#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 203760868

Model # 49020

Store SKU # 573100

Turf Builder 40.05 lbs. 15,000 sq. ft. SummerGuard Dry Lawn Fertilizer with Insect Killer

$106.96
Apply Now
Pay $81.96 after $25 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Insecticide plus fertilizer kills listed bugs and feeds lawn
  • Controls ants, armyworms, crickets, spiders, and more as listed
  • One 40.05 lb. bag covers 15,000 sq. ft.
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy
Product Details

About This Product

There's nothing better than a summer day spent in your backyard. Take it to its full potential with Scotts Turf Builder SummerGuard Lawn Food. This bug killer plus lawn fertilizer feeds and strengthens your lawn against heat and drought, and kills and protects against listed bugs, including ants, armyworms, chinch bugs, crickets, fleas, grasshoppers, spiders, and ticks. Scotts Turf Builder SummerGuard Lawn Food with Insect Control can be used on any grass type. Apply to a dry lawn in the summertime when insect activity or damage is first observed. We recommend using a Scotts spreader to apply this product. For Scotts broadcast/rotary spreaders, use a setting of 3 ¾. For Scotts drop spreaders, use a setting of 8 ½. Water product in following application. Do not use any other weed, disease, or insect control product for at least one week after application. One 40.05 lb. bag of Scotts Turf Builder SummerGuard Lawn Food with Insect Control covers 15,000 sq. ft.

Highlights

  • Scotts Turf Builder SummerGuard Lawn Food with Insect Control kills and protects against listed bugs, and feeds and strengthens your lawn against heat and drought
  • Included insecticide controls listed lawn pests like ants, armyworms, chinch bugs, crickets, fleas, grasshoppers, spiders, and ticks
  • Apply bug killer plus fertilizer to a dry lawn in the summertime when insect activity or damage is first observed
  • This lawn care product can be used on any grass type
  • One 40.05 lb. bag of Scotts Turf Builder SummerGuard Lawn Food with Insect Control covers 15,000 sq. ft.
  • Shop all Scotts products
  • What is the Best Fertilizer for my Yard.
  • Return Policy

Product Information

Internet # 203760868

Model # 49020

Store SKU # 573100

Additional Resources

Shop All Scotts

Specifications

Dimensions: H 4.25 in, W 15 in, D 23 in

Dimensions

Package Size (lb.)

40.25

Product Depth (in.)

23 in

Product Height (in.)

4.25 in

Product Width (in.)

15 in

Details

Active Ingredients

0.086% Bifenthrin

Application Type

Granular

Compatible Grass Type

All Purpose, Bent Grass, Bermuda, Bluegrass, Centipede, Fescue, Rye, St. Augustine (Floratam), Tall Fescue, Zoysia

Concentrated or Ready to Use

Ready to use

Delivery Method

Granular

Dry Fertilizer Type

Dry Lawn Fertilizer

Emergent Type

Neither Pre nor Post Emergent

Features

No Additional Features

Fertilizer Formula

Non-Organic

Fertilizer Weed Control

No Weed Control

Garden Pest Location

Lawns

Indoor/Outdoor

Outdoor

Lawn Fertilizer Use

Control Insects

Location

Lawn

Longevity (weeks)

6

N-P-K Ratio

20-0-8

Organic

Non-Organic

Pack Size

1

Pest Common Name

Ant, Cricket, Flea, Spider, Tick

Pest Control Type

Lawn Insect Control

Primary Active Ingredient

0.086% Bifenthrin

Product Weight (oz.)

640.8 oz

Returnable

90-Day

Safe For

Not Safe for Kids and Pets

Safe for Edibles

No

Season Use

Summer

Time release

Slow release

Total Coverage Area (sq. ft.)

15000

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty

Scotts No-Quibble Guarantee®: If for any reason you, the consumer, are not satisfied after using this product, you are entitled to get your money back. Simply send us evidence of purchase and we will mail you a refund check promptly.

Questions & Answers

34Questions
caret
Q:can i put this down now with 90 degrees ahead next week. its june 24
by|Jun 24, 2023
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  If daytime temperatures are expected to exceed 85, water after applying Scotts Turf Builder Summerguard Lawn Food With Insect Control. If you are under any watering restrictions and temperatures exceed 85, then do not use until the product can be watered in.

by|Aug 5, 2023
    caret
    Q:When is it safe to enter lawn after application
    by|Jun 10, 2023
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  People and pets such as cats and dogs should be removed from the area before applying Scotts Turf Builder SummerGuard. The product should be watered in and allowed to dry before going back on the lawn.

    by|Jun 11, 2023
      caret
      Q:What is the insecticide in it?
      by|Nov 3, 2022
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  This product contains 0.086% Bifenthrin.

      by|Jun 30, 2023
        caret
        Q:Will it control mosquitos?
        by|Jul 2, 2022
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Scotts Turf Builder SummerGuard Lawn Food with Insect Killer does not control mosquitos.

        by|Apr 13, 2023
          Showing 1-4 of 34

          Customer Reviews

          3.7 out of 5

          • 3.7 out of 851 reviews
          • 66% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 851 reviews
          The product will burn your lawn
          I followed instructions on the bag and this product burnt my lawn and I am dissatisfied
          by
          Response from Customer CareSep 5, 2023
          We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
            Awesome product
            I am a big fan of the Scott’s recommended lawn care program. I put SummerGuard down on a cooler west Michigan summer day just before a nice rainfall and we get amazing results!
            by
              Flow problems with SummerGuard fertilizer
              I have been putting scotts fertilizers on my lawn for 25 years, 4 times a year with a scotts speedy 3000. I recently applied SummerGuard. I noticed that the particles were larger than I had every seen. I started with the recommended 3 3/4 setting but nothing came out !!! I progressed to a 9 setting and still finished my lawn with product left over. I thought maybe the opening wasn't working appropriately. However, when I got to the bottom I saw that the opening was good BUT the product was not flowing very well.
              by
              Response from Customer CareJul 28, 2023
              We're sorry to read about your disappointment with our product and appreciate your feedback. We want you to be confident in our products. For this reason, we offer a product guarantee to our consumers. At your earliest convenience, please reach out to us at 888-270-3714 if we can further assist.
                Discolored and sticky
                This shipment was part of my annual subscription. I get 3 bags to cover about 15k sq ft. The product in two of the bags looked “normal.” The third bag had product that was discolored, and looked to be wet, however it was not wet at all and the bag was not damaged.
                by
                Response from Customer CareJul 12, 2023
                We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
                  Scott’s #1 on the market
                  I’ve been using Scott’s for 30 plus years with no negative issues.Scott’s is a #1 premium product. But like any other fertilizer if the user fails to follow the instructions listed you will have problems.
                  by
                    Terrible
                    Burned my grass not happy. I’ve worked so hard on my graaa and this is my summer grass result… how can I reverse it ? Terrible product
                    by
                    Response from Customer CareJul 10, 2023
                    We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
                      Great results
                      Ok, I’ve had a hate/hate with my lawn for years. Crabgrass, dead spots and weeds. Thankfully my lawn is not too big but I’ve been doing what the schedule said. That plus a ton of rain and my grass is amazing!
                      by
                        Fertilizer is not dry
                        I bought a bag yesterday to cover 15000 sqft. The contents of the bag were soak and wet.
                        by
                        Response from Customer CareJul 5, 2023
                        We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
                          Scotts products are the best!
                          Given the chance, people will complain and moan about anything; just to complain! I've tried big box store bargain brands in the past, but Scotts is the best, and has never let me down. This will be my first try of the SummerGuard with Insect Killer. I have a great looking Bluegrass yard. But, grubs seem to enjoy it more then I do! They've wiped it out in past years. I've applied the grub killer that's supposed to work for the whole season. Don't believe it! One application and they still wiped it out! My plan going forward, is 2 grub killer applications. One in late May, the second, first part of July. I put down Milky Spores last year to also assist in keeping them under control. I'm hoping the Scotts with Insect Killer will be sufficient for the 2nd application in July.
                          by
                            Beyond Disappointed
                            Disappointed is an understatement. Used product for the first (and last) time Summer 2022. Killed my St. Augustine grass were applied in back yard. So glad I did not use product in front yard! Weeds invaded where grass died and I am still dealing with it. Scott’s has been the only brand I use because it always performs well if applied correctly. Turf Builder Summer Guard however does not!
                            by
                            Response from Customer CareJun 15, 2023
                            We are concerned to hear this. We would like the opportunity to gather some additional information and offer assistance. Please reach out to our Consumer Services team at 888-270-3714.
                              Showing 1-10 of 851 reviews

                              Compare Similar Items

                              current item

                              Pest Common Name

                              Ant, Cricket, Flea, Spider, Tick

                              Grub

                              Garden Pest Location

                              Lawns

                              Lawns

                              Application Type

                              Granular

                              Granular

                              Granular

                              Granular

                              Location

                              Lawn

                              Lawn

                              Safe For

                              Not Safe for Kids and Pets

                              Safe For Kids, Safe For Pets

                              Not Safe for Kids and Pets

                              Not Safe for Kids and Pets