in 1 hour
  • Cleans up with soap and water
  • Browse Available Floor Refinishing Tool Rental Options
  • Online price includes PaintCare fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • Return Policy
  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

178Questions
caret
Q:How does this compare to the high traffic oil based polyurethane? I have used the oil based for years since the durability seemed better than waterbased ultimate polyurethane but I hate the odor. Does this product product the same finish as the oil based?
by|Dec 5, 2022
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Thanks for reaching out, Chuck. Varathane Water Based Floor Finish Polyurethane has durability similar to oil based, it also dries crystal clear (oil based dries to a golden amber finish). Water Based Floor Finish requires a minimum of 4 coats. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6

by|Dec 9, 2022
    caret
    Q:What cleaning solutions are recommended for daily, weekly, mopping etc? Are there some that are better than others that won't dull the gloss right away?
    by|Oct 7, 2022
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Happy to help, Rudy! After Rust-Oleum Varathane Crystal Clear Floor Finish has reached a full cure, the surface may be cleaned with a standard, non-abrasive household or floor cleaner. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 4

    by|Oct 10, 2022
      caret
      Q:Do you have to sand between coats
      by|Sep 22, 2022
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Happy to help, Monte! When using Varathane Water Based Floor Finish Polyurethane, apply using a good quality, synthetic bristle brush, foam brush or applicator. Allow finish to dry a minimum of 2 hours and then re-coat. Lower temperatures and/or higher humidity may cause slower dry times. Recoat only when previous coats have dried clear and feel hard. If any coat has dried more than 24 hours, lightly sand before re-coating. A powder should develop when lightly sanded. A minimum of 4 coats are required. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6

      by|Sep 23, 2022
        caret
        Q:Can this be used over the Verathane Ultimate Polyurethane Water Based product? We have applied one coat of that to our floors, but now realize we need to apply this one?
        by|Aug 28, 2022
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Ah, let's see if we can't help clear this up, Natt. If you happened to use a Varathane product that's not intended for floors, we would actually suggest sanding it off, prior to application of the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Floor Finish. The issue is that even if you apply the floor finish over the top, you're only as strong as the first coat. Since that product is not recommended for foot traffic, you run the risk of premature failure. We hope this helps. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 1

        by|Aug 29, 2022
          Showing 1-4 of 178
          caret

          Customer Reviews

          4.6 out of 5
          (268)
          • 4.6
            out of 268 reviews
          • 91%recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 268 reviews
          Like,but,use with caution...
          Very happy with it,just have to be very careful with any area rugs you have,they must be put down with non slip Grippies! I fell down in my own kitchen the other day,my rugs had no non slip Grippies on and on one coat of sealer the rug went flying and so did I!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Definitely has an odor, but it wasn’t as stinky as...
          Definitely has an odor, but it wasn’t as stinky as I thought. I followed the package instructions but let the floors cure for a week longer before using the rooms again. So far this stuff seems very durable. Did not have to sand between coats because I applied each coat after the 2 hour dry time. My opinion is that this is a good alternative to Bona if you don’t wanna spend 3x the $$ on poly!
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          1 found this review helpful
          Dries super fast, one downside...
          Perfect solution for DIYers.....dries in less than an hour, coats well with minimum streaking, and awesome coverage (3 coats of 600 sft). So, what's the only downside? It makes the floor very slippery. Very. I decided to refinish the stairs at the same time. They became so slippery it was plain dangerous to walk. My old Lab slid down on 13 steps down- I though that was s gonna be the end of him. Solution - had to get a Rastoleum antislip additive and add two coats of each step. That has improved the grip significantly, but not perfectly. The main floor remained slippery, so I guess we gonna have to get used to it. Overall, we are happy with the product, it gives a beautiful sheen, not too glossy, and it's worth the money.
          by
            • Recommended
            2 found this review helpful
            Wood finish Clear
            It’s was amazing, drys fast and doesn’t smell up the whole house, I can’t wait to do the rest of the house. Will buy it again and I do recommend it!
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            It was easy to apply. I followed the manufacturer’s instructions and applied four coats. I was ab...
            It was easy to apply. I followed the manufacturer’s instructions and applied four coats. I was able to put on all four coats in the same day in a couple of the rooms. It dried quickly. I waited 2 hours in between coats. I didn’t think there was much of an odor. It’s been a few weeks and so far it’s holding up well.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            Good stuff, I used a fine hair square applicator for corners and sides, then a T-bar applicator f...
            Good stuff, I used a fine hair square applicator for corners and sides, then a T-bar applicator for the main area. The first coat of the 1,400 square house used 3 gallons, then each coat after used a gallon. So all in all I did four coats with 6 gallons total. It was very forgiving and as long as I kept the house around 70 degrees and kept a dehumidifier on, it went on easy and uniformly. I would recommend it to other first timers, make sure to watch a bunch of tutorials, and have the floor buffed out as high as you can go so the floor is less thirsty, and you use less. I also used a palm sander with 220 grit sandpaper after the first coat to lightly smooth out the nibs (you could buff lightly also). Seems to be holding up great after a month. Looks good and I’d use it again. Good luck
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            1 found this review helpful
            The good: It's easy to apply, gives a nice finish. The bad: It isn't as scratch resistant as it i...
            The good: It's easy to apply, gives a nice finish. The bad: It isn't as scratch resistant as it is advertised to be. I applied six coats and got a really nice finish. The instructions were followed, and all coats were applied within the allotted timespan for proper bonding from one coat to the next. I let the floor set for three days before carefully moving furniture back into place. All looked fine. Then I started noticing fine scratches in the traffic zones of the floor. Nothing that you can get a fingernail into, but enough to be noticeable as light is reflected off of the floor. There isn't even a lot of foot traffic here. Just myself, my teenage daughter, and our medium sized dog. My daughter and I are both careful to remove our shoes before we step off of the runner carpet onto the hardwood floor. I am very unhappy with how this product is holding up to light traffic, and it's acquiring more scratches as time passes. It will be easy to touch up, but who wants to keep reapplying an inferior product that will continue failing to perform?! It's been right at one month since the job was completed and my disappointment grows along with the amount of scratches. Maybe I'm expecting too much of this product, or maybe I'm overly critical?
            by
            Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 19, 2021
            Thank you for sharing your experience using our Varathane Water-Based Floor Finish Polyurethane. You may wish to consider switching over to a coat of satin finish polyurethane, since this will not show surface imperfections as readily. Gloss finishes are the hardest, most scratch-resistant polyurethane finishes, however, they will show smudges and scratches due to the amount of light reflected. While tiny scratches in the finish are likely superficial, the thickness of the polyurethane will provide its scratch-resistance, so building up the thickness of the poly may be necessary if the floor is scratching to easily in your opinion. If you can give us a call at 800-901-0411, we will be happy to look into the amount of polyurethane used for the six coats applied, and help find a solution for your floor. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            2 months in, my floors are covered in scratched
            I'm not new to finishing floors. With a 110 year old house, it's just one of those things that needs to be done periodically. So when I saw that this has half the drying time as my usual oil based poly, with none of the white cast some water based ones leave, I knew I had to try it. I spent a good month sanding down and staining the floors on the main floor of our house, followed all directions to the poly, and was thrilled with the results - at first. The first scratches appear not a week after they were finished, and 2 months in my floors are covered in scratches that won't buff or polish out, the floors now look worse than they had before I redid them. I have never used such horribly polyurethane before, and now I have to invest even MORE time and money refinishing my floors yet again. Save yourself the headache, as nice as they look at first, it's not going to last.
            by
            Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 2, 2021
            We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience with the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Floor Polyurethane. It's unsual to hear that it's scratching, but it's generally attributed to the amount of product you have. While we do not have enough information to go off of, you'll need to have your sq footage of the floor then multiply by 4 (for the numbers of coats needed), then divide by the sq footage of the product to know how many gallons you'll need. We recommend that you consider doing this to see if you applied enough initially. If you need additional assistance, we'll be happy to help. We can be reached at (800) 901-0411 - Rust-Oleum Product Support 1 Rustoleum
              1 found this review helpful
              Not for floors if you have pets
              I am so disappointed in this product. I had high hopes after reading reviews, and I followed the directions exactly. This was put over an oil based stain, which I gave 10 days to dry before applying the poly. The poly was allowed nearly two weeks to set before any traffic was on it at all, and I thought it was scratching up because it had not set for long enough. Even today, around 5 months after application, it will still scratch so easily and looks awful.
              by
              Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 15, 2021
              Something is amiss here, Tyler! We need to know more about your experience with the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-based Floor Polyurethane to get to the bottom of this. Please call us at 800-901-0411 to discuss further. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 5 Rustoleum
                Easy to use and dries quickly. Looks fantastic and cleans easily. You can see where finish has be...
                Easy to use and dries quickly. Looks fantastic and cleans easily. You can see where finish has been applied and unfinished. Finished area has 3 coats.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                Showing 1-10 of 268 reviews

                Frequently Bought Together

                ++
                Price:
                $10896

                Compare Similar Polyurethane Wood Finish

                current product
                1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)
                1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Interior Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Semi-Gloss Water-Based Interior Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Satin 275 VOC Oil-Based Interior Polyurethane (2-Pack)
                BrandVarathaneVarathaneVarathaneVarathane
                Name1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Interior Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Semi-Gloss Water-Based Interior Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Satin 275 VOC Oil-Based Interior Polyurethane (2-Pack)
                Price
                $10896
                /case
                $13936
                /case
                $13936
                /case
                $14656
                /case
                Ratings
                (268)
                (2639)
                (2640)
                (44)
                Container Size1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon
                SheenGlossGlossSemi-GlossSatin
                Base MaterialWater BasedWater BasedWater BasedOil Based
                Paint/Stain FeaturesSealerSealerSealerSealer
                Application MethodBrushBrushBrushBrush
                TransparencyClearClearClearClear
                Number of coats recommended2332
                Paint/Stain Clean UpSoap & WaterSoap & WaterSoap & WaterMineral Spirits
                View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product