#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Henry 885 Tropi-Cool Wet Patch White 100% Silicone Roof Leak Repair Sealant 0.90 gal.

Internet #206030020

Model #HE885142

Store SKU #1001374972

  • STOPS LEAKS INSTANTLY - On wet or dry surfaces
  • VERSATILE - Works underwater and in driving rain
  • APPLICATION – Temperature 35°F to 120°F

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 231 reviews
  • 84% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews
Do not buy! Doesn't stick to damp surfaces
This did NOT stick to my damp roof even though the label says, "Works even under water of in driving rain." I was able to peel off all patches after a couple of days. I cleaned the surfaces and applied the patch during a break in the rain. I paid over $100 for the can. I want my money back!
by
Response from Henry CompanyJan 25, 2024
Durane, we are sorry for your inconvenience and advise you to return the can to the Home Depot where it was purchased for a refund or a new can. Your comments did not specify the type of roofing material that the 885 was applied to. We would appreciate it if you could reach out to us directly at jszymanski@henry.com or productsupport@henry.com so that we can investigate this matter in more detail. Thank you for your comments.
    1 found this review helpful
    Buyer be weary
    Purchase this product was defective company admitted there was a bad batch would not replace the 1 1/2 cans that was already installed and I did purchase 14 cans
    by
    Response from Henry CompanyJul 25, 2023
    robert, please reach out to me directly at srathbun@henry.com so we can sort out this mishap. Thank you for putting your trust in Henry Co and Home Depot.
      Not liquid version silicone coating!
      It’s as thick as putty! Its super hard to apply. It’s not the product problem, yet it should’ve mentioned how fluid it is on the product at a oblivious spot. For those who looking for small size can to fixed partial roofing, you should look for 887(just saw other reviews about this issue)
      by
      Response from Henry CompanyMay 20, 2022
      Unikaalu, Henry 885 is designed to be a thick product similar to cake frosting in consistency. It is thick so that it can fill holes, splits, cracks and seams. It can also be used to seal skylights, vents, vent stacks and chimneys. If you want to "coat" your roof you should use Henry 887 100% Silicone roof coating that has the consistency of a thick paint and can be applied with a roller. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
        • Recommended
        2 found this review helpful
        The best material...
        The best material
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        My parents have an old mobile home in Arizona, with a metal roof, that developed leaks. This st...
        My parents have an old mobile home in Arizona, with a metal roof, that developed leaks. This stuff worked amazing!! It fixed the seams that had leaks, it fixed gaps from prior metal repairs, even large 1" gaps, when nothing else would work. I would scoop some of this out, spread it to the thickness I wanted, then use a stiff brush to make a smooth finishing texture. I highly recommend this for metal roof repairs! So thankful that my parents no longer have leaks after repairing their roof with this.
        by
        Response from Henry CompanySep 10, 2020
        AzVeggieMom-Thank you for taking the time to leave this 5 star review and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
        • DIY
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        Incredible
        This goes on thick,spreads well with a thin roller.seemed the heavy ones don’t push enough.can really add a thickness in places,and just does what it’s supposed to do.exactly what I wanted.
        by
        Response from Henry CompanyJul 7, 2020
        Ou812-Thank you for taking the time to leave this 5 star review and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
          1 found this review helpful
          This is an excellent sealer. I used it to seal up my leaking camper roof in place of the standard...
          This is an excellent sealer. I used it to seal up my leaking camper roof in place of the standard Dicor sealant. Removed old Dicor and applied this with a silicone spatula. Its very thick and sets up very fast and you have to work with a small amount in a separate container and also don't leave the gallon can open at all or it will set up in the can. This is my second gallon so I can finish sealing around the edges of my camper roof. I'm sure it works great on all roofs.
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyJul 7, 2020
          Slacker-Thank you for taking the time to leave this 5 star review and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          2 found this review helpful
          I used this product to seal around the skylights and fans on my camper, prior to coating the enti...
          I used this product to seal around the skylights and fans on my camper, prior to coating the entire roof with the Tropi-cool 887 roof coating the next day. Goes on like putty - I used a 1 inch putty knife to apply and a 3 inch putty knife to smooth it then. Dries quickly and definitely seems like it will withstand the elements.
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyAug 20, 2019
          Rusty-Thank you for leaving this 5 star review and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          3 found this review helpful
          Great sealant we will know with time, being silicone it should last..use it to cover seams on a m...
          Great sealant we will know with time, being silicone it should last..use it to cover seams on a mobile home. You can't use a brush ..I used a spatula and a plastic cooking spoon to spread the product. Its thick but manageable. The caulking tubes might have been easier to apply. I follow up using the the tropic 100% silicone roof coating needed 3 4.75 gal. Cans. I power wash the roof and the application went smooth . Product was thick needed only one coat. The roof was 1100 sq. Ft
          by
          Response from Henry CompanyJun 30, 2019
          Neurex-thank you so much for taking the time to write about your project and for leaving a 5 star review on this product; it definitely helps other shoppers!
          • DIY
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          4 found this review helpful
          great product
          Used a putty knife to apply the product to all seams and leaks. very easy to do. it is a little thick but it needs to be. Patched up my shed roof and my aluminum porch roof. Then applied the Henry Slicone coat after waiting one day. Both roofs look great and no leaks. Worked great.
          by
          Response from Henry CompanySep 20, 2018
          happyinmiami-Thank you for leaving a 5 star review on this product and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
            • Recommended
            2 found this review helpful
            This product is very thick and applied like bondo. It was very similar to the asphalt product tha...
            This product is very thick and applied like bondo. It was very similar to the asphalt product that henry's sells but much more creamy and smooth. It is best used with a trowel or spatula as it is much too thick for a brush. I used this to repair protrusions before applying the tropicool sealant product that was also silicone based. I like the warranty and company, Very good product.
            by
            Response from Henry CompanyApr 26, 2018
            Dan-Thank you for providing us with a 5 star review on this product and for putting your trust in the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            substantial, waterproof the leaking roof, sealed leaks, white matches the house color,
            substantial, waterproof the leaking roof, sealed leaks, white matches the house color,
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            1 found this review helpful
            I used this product to seal a roof seam separation where the rubber roof met the fiberglass front...
            I used this product to seal a roof seam separation where the rubber roof met the fiberglass front panel. I stay in my RV for work during the week and and go home on the weekends. This particular weekend the forecast was for heavy rain. I installed this late Friday afternoon using Nitrile gloves and 4" Chip brushes. I used the gloves to scoop it out of the can and spread it across the seam and used the chip brush to "feather" it about 3-4 inches on both sides. If you had seen what it looked like before I applied it, you'd be amazed at how well this stuff worked. It rained 2-3 inches in two days and when I returned Sunday night-my RV was completely dry! NOT ONE SINGLE DROP! I read the reviews about people complaining that you can't use a brush or roller to apply it and yes, that is somewhat true. Just use Nitrile gloves and cheapie Chip brushes and you'll be fine. I'm no professional RV repairman but if you want to patch a leak or rubber roof seam, this is the BOMB! Don't mess around with tubes of caulking or anything else. I tried Rubber tape (@$3.79/foot) and it didn't last 2 miles down the highway before it was flapping in the wind. I feel very confident this stuff will last while towing the trailer. It is worth every single penny I paid! Thank you Henry for such an amazing product!
            by
            Response from Henry CompanyNov 28, 2016
            NorCalGuy-
            Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experience and writing this review for us! And thank you for being a customer of the Henry Company and The Home Depot.
              • Recommended
              7 found this review helpful
              Difficult to use
              This stuff is advertised as a liquid that can be applied with a roller or a brush. And guaranteed for life. The first gallon I received was thick like putty and could not have been applied with anything but a heavy duty putty knife. So I returned it and assumed it was an outdated can. Ordered another one. Same stuff. So I got my heavy duty putty knife and got to work. It applied like putty only not as smooth. It's rough looking and did not smooth out. If this 66 Kit trailer was a restoration I would have never used this stuff. It's not. It's a beat up old unit that I wanted the best sealer available and this stuff is that if nothing else. Once applied and cured overnight it wasn't coming loose no matter what I tried. So 1/3 0f the product is now junk and in the trash can as it's unusable once the can opens. If you decide to use it, be prepared and get right to work as within an hour it will stiffen up enough that you'll be cussing it.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyApr 14, 2016
              Thank you for your purchase and sorry for the issues you encountered with our product. Our Henry 887HS Tropi-Cool 100% Silicone Roof Coating is our liquid version. It looks like you purchased our Henry 885 Tropi-Cool Seam & Roof Repair, which is our brush grade paste version to use for repairs. We would like to get more info on your project and try to answer any questions you may have. Please contact our product support at ProductSupport@henry.com or rroberts@henry.com.
              • DIY
              • Verified Purchase
              15 found this review helpful
              Amazing stuff!!
              I used this stuff on my approx 10yr old asphalt Florida roof. Roof has no leaks but starting to look worn in area's, has some sunken area's from standing water and 100 plus degrees sun for 8+ months of the year. Used this to cover over all my seams and then used Henry Tropi Cool to cover the entire roof. This stuff is nice and thick and I will be amazed if the roof will ever leak now :-) The Tropi Cool also reduced the temp of the roof so hopefully my AC bills will be slightly lower.......
              by
              • DIY
              • Verified Purchase
              • Recommended
              14 found this review helpful
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Seems like it is 100% silicone caulk in a can. I spread it with a 4” putty knife. I think it was excellent for sealing cracks and seams. Might be too thick to brush.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyDec 28, 2023
              Grandpa, it is a little thick but it needs to be full bodied in order to stop a leak while it cures. Henry 885 is so easy to spread with a putty knife but you can also use a brush to make sure you seal around round objects such as pipes and vents. Henry 885 is 100% silicone so it is not broken down by the sun's damaging UV rays. Fix it once and forget about it with Henry 885. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              This Henry's product is AWESOME. Highly recommend. It is a messy product to work with. Be prepared... but when the project is finished the results are amazing.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyDec 7, 2023
              And your comments are amazing! Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Wet Patch Roof Leak Repair Sealant is a tough sealant that has a lifetime warranty. Henry 885 forms a chemical bond to the roof that is many time stronger than normal other repair sealants bonding abilities. Henry 885 is the consistency of cake frosting and can be applied with a trowel or a brush. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              Pricey stuff, but works VERY well.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyNov 15, 2023
              Dang repairs, you are so right with that statement. Repairs can be a giant pain and can be costly if the repair product doesn't do the job and do it quick. Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Wet Patch can stop that leak instantly so the damage doesn't continue or get even worse. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              Used it to protect a mineral roofing paper 3x2 section. Used a 3” brush to spread.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyNov 3, 2023
              Henry 885 TropiC00l 100% Silicone Wet Patch Roof Leak Repair Sealant is a wonderful product that works even in bad weather. Henry 885 has the consistency of cake frosting and can be applied with a brush or a trowel. Not only does Henry 885 work on a wide variety of surfaces but it never stops sealing a leak for a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              Best patch and seam product. Not cheap but goes a long way. This us not s brush on or roll on. Use a string metal putty knife.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyOct 25, 2023
              Keith in Mobile, Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Wet Patch Roof Leak Repair Sealant should be about the consistency of thick cake frosting. It is usually applied with a putty knife but can also be applied with a brush in order to get an even coating on rounded surfaces like vent pipes. Henry 885 forms a very tough bond to the roof and best of all has a lifetime warranty. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              Perfect solution to provide preventive maintenance to the RV roof.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyOct 25, 2023
              Ralph, Henry 885 is as you say, the "perfect solution" for repairing roof leaks on an RV roof and also on just about any roof. Henry 885 is especially recommended for RVs because it forms a super strong chemical bond to the roof surface and will not peel off due to wind or the excessive movement that RV roofs endure. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              Excellent workability
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyOct 2, 2023
              Henry 885 TropiCool 100% silicone roof repair and leak sealant really is very easy to use. Henry 885 is about as thick as butter and spreads easily with a trowel or a brush. Henry 885 forms a chemical bond to the surface that is much stronger than the normal physical bond that other products form. The best thing though is that Henry 885 will last a lifetime. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              Very good sealant and easy to apply. Expensive at $119.00 per gallon.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyOct 4, 2023
              Dug, Henry 885 TropiCool 100% Silicone Roof Leak Repair Sealant is a terrific repair and sealing product. Henry 885 has a lifetime warranty which means that you never have to purchase the sealant again. When you think in terms of the length of the warranty the retail cost of Henry 885 is actually cheaper than almost any other repair sealant. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              This is a great product when needing to seal seams. I use on my sunroom roof which is aluminum. Seals perfectly. Use small trowel to get product out of can and larger trowel to spread. Wear latex gloves and old clothes. It is messy.
              by
              Response from Henry CompanyAug 30, 2023
              dangdeal, we agree with you that Henry 885 is perfect to seal the seams on an aluminum roof. Henry 885 is simple to use since it has the consistency of cake frosting and can even be applied with a brush. Henry 885 will also last a lifetime on your roof. Thank you for putting your trust in the Henry Co and the Home Depot.
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              Showing 1-30 of 231 reviews

              Frequently Bought Together

              Top Rated
              ++
              Price:
              $13500