#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #203760929

Model #18269

Store SKU #367236

7 lb. Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed

$4897
  • Performs well in high traffic, moderate shade and sunny areas
  • Self-repairs from heat, drought and traffic damage
  • 4 in 1 WaterSmart PLUS coating keeps seed moist 2x longer
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$4897

Product Overview

Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Kentucky Bluegrass Mix is a unique mix that performs well in high-traffic areas, under moderate shade, and in sunny areas. As Scotts most cold-tolerant grass seed mix, it has the ability to self-repair from heat, drought, and high-traffic damage. And, each seed is wrapped in a unique 4 in 1 WaterSmart PLUS Coating that absorbs 2x more water than uncoated seed, feeds with essential nutrients, and helps protect seedlings from disease. Grow Quicker, Thicker, Greener Grass. Guaranteed.
  • Contains elite Kentucky Bluegrass for a thick, durable lawn
  • Continuously self-repairs to withstand wear and tear
  • Contains exclusive 4 in 1 watersmart plus coating that absorbs 2x more water than uncoated seed, feeds to jumpstart growth, and helps protect seedlings against disease
  • Grows quicker, thicker, greener grass guaranteed
  • Fine bladed texture with medium drought tolerance



Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Grass Seed

7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix
current product
7 lb. Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed
7 lbs. Fairway Formula Grass Seed Kentucky Bluegrass Blend20 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix
BrandScottsScottsGreenViewScotts
Name7 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix7 lb. Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed7 lbs. Fairway Formula Grass Seed Kentucky Bluegrass Blend20 lb. Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade Mix
Price
$2299
$4897
$5881
/bag
$8497
Ratings
(2365)
(802)
(23)
(5821)
Grass TypeSun and ShadeBlue GrassKentucky BluegrassSun and Shade
RegionAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southwest MountainAppalachians,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest MountainAppalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain
Traffic/Wear Tolerance LevelMedium LightMedium LightBright LightMedium Light
Drought TolerantYesYesNoYes
Grass Seed UseNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,OverseedingNew Lawn,Overseeding,Patch & RepairNew Lawn,Overseeding
Product Size7.57 LB-Pound7.57 LB-Pound7 LB-Pound20 LB-Pound
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)280047257000 ft²8000
Landscape Supply TypeSeedsSeedsSeedsSeeds
Product Weight (lb.)777 lb20
Product Width (in.)9.5 in9.5 in8.75 in22
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
4725
Product Depth (in.)
4.5 in
Product Height (in.)
15 in
Product Size
7.57 LB-Pound
Product Width (in.)
9.5 in

Details

Drought Tolerant
Yes
Grass Seed Use
New Lawn,Overseeding
Grass Type
Blue Grass
Landscape Supply Type
Seeds
Organic
No
Product Weight (lb.)
7
Region
Appalachians,California Coast,Mideast Central,Midwest,Northeast Central,Northwest Coast,Northwest Mountain,Southwest Mountain
Returnable
90-Day
Seed Type
Grass
Traffic/Wear Tolerance Level
Medium Light

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.6
    out of 802 reviews
  • 67%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 802 reviews
Fantastic Grass
Bought and seeded this grass on September 19th, 2020. It was a little slow to start, but boy did it grow well! I used starter fertilizer and watered 5 times a day for 5-10 minutes depending on the section until October 7th because my irrigation water was shut off. After that, I watered once a day with a movable sprinkler for another week and a half. Would buy this grass again. Last pictures are from today, October 30th, 2020.
by
    Did everything suggested, didn't work.
    I did exactly as the bag recommends. Watered consistently, soil was warm. It's been a month and I still have blue sprinkles in my dirt beds (see pic). Not to mention, I reached out for a refund, they claim to have a 'money back guarantee' but they refuse to give me a refund. Very disappointing.
    by
    Response from ScottsCustomerCareOct 15, 2020
    We are sorry that you did not get any germination from Scotts Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed. Bluegrass can take up to 28 days to germinate and requires temperatures to be between 65-85 degrees. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. Scotts
      3 people found this helpful
      Great seed... KEEP IT WET
      Works for me everytime I use it for bare spots. You MUST keep it wet though. Light, frequent watering is key. I watered 3, sometimes 4 times a day, for a minute or two at a time. I saw germination in 6 days.
      by
        • Recommended
        5 people found this helpful
        Excellent Grass Seed
        I normall do not write reviews, but I feel I needed to with this success I have with these seeds. The norm for KBG germination is between 14-30. With the right prep work and I was able to get these seeds to germinate in 6 days. I just did a compete renovation of my front and back lawn 3 weeks ago covering 7500sqft and I would definitely use these seeds and recommend them.
        by
          Solid grass
          This seed is slow to germinate, but WILL germinate when given proper conditions. Soil temperature needs to be between 50 and 65 for best results with frequent watering. This is a hardy grass. I planted in late March in Illinois And it germinated and two days later, survived 5 consecutive nights in the 20’s and 6 inches of snow. Then it started growing again as temperatures rebounded. It is very very slow to establish but with proper care it will fill in to form a very thick lawn. I’ve been mowing at less than an inch and it has handled that cut just fine. It does seem susceptible to leaf spot when cut that low, however a simple fungicide program ( Scott’s Disease Ex ) when symptoms first show up fixes the problem with in days. It seems very drought resistant. The picture of this grass is with little irrigation. About 2” of rain over a 28 day period and full sun. In late afternoon or early morning When the sun is low, the light produces a nice emerald/blue hue. You really need about a year for this grass to fully establish.
          by
            Bag of weeds
            I purchased this product through Lowes this spring. Planted and watered the seed as directed on the bag. Only thing that grew....weeds! What a waste of my time and money.
            by
            Response from Consumer ServiceAug 1, 2020
            We are sorry that you are disappointed with your purchase of Turf Builder Grass Seed Kentucky Bluegrass Mix. All Scotts seed is thoroughly cleaned and is 99.9% weed-seed free, weeds are removed from our crops by filtering Scotts seed 3 times. We want you to be confident in our products; therefore, we offer a guarantee. To receive more details about this, please contact us at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5 and refer to this review.
              Good if you like a lot of crabgrass
              Large section of lawn needed to be replaced after a water main break; started from scratch: watered faithfully twice a day for a month after fully fertilizing, liming, top soil,etc. All that came in is mostly crabgrass, overshadowing the few bluegrass seeds that survived. (photos attached)
              by
              Response from Consumer ServicesJul 29, 2020
              We are very sorry that Scotts Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun & Shade did not perform as expected. Soil preparation tends to bring the weed seeds closer to the surface allowing them to germinate in ideal conditions. We offer a guarantee that extends to all of our products. If this interests you, we ask that you contact us at http://tinyurl.com/mds8zo5
                Very little grass
                I decided to redo my lawn this spring. I got very little actual grass. I got a lot of two different types of weeds. At least I think they're weeds. It's definitely not grass. Very disappointed.
                by
                Response from ScottsCustomerCareAug 17, 2020
                We are sorry to hear that Scotts Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix did not germinate as expected. All of our Scotts seeds are thoroughly cleaned and is 98.9% to 99.9% weed seed free. Natural soil contains thousands of seeds and when soil is disturbed, such as by rototilling, seeds that were deep in the soil may be brought to top of soil where growing conditions are better allowing them to germinate. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please contact us and refer to your review to see what can be done. We can be reached at 877-220-3089. Scotts
                  1 person found this helpful
                  It's been about a week and a half and we are already seeing tall grass pop out from under the str...
                  It's been about a week and a half and we are already seeing tall grass pop out from under the straw in some places and it's been very dry weather so just relying on the hose in the mornings. So I would say it's doing well. Can't wait till it comes in fully.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  Expected better from Scotts product
                  Planted grass seeds this past Memorial Day. Followed the directions to a tee. I reseeded the whole lawn and 18 days later...NOTHING.
                  by
                  Response from ScottsCustomerCareJul 17, 2020
                  We are sorry to hear about your experience with Scotts Turf Builder Kentucky Bluegrass Mix Seed. Both excessive watering and not enough watering may slow down or even stop the germination of the product. The warmer the soil, the faster the germination. We want you to be confident about our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please call 877-220-3089 for assistance. When calling, please refer to this review. Scotts
                    1 person found this helpful
                    Showing 1-10 of 802 reviews