#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Rheem Performance Platinum 9.5 GPM Smart Super High Efficiency Indoor or Outdoor Natural Gas Tankless Water Heater

Internet #325308951

Model #ECOH200DVELN-3

Store SKU #1009624806

  • Continuous hot water; up to 4-showers at once; see sizing guide
  • Control from your device with built in econet wi-fi technology
  • Convert to outdoor tankless water heater w/ ECOH-X conversion kit

Customer Reviews

  • 3.9
    out of 761 reviews
  • 66% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 761 reviews
Poor and doesn't work and rheem giving the run around about it
by
Response from RheemJun 25, 2024
Hello MS,

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the water heater you have reviewed. It’s disappointing when a product doesn’t meet our expectations, and it’s even more frustrating when the customer service experience doesn’t help resolve the issue.

If you haven’t done so already, you might want to consider reaching out to The Home Depot where you purchased the unit. They may be able to assist with your concerns or provide alternative solutions.

Remember, your feedback is important and can help make informed changes on the unit. We hope your issue gets resolved soon. If you have any other questions or need further assistance, feel free to call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

Derius rheem
  • Verified Purchase
loud!!
Its better than a tank BUT this unit is loud!’ It also does not ecceed 140° F! That kinda sucks. The first one that i teceived was also decective! I paid to have this thing installed twice!!
by
Response from RheemJun 25, 2024
Hi,

We are really sorry to hear about the issues you’ve been experiencing with your water heater. It’s frustrating when a product doesn’t meet your expectations, especially when it comes to noise levels and temperature limits.

It sounds like the unit is louder than you expected and doesn’t exceed 140°F, which is disappointing. Additionally, it’s unfortunate that the first unit you received was defective, causing you to pay for installation twice.

Your feedback is valuable and can help correct issues. If you haven’t already, we would recommend reaching out to Home Depot’s customer service or our Technical Support team for further assistance. They may be able to provide a solution or compensation for the issues you’ve experienced.

Remember, your satisfaction is important, and you have the right to a product that works as advertised. If you need any more help or have other questions, please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST!

Derius rheem
    • Recommended
    Nothing but problems!
    We have had nothing but problems with this water heater. I had a contractor install not soon after we bought and it kept throwing an error code and would stop producing hot water periodically. We thought it might just be home he plumbed, so we had a licensed plumber come and replumb it. Since then, the licensed plumber has been out 2 other times because its still not working! We have spent $1,000s of dollars on install. With multiple professionals saying its hooked up correctly! Do not waste your time and money on this product!
    by
    Response from RheemJun 25, 2024
    Hi,

    We are really sorry to hear about the troubles you’ve been having with the water heater you have reviewed. It’s frustrating when a product doesn’t work as expected, especially after multiple attempts to fix it by professionals.

    It’s important to share these experiences as they can help with needed changes. We would recommend reaching out to Home Depot’s customer service or our Technical Support team for further assistance. They may be able to provide a solution or compensation for the issues you’ve experienced.

    Remember, your satisfaction is important, and you have the right to a product that works as advertised. For further assistance, please call 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

    Derius rheem
      • Recommended
      Amazing ……and worth every penny
      by
      Response from RheemMay 22, 2024
      Hello Joseph,

      Rheem is thrilled that you are enjoying your new Tankless Water Heater! Thank you for your 5-star review!

      Isaiah rheem
      • Verified Purchase
      While the water heater is doing exactly what I purchased it for, the customer service sucked. I had to purchase the heater twice, the second time at full price. The store never contacted me but sold the previous special purchase out from under me. Neither the manager nor the installation scheduler would talk with me. I wasn’t offered any discount on the final purchase. Consequently, I will no longer shop at Home Depot even though I have spent over $11000 in the past few years.
      by
      Response from RheemMay 21, 2024
      Hello,

      Thank you for your 4-star review. While we are happy to hear that you are enjoying your new Rheem water heater, we are sorry to hear of the difficulty and inconvenience you experienced at the place of purchase. To best report and resolve your issue, please contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M. and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

      Isaiah rheem
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      I love my new tankless water heater. I’m already seeing a difference in my water bill! My only regret is not making the switch sooner.
      by
      Response from RheemMay 23, 2024
      Shaquetta,

      We are thrilled to hear that you’re loving your new Performance Platinum 11 GPM Natural Gas High Efficiency Indoor Recirculating Tankless Water Heater. It’s fantastic that you’re already noticing a difference in your water bill. Switching to a tankless water heater can indeed be a game-changer in terms of energy efficiency and cost savings. Don’t worry about not making the switch sooner, the important thing is that you’ve made it now and are reaping the benefits. Enjoy your energy-efficient hot water!

      Derius rheem
      • Verified Purchase
      Loud noise, unstable water temperature
      I installed this water heater last week and it doesn't work very well after I started using it. The fan is very loud when the machine is not running, the water temperature is unstable, sometimes hot and sometimes cold, and the waiting time is also very long. It feels like it uses more water than the old water heater. The installer said it was a problem with the machine and had nothing to do with him. I want to return it, but it obviously does not meet the return terms of homedeot (it has been used) and I don't know what to do?
      by
      Response from RheemMay 21, 2024
      Hello Vivian,

      We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

      Isaiah rheem
        • Recommended
        It takes longer to get hot water to the tap. It is always throwing the error 29 the condensate is backed up and it shuts off all the time, that's not fun durring showers. Definitely not as reliable and dependable as a tank.
        by
        Response from RheemMay 22, 2024
        Hello Jeremy,

        Rheem is sorry to hear about your experience with this product and the resulting inconvenience. If you need assistance with your water heater, please reach out to our Technical Support team at (800) 374-8806, 8 A.M. and 5 P.M. EST, and one of our agents would be happy to assist.

        Isaiah rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        This hot water heater is my first tankless water heater. With the internal recirculation pump it avoids the longer wait time for hot water to reach the far faucets in our big house. I am still learning all of its features and programming but so far, I do love it. I am not a young man but have many skills. I was able to install this myself with a little help from a family member. Read the installation instructions completely, watch videos from many sources since not all of them are accurate. For people without plumbing skills, I would recommend paying to have it installed by a professional. It is not an easy task. This unit did require a condensate pump with neutralizer. The condensate was very acidic and would cause cast iron drainpipe and environmental damage. They run a little under $200.
        by
        Response from RheemMay 22, 2024
        Gerald,

        We are glad to hear that you’re finding the Performance Platinum 11 GPM Natural Gas High Efficiency Indoor Recirculating Tankless Water Heater from The Home Depot to be a good fit for your needs. It’s great that the internal recirculation pump is helping to deliver hot water more quickly to the far faucets in your large house.

        Your experience and advice about the installation process can be very helpful for others considering this water heater. It’s good to know that while it’s possible to install it yourself if you have the necessary skills, it might be better for those without plumbing skills to hire a professional.

        It’s also valuable to know about the need for a condensate pump with neutralizer due to the acidity of the condensate. This kind of real-world insight can be very helpful for others.

        Enjoy the efficiency and convenience of your new water heater!


        Derius rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        The only issue we have are slight temperature fluctuations in the shower if two showers or washing machine/dishwasher is being used at the same time. No issue if only one shower solo is being used.
        by
        Response from RheemFeb 14, 2024
        Hello,

        Thank you for the 4-star review! If you ever need assistance or just have questions about your water heater, feel free to reach out to our Technical Support Team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you. Thank you for choosing Rheem!

        Isaiah rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Falsely advertised in a few ways- this item does NOT accept a 1/2” gas line, unless you are on LP. Had to re-pipe my whole basement because of their ads. Also- they advertise that this has a system to avoid cold-spots while showering etc.. This is not true. I still get cold spots. Pretty upset with my purchase, but it’s already installed and I’m not going to do the same job twice. Also, delivery was late & fedex lied saying they would come back out to deliver the day it was supposed to be dropped.
        by
        Response from RheemFeb 21, 2024
        Hi,


        Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your Home Depot purchase. To better assist you with this issue, please contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

        Derius rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        by
        • Verified Purchase
        Great thankless Water heater. Easy install and instantly hot water!
        by
        Response from RheemFeb 15, 2024
        Hi,

        Thank you for this 5-star review. We are glad that the installation of your new water heater was simple and easy for you. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

        Derius rheem
        • Verified Purchase
        when it works it’s great
        I’ve had this water heater for over a year now. Every 3 to 4 months we go through a period of a week or two where we get various error codes and the heater doesnt work properly. Usually, I flush the system with a vinegar mixture, as the manufacturer recommends, but the issue does not immediately resolve. Just about the time I get ready to buy a new heater and rip this one out It starts working again. Very frustrated with this purchase. Ill be contacting the company to see if they will be helpful in resolving their defective heater.
        by
        Response from RheemFeb 15, 2024
        Hi,

        Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

        Derius rheem
          • Recommended
          Do not buy
          It worked decent for a while. Working one year the heat exchanger busted. I called Rheem and they said take it back to Home Depot and they’d swap it out. Plumber took it back and ended up having to pay more money because they won’t exchange with there new one. It’s a scam to get more money. Warranty doesn’t matter. They tell you it will last 20 years and when it breaks they make you pay more. Stay away from Rheem!
          by
          Response from RheemFeb 15, 2024
          Hi David,

          Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope the issue has been resolved. The water heater you have reviewed includes a 12-year heat exchanger warranty, a 5-year parts and a 1-year labor warranty. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

          Derius rheem
            1 found this review helpful
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            DONT EVER BUY THRU HOME DEPOT... THEY ARE A JOKE
            They Sold me a out dated unit that has issues right out of the box.. I called home depot and Rheem and got the run around from the get go.. I had to have 2 plumbers come out to try to fix my issues which was a leak internally. After diving into this myself i found a leaking point of the H/E so I pulled the unit out and went back to my local Home depot for a refund of all my money.. I will NEVER buy thru a box store again for all the time wasted with ZERO SUPPORT from both companies...
            by
            Response from RheemJan 11, 2024
            Hello Richard,

            Thank you for your review and feedback. Our goal is always to provide the best product and service possible to our customers. We will certainly use your feedback to help current and future customers have a better experience and product.

            Isaiah rheem
              1 found this review helpful
              Takes too long to heat the water, has momentary heat loss. Would not recommend
              by
              Response from RheemJan 4, 2024
              Hi Rob,

              Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced with the performance on your water heater and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              1 found this review helpful
              This unit was fairly easy and straightforward to install as a replacement for a tank water heater. We had an issue with the first unit and customer service was great. Endless hot water is tough to beat!
              by
              Response from RheemJan 4, 2024
              Hi,

              Thank you for this 5-star review. We are glad that the installation of your new water heater was simple and easy for you. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              Wrong device sent ordered national gas received propane heater. Returned heater the same day.
              by
              Response from RheemJan 4, 2024
              Hi,

              Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope the issue has been resolved. If you still need assistance, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              Showing 1-30 of 761 reviews

              Frequently Bought Together

              +
              +
              Price:
              $1469.00