#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100333277

Model #100082632

Store SKU #320919

10 lb. Annual Ryegrass Seed

$2797
  • Ideal for sunny to lightly shaded areas
  • Great for over-seeding warm season grasses
  • Covers up to 2,000 sq. ft. with 5-10 day seed germination
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$2797

Product Overview

Pennington Annual Ryegrass grass seed is ideal for the quick establishment of a temporary lawn. It is a throw-and-grow seed that can be planted without tilling or digging into the soil and destroying permanent ground cover already in place. Designed for temporary or seasonal lawns. It works in the winter months to provide greening and prevent erosion.
  • Fast germination for quick cover
  • Can be used for over-seeding dormant warm-weather grasses such as Bermuda and Zoysia to maintain a green lawn year round
  • Helpful in erosion control
  • Best for full sun to light shade (6-8 hours of sun per day)
  • Germinates in 5-10 days
  • Covers up to 2,000 sq. ft. for overseeding and approximately 1,000 sq. ft. for a new lawn
  • Not recommended for use in warm season lawns

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

current product
10 lb. Annual Ryegrass Seed
7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix20 lbs. Turf Builder Tall Fescue Mix Grass SeedKentucky 31, 40 lbs. Tall Fescue Penkoted Grass Seed
BrandPenningtonScottsScottsPennington
Name10 lb. Annual Ryegrass Seed7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix20 lbs. Turf Builder Tall Fescue Mix Grass SeedKentucky 31, 40 lbs. Tall Fescue Penkoted Grass Seed
Price
$2797
$3264
$4599
$6198
Ratings
(1055)
(2340)
(1311)
(578)
Grass TypeRyeSun and ShadeFescueFescue
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest MountainAppalachians,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelBright LightMedium LightMedium LightAny Light
Drought TolerantNoYesYesNo
Grass Seed UseNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,Overseeding
Product Size10 LB-Pound7.57 LB-Pound20.7 LB-Pound40.5 LB-Pound
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)2000280050008000
Landscape Supply TypeAccessorySeedsSeedsAccessory
Product Depth (in.)5.74.5 in22 in5
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
2000
Product Depth (in.)
5.7
Product Height (in.)
19
Product Size
10 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
8.25

Details

Drought Tolerant
No
Grass Seed Use
New Lawn,Overseeding
Grass Type
Rye
Landscape Supply Type
Accessory
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
10
Region
Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southeast,Southwest Mountain
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Bright Light

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 1,062 reviews
  • 83% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 1,062 reviews
Germinated on day 3
Overseeded our back yard. Just scapled and seeded. Watered twice daily and recieved 4 inches of rain in the first week. By day 10 it was 4-6 inches tall. Good stuff! Highly recommend!
by Chadwicktr
    • Recommended Product
    It says "summer grass seed" came in beautifully however once the temos went above 100° it all die...
    It says "summer grass seed" came in beautifully however once the temos went above 100° it all died off. Now its mushy mess. I couldnt be more dissatisfied. If they said temps above 100 not recommended I wouldnt have purchased two bags and wasted over a hundred dollars. If your temps stay 90° and below this is the grass seed for you. As you can see in the photos my Bermuda grass is thriving the rye is dead.
    by Homedepot7
    Response from Pennington TeamAug 3, 2021
    Hello, we apologize for your negative experience with planting our grass seed. However, we only recommend using this product in early spring or early fall. Unfortunately, seedlings or immature grass can struggle to survive in hot temperatures, especially cool-season grasses. Depending on how mature your new grass was before the high temperatures occurred, there is a chance it’ll come back when the weather cools down. For further assistance, please reach out to Customer Service at 1-800-285-7333. pennington
      1 person found this helpful
      Grass started growing within 4 days of spreading seeds in the soil.
      Grass started growing within 4 days of spreading seeds in the soil.
      by Chiefade
      • Verified Purchase
      • Recommended Product
      A M A Z I N G
      The pictures speak for themselves!! I have a spot in my yard that wouldn’t grow, even after laying st. augustine a few years ago.. it thrived everywhere but under the tree as it’s so shaded there. My sister told me she used this product on her lawn so I decided to give it a try since it was so cheap (compared to sod!) I just sprinkled it with my hand right out of the bag, it took maybe 20 minutes tops. Originally I was only watering once per day and I was seeing small growth after about 3 days. But after doing some research, I learned you need to keep the seeds moist for optimal growth so I decided to change my watering to 4x per day, for 8 minutes each and BAM! It took off. It’s so beautiful and lush. I can’t believe a product like this exists after all this time struggling to keep the st. augustine alive in that spot! I also want to note, this product is listed as being for winter but my sisters lawn in Texas stayed green all year long, even in the triple digit temps! Highly recommend this product!
      by SM
        • Recommended Product
        I bought 2/50lb bags. It covered 1 acre nicely....
        I bought 2/50lb bags. It covered 1 acre nicely. It came up in 3 days. Have to keep it watered though
        by Lm
        • Verified Purchase
        Excellent choice for Winter grass. Within 2 weeks, I had a new lawn. Remember to add a layer of...
        Excellent choice for Winter grass. Within 2 weeks, I had a new lawn. Remember to add a layer of compost to protect your seeds from birds. Watered 2X per day. 4 minutes in the morning, and 8 minutes in the evening.
        by MC
        Response from Pennington TeamDec 2, 2020
        Hi MC, Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with our Pennington Annual Ryegrass Grass Seed. All the best. pennington
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended Product
        1 person found this helpful
        Quick, Easy, Beautiful Growth
        I tilled my entire yard with the ambition of planting a new yard in Texas weather. It just so happened it worked!! And it’s STUNNING!
        by Bethany100000
          • Recommended Product
          5 star!
          My brother did the job without any experience. It looks awesome now. We didn’t water our front lawn for 5 years. After seeding it, it’s so green in 4 weeks. It’s easy!
          by BURCU
            • Recommended Product
            Worked as expected. We now have a nice winter lawn coming in where there was previously dirt and ...
            Worked as expected. We now have a nice winter lawn coming in where there was previously dirt and sand since this was new construction.
            by edwardsdna
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended Product
            Growing in very nice
            Growing in very nice
            by HomeDepotCustomer
            • Verified Purchase
            • Recommended Product
            Showing 1-10 of 1,062 reviews