#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #308291900

Model #461326405

Store SKU #1004113266

1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer

$2151
  • Starts working immediately with visible results in 15 minutes
  • Use on walkways, driveways, under trees and in landscape beds
  • Kills all types of weeds and grasses
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

++
Price:
$2151

Product Overview

GroundClear - Speed You Can Trust

PRODUCES VISIBLE RESULTS IN 15 MINUTES!

Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer acts on contact - see results in 15 minutes. Specially formulated to kill all types of weeds and moss (see label for complete list) that are green and growing. OMRI listed for organic use.

For Use On Patios Landscape Beds and Vegetable Gardens.

TARGET BROADLEAF WEEDS, GRASSES, AND OTHER WEEDS

Use Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer to get rid of weeds or grasses on walkways, driveways, under trees, and in landscape beds.

Product in use.

READY-TO-USE WEED AND GRASS KILLER

For best results, apply Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer on a warm, sunny day and re-apply every 2 to 3 weeks. Apply any time of year when weeds are small and actively growing.

See Results in 15 Minutes

ACTS ON CONTACT

Start to see results in 15 minutes. See label for full instructions.

Start Image

START

Use to kill actively growing weeds.

After 15 Minutes Image

AFTER 15 MINUTES

Fast-acting spray produces visible results in 15 minutes.

After 2.5 Hours Image

AFTER 2.5 HOURS

Ortho Groundclear Weed & Grass Killer - speed you can trust.

Sun Icon

WHEN TO USE

Apply any time of year when weeds are small and actively growing.

Weed Icon

HOW IT WORKS

Formulated to effectively kill any plants/weeds that are green and growing.

Walkway Icon

WHERE TO USE

For outdoor use only. Use on walkways and driveways, under trees, and in landscape beds.

Kills Moss! Icon

KILLS MOSS

Kills moss and many other weeds. See label for complete list.

Rainproof Icon

RAINPROOF

Rainproof in 2 hours (upon drying).

OMRI Icon

OMRI LISTED

OMRI listed for organic use.

Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer has been specifically formulated to kill all types of weeds that are green and growing. Use it to kill weeds on hardscapes, in landscape beds, and around vegetable gardens. The fast-acting spray produces visible results in just 15 minutes! Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer is OMRI listed. For organic gardening.
  • Acts on contact see results in 15-minutes
  • Ortho GroundClear weed and grass killer works on all types of weeds and grasses
  • OMRI listed for organic gardening
  • Rainproof in 2-hours (upon drying)
  • Use on hardscapes, landscape beds and around vegetable gardens (apply directly to weeds)

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Organic Weed Killer

current product
1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer
128 oz. 20% Vinegar Weed Killer and 32 oz. Professional Spray BottleExclusiveDeadweed Brew RTU Gal Battery Powered Sprayer128 oz. All-Natural Weed and Grass Killer Ready-To-Use No Glyphosate
BrandOrthoHarris Natural Armor
Name1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer128 oz. 20% Vinegar Weed Killer and 32 oz. Professional Spray BottleDeadweed Brew RTU Gal Battery Powered Sprayer128 oz. All-Natural Weed and Grass Killer Ready-To-Use No Glyphosate
Price
$2151
$2333
$2497
$3098
Ratings
(1761)
(79)
(85)
(8)
Concentrated or Ready to UseReady to useReady to useReady to useReady to use
OrganicOrganicOrganicOrganicOrganic
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size (oz.)
128
Coverage Area (sq. ft)
300
Product Depth (in.)
4.875
Product Height (in.)
12
Product Width (in.)
9

Details

Application Method
Wand
Application Type
Spray
Area of Use
Driveway,Garden,Landscape Bed,Patio
Compatible Grass Type
All Purpose
Concentrated or Ready to Use
Ready to use
Contact or systemic
Contact
Container type
Bottle
Emergent Type
Post-Emergent
Equivalent ready to use amount
128 oz
Extended Control
Non-Extended Control
Features
Kills Common Weeds
Form
Liquid
Indoor/Outdoor
Outdoor
Natural
Natural
Organic
Yes
Organic
Organic
Pack Size
1
Primary Active Ingredient
5.0% Ammonium Nonanoate
Returnable
90-Day
Safe for Edibles
No
Spray Application Type
Powered
Weed Type
Annual Bluegrass,Bermuda Grass,Bitter Cress,Cocklebur,Common Chickweed,Crabgrass,Dandelion,Horseweed,Lambsquarters,Mallow,Marestail,Moneywort,Morning Glory,Moss,Mouse-Ear Chickweed,Mustard,Nimblewill,Oxalis,Pigweed,Plantain,Ragweed,Shepards Purse,Wild Onion,Wood Sorrel

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 1,761 reviews
  • 76% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,761 reviews
This worked for me, we had ignored our paver firepit...
This worked for me, we had ignored our paver firepit and it got overgrown.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Not the right product.
Applied after reading indications. 1 g to about 20 sq ft. Seems like it acted as a fertilizer cause it didn't kill one seedling of poison oak. They are growing.
by
Response from Consumer ServicesOct 12, 2021
JP, we're sorry to hear Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer didn't work as expected. This version of GroundClear will not control poison ivy. We recommend using Ortho GroundClear Poison Ivy & Tough Brush Killer instead. Reach out to us here for assistance with our product guarantee: https://tinyurl.com/y7rzdow6
    Ortho Ground clear Weed& Grass Killer Ready to Use
    [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I really like Ortho Ground Clear Weed and Grass Killer Ready To Use. I definitely recommend this product to everyone. I have tried some other products that didn't work.I am so glad to find this incredible product. I love that this product is definitely complete all in one. I like that I don't have to buy chemicals and mix them. This product is completely ready to use with out any mixing, measuring, and don't have to worry did I put in to much or to little. Also love that it starts working instantly and you can see results in little as 15 minutes. So if you are like me tired of trying to kill weeds and grass popping up where it shouldn't be like flower beds,brick steps just grab this product and no more weeds and grass there. I love that this product frees up so much time and I don't have to get down to pull weeds and grass out. I love landscaping my yard and thanks to this product I don't have no worries just point and spray and no more weeds and grass. Definitely new must have for my yard and flowers. You are going to love it to..
    by
      • Recommended
      Killer stuff!
      [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The Orthe Grondclear Weed & Grass Killer Ready to Use means business! I live in Arizona and a lot of my from yard is rock. We get lot of weeds and grass breakthrough, especially this time of year and this really helps me stay on top of it and prep for Spring and planting flowers in my beds. I also use it in the backyard where I have grass and other flower beds. I can always count on Ortho products to just kill the weeds I want and not the good grass. The container is the perfect size with an easy to carry handle and sprayer that snaps on the side. Love it! Definitely grab some for your yard and garden needs.
      by
        • Recommended
        Fast working on unwanted weeds
        [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received Ortho groundclear a week or two ago and was just waiting for a nice day to go and try it out! Got to love the trigger wand that gets the groundclear right where you want it and not everywhere else including on yourself. Checked on the weeds after fifteen minutes and they started getting a white haze on them, so I knew I put Ortho groundclear spray right where I needed to put it. I also have some spring lillie's right next to where the weeds are and they were untouched. I checked the next day and the weeds are shriveled and brown and my spring plants are fine. Thank you so much Ortho and Scott's!!!!!
        by
          • Recommended
          Easy to Apply with Fast Results
          [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] There was no need wasting time pumping up a sprayer. The spray nozzle/wand of the ORTHO container is very innovated and is battery operated which made the application very simple. Results of “burn down” were seen within one day after treatment with very definitive results within three days after treatment.
          by
            • Recommended
            excellent results and fast
            [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] the size and packaging is perfect easy to use and very effective I love how quickly it works without unpleasant odors I am really very satisfied it is a great product my opinion is based on my personal experience
            by
              • Recommended
              Worked in 2days
              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I put the product down on Sunday. By Tuesday I could see a difference as shown in the pictures. I also used it to kill the weeds in my driveway, brick walkway, and rose garden. All weeds dried up and fading away. The hard, dry dirt makes it difficult to dig out weeds. One shot and done.
              by
                • Recommended
                Works great
                This kills everything it touches! I was careful to only apply it to weed and not my flowers or bushes. I did apply it to weeds that grow right next to flowers and bushes with success ... and without killing the other plants. The weeds shrivel up and die and do not come back. However, I have a long term weed problem and will be reapplying this to the new growth- I’m sure there is at least 1 season of reseeding I have to deal with before I eradicate the hairy bittercress colony in my garden.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  2 people found this helpful
                  Works
                  Works
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Killed everything it was sprayed on in the yard. Good product.
                  Killed everything it was sprayed on in the yard. Good product.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  3 people found this helpful
                  waste of money
                  The concentrate works great , been using it for years Doesn’t stink like round up and would kill and keep dead the Weeds you used it on. Almost every weed I sprayed with this stuff grew back a week later it’s a waste of money and ridiculous of course can’t find the consentrate in any store ! I’m guessing the consentrate works too good so they can’t make money! You can find it online though at twice the cost?!
                  by
                  Response from Ortho TeamAug 6, 2020
                  We are sorry that the Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer Ready-to-Use did not control the weeds as expected. To get the best results from any weed control, be sure to apply the product when your daytime high temperatures are consistently between 65 to 85 deg;F (18 to 29 deg;C). For best results, the night time temperatures should be consistently above 50°F (10°C). Lower temperatures will cause the product to work slower. This product is not systemic, but kills off the top of weeds thoroughly treated at the time of application. This product will only kill weeds that are actively growing at the time of application and cannot prevent new weeds from germinating. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Ortho
                    • Recommended
                    Works great - effective on most weed
                    Works great - effective on most weed
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 person found this helpful
                    My perennial garden was overrun with grass and weeds. This product has saved my garden and made ...
                    My perennial garden was overrun with grass and weeds. This product has saved my garden and made me a happy gardener again!
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 person found this helpful
                    I applied Ortho 1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer to a section of my yard to ...
                    I applied Ortho 1 Gal. Ready-to-Use Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer to a section of my yard to prepare it for a flowerbed. After application, I noticed it started working in a few hours. The grass and weeds were fully killed by morning and I was able to start clearing the area. This product has a very strong scent so you may want to wear a mask when using. However, It really works quickly and I would buy it again.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 people found this helpful
                    Used darn near Whole bottle in a small small area, and still grass and weeds
                    Used darn near Whole bottle in a small small area, and still grass and weeds
                    by
                    Response from Ortho TeamAug 30, 2020
                    We are sorry that Ortho Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer did not perform as expected. It is important to use this product when weeds are young and tender, as mature weeds will be more difficult to control. Ortho is dedicated to delivering a high quality product at a value price, so please give us the opportunity to address this issue with you. Please reach out to us at 877-220-3089. Ortho
                    • Verified Purchase
                    1 person found this helpful
                    At first glance comes with a ready to use sprayer, no mix, no mess just plug in and go! I was Ver...
                    At first glance comes with a ready to use sprayer, no mix, no mess just plug in and go! I was Very pleased with how fast the product worked. It helped rid me of grass in my rock. Just wish it could help keep seeds out haha thanks for a great product.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    1 person found this helpful
                    Did not work..
                    Weeds were sprayed thoroughly, and looked like they were going to die, but never did. Now re growing after 4 weeks. Never killed the roots. The weed in the picture was completely soaked on every leaf. Have used the grey bottle version in years past with good success. This product flat out didn't work on multiple types of weeds..
                    by
                    Response from Consumer ServicesJun 19, 2020
                    Mark, we're sorry to hear Ortho Groundclear Weed & Grass Killer didn't control the weeds as expected. For best results, Groundclear should be applied when the weeds are still young and tender. We'd like to assist you with our product guarantee. Please contact us here: https://tinyurl.com/y8dezzvq
                      Will not kill for 3 month weeds are coming back after a couple of weeks.
                      Will not kill for 3 month weeds are coming back after a couple of weeks.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      3 people found this helpful
                      This stuff is amazing. I used it one day and the next day i actually started seeing results that ...
                      This stuff is amazing. I used it one day and the next day i actually started seeing results that was crazy.
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      2 people found this helpful
                      Great product! Saw results within a few days after application - highly recommend this product!
                      Great product! Saw results within a few days after application - highly recommend this product!
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      1 person found this helpful
                      Two Comments
                      I used this product attempting to illuminate grass growing in the cracks in my paver patio. Comment #1 It didn’t kill the grass Comment #2 It stained my Pavers an ugly white and I can’t get it off!
                      by
                        Initially I thought it worked great as the driveway weeds keeled over in 20 minutes and and the n...
                        Initially I thought it worked great as the driveway weeds keeled over in 20 minutes and and the next day appeared to be totally dead. A week later the exact same weeds were greening up again! I believe it only kills the top and not the root. Now I spray the weeds for the joy of seeing them go down so quickly, then overlay them with Groundclear Vegetation Killer 1-year. The later is effective but slow to kill. Combine them both for better results. I do love the electric sprayer!
                        by
                        Response from ScottsCustomerCareAug 21, 2019
                        We apologize that you didn't have lasting results from Ortho GroundClear Weed & Grass Killer. This product does not prevent regrowth so additional applications may be required. We want you to be aware that you can call us about our guarantee at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                          1 person found this helpful
                          Great Product!
                          Great Product!
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          Very selective of what it kills
                          Kills very little, really only damages grass. I bought the 2 pack at Costco, complete waist of money
                          by
                          Response from Consumer ServiceJun 9, 2019
                          Lisa, we are sorry for your disappointment. The more mature the weed the more difficult it it will be to control. We suggest a reapplication in 2-3 weeks. If you need help with our product guarantee, please contact us here https://tinyurl.com/y7rzdow6.
                            Horrible, does practically nothing
                            Have tried continued applications and weeds look healthier than ever. Various types as well, they just smile and grow all happy and satisfied
                            by
                            Response from Customer ServiceJun 5, 2019
                            We are sorry that Ortho Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer did not kill the weeds as expected. Some harder to control or mature weeds will need multiple applications. You can reapply in 2-3 weeks. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at http://tinyurl.com/npw4xxd.
                              Eliminated weeds in my driveway
                              [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Last month I sprayed Ortho® Groundclear® Weed & Grass Killer Ready-to-Use on the weeds in my driveway. There were multiple weeds growing in the crevices in the concrete. These are always difficult to remove completely with mechanical tools. The spray did an excellent job. The weeds died in a matter of days and the dead material was easily swept away.
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                works for me
                                I expected to have to spray this twice and I did, but in the first two hours I observed almost total kill. I did not expect to see results so quickly. Some weeds and grass is take more than one application but that was no big deal, I just hit it again the next day. I use it under my poultry netting immediately after I cut my grass short and it does not interfere with conductivity that way.
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  3 people found this helpful
                                  My new go-to product for weeds
                                  [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Received this product as a sample to try and review. I've been using the leading product in this category for years, but given recent environmental concerns, I was happy to try an alternative. This product is as good as any that I have used. I'll admit that I was a little skeptical of the "see results in 15 minutes claim," but it was pretty obvious that within 30 minutes I could see where the weed was already being affected. By the next day, it was nearly dead. I was pleased to see that the active ingredient was Ammonium Nonanoate, which degrades rapidly (less than a day), meaning it won't be around for weeks, like glyphosate-based products. The sprayer is easy to assemble/use and put away.
                                  by
                                    • Recommended
                                    I treated several areas of my property, but the results so far have been poor. First application...
                                    I treated several areas of my property, but the results so far have been poor. First application was done incorrectly as I just sprayed the root area of the grass and weeds. Later I saw that you had to pretty much douse the grass and weeds with this stuff. After doing so, the grass in the treated areas started to whither within a day, but never completely died. The weeds did disappear though. I went ahead and treated the ground that did not have weeds, hoping to prevent future growth, however, it was all downhill from there. Several weeks later, the treated areas are thriving and I have even more grass now. Pretty disappointed in this.
                                    by
                                    Response from ScottsCustomerCareMay 20, 2019
                                    We are sorry that you are unhappy with Ortho Groundclear Weed and Grass Killer. If weeds are more established, it can take up to 4 weeks for them to completely die. You can contact us if you would like to continue discussing this or if you want to know about our product guarantee. You can reach us here 877-220-3089. Scotts
                                    3 people found this helpful
                                    Showing 1-30 of 1,761 reviews