#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Google Chromecast - Streaming Media Player in 1080p

Internet #308371668

Model #GA00439-US

Store SKU #1004139469

  • Watch movies, shows, live TV, YouTube and photos on your TV
  • Broadcasts the streaming apps you know and love in 1080p HD
  • Upgrade your TV for less and stream from your phone to TV

Customer Reviews

  • 4.1
    out of 1,405 reviews
  • 69%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,405 reviews
Excellent Device
I love it. Simple setup, and just as easy to cast. Even turns the TV off :)
by
    • Recommended
    Overall Pretty good
    I'm a simple user. Wife or I use the phone, find the app and press the cast button. Occasionally there are glitches and I have to reset. Sometimes an app stops working correctly. Eventually, it works itself out....
    by
      • Recommended
      Great for casting TV and Photos
      Chromecast is the best way to cast and view YouTube TV, You Tube Music, Google Photos, Movies, Access to Apps, Streaming, Information, Stats and more!
      by
        • Recommended
        Chrome cast
        Connection to an older Sony flat screen was easy. Now I can cast off of my iPhone
        by
          Chrimecast
          I love it , it took me a little while to set up .I use it all the time
          by
            • Recommended
            life blood of my entertainment space
            could not enjoy television without it. We cast many of the streaming services, youtube, movies, as well as home movies and pictures daily! A must have in our house.
            by
              • Recommended
              Very user friendly
              I absolutely love my chromecast. I set it up to an old flat screen tv with no smart tv capabilities and it was such a quick installation process and now we can useNetflix, youtube and more.
              by
                • Recommended
                Pleasure
                Easy to use. Set up was easy. Now we can watch through apps on our phones cast upon the tv.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  Chromecast
                  Does everything it's supposed to do. I love being able to cast my phone to my tv to watch all my favorite content.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    Chrome cast (worth it or not)
                    I love this thing and it is so easy to use. I had some trouble setting it up do to some internet issues. I did not know you have to be on the same wireless network to use it. Once I got it setup though, it was easy from then on. My wife and I love it and I am going to buy another for our bedroom. I personally think it should come with a piece of paper with big red letters saying must be on same network. I do recommend it though. I have used mine now for six months and no other issues.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Not that bad
                      has minor issues with Wi-Fi connection but stream quality is always solid
                      by
                        • Recommended
                        Now have 3
                        I have homes in US and Panama, The chromecast w tv is fantastic. I move one with me from US to Panama and have one in each of my airbnb units. Guests have as much access as at their home with their private subscriptions. I have been asked where to buy them.
                        by
                          • Recommended
                          I cannot connect any of the 4 chromecast to the wifi.
                          Before the IOS update in was able to connect the chromecast. Now, none of them are connected to the wifi and there is not any possible solution in Google
                          by
                          Response from Google Customer CareJan 13, 2022
                          Hi Alex, thanks for sharing your feedback to let us know of your issue with the Chromecasts, and we’re sorry to learn that none of them are connected to your Wi-Fi after the iOS update, and that we’ve fallen short on your support needs. We’ll use your feedback and will share it with our team to work on improving how we handle customer concerns with care and efficiency. We’re hoping for another opportunity to investigate your concern as there could be several other reasons why the Chromecasts aren’t connecting to your Wi-Fi. If you’re willing to give us another chance, please share with us your recent case number at the following link and we’ll have a closer look in to this issue: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                            Does not work
                            Sorry but I am not figuring this thing out. As of now it's not worth the money. Hopefully I figure it out.
                            by
                            Response from Google Customer CareJan 12, 2022
                            Hi there, thanks for sending in your review. We can see that you're experiencing some difficulties in figuring out your Chromecast. We'd recommend that you reach out to our support specialists so we can guide you with the setup and the use of your Chromecast. Please contact us on our Google Help page by visiting the link here: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                              Great when it is actually working
                              I am not sure if it is the Chromecast or my older model Samsung TV but it seems like every time I try to cast something from my phone to my TV through this Chromecast that it does not show up as being connected and I have to unplug it and reboot/reconnect … which makes it far from ideal and definitely not the nice convenience that I expect it should be.When it is working though, I like it a lot and it does what I expect it to do.
                              by
                              Response from Google Customer CareJan 13, 2022
                              \Hi Paul, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that your experience with Chromecast was less than ideal. All Chromecast devices require a TV with High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP) 1.3 or higher built-in. Also, an Android phone or tablet running Android 6.0 or later, iPhone or iPad with iOS 12.0 or later. Here’s the link for complete requirements for Chromecast devices: https://support.google.com/chromecast/answer/7022492 If you need further assistance, you can always contact our support team. We’d be more than happy to help and improve your experience. You can reach us through this link: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                • Recommended
                                Very useful and easy to use!
                                Needed a way to stream things onto my TV, this was perfect! I always watch things on my phone, so I enjoy that all streaming services can be linked and watched onto my TV. Easy to connect and easy to use!
                                by
                                  • Recommended
                                  Was perfect, until functionality was removed due to patent suit.
                                  Was perfect, until functionality was removed due to patent suit.
                                  by
                                  Response from Google Customer CareJan 13, 2022
                                  Hi John k, thanks for posting your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that Chromecast isn’t working as expected. We value your feedback as we're always looking for ways to improve our products and services. We’re hoping that you will keep using your Nest Chromecast. If you need assistance, feel free to contact our support team. We want to help you as best as we can to make your experience better. Here's the link: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                    Seems to work alright
                                    This isn't really a Chromecast problem so much as an app problem. It seems like many apps don't really have their Chromecasting working very well. I guess their use of the API didn't go to plan. Anyway, I can still cast it by screen mirroring; but that means I have to see the stuff that's on the phone screen as well as what I want to watch.
                                    by
                                    Response from Google Customer CareJan 12, 2022
                                    Hi txtommy, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback about Chromecast. We’re sorry to hear that you’re having issues with casting. We value your feedback, and we’d like to help you the best way possible. We’d like to know more about your feedback so we can further investigate what’s causing the issue. We recommend reaching out to our Google Chromecast support team. We’d be more than happy to assist and improve your experience here: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                      Does not function
                                      There is no cast. It does not work Several attempt to get it to work. Nothing has worked so far. Uninstalled and reinstalled, the same condition exists
                                      by
                                      Response from Google Customer CareJan 12, 2022
                                      Hi eric, thanks for sharing a review about the Chromecast, and it’s unfortunate to learn that casting doesn’t work. We can see how much time and effort you’ve spent on this, and we’re sorry for the inconvenience it has caused. We’d like to help you out and guide you with further isolation and troubleshooting. If you’re willing to work with us, you’re always welcome to visit us at the following link: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                        Outstanding
                                        The chromecast is a game changer for my household.
                                        by
                                          • Recommended
                                          It sucks
                                          Sucks. Terrible time getting things to connect. When it does it freezes. Terrible product.
                                          by
                                          Response from Google Customer CareJan 12, 2022
                                          Hi there, thanks for posting your review. We're sorry to learn that you're experiencing connectivity issues with your Chromecast. We'd like to know more details about your setup so we can better identify the cause and help find a resolution for the connectivity as well as the freezing issues. Please contact our support team and let us assist you with improving your experience. You can reach us on our Google Help page here: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                            Not good
                                            I cannot connect my phone to cast to the TV. My husband can. I bought it for him. But I cannot. I retried everything google suggests and it just does not work!!
                                            by
                                            Response from Google Customer CareJan 12, 2022
                                            Hi Celina Woods, thanks for sharing your review with us. We can see that you're experiencing some connectivity issues with your Chromecast. Since your husband can connect and cast from his phone, it means that your Chromecast is online. We advise that you connect your phone to the same Wi-Fi network as the Chromecast. Most Wi-Fi routers provide multiple bands or frequencies (2.4G & 5G) so please make sure that your phone is on that same network. If you've already tried this and are still experiencing the same issue, then we recommend that you reach out to our support specialists and let us check this for you and help find a resolution for you. You can contact us on our Google Help page here: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                              Drop Internet Connection
                                              The Chromecast works relatively well, except it drops the internet connection several times a day, and often it interrupts my watching TV. But it does work to stream tv from my devices.
                                              by
                                              Response from Google Customer CareJan 11, 2022
                                              Hi Toby, thanks for sharing your feedback. We regret to learn that you came across connectivity issues with Chromecast. For connectivity issues, it may be related to both the limited bandwidth caused by a congestion of your network or a possible interference. We recommend trying out the following: - Remove some of your connected devices to free up some bandwidth space and test if you will experience the same issue. Chromecast typically requires a high speed Internet connection of at least 20 Mbps. If you verify congestion, we suggest contacting your Internet service provider for resolution. - Check for possible signal interference. Placing Chomecast in a direct line of sight to your router and away from other possible sources of interference like a refrigerator, microwave oven, etc. might improve signal reception. If the issue still persists, we may need to take a closer look at your device. You can contact our support team anytime using this link: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                                Great product but....
                                                I love my dongle! I've had it just about 2 yrs. Lately it's started to lose audio while screen mirroring. Streaming video is still playing but no audio. I'm having to stop, then start screen mirroring to get audio back. Don't know why it's happening but it is. Looked problem up on Google, tried a few recommended fixes except purchasing a new dongle. Not yet though...
                                                by
                                                  • Recommended
                                                  It’s ok
                                                  In the last 6 years or so i have purchased 3 Chrome cast. It seems to me that they are not getting better but maybe worse. The pictures are not as good as they should be and if you use it with Prime the pictures are even worse. Is it because Google wants people to spend more money in order to cast Prime on a newer television? I don’t know but i do think that the war between Apple and Google etc is getting very old and Google should definitely be able to make their Chrome Cast work better with their own products. Very disappointed with my last Chrome Cast unit.
                                                  by
                                                  Response from Google Customer CareJan 11, 2022
                                                  Hi John S, thanks for letting us know about this. We’re sorry to learn that Chromecast didn’t meet your expectations. We’ve taken a note of your feedback and we’ll make sure this gets passed along to the right team since we’re always looking for opportunities to improve our products and services. If you need assistance, feel free to contact our support team here: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                                    Great Product frfr
                                                    I like this product because it’s got a lot of cool features and even though it’s an older device, I will still
                                                    by
                                                      • Recommended
                                                      Nothing great about it.
                                                      I have used almost al versions and the first version is just as good as the latest.
                                                      by
                                                      Response from Google Customer CareJan 11, 2022
                                                      Hi Krimo, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that Chromecast didn’t meet your expectations. We're always working to understand our customers' needs and expectations so that we can improve our products and offer more options. If you have any questions or concerns, you can reach out to us anytime. We’d be happy to help you here: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                                        Great Overall
                                                        I love the Chromecast, it's my go-to for casting anything and I have yet to find any app or website that doesn't support it (you can cast your tab in Chrome so pretty every website becomes cast-able). It's especially useful for me since Crunchyroll (an anime streaming website/app) has no TV app so casting is necessary.Sometimes the stream drops in quality but usually autocorrects pretty fast. Definitely recommend for people who want to cast!
                                                        by
                                                          The new update is buggy
                                                          I usually love my chromecast, but as of late, after the update it restarts like 3 times a day. Sometimes it just loses connection.
                                                          by
                                                          Response from Google Customer CareJan 11, 2022
                                                          Hi Awesomethomas, thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re sorry to learn you have to reset your Chromecast over again and lose its connection. If you haven’t yet, we suggest to check the following: - Make sure that the Chromecast is within 15 to 20 feet from the router. - You may also need to check and ensure that your network isn't congested. Connectivity issues may happen if there is not enough bandwidth on the network. - Reboot your Chromecast and the router. Unplugging the units and replugging them after 1 to 2 minutes normally does the trick. If the above steps didn't resolve the issue, then we may need to have a deeper look at what may be causing it. Feel free to contact us so we can improve your experience here: https://support.google.com/chromecast/gethelp
                                                            I LOVE my Chromecast
                                                            This was my 2nd one and planning to get more in the future. Since I got it I enjoy casting my videos and movies to my TV. Its so coinvent, quick and great quality. Thank you Google
                                                            by
                                                              • Recommended
                                                              Showing 1-30 of 1,405 reviews