#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Olympic Waterguard 5 gal. Clear Wood Sealer

Internet #305542043

Model #55260XI-05

Store SKU #1003317183

  • Clear, ready to use fomula
  • Provides Waterproofing Protection
  • Good for decks and other outdoor wood projects

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 1,512 reviews
  • 63% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,512 reviews
The only downfall I can say is the stain took...
The only downfall I can say is the stain took about 2 days to dry in certain areas. Other than that, came out great.
by
  • Verified Purchase
1 found this review helpful
Yellow, not Clear!
So disappointing. Came out of the can yellow (did not react to stain on wood), we thought it would clear up as it hardened. Turned our grey outdoor table the same yellow as it was in the can. See pics, looks like dried snot! Not sure if it was stored improperly or what at our local Home Depot, but now I have to sand it all off and start from scratch with the grey staining. Major inconvenience!
by
Response from Olympic TeamJun 24, 2022
Hi there, we're sorry to hear about your experience and that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
    4 found this review helpful
    Works
    I wasn't sure that I would give this a good review as it looked very Milky and was supposed to be clear. I decided to try it on a small piece of my deck and see how it went. Well it rained last night and guess where the only standing water on my deck was at? Dried very clear as well so hopefully it will last a long time.
    by
      • Recommended
      5 found this review helpful
      If you like ORANGE then this is your product.
      I have used Olympic before and it is a easy to apply product. Coverage is nice. Very little smell. Color... Well the Semi-Transparent is Semi-Transparent. You do get to see the grains of the wood nicely. BUT. The Woodland Cedar was developed by a blind person. It is freaking ORANGE.. Maybe not as bright as the paint tray.. But it is still fruity in color. Not cedar..
      by
      Response from Olympic TeamJun 14, 2022
      Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-441-9695 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
        Take a close look at the marketing images
        The look at my new PT Pine sanded cleaned and stained "woodland cedar" back deck. its flipping orange not at all transparent and generally a eyesore I'm going to have to live with for a long time.WHen you crack open the container your gonna think " it will surely look different after I stir it" then a generous 5 mins of power mixing later you may think " wow this is really really bright" after slapping some on some wood and seeing how quickly it absorbs your doomed. it goes on thick, dries quickly and remains a orange hell scape you will never retreat too. Now I have half a deck in this horrible orange showing no signs of fading. so to sum up if your opinion on opening the container is wow this looks bad maybe I should return it, listen to your instincts. On the plus side it is water repellant should protect from UV and generally speaking were not gonna spend any time on this deck now so it will keep it in good shape from traffic as well. SEND IT BACK its orange you fools!
        by
        Response from Olympic TeamApr 5, 2022
        We're disappointed in learning about your experience with our product and hope that we may have the opportunity to earn back your trust. Please call us between 8am-5pm EST Monday-Friday at 1-800-426-6306. OlympicPaint
          Really pleased with this product
          Sanded and pressure washed our new PT pine deck, sprayed on the acorn brown with HVLP and back brushed with a roller on decking and sponged on rails. It really did a great job for a bunch of DIYers, soaked in easily dried quickly. We did have a mix up with the spray gun and applied it extra thick on part of the deck but it really just gave it a good variation of color that we didn't mind, we applied a second coat to the deck to even it out and just skipped over the heavy spots. Direct light brings out a reddish tone we like and you can see water repelling a day later when the the rain came to test it
          by
            • Recommended
            Orange not transparent
            Hope this is helpful for buyers nothing wrong with the quality but the color is not transparent it is orange it should say this on the bottle I bought 2 5 gallon buckets in March of 2020 only ended up using one because the color was not what I wanted the following year I change the color and had to go with darker then I wanted to get rid of the orange color.
            by
            Response from Olympic TeamJan 26, 2022
            Hi James, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
              Two gallons two different colors
              I purchased 2 one gallon containers of the acorn brown. First container was good but the second container was a different color than the first (darker and more red). Now my deck has parts of it with two different colors. Need to redo whole deck.
              by
              Response from Olympic TeamNov 15, 2021
              Hi there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected and the colors of the two gallons seemed to be different. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can learn more about this experience and provide solutions. OlympicPaint
                Holds up along Lake Erie winters
                Our deck gets blasted with inches of ice in the winter. We apply the Olympic Waterguard in Harvest Gold mixed with Olympics Maximum Honey Gold 50/50 every 2 years to give us the newly treated look. Just clean and roll the stain without sanding.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  1 found this review helpful
                  Great stain color
                  Great color for our fence the stain works great
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Buyer beware. Does not protect from water
                  I purchased this to seal my newly installed wood fence. A month later after a little rain the fence was all warped from the water. I followed the directions and even laid it on really heavy and double coated it. I should have realized something was wrong when I noticed how thin and milky it was. I did a small portion with another brand and it did not warp. This stuff does not work and now I ruined my $7k new fence. I'm very unsatisfied does not begin to describe my feelings for this product. They should pull this junks of the market.
                  by
                  Response from Olympic TeamAug 30, 2021
                  Hi there, we're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected and didn't seem to protect from water. We would like to speak with you about the issue you are experiencing. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can further discuss and provide solutions. OlympicPaint
                    13 found this review helpful
                    Don’t buy
                    Don’t waste your money. I ran out of the other brand and bought Olympic Waterguard. I had a little left of the other Brand and then started using Olympic for some pergola parts. I left it to dry for about an hour then it started raining and when I came out, Olympic didn’t repel squat!
                    by
                    Response from Olympic TeamAug 2, 2021
                    Hi there, please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can further assist you with this. Thanks! OlympicPaint
                      7 found this review helpful
                      Nice results!
                      I sprayed 11 sections of dog eared fence panels with my graco sprayer with a 411 tip and it layed down nice. A nice rich but not overpowering cedar tone.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Applied easily, looks beautiful. Hopefully holds up to the Wisconsin weather changes!
                        Applied easily, looks beautiful. Hopefully holds up to the Wisconsin weather changes!
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Color is very orange
                        While I love the convenience of the spray can for small projects, the color did not look like the color on the can. I made 6 birdhouses, and stained the outside of all of them with this. Rather than being any sort of brown, it was a loud, unnatural, screaming pumpkin or rust orange. I wish I'd had the option of maple brown color in the spray can
                        by
                          It's great if you know what to expect
                          I used the transparent woodland cedar stain on a 3mo old pine stockade fence. Like a lot of reviews here, I will also state that the dry stain doesn't match the color advertised on the label. However, I knew they ahead of time from these reviews and I do like the final color. I applied by paint brush and stuck to the 1gal containers. A couple things that I learned along they way: (1) it's tough to mix an unopened container as there's very little air inside. I had better luck pouring out a cup of stain into a paint tray, then shaking container, and then pouring the cup back into the container, and shaking again. Otherwise your first tray will come out thin and you'll end up needing to apply a second coat. (2) you need to shake the container every time you refill your tray because the stain will settle fast and your last tray will be super thick and dark. I've included a before pic, a couple after pics, and one warning pic of what happens if you don't mix the stain continuously during use. I like the color's contrast with the grass, trees, and flowers in my yard and I'm hoping this color lasts for a few years.
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            4 found this review helpful
                            color in can us misleading
                            I wanted a semi transparent color stain to put on my powerwashed cedar fence. I picked the Woodland Cedar because the color on the can was a very natural color. I needed what i measured to be 6 gallons so we bought the 5 gallon bucket and a one gallon can. We started out with the one gallon can and we liked the color. When applying the five gallon bucket it was a more orange color. Not anything like the small can. We bought a second 5 gallon bucket and it was a lighter orange. How do they expect you to get one look when the colors arent equal. Very disappointed but it was too much work to even think of starting over so will live with it.
                            by
                            Response from Olympic TeamMar 15, 2021
                            Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                              • Recommended
                              I'm seeing red!
                              Not the color I was expecting at all. Looks nothing like what's on the can. It's terracotta orange I would say. You've really got to shake this stuff start to finish as indicated in the directions. Or it'll get darker as you go and you'll find globs of paint when pouring out the can. I had blending issues I had to fix. Stuck with this horrible color for 3 years. At least the wood is protected... I hope
                              by
                              Response from Olympic TeamJan 4, 2021
                              Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                                2 found this review helpful
                                Great deck stain
                                I bought a clearance 5 gallon can in June 2020 for $39. Had a 59 degree day in November and decided to get the job done. This stain went on so easy and had great one coat coverage. I used a flat short bristle pad with a extension handle. My deck is approx 850 square feet. When I was done I had about 2 gallons left. Very happy with this product!
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  I used this on a wooden fence. See pictures attached. Good product, but make sure they shake it ...
                                  I used this on a wooden fence. See pictures attached. Good product, but make sure they shake it in the store and follow instructions to stir frequently. I tried it in a garden pump sprayer, but it did not spray well, so I applied with a 4" brush. I liked the final color.
                                  by
                                  • DIY
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  • Recommended
                                  1 found this review helpful
                                  no transparent AT ALL
                                  Looking for a clear sealer for our deck, you can see that is a pink/orange color, not transparente at all as you can see in my photo (I only can upload one). Now I have a 5Gallons can that we dont like and wasted $90. If you want a clear and TRANSPARENT sealer, dont buy this one.
                                  by
                                  Response from Olympic TeamSep 10, 2020
                                  Yes, this product comes in a clear and tinted. The clear stains are your best bet, however they would require more frequent cleanings and applications.  These would be closer to every 6 months or so.  The other stain options are going to add more color/opacity to the finishes. OlympicPaint
                                    2 found this review helpful
                                    This brown stain is far redder than the store palette indicates
                                    I bought this yesterday and was looking for a true brown color. Very red hue. Even redder than Thompson’s autumn brown. So glad I did not get 1 or 5 gal. I guess I will have to experiment with some Cabot products.
                                    by
                                    Response from Olympic TeamAug 24, 2020
                                    Hi there, we're sorry to hear that the color of the stain wasn't as expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                                      I applied this stain/sealer to PT lumbers used as kick board and cap rail for a newly built cedar...
                                      I applied this stain/sealer to PT lumbers used as kick board and cap rail for a newly built cedar privacy fence. It makes those pieces blend in with adjacent cedar pickets. Hopefully it will last a while in terms of color.
                                      by
                                      • Verified Purchase
                                      • Recommended
                                      Definitely NOT acorn brown and definitely NOT semi-transparent.
                                      I just finished spraying my new mailbox post with this and can say that the color is WAY off. The marketing material on the shelf where I picked this up had all of the color pallets and this does NOT match the "acorn brown" patch at all. I figured it would dry lighter and less red but unfortunately I now have a red mailbox post.
                                      by
                                      Response from Olympic TeamJul 27, 2020
                                      We are sorry to hear that the color was not what you expected. Please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET so we can discuss potential solutions and help make this right. Thank you for your feedback. OlympicPaint
                                        Went on smooth, seals well and really like the color. Used for Deck and Fence.
                                        Went on smooth, seals well and really like the color. Used for Deck and Fence.
                                        by
                                        • Verified Purchase
                                        • Recommended
                                        1 found this review helpful
                                        It went on evenky and its an interesting color.
                                        It went on evenky and its an interesting color.
                                        by
                                        • DIY
                                        • Verified Purchase
                                        • Recommended
                                        Price can't be beat for a 5 gallon stain and sealant. Wasn't sure about the color but it came out...
                                        Price can't be beat for a 5 gallon stain and sealant. Wasn't sure about the color but it came out nice. I expected a thinner stain due to it being fully transparent but it dries to a more semi transparent finish.
                                        by
                                        • Verified Purchase
                                        • Recommended
                                        2 found this review helpful
                                        Goes on ORANGE
                                        I thought this would stain our fence the color shown on the can. Nope. It came out very orange. However, after about a week it has toned down some closer to a cedar color. If I had to redo I would not have chosen this color, but it served its purpose.
                                        by
                                          1 found this review helpful
                                          Product amazing!
                                          Product amazing!
                                          by
                                          • Verified Purchase
                                          • Recommended
                                          1 found this review helpful
                                          Terrible Clumped and Tacky
                                          Sprayed out in orange globs. I should have just tried to wipe it off when it was still wet. Now a week later is it still tacky and I tried to sand and fear I may have ruined my antique wood table. I now don’t know how to get this stuff off.
                                          by
                                          Response from Olympic TeamJun 4, 2020
                                          Hey Megan. We're sorry to hear your experience with our stain wasn't what you expected. We are here to further discuss and provide solutions, so please give us a call at 1-800-426-6306 between 8am-5pm ET. OlympicPaint
                                            1 found this review helpful
                                            Showing 1-30 of 1,512 reviews

                                            Frequently Bought Together

                                            +
                                            +
                                            Price:
                                            $8897

                                            Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

                                            current product
                                            Waterguard 5 gal. Clear Wood Sealer
                                            WaterGuard 5 gal. Woodland Cedar Transparent Wood Stain and SealerMaximum 5 gal. Cedar Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCMaximum 5 gal. Redwood Naturaltone Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                                            BrandOlympicOlympicOlympicOlympic
                                            NameWaterguard 5 gal. Clear Wood SealerWaterGuard 5 gal. Woodland Cedar Transparent Wood Stain and SealerMaximum 5 gal. Cedar Exterior Stain and Sealant in One Low VOCMaximum 5 gal. Redwood Naturaltone Exterior Stain and Sealant in One
                                            Price
                                            $9498
                                            $12500
                                            $19400
                                            $20200
                                            Ratings
                                            (1512)
                                            (1458)
                                            (2570)
                                            (2570)
                                            Container Size5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon
                                            TransparencyClearTransparentTransparentTransparent
                                            Paint/Stain FeaturesDries Clear, Mildew Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, WaterproofDries Clear, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, WaterproofLow Temperature, Mildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, WaterproofMildew Resistant, Moisture Resistant, UV/Fade Resistant, Waterproof
                                            Stain & Sealer In OneYesYesYesYes
                                            Base MaterialWater BasedWater BasedWater BasedOil Based
                                            Surface LocationPool DeckPool DeckDeckDeck
                                            Coverage Area (sq. ft.)1750 sq ft1750 sq ft1750 sq ft1750 sq ft
                                            View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product