inPlace 23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf
inPlace 23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf
inPlace 23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf
inPlace 23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf

23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf

  • Floating white shelf offers a contemporary look
  • Dimensions: 23.6 in. L x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H
  • Shelf shows no visible support and appears to be floating
  • See Full Details

Specifications

Dimensions

Assembled Depth (in.)
10.2 in
Assembled Height (in.)
2 in
Assembled Width (in.)
23.6 in
Shelf Depth (in.)
10.2
Shelf Height (in.)
2
Shelf Width (in.)
23.6

Details

Assembly Required
No
Color/Finish
White
Color/Finish
White Shelf & Black Bracket(s)
Decorative Shelving Type
Floating Shelf
Features
Wall-Mountable
Included
Mounting Hardware
Mount Type
Floating
Number of Brackets
1
Number of pieces included
1
Number of Shelves
1 Tier
Product Style
Modern
Returnable
90-Day
Shelf Color/Finish
White
Shelf Material
Composite
Shelf Type
Shelf Boards
Style
Classic
Style
Modern,Transitional
Weight Capacity
Total Weight Capacity: 15 lbs.

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
1 year limited warranty. Proof of purchase required.

Product Overview

Organize your home and free countertops from clutter with this White Floating MDF Wall Shelf form Home Decorators Collection. Contemporary in style, this functional wall shelf offers attractive storage space and is perfect for laundry rooms, mudrooms, kitchens, children's bedrooms or playrooms. Install two or more to maximize empty wall space to display items such as towels, laundry detergent, kitchen items or children's stuffed animals. Perfect for any room in your home, this shelf shows no visible support, making it appear to be floating.
  • Installation tip 1: For a sturdy installation, install at least one side of the wall shelf into a wall stud, as shown in the instructions
  • Installation tip 2: Use the drywall anchor installation method to mount the shelf if you cannot locate a wall stud
  • White finish complements any room color
  • Installs with a hidden metal bracket, allowing greater weight capacity
  • Mounting hardware included; easy to install
  • Cleans with a dry cloth
  • Also available in 35.4 in. width (model # 0191408) and 47.3 in. width (model # 0191801)
  • Also available in espresso brown finish: 23.6 in W (model # 9084620); 35.6 in. W (model # 9084622); 42 in. W (model # 9084624)

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Decorative Shelving & Accessories

24 in. L x 7.75 in. W Slim Floating White Shelf
CURRENT PRODUCT
23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf
5-1/2 in. D x 24 in. L Crown Moulding Shelf35.4 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White Square Edge MDF Floating Wall Shelf
BrandHome Decorators CollectioninPlaceMagellaninPlace
Name24 in. L x 7.75 in. W Slim Floating White Shelf23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf5-1/2 in. D x 24 in. L Crown Moulding Shelf35.4 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White Square Edge MDF Floating Wall Shelf
Price
$1678
$2162
$2597
$2843
Ratings
(323)
(212)
(279)
(200)
Decorative Shelving TypeFloating ShelfFloating ShelfFloating ShelfFloating Shelf
Mount TypeFloatingFloatingFixed MountFloating
Shelf MaterialCompositeCompositeCompositeComposite
FeaturesWall-MountableWall-MountableWall-MountableWall-Mountable
Number of pieces included1111
Assembly RequiredNoNoNoNo
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Enjoy 10% off

Save on your next order when you sign up for our Style & Decor emails.Valid on select furniture, home accents, bedding and bath

Questions & Answers

Can I add a clothing hook\rod under the shelf?

Depending on the height of the shelf, you sure could.

Larry

how much weight are the shelves designed for, say a 36" long one? I have corelle dishes and they stack up small, but are pretty heavy

As long as you find studs for the shelf bracket it sould hold alot. Bracket that comes with it is sturdy.shelf slides onto rods. My wife put a ton on them.

Laketaxlady

How heavy is it?

The shelf itself is pretty light. It’s not solid wood. It’s pressboard.

Andy

The best drill bit size would be 7/32.

Kishkuman

23.6 in. W x 10.2 in. D x 2 in. H White MDF Floating Wall Shelf - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 212 Customer Reviews
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars overall
63% of customers recommended.
Overall Ratings
Attribute Ratings
Quality
3.3
Value
3.0
Star Rating
Verified Purchase
Sort By:
In-Place shelves look great--but with tricky installation
Quality :
4
Value :
4
Seeds Program Review
(What's this)
These In-Place floating shelves look great once installed. Installation can be tricky. There is a backplate (see pictures 1 + 2) which attachrd to the wall and the shelf (see pictures 3 + 4) which attaches to the backplate. The tricky part is that you really should/must hit a stud with at least one screw when attaching the backplate. I installed it to a basement wall which had paneling, not drywall. So the drywall anchors included were of little use to me. I used hollow wall anchor screws instead (bought separately). After sliding the shelf onto the backplate, there are holes to anchor the shelf onto the backplate with screws. Unfortunately, not all the holes lined up with the backplate holes. I did manage to line up at least one anchoring screw on each shelf, so they are pretty securely anchored.
Was this helpful?
22
0
Response from July 21, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,

Thank you for sending us your review! Our company values customer feedback.
You will want to at least have one end into a stud for added support. Very sorry to hear that the mounting plate pole did not line up with the sent screws, that is not normal Quality Control; your comments will be forward to QC. Please call 800-860-1677 for additional assistance with your shelf.
Thank You
Long beach, California
Great shelves, with a little modification
Quality :
5
Value :
5
So, I got this advice from a reviewer on Lowes and thought I should share. I bought them from Home Depot as it was closer to my house. I have already installed five of these shelves, four 17.6 x 7.75 and a 35.4 x 7.75. Pictures are attached. Here is what I did differently to make these shelves sturdy and avoid bending (drooping). First things first, avoid the plastic hardware that comes with it. The only hardware I used from this kit were the wooden screws for the stud I used for 2 of the 5 shevles. Where studs are not available, the plastic bolts are supposed to be used. Instead, spend a few more bucks and get you some toggle bolts. I got this 25 box set of 1/8in by 2in from home depot. Link: http://www.homedepot.com/p/Crown-Bolt-1-8-in-x-2-in-Zinc-Plated-Mushroom-Head-Toggle-Bolt-Anchor-10242/100349321 These bolts cost $5.21 at Home Depot. They are metal and a lot stronger than the plastic things that come with the shelf. They also allowed me to only place 4 bolts into the bracket instead of using all 10 holes. *Note: toggle bolts are one time usage and make rather large holes. A little patching will fix that if you remove the shelf* Second, and may be the deal breaker for some, I put the shelves on upside down, requiring the two screws to attach the shelves to the bracket, to be placed on top. This places the stregnth on top of the metal bracket instead of pulling it below. Most of my holes were covered by the items I placed on the shevles. For the one screw that shows, I placed a little pure white paint on top of the hole and it blends in. As you can see from the pictures, I have many trophies on the shelves. Behind my Avengers bobble heads, I have a collection of Coke glasses. I haven't figured out what to do with them yet, so for now they are kept safe there. Point is, there is easily more than 10 pounds on my long shelf. Take my advice that I stole from a Lowes reviewer, and you to will find satisfaction in these attractive shelves. I will be installing two 23.6 x 10.2 very soon in the same way.
Was this helpful?
11
0
Florida, USA
Nice shelves but poor manufacturing
Quality :
1
Value :
1
Bought the floating shelves to showcase model cars in my garage. Unfortunately they were so poorly manufactured that they were not even suitable for a garage display ( uneven angles, small bumps in the finish, etc.). I returned them and got a credit.
Was this helpful?
9
0
Cartersville, GA, USA
easy to install
Quality :
4
Value :
3
I would recommend mounting to studs....mounting to plasterboard only will very much limit weight it can support. even mounted to studs shelf will not hold a full load of nooks. holds cable box and DVD player with no problem..
Was this helpful?
8
0
Portland
inaccurate measurement listed!
Quality :
4
Value :
3
First, it's a nice shelf and I don't think other people will have a problem with the inaccuracy of the listed measurement - BUT - I had gotten it for a tight space up above the foot of the staircase and the listed measurement was just a smidge under the exact measurement that would have fit. When it got here it was more like 36 1/8 instead of 35.4. Since it was being wedged between two walls I was able to trim it to fit so I'm happy though. If you need to trim it - it's hollow inside which makes it easy. Also, just fyi - the packaging indicates that it will support 15 lbs overall it's a good shelf for what I needed
Was this helpful?
7
0
Chicago
Not so sturdy or level
Quality :
1
Value :
1
This product although looks like it should be sturdy and work well, it was actually poorly constructed. Of the three shelves purchased only one was level close to being level front to back. The other two shelves were lower in the front then where it was attached to the wall. Would not purchase this product again.
Was this helpful?
6
0
Response from December 31, 2014
Thank you sending us your review. We do apologize that you were not completely satisfied with the shelf that you purchased. An option for the shelf, you can replace hardware anchors provided with EZ Anchors that will supply a more secure clamp against the wall, please call 800-860-1677 for the EZ anchors. We have sent your comments to our Quality Control Department for further evaluation. Although these reviews can be hard to hear, in the long run it will strengthen us as a company.
Thank you,shadesexpert
Pensacola, Florida
More like a sinking wall shelf than a floating one
Quality :
1
Value :
1
Useless. Despite my mounting the backplate to two studs and using hollow wall anchor for the rest of the holes, this shelf will not hang straight. It slopes downward. It's designed improperly. The shelf has two bars that go into the shelf, but the bars don't go all the way to the front of the shelf. So the shelf slants down. Also, there should be three bars holding the shelf up instead of two. Home Depot should know better. I'm going to modify this one but I'm taking the others I bought back to the store.
Was this helpful?
6
0
Response from May 1, 2015
Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you so much for sending us your review on the shelving. We are sorry that you were experiencing issues with the stability of the shelf and we want you to know that your comments are very important to us. In regards to the nominal instability on the shelf, there are a few things that can remedy the situation, 1. Make sure one of your screws is inserted to a stud, 2. Make sure the arrow is pointing up on the bracket, 3. Use an EZ Anchor that will provide a secure clamp against the wall. For future reference, please call 800-860-1677 for additional assistance in installing your shelf.
Thank You
Cincinnati, OH
Will Not Hang Straight
Quality :
1
Value :
2
My husband and I purchased and installed two of these shelves according to the instructions. Upon placing 10 pounds or less on the shelves, the shelves began to bend downward and would not remain level. The problem appears to be with the metal bracing. It will not stay flush against the wall under any load. We will definitely return these to the store.
Was this helpful?
6
0
Response from November 19, 2014
Thank you for sending this review regarding our Floating Shelf. We do recommend that you at least drill into one stud to provide your shelf with more stability. You can also purchase EZ Anchors that will hug the wall much tighter than the anchors provided with the product. We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the product that you purchased. If you need additional assistance, please call 800 860-1677.
Thank you,
Shades Expertshadesexpert
Orleans, Ma
So, I love hanging open shelves. The plastic Mollys suck. Had to buy regular metal ones. use the in all the holes, not just the ones on the top,
Quality :
3
Value :
3
So Use the metal mollys in all the holes, The second shelf looks much better. Going to take the first shelf down again and use mollys in the bottom holes. Not the new Mollys but the old ones with the screw and winds separate. Also, there were some marks on the surface of the shelves, poor quality control. They do look nice when they are up the right way and when I get the first row of shelves up I am going to order 4 more, and buy my own Mollys.....
Was this helpful?
3
0
Useless
I bought these to use in my bathroom to put towels. We did them the exact way they said even used the level. It was perfect. Then when we stepped away they don't sit straight and unfortunately my house don't have studs every foot so it didn't stay all the way to the wall. So I couldn't put anything on them. They look ok for wall decoration if you are not putting anything on them.
Was this helpful?
3
0
Response from November 15, 2014
Hi, we are glad that you like the look of this floating shelf. The recommended installation method is to plan to hit at least one wall stud with one side of the shelf. If you can't hit a wall stud, then make sure to use sturdy dry wall anchors. Shelf brackets can be purchased separately on homedepot.com if you would like additional support. Wrought iron or white wood shelf brackets could be a stylish, affordable complimentary addition.shadesexpert
Review this Product
Share your thoughts with other customers