#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202057139

Model #230031

1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)

$11079
/case
Apply Now
Save up to $100 on your qualifying purchase.
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Durable polyurethane for interior wood floors with no odor
  • Self leveling floor poly dries fast, protects high traffic areas
  • Easy to use, non yellowing floor finish covers up to 500 sq. ft.
  • View More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$11079

Product Overview

Varathane 1 Gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (Case of 2) is high-performance polyurethane formulated with patented Aluminum Oxide nano-technology for durable, long lasting protection. Low odor, self-leveling formula provides superior scuff, scratch and stain resistance. Designed to enhance the natural beauty of wood.
  • Ideal for protecting interior wood finishing projects and applications including furniture, doors, cabinets and trim
  • Covers 500 sq. ft.
  • Gloss finish
  • Self-leveling, no brush strokes
  • Over twice as durable as traditional wood finishes
  • Fast drying formula, dries to the touch in 1 hour
  • Cleans up with soap and water
  • Browse Available Floor Refinishing Tool Rental Options
  • Online price includes PaintCare fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Polyurethane Wood Finish

current product
1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)
1 gal. Clear Satin Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Gloss 350 VOC Oil-Based Floor Finish Polyurethane (2-Pack)Pro Finisher 1 gal. Crystal Clear Satin Water-Based Polyurethane for Floors (4-Pack)
BrandVarathaneVarathaneVarathaneRust-Oleum Parks
Name1 gal. Clear Gloss Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Satin Water-Based Floor Polyurethane (2-Pack)1 gal. Clear Gloss 350 VOC Oil-Based Floor Finish Polyurethane (2-Pack)Pro Finisher 1 gal. Crystal Clear Satin Water-Based Polyurethane for Floors (4-Pack)
Price
$11079
/case
$11079
/case
$11213
/case
$18911
/case
Ratings
(250)
(252)
(51)
(33)
SheenGlossSatinGlossSatin
Container Size1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon
Base MaterialWater BasedWater BasedOil BasedWater Based
Application MethodBrushBrushRollerBrush,Roller
TransparencyClearClearClearClear
Paint/Stain FeaturesSealerSealerSealerSealer
Number of coats recommended2322
Paint/Stain Clean UpSoap & WaterSoap & WaterMineral SpiritsSoap & Water
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product TypeShellac, Lacquer & PolyurethaneShellac, Lacquer & PolyurethaneShellac, Lacquer & PolyurethaneShellac, Lacquer & Polyurethane
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
1 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
500

Details

Application Method
Brush
Base Material
Water Based
Coating Product Category
Waterproofer/Sealer
Color Family
Clear
Dry to touch (min.)
60
Interior/Exterior
Interior
Number of coats recommended
2
Number per Package
2
Paint/Stain Clean Up
Soap & Water
Paint/Stain Features
Sealer
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Shellac, Lacquer & Polyurethane
Product Form
Liquid
Returnable
90-Day
Sheen
Gloss
Substrate Condition
Bare Wood,Finished Wood,Old/Reclaimed Wood,Stained Wood,Unfinished Wood
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
4
Transparency
Clear
Vertical/Horizontal
Vertical / Horizontal

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Satisfaction guaranteed for full refund of purchase price

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.6
    out of 250 reviews
  • 90% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 250 reviews
Wood finish Clear
It’s was amazing, drys fast and doesn’t smell up the whole house, I can’t wait to do the rest of the house. Will buy it again and I do recommend it!
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
It was easy to apply. I followed the manufacturer’s instructions and applied four coats. I was ab...
It was easy to apply. I followed the manufacturer’s instructions and applied four coats. I was able to put on all four coats in the same day in a couple of the rooms. It dried quickly. I waited 2 hours in between coats. I didn’t think there was much of an odor. It’s been a few weeks and so far it’s holding up well.
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Good stuff, I used a fine hair square applicator for corners and sides, then a T-bar applicator f...
Good stuff, I used a fine hair square applicator for corners and sides, then a T-bar applicator for the main area. The first coat of the 1,400 square house used 3 gallons, then each coat after used a gallon. So all in all I did four coats with 6 gallons total. It was very forgiving and as long as I kept the house around 70 degrees and kept a dehumidifier on, it went on easy and uniformly. I would recommend it to other first timers, make sure to watch a bunch of tutorials, and have the floor buffed out as high as you can go so the floor is less thirsty, and you use less. I also used a palm sander with 220 grit sandpaper after the first coat to lightly smooth out the nibs (you could buff lightly also). Seems to be holding up great after a month. Looks good and I’d use it again. Good luck
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
The good: It's easy to apply, gives a nice finish. The bad: It isn't as scratch resistant as it i...
The good: It's easy to apply, gives a nice finish. The bad: It isn't as scratch resistant as it is advertised to be. I applied six coats and got a really nice finish. The instructions were followed, and all coats were applied within the allotted timespan for proper bonding from one coat to the next. I let the floor set for three days before carefully moving furniture back into place. All looked fine. Then I started noticing fine scratches in the traffic zones of the floor. Nothing that you can get a fingernail into, but enough to be noticeable as light is reflected off of the floor. There isn't even a lot of foot traffic here. Just myself, my teenage daughter, and our medium sized dog. My daughter and I are both careful to remove our shoes before we step off of the runner carpet onto the hardwood floor. I am very unhappy with how this product is holding up to light traffic, and it's acquiring more scratches as time passes. It will be easy to touch up, but who wants to keep reapplying an inferior product that will continue failing to perform?! It's been right at one month since the job was completed and my disappointment grows along with the amount of scratches. Maybe I'm expecting too much of this product, or maybe I'm overly critical?
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 19, 2021
Thank you for sharing your experience using our Varathane Water-Based Floor Finish Polyurethane. You may wish to consider switching over to a coat of satin finish polyurethane, since this will not show surface imperfections as readily. Gloss finishes are the hardest, most scratch-resistant polyurethane finishes, however, they will show smudges and scratches due to the amount of light reflected. While tiny scratches in the finish are likely superficial, the thickness of the polyurethane will provide its scratch-resistance, so building up the thickness of the poly may be necessary if the floor is scratching to easily in your opinion. If you can give us a call at 800-901-0411, we will be happy to look into the amount of polyurethane used for the six coats applied, and help find a solution for your floor. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 2 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
1 person found this helpful
2 months in, my floors are covered in scratched
I'm not new to finishing floors. With a 110 year old house, it's just one of those things that needs to be done periodically. So when I saw that this has half the drying time as my usual oil based poly, with none of the white cast some water based ones leave, I knew I had to try it. I spent a good month sanding down and staining the floors on the main floor of our house, followed all directions to the poly, and was thrilled with the results - at first. The first scratches appear not a week after they were finished, and 2 months in my floors are covered in scratches that won't buff or polish out, the floors now look worse than they had before I redid them. I have never used such horribly polyurethane before, and now I have to invest even MORE time and money refinishing my floors yet again. Save yourself the headache, as nice as they look at first, it's not going to last.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 2, 2021
We appreciate the feedback regarding your experience with the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-Based Floor Polyurethane. It's unsual to hear that it's scratching, but it's generally attributed to the amount of product you have. While we do not have enough information to go off of, you'll need to have your sq footage of the floor then multiply by 4 (for the numbers of coats needed), then divide by the sq footage of the product to know how many gallons you'll need. We recommend that you consider doing this to see if you applied enough initially. If you need additional assistance, we'll be happy to help. We can be reached at (800) 901-0411 - Rust-Oleum Product Support 1 Rustoleum
    1 person found this helpful
    Not for floors if you have pets
    I am so disappointed in this product. I had high hopes after reading reviews, and I followed the directions exactly. This was put over an oil based stain, which I gave 10 days to dry before applying the poly. The poly was allowed nearly two weeks to set before any traffic was on it at all, and I thought it was scratching up because it had not set for long enough. Even today, around 5 months after application, it will still scratch so easily and looks awful.
    by
    Response from Rust-OleumSupportFeb 15, 2021
    Something is amiss here, Tyler! We need to know more about your experience with the Rust-Oleum Varathane Water-based Floor Polyurethane to get to the bottom of this. Please call us at 800-901-0411 to discuss further. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 5 Rustoleum
      Easy to use and dries quickly. Looks fantastic and cleans easily. You can see where finish has be...
      Easy to use and dries quickly. Looks fantastic and cleans easily. You can see where finish has been applied and unfinished. Finished area has 3 coats.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      Goes on smooth with a sponge like applicator self levels finish line oks amazing
      Goes on smooth with a sponge like applicator self levels finish line oks amazing
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended
      My husband did the application on a newly installed plywood...
      My husband did the application on a newly installed plywood floor. He said the product was wonderful in the way it went on and how fast it dried. He put on 6 coats and the finish is gorgeous. Time will tell how durable.
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      AWESOME PRODUCT!!!!
      During this pandemic I decided to use my "shut-in" time giving our dull oak floors a facelift. I went on line for directions. I sanded the floors lightly by hand with 220 grit sandpaper, cleaned VERY carefully with tack cloths, touched up any bad spots with a little stain, and then gave the floors 4 coats of the finish. At first I was concerned about the number of coats recommended, but the finish just goes on so quickly and easily that it was no problem at all. Working in a condo, I needed a product with little odor and one in which I could do the cleanup in the kitchen sink. Voila!!! Absolutely gorgeous floors.....and I am very picky!!! I just ordered more of this finish to start on my fourth room!! Did I mention that I am a 71 year old woman? If I can do it, anyone can.....with this product!!! LOVE IT!!!
      by
        • Recommended
        7 people found this helpful
        beautiful floors
        Refinished some 70 year old oak floors and they look great . Very easy to apply
        by
          • Recommended
          This is quite possibly the best finish on the market. I have used it on multiple applications ran...
          This is quite possibly the best finish on the market. I have used it on multiple applications ranging from hardwood flooring to custom kitchen cabinetry and furniture production to simple keepsake and gift card box finishing and it is the absolute best. Clean up is a breeze as it requires simple soap and water, and with it being a water-based finish it dries quickly allowing you to put on three- (3) good, clean coats relatively quickly, providing a durable, hardy finish.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          Product worked great and dried quickly. Used to complete paper flooring project.
          Product worked great and dried quickly. Used to complete paper flooring project.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          We redid our game room floor with this product and love it. It's been two months now and after a...
          We redid our game room floor with this product and love it. It's been two months now and after a party, poker game and regular traffic of five dogs and a cat plus humans, the floor looks brand new! We sanded the floor down to fresh wood, stained it with an oil cherry and applied four coats of Verathane. Very happy.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Great for refinishing top coat. Virtually no odor.
          Great for refinishing top coat. Virtually no odor.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          Only product on the market for home use that contains aluminum oxide to prevent wear. First used ...
          Only product on the market for home use that contains aluminum oxide to prevent wear. First used the oil version several years ago on stairs and no wear shows to date with daily use by the family. First use of this is for more stairs to bonus room.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          2 people found this helpful
          Worked well liquids pool on surface and can easily be wiped up.
          Worked well liquids pool on surface and can easily be wiped up.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          Very pleased with the application of this product. Applied 4 coats in just over 7 hours and it l...
          Very pleased with the application of this product. Applied 4 coats in just over 7 hours and it looks great, as expected. Refinished 20 year old oak flooring and this product made it much more efficient by eliminating sanding between coats.
          by
            • Recommended
            4 people found this helpful
            I haven't used it on floors but I love it as a top coat when we refinish furniture. It goes on s...
            I haven't used it on floors but I love it as a top coat when we refinish furniture. It goes on smooth, is tough. I had to order it online because the stores here don't carry it anymore...what a shame.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            4 people found this helpful
            Excellent product. Self leveling. 3 coats from 2 gallons on 400 square feet, applied on hands and...
            Excellent product. Self leveling. 3 coats from 2 gallons on 400 square feet, applied on hands and knees using foam pad. Dries crystal clear. Makes wood grain shimmer. I will never use oil-based polyurethane again. Oil based isn't bad, but it stays sticky and hydrocarbon smelly for days, plus cleanup requires paint thinner. Water based lets you add two coats in a single day, easy water wash. Anything you get on your hands is easy to clean even after it dries. Bare mahogany looks impressive with this. This stuff dries in 3 hours or so. 80 degrees, 20% humidity. With a 5000CFM fan going, it dried in 2 hours. I applied it over amber shellac that had 1-day of cure time in certain repair spots, others spots were 220 grit scuffed 80-year old finish.
            by
              • Recommended
              5 people found this helpful
              I sprayed the product on with a gravity feed spray gun (1.4 tip). I applied 5 coats with 2.0 hr. ...
              I sprayed the product on with a gravity feed spray gun (1.4 tip). I applied 5 coats with 2.0 hr. flash time between each coat. Looks Great!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              3 people found this helpful
              Sanded once after first coat. Three coats later great finish. Used on a refinished piece of furni...
              Sanded once after first coat. Three coats later great finish. Used on a refinished piece of furniture. Loved it. Has no oder. Great product.
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              Excellent product. Easy to use, and beautiful finish once dried....
              Excellent product. Easy to use, and beautiful finish once dried. Just what I was hoping for to update my tile floor!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              2 people found this helpful
              Absolutely beautiful look all exotic Woods
              Absolutely beautiful look all exotic Woods
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              No idea how well this product works. Package arrived looking ok, but both cans inside were severe...
              No idea how well this product works. Package arrived looking ok, but both cans inside were severely damaged. There's a little under a gallon left. This appears to be a manufacturer's packaging issue. (There was a box inside a box, but that interior box provided no padding between cans, left room for them to move, and didn't seem to provide much support around them.) On top of that, UPS had some really odd issues and took close to a week past the initial date that the package was attempted to deliver here to actually get it here. So, we lost our time padding. Though we attempted to provide pictures (In spite of being in 2017 like the rest of us, HD has no way to receive them right now.) Home Depot is requiring us to bring in what is left and notes that we cannot attempt to salvage this work weekend by seeing if the bit that's left is usable if we want return credit. They have no products that can be in-store this weekend and would work well as substitutes. So, we are going to have take some of the little time we have and hunt down substitutes somewhere else + go to Home Depot to fix the error their shipping partners caused. In today's world, we don't consider this an acceptable level of service. So, lessons learned: no more remodeling with Home Depot and only buy Varathane that's already on the shelves.
              by
              Response from Rust-OleumSupportOct 30, 2017
              That is not what we like to hear! We take precautions to ensure that our products ship safely and intact to our customers. Please give us a call at 800-901-0411, we want to try to make things right! Rustoleum
                2 people found this helpful
                Goes on good, dries quickly and keeps it's wet look after it is dried. It dries to very hard fini...
                Goes on good, dries quickly and keeps it's wet look after it is dried. It dries to very hard finish for any type flooring (we used acrylic epoxy paint and also had stained wood in another area - worked well for both). We used 3 coats with a 1/4 knap roller.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                This really didn't have an odor at all. It dried very quickly, and there was no yellowish colori...
                This really didn't have an odor at all. It dried very quickly, and there was no yellowish coloring. I'm happy with the coverage, there are no bubbles, and it's a quality product.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                1 person found this helpful
                TERRIBLE Product
                I have spent months sanding and staining my hardwoods and when the time came to use a polyurethane, this product was recommended as the best, high traffic, and scratch resistant available. The product was indeed low VOCs and easy to apply. The floors were beautiful until the first person walked across my months of hard labor. The floors have been completed for nearly 2 full months and must be done again. THIS PRODUCT DID NOT RESIST SCRATCHES! I am very disheartened. The floor is so scratched and I must start over from square one. I will NEVER use this product again and certainly will never recommend. Pictures are attached showing 4 coats and the horrible scratches.
                by
                Response from Rust-OleumSupportJan 7, 2015
                We are sorry to hear of your experience with the Clear Satin Water-Based Floor Polyurethane. Please call our Product Support Group at 1-800-901-0411, someone would be able to help you with any concerns you may have and possibly get you a refund on the product used.Rustoleum
                • DIY
                24 people found this helpful
                Application was very easy.
                This is a great product providing you need at least two gallons as that is how it is sold. The label has been slightly changed removing the word 'diamond' from the front of the label although the product appears to be the same. It takes about ten days to arrive so order it prior to using it.
                by
                • Pro
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                7 people found this helpful
                The product worked perfectly and the home delivery was great...
                The product worked perfectly and the home delivery was great
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Showing 1-30 of 250 reviews