#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Rheem Performance Platinum 9.5 GPM Smart Super High Efficiency Indoor or Outdoor Natural Gas Tankless Water Heater

Internet #325308951

Model #ECOH200DVELN-3

Store SKU #1009624806

  • Continuous hot water; up to 4-showers at once; see sizing guide
  • Control from your device with built in EcoNet wi-fi technology
  • Convert to outdoor tankless water heater w/ echo-x conversion kit

Customer Reviews

  • 4
    out of 760 reviews
  • 66% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 760 reviews
This is the second ream tankless water heater. I installed the first one lasted 20 years with no problems.
by
Response from RheemMay 23, 2024
Hello,

Thank you for you for your 5-star review and for choosing Rheem for your home once more!

Isaiah rheem
  • Verified Purchase
Product is Junk
Have had this unit for over 2 years in my home, have spent more on labor than the cost of the unit. DO NOT BUY WITHOUT WARRANTY, Home Depot is no help, Rheem is worse...I will end up having to replace this unit with another brand and will not use Home Depot for any other appliances. Worthless product, do not buy it.
by
Response from RheemFeb 14, 2023
Hi Alan,

Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the performance of your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed included a 12-year heat exchanger warranty, a 5-year parts warranty, and a 1-year labor warranty. If you are still in need of assistance, please contact our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty coverage questions.

Derius rheem
    15 found this review helpful
    Valves are garbage
    Buy your own valves! Home Depot sells this unit w/ valves. They are not Rhem and no Rheem warranty! The included valves are placed in the Rheem box by HD, a non-name, poor quality, different design, unavailable, and you'll need to redo your plumbing if you need to replace when they fail! You will need to spend $145 to buy the right valves from HD. My hot water valve failed out of the box. HD wants me to return the entire heater. I had to buy proper valves on my dime. Search for NIBCO H-44443WPR.
    by
    Response from RheemOct 28, 2022
    Hi,

    Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. To better assist you with this issue, please HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot customer service can assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.


    Derius rheem
      20 found this review helpful
      Don't buy
      Worked great for the first year and half, after that keep getting a code 12. Called tech and sent pics of install- no response from tech on what I should do. VERY FRUSTRATED!!!
      by
      Response from RheemOct 10, 2022
      Hi,

      Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope this issue has been resolved. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year heat exchanger warranty, and a 5-year parts warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

      Derius rheem
        12 found this review helpful
        Easy install and straight forward
        Purchased this tankless and was very easy install. Directions were easy. I vented this unit through the roof. I had an existing 1/2” gas line and am currently using that with with a planned upgrade to 3/4” next week. The unit works fine with 1/2” gas line but I didn’t have any other gas appliances running.
        by
        Response from RheemSep 6, 2022
        Hi John,

        So glad to hear installation was easy and you are enjoying your new water heater! If you ever have any questions about your new heater, please call Rheem Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

        Thank you for choosing Rheem for your water heating needs!

        Derius rheem
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          You will not regret
          I live in western PA and had mine installed the second week of June. My gas bill for May (prior to the last cost increase) was $72.26. My June bill (after the cost increase) jumped to $103.70. There are only two people in my household and we conserve as much energy as possible. I just received my July bill and it dropped to $24.03. That is $79.67 in just one month, and that is not a full month of using this unit. The unit is quiet and keeps a steady/strong stream of hot water. I am very happy with my purchase.
          by
          Response from RheemOct 25, 2022
          Hi,

          Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.



          Derius rheem
            • Recommended
            4 found this review helpful
            Just Intalled
            I am going to speak about my experience with the installation. Firstly, this is not a one to a 3-hour project unless you are just putting the pipes mostly out in the open and, there are no modifications needed. Our installation took 2 days solid days. Good thing there is an $800.00 rebate from the gas company for this particular product. Installation was quite expensive. This was a $3500 project including the water heater unit which was discounted by using my Home Depot Card.
            by
            Response from RheemOct 21, 2022
            Hi,

            Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying your new Rheem Water Heater! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

            Derius rheem
              • Recommended
              5 found this review helpful
              Worked as designed
              I'm a DIYer, installed it in 2 days, had to run coppers and solder the joints, make sure you have valve fittings, that does not come with the unit. was able to do it by myself.
              by
              Response from RheemOct 31, 2022
              Hi Ritch,


              Thank you for this 5-star review! We are glad to hear your new Rheem Water Heater is working great for you! If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST


              Derius rheem
                • Recommended
                4 found this review helpful
                Easy enough installation and awesome water heater
                The Rheem tankless water heater was fairly straight forward to install as a DIY'er. We're super happy with its performance and endless hot showers! I replaced a traditional 50-gal storage tank, and we couldn't be happier. I installed in over a month ago and it's worked perfectly from the moment it was turned it on. The only downside is the internal recirc pump is a bit noisy, which resonates through the house due to how the water heater is mounted to the studs. It's not too noisy, but I could've improved the situation by using vibration isolators. I might do that some other day.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  7 found this review helpful
                  Bad quality and Service
                  Heavy condensation coming out within the unit. It does not go to the condensation drain line. No hot water provided. Were not able to contact Rheem Tech support for help after 5 phone calls. Replaced it with Navien Water heater. Installation is the same. No condensation at all. Works just fine. Rheem does not seem to have good quality tankless water heater. It was a brand that my first licensed plumber refused to install. Should have listened to them.
                  by
                  Response from RheemJun 9, 2022
                  Hi,

                  Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced because of the performance of your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed included a 12-year heat exchanger warranty, a 5-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 1-year labor warranty. If you are still in need of assistance, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. Our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you with warranty, and technical questions on his heater.

                  Derius rheem
                  • Verified Purchase
                  13 found this review helpful
                  DIY installation
                  After my 3rd Bradford White traditional gas water heater leaking almost immediately after the 6yr warranty expired I decided to go tankless. Installation was straight forward for a DIY person. So far so good
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    ...
                    by
                      Constant errors causing no hot water
                      It's been 3 years owning this tankless and we have had nothing but headaches. It's a pain when you're in the shower and water does not heat. Constant errors occurs like 20 60 and we would have to go out to heater and cycle the power.
                      by
                      Response from RheemNov 18, 2021
                      Hi Thomas,

                      Please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you.

                      Jennifer rheem
                        12 found this review helpful
                        Our old hot water tank wasn't keeping water hot enough for me to finish washing the conditioner o...
                        Our old hot water tank wasn't keeping water hot enough for me to finish washing the conditioner out of my hair. While the installation was a bit tricky for this the hot water has been unlimited and we love it.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        My water has calcium (salt) in it, and tank water...
                        My water has calcium (salt) in it, and tank water heaters didn't last more than 18 months for me. So tankless has been my only real option for the last 20 or so years. Also, I have a well pump and so water pressure varies constantly. The first heater was archaic by today's standards; minimal electronics, a pilot light, crude (terrible) temperature control, etc. After about 5 years, it caught fire - thankfully I happened to be in the basement at the time, so I could shut it down before any real damage occurred. The next one was a Bosch Aquastar. A major improvement, but still not a great performer. The water temperature was rarely consistent or steady. Showering was possible, but problematic, often adjusting the temperature between steaming hot and freezing. That one finally died too, after about 10 years. The Reem was pretty straight-forward to install, though I had to move pretty much every pipe because there's no standard. It started up and ran like a dream immediately. The shower temperature in particular was the prize. It's perfect. No adjustments what-so-ever, regardless of flow/pressure. And I could run it for hours if I wanted to. Yeah, it was a bit pricey, about $1,600.00 all told, but if I get 15-20 years this time, at this performance level, it's worth it. Note: Get the flush valve kit! Yes, it's a bit extra, but my old one died for lack of back-flushing, mainly because it was a pain to set it up and run it. But with the valve kit, it's really a breeze. All you need is a portable pump, a couple of laundry hoses, a bucket and vinegar. Once or twice a year, run it for about 1 hour. I plan to. I think if someone installs one of these on a better water supply, like city water, they'll get even better results.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        17 found this review helpful
                        A month ago, ever since I installed this product Started to have issues with no hot water whatsoe...
                        A month ago, ever since I installed this product Started to have issues with no hot water whatsoever! I called Rheem and followed the instructions to drain out the water and restart the unit still not working (power green light keep flashing, with Error code 66, which is the mixing valve), several times attempted but still don’t work! Rheem technical staff told me will send me a new mixing valve to replace it but I never got it!!! I had to call again to hope they can expedite it! I will not recommend this product, the customer service is awful to deal with (always line busy, or when lucky they picked up put you on hold forever!). I’ll wait for couple more days, or I’ll need to tear the unit down and return to Home Depot!
                        by
                          14 found this review helpful
                          These On Demand water heaters take up a lot less space than a traditional tank heater. It provid...
                          These On Demand water heaters take up a lot less space than a traditional tank heater. It provides plenty of hot water and was installed to address the need of filling a new whirlpool tub after a bathroom remodel project. Our older 40 gallon tank heater ran out of hot water before the tub was filled. It works well. The reason I give it 4 stars is because you will use, overall, more water which offsets the savings the tankless unit provides. It takes a long time to remove the cold water in the pipes before the hot water comes through. Once it gets there you will never run out and it is hot. We are finding we need to run the water much longer than we did with the tank water heater. Our situation required going with a tankless heater for the tub. My suggestion is to think through your situation and take this into consideration when making your decision.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          12 found this review helpful
                          great product
                          no adjustments needed, installed and worked perfectly after turning it up to 120*. saved a ton of room!
                          by
                            • Recommended
                            1 found this review helpful
                            Very good tankless water heater. It runs very quiet compared to another brand I have at my office...
                            Very good tankless water heater. It runs very quiet compared to another brand I have at my office (sounds like a vacuum cleaner). We have bought 3 Rheem tankless water heaters at the same time, mom's house, brother's house and my house. All 3 are running very quiet, installed by ourselves.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            8 found this review helpful
                            80 Gallon Electric AO Smith water heater bites the dust after 8 short years. Was pondering betwee...
                            80 Gallon Electric AO Smith water heater bites the dust after 8 short years. Was pondering between Rinnai & Rheem. Both really good quality, but I went with the Rheem due to flexibility. We just finished install today. Our install was a bit different as the local gas company had to run gas to our house. With that we had to run the gas line in the house and connect to meter, as well as intake and exhaust to a 3" concentric vent. Overall the install went very smooth. I really like how you have options on the venting 2'' vs 3'' etc. I'm going to play around with it this weekend to figure out what sink is the furthest to hook up re-circulation. Since that isn't hooked up yet, it is taking a bit longer to get hot water to the faucet. It didn't take long to set up on initial start up. The user interface is pretty simple to follow. I can't believe how quite this thing is. If the burner indicator light didn't come on, you'd never know it was running. I give this thing an A+. No more worrying about running out of hot water. Will update once re-circulation is set up.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            8 found this review helpful
                            It so easy to install, not much to it. In my case I have install new water line and gas line An...
                            It so easy to install, not much to it. In my case I have install new water line and gas line And just plug in an electric power receptacle get instant hot water
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            2 found this review helpful
                            It was easy to install if you follow all directions and know what your doing some what when it co...
                            It was easy to install if you follow all directions and know what your doing some what when it comes to running water lines
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            3 found this review helpful
                            I bought this online (this model wasn't in the store) when my water heater decided to spring a le...
                            I bought this online (this model wasn't in the store) when my water heater decided to spring a leak in the middle of the stay at home order. Shipping was good, professional delivery, delivered it right to my garage. Unfortunately due to the reduced hours of the store during the stay at home order, it took several trips to the store to get all the additional parts to get it installed. It took the whole weekend to get it up and running. The cost of this unit is one thing, Keep in mind that after this purchase, if you plan on installing it yourself, like I did, it will cost about an additional $800+ or so, in parts, depending on what you need to install it. Vent pipes, additional black gas pipe, a flexible gas hose, for the final connection to the unit. I also purchased the Concentric Vent Termination Kit, you can cut it down to the size you need, make sure to leave the proper lengths to make the connections properly seal. Also, this unit does come with the service valve kit already, so you don't have to purchase those separately. Just make sure that you do your research before hand, make sure you have the right gas lines running to the unit, and that you have good access to run your vent lines, have a place to actually hang the unit. etc. There are good resources on youtube for assistance in installing.
                            by
                            Response from RheemMay 18, 2020
                            Hi,

                            Thank you for the great review! We appreciate the feedback on installation and hope you are enjoying your new Rheem Tankless Water Heater.

                            Jennifer rheem
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            14 found this review helpful
                            Takes a tad longer than a tank to deliver hot water, but once it does, it doesn't stop. You do ...
                            Takes a tad longer than a tank to deliver hot water, but once it does, it doesn't stop. You do not run out..for instant hot water you need to put a recirculator into the loop...more money like a grand or more for one with installation. Caught me off guard that a tankless goes out in 12 to 15 years just like a tank...get a warranty provider like American Home Shield for that event as well as the entire house. Overall, I'm happy with it...$3,300.00 to have it installed...a flat rate, all inclusive with half-off of old tank. Mines a gas unit.
                            by
                            • Pro
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            14 found this review helpful
                            Love having enough hot water finally! A little tricky to install and make sure you call your gas ...
                            Love having enough hot water finally! A little tricky to install and make sure you call your gas company to check that your meter is big enough.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            6 found this review helpful
                            I have a full installation video series on my Youtube Channel, Fix It Scotty. This is not an average DIY project
                            If you want to learn how to install this unit, watch my youtube series on this. Here is a link to the playlist. https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLq6fTBrWkVi5cYf5IibJoypH0eFDq-BGH The is not for the average DIY'er. You need to know all aspects of plumbing like working with gas and water lines (and codes for your area), PVC piping, siding and exterior work for the venting, and even maybe some framing (I had to build a wall to hang it). NOTE: The Quick Install instructions have conflicting data from the full instructions with regard to venting. Watch my Part 5 video on the venting and read page 34-35 on the full install instructions. I do like that it included the outside vent plate. Also, you REALLY should by the Watts Tankless Water Heater Valve Kit with this unit in order to do maintenance (descaling). https://www.homedepot.com/p/Watts-3-4-in-Lead-Free-Copper-Tankless-Water-Heater-Valve-Installation-Kit-0100156/205078015 I have only had it one month and so far, so good.
                            by
                              • Recommended
                              64 found this review helpful
                              We have only had this unit for about a month. It comes from the factory with a preset limit of 1...
                              We have only had this unit for about a month. It comes from the factory with a preset limit of 120F. If you hold the up arrow for about 5 seconds it opens up the range to 140F. After changing that setting change, everything works very well. Constant hot water, and plenty of it for multiple showers at a time
                              by
                              • DIY
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              13 found this review helpful
                              Worth the upgrade
                              I've had this installed for 6 months now and I'm glad I did. It took about a day to install. Saves space. Operates quietly and definitely has saved me from having to get oil deliveries. Easy to maintain. Only a couple filters and an annual check from a professional. It also lowered my total water usage for house. For anyone who has an older system like I did will benefit from doing this upgrade.
                              by
                                • Recommended
                                5 found this review helpful
                                Gas tankless not ready for prime time
                                If the install is in a new construction then the use of THERMO-REGULATED point of use faucets and fixtures is needed. Even with the unit's recirculation pump enabled the warmup time and the temperature flux causes the user to continuously re-adjust the shower temp. The performance is unsatisfactory for install into an older house (1998 with copper pipes) The unit continuously cycles on and off and makes quite the racket if installed close to sleeping areas. The automatic program logic failed to learn lifestyle use. The unit would not enable the recirculation pump when the unit had just cycled and reached full heating capacity, quite the waste of energy and a wear on equipment. We would often finish using the sink to wash hands before warm water was received, this was only solved by leaving the pump on continuously which disrupted sleep. Even using title 24 program logic was difficult and if desired the use of the remote motion sensor unit would be about the only feasible way to work out the performance program logic oversights. Then there is the errors and the logic abort tree / flow chart. The unit has a vast array of errors that can stop the unit from heating, most times the solution to to restart the unit! Well, Rheem, why not have it try that by itself and see if it can automatically recover. Hot water is not something that I want to have to continuously troubleshoot, the performance and reliability needs to be utility level at 99.999999% plus! Then when the unit flow sensor broke Rheem took their sweet time to ship the part needed, there were not local dealers who could fix it. 4 days without hot water was far too long; then they wanted me to change out the unit. Ended up going with an electric tankless on demand and so far so much better!
                                by
                                Response from RheemMar 22, 2020
                                Hi,

                                We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience you had but happy to hear the tankless electric product better fits your needs. If we can be of any assistance in the future please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you.

                                Jennifer rheem
                                  24 found this review helpful
                                  This WH works and perform very good for my current requirements. Having hot water on demand elimi...
                                  This WH works and perform very good for my current requirements. Having hot water on demand eliminate the wait for water to heat up after all the family has taken a shower. It does not have any trouble with water pressure. But I think it works better if you have anti scalding valve for your shower so the temperature don't vary much when other fixtures calls for hot water. Very easy to install.
                                  by
                                  • Verified Purchase
                                  • Recommended
                                  1 found this review helpful
                                  Showing 1-30 of 760 reviews

                                  Frequently Bought Together

                                  +
                                  +
                                  Price:
                                  $1469.00