#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #202647811

Model #FDXMHMW

Store SO SKU #1000525035

Metro Hex Matte White 10-1/4 in. x 11-7/8 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (8.65 sq. ft. /Case)

$9.49 /sq. ft.
Covers 8.65 sq. ft.
$82.09 /case
  • Matte white hexagon porcelain mosaic floor and wall tile
  • Tile for floors, backsplashes, bathrooms, showers and kitchens
  • Waterproof floor and wall tile for indoor and outdoor use
  • View More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$8209

Product Overview

Transform your home into a tribute to retro design with the Merola Tile Metro Hex Matte White 10-1/4 in. x 11-3/4 in. x 6 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile. This time-tested classic hexagon chip mosaic is a throwback to traditional retro design. Matte white hexagons are precisely arranged on an interlocking mesh to create a seamless installation. This minimalistic porcelain mosaic is frost-resistant and ADA-compliant, making this an excellent choice for a modern installation or historic renovation. If pairing with other products in our Metro Hex series, please consider that all formats and thicknesses may not be the same.
  • 8.56 sq. ft., 10 pieces per case, weight is 17.5 lbs.
  • Grade 1, first-quality porcelain tile for floor and wall use
  • 10.25 in. width x 11.75 in. length x 6 mm thick mesh-mounted mosaic. 0.88 in. W x 0.88 in. L hexagon pieces
  • Glazed, slightly textured finish with a low sheen and uniform appearance in tone
  • P.E.I. rating IV has high resistance to abrasion and is suitable for heavy-duty residential and commercial kitchens, hotels, exhibition and sales rooms with some dirt conditions
  • Impervious flooring has water absorption of less than 0.5% for indoor and outdoor use and is frost resistant
  • C.O.F. greater than .60 to .79 is required for commercial applications to meet or exceed ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) Guidelines
  • Completely frost and skid-resistant for indoor or outdoor applications; use a latex-modified thinset for acceptable bond strength
  • Commercial and residential use
  • Don't forget your coordinating trim pieces, grout, backerboard, thinset and installation tools
  • All online orders for this item ship via parcel ground and may arrive in multiple boxes
  • Recommended you purchase a minimum of 10% overage to account for design cuts and patterns
  • Each line item within an order will be selected from a single dye lot (color) and caliber (size), but multiple orders can result in receiving multiple dye lots and/or calibers; please ensure that all tile for a project is obtained within 1 order
  • All ceramic / porcelain and natural stone tile within coordinating series may be produced at different times which can cause variation in dye lot (color) and caliber (size) which is authentic to tile
  • Before you begin an installation, familiarize yourself with cost factors. This Project Cost Guide can assist you in budgeting for your tile project.
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Porcelain Tile

Metro 2 in. Hex Glossy White 11-1/8 in. x 12-5/8 in. Porcelain Mosaic (9.96 sq. ft. /Case)
current product
Metro Hex Matte White 10-1/4 in. x 11-7/8 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (8.65 sq. ft. /Case)
Metro Hex Matte White with Black Dot 10-1/4"x11-7/8" x 6mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (8.65 sq. ft. / Case)Hudson Penny Round Matte White 12 in. x 12-5/8 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (10.74 sq. ft. / case)
BrandMerola TileMerola TileMerola TileMerola Tile
NameMetro 2 in. Hex Glossy White 11-1/8 in. x 12-5/8 in. Porcelain Mosaic (9.96 sq. ft. /Case)Metro Hex Matte White 10-1/4 in. x 11-7/8 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (8.65 sq. ft. /Case)Metro Hex Matte White with Black Dot 10-1/4"x11-7/8" x 6mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (8.65 sq. ft. / Case)Hudson Penny Round Matte White 12 in. x 12-5/8 in. x 5 mm Porcelain Mosaic Tile (10.74 sq. ft. / case)
Price
$6962
/case
$8209
/case
$8641
/case
$11146
/case
Ratings
(78)
(191)
(189)
(382)
Approximate Tile Size11x1311x1211x1212x13
Tile MaterialPorcelainPorcelainPorcelainPorcelain
Indoor/OutdoorIndoor,OutdoorIndoor,OutdoorIndoor,OutdoorIndoor,Outdoor
Commercial / ResidentialResidentialCommercial / ResidentialCommercial / ResidentialCommercial / Residential
LocationBacksplash,Bathroom,Kitchen,Patio,ShowerBacksplash,Bathroom,Kitchen,ShowerBacksplash,Bathroom,Kitchen,ShowerBacksplash,Bathroom,Kitchen,Shower
Tile FinishGlossyMatteMatteMatte
Mosaic PatternHoneycombHoneycombHoneycombPenny
Flooring LookStone LookStone LookStone LookStone Look
Tile FeaturesChemical Resistant,Frost Resistant,Radiant/Underfloor Warming HeatingChemical Resistant,Frost Resistant,Meets A.D.A. Requirements,Radiant/Underfloor Warming HeatingChemical Resistant,Frost Resistant,Meets A.D.A. Requirements,Radiant/Underfloor Warming HeatingChemical Resistant,Frost Resistant,Meets A.D.A. Requirements,Radiant/Underfloor Warming Heating
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Approximate Tile Size
11x12
Mosaic Sub Unit Length (in.)
0.97
Mosaic Sub Unit Width (in.)
0.97
Product Length (in.)
11.88 in
Product Thickness (mm)
5 mm
Product Width (in.)
10.25 in
Suggested Grout Line Size
1/8

Details

Application Location
Floor and Wall
Break Strength (lb.)
225 lb
Color Family
White
Color/Finish
White/Low Sheen
Commercial / Residential
Commercial / Residential
Edge Type
Pressed
Flooring Look
Stone Look
Flooring Product Type
Mosaic Tile
Indoor/Outdoor
Indoor,Outdoor
Installation Method
Mortar
Location
Backsplash,Bathroom,Kitchen,Shower
Minimum Acclimation Period
No Acclimation Required
Mosaic Pattern
Honeycomb
Number of Tiles per Case
10
Returnable
90-Day
Style
Mid-Century,Modern
Tile Features
Chemical Resistant,Frost Resistant,Meets A.D.A. Requirements,Radiant/Underfloor Warming Heating
Tile Finish
Matte
Tile Format
Mosaic
Tile Material
Porcelain
Water Protection
Waterproof

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
None

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 191 reviews
  • 86% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 191 reviews
read this before purchasing!
The packaging and backing varies on this product. The backing on one allows the outer tiles to move so you have to adjust those tiles when setting. the backing in the hex cutout packaging was way better, no loose tiles in that one. MAKE SURE TO GET THE CARTON WITH THE HEX CUTOUT ON IT FOR THE BETTER BACKING. Also be sure to check every piece, I had a few that had missing glaze in spots.
by
Response from MerolaTile Customer CareApr 29, 2021
Hi! We are sorry to hear about your experience with our Metro Hex Matte White with Black Dot We have forwarded your comments to the appropriate teams who will pursue any necessary remedies to ensure the quality of this product. If you have any other questions or concerns please contact us at 1-800-963-7652.
  • Pro
  • Recommended
7 people found this helpful
Was easy to work with
Love how it looks. Used on my shower floor and looks amazing
by
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Excellent quality. Excellent value....
Excellent quality. Excellent value.
by
  • Verified Purchase
I ordered these tiles to put over a shower stall I bought at the home depot a while ago. These t...
I ordered these tiles to put over a shower stall I bought at the home depot a while ago. These tiles math the tiles on the floor and look good. They were easy to install. Picture attached.
by
  • DIY
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
Perfect
We wanted a tile that fit the age and style of our home. This tile is the perfect vintage look. The install was easy but need to be sure squares are going in the same direction for the pattern. We used dark gray grout. Love the look.
by
Response from MerolaTile Customer CareDec 12, 2018
Hi Karen,

We’re glad to hear that our Metro Hex Matte White with Black Dot worked out for your installation, your bathroom came out looking delightful! We feel that this classic hexagon pattern has just enough flare to make a statement, but not enough to overpower the room it’s in. Our goal is to provide only the best for our customers, and we’re so happy this worked out for you. Thank you for the feedback!
    • Recommended
    4 people found this helpful
    We used the merola metro hex and metro square in white and green to create our new bathroom floor...
    We used the merola metro hex and metro square in white and green to create our new bathroom floor. We love it! Tile was easy to work with and cut and we're very pleased with the final product. I do wish there was a gloss finish option with these tiles.
    by
    Response from MerolaTile Customer CareAug 30, 2018
    Hi Kassandra,

    We’re glad to hear that our Metro Hex Matte White, and other Metro series items worked for your installation, your bathroom looks one of a kind! The combination of both matte white and matte light green chips provides a fresh take on the bordered tile floors. Our goal is to provide only the best for our customers, and we’re so happy this worked out for you. Thank you for the feedback!
      • Recommended
      2 people found this helpful
      Looks very nice. We are very happy with it. It feels very sturdy.
      Looks very nice. We are very happy with it. It feels very sturdy.
      by
      Response from MerolaTile Customer CareJul 20, 2018
      Hi Chris,

      We’re glad to hear that our Metro Hex Matte White with Black Dot worked out for your installation, your bathroom looks delightful. We feel that the black mosaic chips really add dimension and make your lavender walls pop! Our goal is to provide only the best for our customers, and we’re so happy this worked out for you. Thank you for the feedback!
        • Recommended
        Small Bathroom
        We bought this tile for our small bathroom in our basement. It turned out awesome! We did light gray grout to keep it from being too busy
        by
          • Recommended
          1 person found this helpful
          This tile looks exactly as pictured and is incredibly beautiful when installed!! The only reason ...
          This tile looks exactly as pictured and is incredibly beautiful when installed!! The only reason for 4 stars vs 5 stars - is several (most) of the tiles would pop off the backing when cut with a tile saw. We would purchase again, just add in extra time for this issue.
          by
            • Recommended
            1 person found this helpful
            The metro hex snowflake and metro black were great, but the metro hex white was not. The white t...
            The metro hex snowflake and metro black were great, but the metro hex white was not. The white tiles did not match up to the snowflake and black due to a manufacturing error. The individual tiles were spaced too close together and the individual tiles were thicker making them completing incompatible with the snowflake and black hex. Merola customer service was very helpful and sent me more tile. I made a new design using the snowflake tile, but then with extra snowflake tile sent by Merola, I made more plain white tile. It was not difficult to do, but it was a little tedious. The problem with the white hex did delay my project for about 4 days, but other than that the solutions we came up with worked and my floor looks amazing!
            by
              4 people found this helpful
              This product is absolutely gorgeous. I had a very specific idea in my mind for my bathroom and t...
              This product is absolutely gorgeous. I had a very specific idea in my mind for my bathroom and this tile was the foundation for that creation. It came out exactly as I had envisioned it would, stunning! The floor lays very nicely whether you are installing by the 10 1/4" x11 3/4" sheets or one by one with individual hexagons--we did both--very easy to work with and it's very impressive when laid out. I cut out individual hexagons to make my own custom design in the floor because pre made designs of this type were a bit busy for my small bathroom; I figured making my own design would allow me to calibrate the black to white ratio to my personal liking. I could not be happier with the result. My bathroom is striking to all who see it; I have gotten countless compliments from the moment it was done. It cleans up easily, looks amazing, is very nicely priced... such a small price for such a big result! I highly recommend this product without hesitation.
              by
                • Recommended
                16 people found this helpful
                Looks even better installed
                Installed in a small bathroom. I wanted a touch of accent in an otherwise mainly white tiled room. The flex sheet of small tiles makes working around things so easy. Going with black grout (on the floor) - can't wait for the finished result
                by
                • DIY
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                1 person found this helpful
                Terrific tile
                This tile was a perfect choice for our downstairs guest bathroom in our 1902 house. The look was exactly what we wanted, and the gray grout gives just the right amount of contrast without being washed out (white grout) or too busy (black grout). The tile was relatively easy to work with - mosaic tile is more fussy than most, but this was no worse than any other, and the finished results were just what we wanted. We had the product shipped directly to the store for pick-up, and that worked without a hitch.
                by
                • DIY
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                2 people found this helpful
                We're very happy
                I love the look of this tile and my contractor tells me that the quality is good. He did say, however, that the hex shape made it harder to grout and to clean the grout from the tiles. And I thought I was picking out something easy and simple! Regardless, it was worth the extra time and money because we love our new floor. It's classy and fresh looking while still timeless. Perfect.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                2 people found this helpful
                Thrilled!
                We wanted a classic look for our new bathroom. We went to a tile showroom, and we got an estimate of $4000 ! Then we went to Home Depot, got all the tile for about $800, this includes a fully tiled oversized shower. In addition, we love all the cute hexagon patterns that were available (the fancy tile store did not offer that). I didn't have to install it, but the guys were able to do it quickly, so I guess it was pretty easy.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                15 people found this helpful
                Perfect
                Perfect tile flooring for my bathroom and great fit for my style. Had professional install whom didn't have any trouble. Very happy with the result and look.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  4 people found this helpful
                  My bathroom floor turned out beautifully!
                  This tile worked out really well. It looks great and was easy to install. I "popped" out all the black tiles and inserted a beautiful green tile made by the same company that perfectly matched my bathroom wall tiles. Looks like a custom job!
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    10 people found this helpful
                    Keep coming back for more.
                    This is a wonderful tile that is very easy to install, looks great and adds instant charm. We used it first in a powder room remodel (see attached image) and have already used it again for a Master Bath remodel. Perfect for our home and budget!
                    by
                    Response from MerolaTile Customer SupportJan 19, 2015
                    Hi Timothy,

                    We’re so happy to hear that you decided to use our Metro Hex tile in more than one remodeling project. Your powder room looks great! We love seeing how customers use our tiles and are glad you included a photo to show it off to other customers. Great job!
                    • DIY
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    9 people found this helpful
                    Love this tile!
                    I did not do the install, but it's my understanding that hex tile isn't the easiest to install because of all the pieces, even though they come in sections. That said, the sections held together very well, and nothing was broken. I was able to return the extra case that I bought just in case. I love the look of this tile! I wasn't sure if I wanted the matte finish or glossy. I ended up choosing matte because I heard glossy can be slippery when wet. Not sure if that's true, but I don't regret the matte finish -- it looks really nice!
                    by
                    • DIY
                    • Recommended
                    8 people found this helpful
                    Good Price, watch for pattern errors
                    I bought this tile for my kitchen. The house was built in 1913 and the kitchen is small, and like everything in an old house, nothing is straight. We decided to go with a mosaic floor because it would be more forgiving of the way the floor slants and the edges don't line up than a large tile. I was a little worried the tile would be too busy but seeing it on the floor with the white cabinets it looks great. A small rug in front of the sink (or shower if it is a bathroom) will break it up enough to keep the pattern from hurting your eyes. I installed the tile AFTER the cabinet install, mostly to save money on tile. We put the subfloor and backerboard down first, had the cabinets installed with a quarter inch shim, and did tile last. It worked great and saved me probably two or three hundred dollars. This was our first tile install, so I won't say we were experts at it but there were a few problems not caused by our lack of experience. Basically we had a 9/10 quality control on the tile. I bought nine cases and at least one sheet in each case was off in some way. For some of these it was something in the size- no matter how we adjusted it during the dry lay the piece didn't fit, but using another piece would work fine. These pieces we "rejected" and then used on the edges or under the appliances where we didn't care as much. For other pieces, the actual pattern was wrong. The black tile would be in the wrong place, or missing entirely. The good news is that you can rip the tiles off the netting and reset them, so with some of these we were still able to use the piece. But you have to PAY ATTENTION and honestly, when you are so focused on getting the tiles in the right place, you aren't always looking at the pattern. I highly recommend a full dry lay, and inspect each sheet. We laid the tile in a staggered pattern rather than a grid, and I highly recommend it. The pattern makes you want to lay a grid, because it is the easiest way to keep the pattern correct. Resist the urge. Slide the next row of tile down four hexagons so the pattern stays but the pieces stagger. Doing this made the tile more forgiving and easier to micro-adjust. We used a pair of tile nippers to cut our tiles where we needed an edge, and generally they worked fine. A few tiles broke, but nothing more than you would expect. It was wonderful not to have to saw anything. The biggest complaint that I have about the tile seems silly, but it was the packaging. I understand that the tiles need to be protected during packaging and shipping. But I bought nine cases of this tile - that is 90 sheets of it. Each sheet is individually wrapped so it can be sold by the sheet. We spent almost an hour unwrapping the tile, and the pile of waste we created makes my heart hurt. Luckily it is mostly recyclable, but still. It seems there should be a better way to sell the tile by the case that doesn't involve buying cases packaged to sell by the sheet. It was such a waste - of packaging and of my time to sit there and open each one. Overall I would recommend the tile. Buy extra (you should always buy extra) to account for the pieces that don't fit. Do a dry lay. For a first timer it was easy - tedious - but easy to lay and cut. It took us about three hours to dry lay and about six or seven to actually do it.
                    by
                    • DIY
                    • Recommended
                    14 people found this helpful
                    well packaged and easy to install
                    These tiles were well protected in packaging and installed very easily and look great, very happy we used these.
                    by
                    • DIY
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 person found this helpful
                    Just what my client was looking for
                    We were looking for a classic 1" matte hex tile. The store only carried the gloss, which is not the best material to use on a wet bathroom floor. The product was shipped quickly and we picked it up at our local store. I received a text message and email the day it arrived. We installed the tile and the client loves her new retro floor!
                    by
                    • Pro
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    8 people found this helpful
                    Overall this is a beautiful tile for a great price
                    We used a light gray grout wit this tile and it looks fantastic. We have it on our shower and bathroom floor.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    4 people found this helpful
                    Beautiful tile!
                    Had the tile professionally installed so I can't really comment on the ease of installation. We used black (Charcoal) grout and it came out beautifully!
                    by
                    • DIY
                    • Recommended
                    5 people found this helpful
                    Great vintage look
                    This is exactly what I was looking for! We just remodeled our bathroom in our home that was built in 1923 and this tile is perfect! Our contractor did say it was a little difficult to work with, but it's the vintage look I was going for! He used unsanded grout.
                    by
                    • Pro
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    14 people found this helpful
                    poor consistency
                    I ordered 7 cases. I opened the first one upon arrival and every sheet had flaws. Some had chipped pieces others had horrible spacing irregularities. Some of the tiles are almost touching. I'm returning the entire order, no way I'm going to sort through 6 more cases if the first one was complete garbage!
                    by
                    Response from THD Customer ServiceJan 22, 2014
                    Hi Mike, I did reach out to the MFG for more information on this issue and below is their response to you. We are sorry to hear of the experience you had with your order. We did take a look at the photo you attached, and determined that the uneven spacing you saw was due to the plastic sheeting that is shrink-wrapped over the mosaic sheets. At the corners, there can sometimes be some bunching of the mesh due to the plastic pulling it tight. We wrap the sheets tightly so as to reduce shipping damages. Once the mosaic sheet is taken off the cardboard backing and the plastic is removed, the sheet will lay flat with even spacing. We cross-checked this with sheets pulled from several cases in the warehouse and were able to determine that the spacing is correct once the sheets are unwrapped. As far as chipping goes, we apologize for the inconvenience. We do our best to ensure that products come in pristine condition, but occasionally there is some damage. Any damaged products can be replaced quickly Hope this helps.
                    • DIY
                    1 person found this helpful
                    We used a professional installer. We love our new Bathroom!!
                    We love our new Bathroom!! Now waiting for "frameless" glass shower enclosure.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      11 people found this helpful
                      Beautiful tile, great value
                      I love this tile as it goes perfectly with the feel of my 1950's small bathroom. I had heard that it could be difficult to install, especially if there were a lot of cuts needed, so I had it professionally done. It cleans well and the matte finish looks great! I highly recommend this tile.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      5 people found this helpful
                      Great product
                      We love the look of the small hexagon tiles. It gave our bathroom a unique look on the floor just what we were going for. Couldn't be happier.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      3 people found this helpful
                      by
                        Showing 1-30 of 191 reviews