#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Outdoor Essentials 72 in. x 28.5 in. x 28.5 in. Premium Picnic Table Kit with Hardware included

Internet #312443771

Model #406722

Store SKU #1005143521

  • Picnic table constructed of solid sawn lumber
  • Picnic table legs and tabletop are pre-assembled
  • All hardware included

Customer Reviews

  • 3.8
    out of 193 reviews
  • 67% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 193 reviews
You get what you pay for! There is nothing Premium about this so the name is misleading. That said, I spent a couple of hours with a portable belt sander and a palm sander and made it usable. Some nice stain and it turned out pretty good.
by
Response from UFPI RepresentativeMar 29, 2024
Dear Frans, Outdoor Essentials appreciates you letting us know about your frustrating experience and we value your feedback! If you would like the opportunity to discuss the issue further, please reach out to us at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, referencing this review, and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you.
  • Verified Purchase
this does not work
The truth is, for the price I paid, I expected something much better, the wood is useless, it is chipping and comes broken, the screws are not complete either.
by
Response from UFPI RepresentativeJan 29, 2024
Dear Jessica, We appreciate your business and value your feedback. If you would like the opportunity to discuss the issue further, please reach out to us at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, referencing this review, and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you.
    • Recommended
    1 found this review helpful
    Chunky Pallet Wood
    The kit is wrapped in cardboard so you can't see the splintered pallet wood scraps used to build this table. The parts that are pre-assembled are attached with dozens of cheap box nails that will never last a year outside. Get yourself a flap sanding wheel with an angle grinder and plan on sanding this rustic mess for a couple hours. Probably a good idea to put in some deck screws to replace the box nails. Because this was on sale, it was cheaper than new wood so I kept it.
    by
    Response from UFPI RepresentativeOct 6, 2023
    Dear DeweyD, Outdoor Essentials is sorry to hear this product did not meet your expectations. If you would like the opportunity to discuss the issue further, please reach out to us at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, referencing this review, and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you.
      A little elbow grease with some boiled Linseed oil to protect it and I rank it up there among the 500 dollar sets.
      by
      Response from UFPI RepresentativeAug 15, 2023
      Dear HomeDepotCustomer, Outdoor Essentials appreciates you taking the time to let us know about your experience and values your feedback! If there’s anything else we can help you with, please e-mail our customer service department at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, and one of our representatives will be happy to assist you.
      • Verified Purchase
      As expected
      I could see how some would receive various quality of wood. I feel like I may have gotten lucky! I didn’t have any issue during install. Assembly went together smoothly with no assistance from a helper. Wife picked out a deck stealer color and off we were. Only a one day project, stained and assembled. If you can live with some imperfections (it’s only a picnic table) I think it’s a great purchase.
      by
      Response from UFPI RepresentativeJun 20, 2023
      Dear Michael, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a positive review. Outdoor Essentials really appreciates your business and we're glad that you found the installation process easy. If there is anything else we can do for you, please e-mail our customer service department at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, and one of our representatives will be happy to assist you.
        • Recommended
        Sturdy and looks great!
        This picnic table is great and very sturdy. It was easy to assemble, but it you have an elevated work surface that would make it much easier. It did not come with instructions as the box stated, but I was able to find a YouTube video from the company that walked us through all of the steps.
        by
        Response from UFPI RepresentativeJun 8, 2022
        Dear April, Outdoor Essentials appreciates you taking the time to let us know about your experience! If there’s anything else we can help you with, please e-mail our customer service department at ufpretailcs@ufpi.com.
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        Appreciate 2x6 construction at an affordable price
        This is a solid product that should last for years. Appreciate the tabletop and benches already assembled, just need to mount it to the legs. Spent half a day sanding - we're in AZ and always in shorts :) Am stain painting it and LOVE it!!
        by
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          oops
          Whomever put the picnick table together messed up!
          by
            • Recommended
            1 found this review helpful
            Is this picnic table perfect, No. But we sanded it and built it and stained it. We love how it tu...
            Is this picnic table perfect, No. But we sanded it and built it and stained it. We love how it turned out and it's great for our outdoor space.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended
            1 found this review helpful
            Can’t beat it for 200 bucks!
            Yes the wood has imperfections but they can be fixed. Also our table measured 71x 27 but close enough. It was delivered assembled too so God bless Home Depot! We’re gonna’ do a little sanding and staining. If you’ve priced wooden picnic tables lately you will appreciate how sturdy and affordable this one is. We love it!
            by
              • Recommended
              2 found this review helpful
              The wood is the messed up garbage no one would buy. Paid for delivery and considering returning, ...
              The wood is the messed up garbage no one would buy. Paid for delivery and considering returning, but also lazy.
              by
                5 found this review helpful
                Proud of myself I built the picnic table my husband who would taken weeks to get to was surprised...
                Proud of myself I built the picnic table my husband who would taken weeks to get to was surprised and had to sit on it make sure it was sturdy. Never underestimate a woman with tools.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                5 found this review helpful
                The parts were easy to assemble. The table is beautiful...
                The parts were easy to assemble. The table is beautiful and strong.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                1 found this review helpful
                I believe they make these picnic tables out of the bad lumber that customers toss aside in the st...
                I believe they make these picnic tables out of the bad lumber that customers toss aside in the stores. I thought this would save me time and money, but I spent hours filling the cracks and holes with wood putty and sanding it before I could paint it. Nails that held the table top and benches together were splitting the wood and some were nailed over the edge of the boards so they protruded out. With the help of my 13 year old daughter, we completely, disassembled the table, rounded the ends of the boards, sanded, spray painted, and varnished to make it look like it was built off giant popsicle sticks. The end result looks great, but next time, I'll hand select the lumber and build one from scratch.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                4 found this review helpful
                Very Good
                Nice and easy to installation, Just follow instruction. I put wood stain(golden oak color) before assembled. After stained color, It is Much looking better than original wood color.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Just what I wanted
                  It was easy to assemble and completely met my expectations. I stained the table with Behr exterior solid stain before assembly.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    Disappointing wood quality
                    You can't beat the price of this picnic table, if you can find it. I saw it at my local Home Depot out in front of the store and thought it was a great idea but when I went back the next weekend, they were sold out. I wound up driving an hour to another store just to find one. I was really excited until I opened the package and started putting it together. The wood was of very poor quality with huge cracks. They didn't mention this in the instructions but you will DEFINITELY want to do a really good sanding of the wood prior to putting it together. And you NEED a power sander to do so.
                    by
                      2 found this review helpful
                      It’s perfeft because it’s not perfect.
                      Some pieces had holes that weren’t fully drilled, some planks were a bit crooked, I had to sand some mold, and I stained the wood with Ready Seal Natural Cedar. I used about $15 worth of stain with two coats. Overall it was a fun project that my friend and I completed in a few hours (including the stain curing time). In the end, the picnic table looks and feels great. My whole family loves it. Embrace the imperfections and you will really like this picnic table.
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        6 found this review helpful
                        Missing bolt holes and covered in black mold
                        Missing at least 8 holes that were supposed to be pre-drilled according to the instructions. Some of the holes that are drilled are going right through rotted-out eyes in the wood, so bolts can't be tightened without pulling through. Speaking of rotten wood, this thing is a health hazard -- it's covered in black, green, and white mold colonies. I started getting a scratchy throat and coughing from all the spores while assembling. What a joke!
                        by
                        Response from UFPI RepresentativeMar 29, 2024
                        Dear Taylor, Outdoor Essentials appreciates you letting us know about your frustrating experience and we value your feedback! If you would like the opportunity to discuss the issue further, please reach out to us at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, referencing this review, and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you.
                          For the price of the product - the table is excellent. We painted it and it is on our hill outside.
                          by
                          Response from UFPI RepresentativeJan 5, 2024
                          Dear Charlie, Thank you for sharing your experience with Outdoor Essentials. We truly value your feedback and appreciate you taking the time to let us know. If there's anything else we can assist you with, please don't hesitate to reach out to our customer service department at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com. Our dedicated representatives are here to help and will be more than happy to assist you.
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Went together as directions said, wood was much nicer than expected after reading prior reviews. All the hardware was present but will probably add a few 3 1/2 deck screws to add support. Painted with Verathane to protect it somewhat. Only a month old and exceeded expectations.
                          by
                          Response from UFPI RepresentativeDec 12, 2023
                          Dear MGH, We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with Outdoor Essentials and providing feedback on our Premium Picnic Table with Hardware. Your input is highly valued by us. If you have any further questions or require assistance with anything else, please don't hesitate to contact our customer service department at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com. Our friendly representatives are here to assist you and will be more than happy to help.
                          • Verified Purchase
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          Horrible quality
                          These tables were a complete let down. Most of the wood was damaged, nails were not on correctly and some were even sticking through the wood. Some of the wood unfortunately had termites in it so I will be returning these tables. You are better off picking your own wood to make your own tables.
                          by
                          Response from UFPI RepresentativeNov 28, 2023
                          Dear Claude, thank you for choosing Outdoor Essential Products. We greatly appreciate your business and highly value your feedback regarding your experience with the picnic table kit you received. If you would like to further discuss the issue, please do not hesitate to contact us at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com. Please make sure to reference this review, and one of our dedicated customer service representatives will be more than happy to assist you promptly.
                            • Recommended
                            Can’t wait to order more
                            by
                            Response from UFPI RepresentativeNov 15, 2023
                            Dear John, Outdoor Essentials appreciates you taking the time to let us know about your experience! If there’s anything else that we can help you with, please e-mail our customer service department at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, and one of our representatives will be happy to assist you.
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Decent for the price, but the quality of the wood can be hit and miss. Had to do a lot of sanding and filing to reduce splinters and roughness.
                            by
                            Response from UFPI RepresentativeNov 9, 2023
                            Dear Albert, we appreciate your business and value your feedback on this picnic table. If you would like the opportunity to discuss the issue further, please reach out to us at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, referencing this review, and one of our customer service representatives will be happy to assist you.
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Some leg holes not drilled in the right place. No Biggie. I have a drill. Can't beat the price.
                            by
                            Response from UFPI RepresentativeNov 2, 2023
                            Dear Crescent City, Outdoor Essentials appreciates you taking the time to let us know about your experience with this picnic table and values your feedback! If there’s anything else that we can help you with, please e-mail our customer service department at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, and one of our representatives will be happy to assist you.
                            • Verified Purchase
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            You get what you pay for! Definitely gets the job done! We used them for a huge family event and they held up well!
                            by
                            Response from UFPI RepresentativeOct 11, 2023
                            Dear STEVEN, Outdoor Essentials appreciates you taking the time to let us know about your experience and values your feedback! If there’s anything else we can help you with, please e-mail our customer service department at CustomerService@OutdoorEssentialProducts.com, and one of our representatives will be happy to assist you.
                            • Verified Purchase
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            Showing 1-30 of 193 reviews

                            Frequently Bought Together

                            +
                            +
                            Price: