#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Mighty Mule Heavy Duty Single Swing Gate Opener Smart and Solar Capable

Internet #311098471

Model #MM571W

Store SKU #1005192868

  • Gates up to 18 ft / 850 lbs, chain, orn, tube, panel, vinyl, wood
  • Compatible: Smart Devices Connectivity Kit & Solar Panel
  • Superb reliable performance 40% faster opening and closing speeds

Customer Reviews

  • 3.5
    out of 321 reviews
  • 43% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 321 reviews
On the Fence; Not Necessarily In or Out of the Gate
I had an earlier model that needed to be replaced. I upgraded to this model and have had issues since. It works sporadically. It appears that the battery provided is defective as the app reads "Input Power Disconnected." Sometimes my exit wand works, sometimes the new remote works.
by
Response from MightyMuleSupportFeb 22, 2023
Hi Danomcman, I would suggest you contact our Tech Team at 1-800-543-1236 M-F 8am-7pm and Sat 10am-6pm EST. They will be happy to help you.
  • Verified Purchase
Good opener
Easy to install, great support. The added antenna picks up a long distance from the driveway, so the gate is open when I up and not sitting on the road waiting
by
Response from MightyMuleSupportJan 11, 2023
Great tip, William, and we appreciate letting us and others know.
    • Recommended
    Cheap junk
    Over the course of about ten years I have replaced it 5 times. It is always a new problem. Not reliable at all!! Customer service is great till it's time to replace warranty parts. Then there is always an Excuse. Spend a little more and get something reliable.
    by
    Response from MightyMuleSupportJul 5, 2022
    Dear Disposable, We are very sorry you feel this way. Our units do have a 12-18 month warranty. Many manufacturers including us have had a difficult time with many replacement parts due to factory shut-downs and shipping delay. We are seeing improvement, but not as fast as would like. Our products are designed for the DIY person, and the cost to make them as affordable as possible. It is true that professional series gate openers will last longer, but you will pay more for those items. Thank you for being a Mighty Mule Customer over many years.
      2 found this review helpful
      Broke upon installation, parts purchased separately don’t match
      1. Bracket broke upon installation (see photo) 2. Both Mighty Mule AND Home Depot unable to help during the weekend, despite the fact that I purchased a warranty. 3. Solar wiring has eyelet connector but battery has tongue connector so I had to go buy parts to splice so they would work together. Both solar panel and battery are Mighty Mule products so I’m not sure why this problem exists. 4. The instructions for setting up the close/open gate limits are very confusing. 5. There were SO many additional parts that needed to be bought it’s ridiculous. You don’t find that out till after you buy it. 6. One remote. Why?? 7. Remote didn’t work until we opened it and fiddled with the battery. There was nothing in the instructions about “fiddle with the battery to make it work” I owe my builder a six pack after this mess.
      by
      Response from MightyMuleSupportJun 10, 2020
      Lilli, We at Mighty Mule are very sorry for this inconvenience. Please let us help. I highly recommend you call out Tech Support team at 800-543-1236 M-F 8am -7pm EST. We also have online instruction videos available on the Mighty Mule Website under the Support tab. We are here for you please reach out. Thank you
        8 found this review helpful
        This is a great automatic gate opener. The product is for one gate. The kit includes: (1) MM371 G...
        This is a great automatic gate opener. The product is for one gate. The kit includes: (1) MM371 Gate Operator, (1) Remote with Visor Clip, Control Box, Mounting Hardware, Instruction Manual, QR CODE for easy how to videos, necessary bolts, screws, and pins for installations, and (1) AC Transformer for hard wire applications. Read the instructions well. It took me a few hours to work out the kinks but it works well. Opens gate in about 13 seconds. Product comes with a limited warranty.
        by
        • Recommended
        6 found this review helpful
        I have used this companies Mighty Mule gate openers for well over a decade. I got this newest ed...
        I have used this companies Mighty Mule gate openers for well over a decade. I got this newest edition with smart features to replace one of their openers I have been using several times daily for over ten years without fail. Super easy to install, they furnish hardware that will suit any need, the install takes around half a day running power lines and attaching the control board. Smart features will require an additional unit so that you may operate and observe from your handheld device. Online tutorials available. Customer service is wonderful.
        by
        • Recommended
        2 found this review helpful
        The mighty mule gate opener is something I have wanted for several years and finally got one. Th...
        The mighty mule gate opener is something I have wanted for several years and finally got one. The instructions are overly comprehensive but once you get started it goes very easily with no issues. The only problem with the opener was with a included wire harness for the battery. It had wire ends installed that do not fit through the wire openings on the control box, for me that was no problem, I have replacement wire ends. The opener works very smoothly, but I have a wheel one my gate rolling over rocks. So I need to either remove the wheel or the rocks, and be ready, it moves faster than you will be expecting, that is a feature I really like. I also installed the reccomended ground rod. There are many accessories that you can order to compliment the Auto gate and I have order a few of them, like the remote gate lock and extra remote switch key fobs. There is no doubt this is something I am going to enjoy for a long time.
        by
        • Recommended
        5 found this review helpful
        MIGHTY MULE AUTOMATIC SINGLE GATE OPENER BRINGS UNRIVALED CONVENIENCE WITH SMART FEATURES is easy...
        MIGHTY MULE AUTOMATIC SINGLE GATE OPENER BRINGS UNRIVALED CONVENIENCE WITH SMART FEATURES is easy to use and works great. You need to purchase the Mighty Mule MMS100 Wireless Connectivity Kit for it to work. After installation, use the app to open and close your gate. We’d been wanting to fence odd our front yard but needed to have the fencing cross the driveway. This product does the job. Very helpful.
        by
        • Recommended
        When we decided to put a farm gate across the driveway to our property, we felt that it would not...
        When we decided to put a farm gate across the driveway to our property, we felt that it would not be very practical if we did not include a gate opener. We did not want to spend a fortune for the gate and opener so the Mighty Mule seemed like a good option. The Mighty Mule MM371 is suitable for gates up to 16 feet long or 550 pounds. The gate we bought is longer than 16 feet but considerably lighter than 550 pounds. Prior to ordering the Mighty Mule, I called the company to make sure it would work with my gate. The representative told me that as long as it was less than 550 pounds, it would work with a 20 foot gate. The first thing I noticed when I received the gate is that there are many accessories and most of them are not included with the kit. To make this a truly practical gate, you will need to buy a few accessories. For our purposes we had to spend about $300 on accessories (connectivity system, battery, solar panel, extra transmitter, and keypad). Installation was fairly straightforward. I was being careful to follow the directions so it probably took me longer than it should have to finish. Once it was set up, I was impressed with the performance. The gate opens quickly when the button is pressed and closes behind me. I have not had this long enough to know about its’ durability but so far it is working well.
        by
        Response from MightyMuleSupportMay 4, 2020
        Daveb714, Thank you for your purchase and the review. We appreciate your business. Please let us know if you need anything. Our Tech Support at Mighty Mule are here for you.
        • Recommended
        6 found this review helpful
        very well made, and simple to install. the detailed instructions go step by step thru installatio...
        very well made, and simple to install. the detailed instructions go step by step thru installation and set up. the manufacture has included all the hardware for install, however i did find it necessary to modify the way it attaches to my gate by having a plate cut and adding a few various bolts and screws purchased.if attaching to a chain link its a snap right from the box, a vinyl gate like mine required some extra thought. it does need a power source close by cable is roughly 5'. i have not yet ordered the wifi kit to open with the app and also adding a backup battery as well. it comes with one controller that is similar to a garage door opener. because of the circuit board im also thinking a surge outlet is a good idea as well.
        by
        • Recommended
        3 found this review helpful
        Mighty Mule is a trusted Name and Product. I have a Mighty Mule Cable Release and It's worked Per...
        Mighty Mule is a trusted Name and Product. I have a Mighty Mule Cable Release and It's worked Perfect for Years This Gate Opener is a little more involved. You have to have a Marine or Auto battery that cranks out 250 cold cranking amps, also Mighty Mule Wireless Connectivity Kit - sold separately Model Number (MMS100). to use the Smart Function. This is going on my Northern Property as soon as the ground thaws. I'll update my review then.
        by
        • Recommended
        I got this Mighty Mule 371 Smart Single Gate Operator to be able to open our gate from my smartph...
        I got this Mighty Mule 371 Smart Single Gate Operator to be able to open our gate from my smartphone. The quality of the product seems very good, but there are some negatives too. My first disappointment came when I noticed that the set comes with only one car opener. Who has only one car in our time? The second disappointment was when I realized (but it was printed n the box) that I need to purchase more items to make the smart part actually work (Requires a 12 Volt Automotive or Marine type battery (not included) and a MMS100 Wireless Connectivity Kit - sold separately). So you buy a smart gate opener and then you need to buy more parts to make it actually smart? That's not very smart. With even more additional parts it can also be powered by a solar panel.
        by
        • Recommended
        9 found this review helpful
        After installation it worked for an 1 hr and stopped working. We reached out to the Manufacturor and received poor customer service. However, when we returned the item to Home Depot, the customer service was great and we were able to get our money back.
        by
        Response from MightyMuleSupportJul 17, 2024
        Dear Bert, we at Mighty Mule are sorry for any inconvenience. We are glad you went back to Home Depot, and they took care of your request. Please check out our installation videos on Mighty Mule.com and YouTube. They are very helpful for your set-up.
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Added steps(work) for DIY
        Drill a hole in the box to accommodate the included backup battery? The LED 1-3 and the program buttons leave a lot to be desired. Power supply not included for the overall price as is. Add on features hookup not so friendly either. Better labels and push to i sert wires would be preferred.
        by
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          A bit pricey, but it works so far.
          by
          Response from MightyMuleSupportJun 27, 2024
          Thank you for this rating and review.
          • Verified Purchase
          Faulty errors all the time.
          Used them for the last 5 years. Broke every year or so. Faulty errors from the control board all the time. Warranty is good, but parts always broke after Warranty. What a joke. Spend almost 3 grand purchasing replacement parts over the years. Don't buy! Google Mighty Mule gate opener troubleshooting first. You will see the shocking amount of problems they have.
          by
          Response from MightyMuleSupportJun 10, 2024
          Dear Mighty Mule User, we are very sorry for this inconvenience, We do stand beside our warranty program and we have many resouces that can help you. The Mighty Mule website instuction vidoes, BILT app, Call our Tech Support team, they are happy to help. Thank you
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            It works should be good for another year
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Great product works well!
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Operates very smooth.
            by
            Response from MightyMuleSupportMay 20, 2024
            Thank you for this rating and review.
            • Verified Purchase
            Motor broke within two weeks of install
            by
            Response from MightyMuleSupportMay 10, 2024
            Dear Home Depot Customer, we are very sorry for this inconvenence. You are still under warranty and our Tech Team is here to help. They can be reached at 1-800-543-1236 M-F 8am-6pm and Sat 10am-6pm EST. Please give them a call. Thank you
            • Verified Purchase
            No soft close mode. Tried to call mighty mule to talk to them about soft close. Can’t get through to anytim in a timely manner.
            by
            Response from MightyMuleSupportMay 10, 2024
            Dear Home Depot Customer, Please call out Tech Supporrt at 1-800-543-1236 M-F 8am-6pm and Sat 10am-6pm EST. They will be happy to help. Thank you
            • Verified Purchase
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            Waste of money and time
            I bought the larger 571 to run a lightweight gate and it is stripped outin less then a week of working.
            by
            Response from MightyMuleSupportApr 30, 2024
            Dear Russ, we appreciate your purchase, we are always looking for ways to improve our products and take this seriously. Thank you
              We've had it for about 3 weeks. It opens so much faster than our old one. I hope it lasts as long.
              by
              Response from MightyMuleSupportApr 29, 2024
              Dear CR7141, thank you for your business and hope you enjoy Mighty Mule and your new opener.
              • Verified Purchase
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              MM 571
              This is my 3rd Mighty Mule gate opener in the last 20 years. They have only gotten better during that time !
              by
                Showing 1-30 of 321 reviews

                Frequently Bought Together

                +
                +
                Price:
                $484.78

                Compare Similar Items

                current item

                Features

                No Additional Features

                No Additional Features

                Product Width (in.)

                14 in

                10.83 in

                12 in

                17.5 in

                Gate opening style

                Swinging

                Sliding

                Swinging

                Dual Swing

                Maximum gate size (ft.)

                18 ft

                40 ft

                16 ft

                16 ft

                Weight Capacity (lb.)

                850 lb

                1400 lb

                550 lb

                650 lb