#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Rust-Oleum Specialty 10.25 oz. Midnight Black Glitter Spray Paint (6-Pack)

Internet #207157189

Model #299424

Store SKU #1001844702

  • Strong sparkle finish with intense shimmer, interior use only
  • Multi purpose, decorative spray paint provides a fun, custom look
  • Glitter paint covers up to 5 sq. ft. per can over like base coat

Customer Reviews

  • 2.6
    out of 1,312 reviews
  • 47% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 1,312 reviews
Used the spray on some pine cones and twigs. It did not cover well. I had to keep spraying and spraying. That said, I'm sure it would be best used over something already painted but to which you wanted to add sparkle.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 14, 2023
Thank you for reaching out, Sue! Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint can be applied to good condition and clean wood surfaces. Please also note that this paint is recommended for indoor surfaces only.
-Rust-Oleum Product Support 14 Rustoleum
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
by
  • Verified Purchase
Love this paint color. My daughter picked it out and it turned out to be a perfect overlay.
by
  • Verified Purchase
Fun
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is a great product. We do a lot of crafts at our house. We used this paint several times for different projects. The glitter was really beautiful and stayed on the surfaces well. I would recommend this brand and product.
by
    • Recommended
    Looks great with a solid color underneath. We went with black. Just be sure to have a top clear coat because it will rub off.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Because of the glitter, there is less coverage than a regular color. Buy an extra!
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Rust-Oleum Glitter Paint
    The paint did not cover as well as we had hoped. Took 4 cans to get the desired results. If we do something like this again, we paint using ‘regular’ paint to cover the wood and use the specialty paint, which is considerably more expensive, to add some glitter.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    does not cover. I painted the item with a pink...
    does not cover. I painted the item with a pink spray then added the Glitter, still not great :)
    by
    Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 5, 2023
    Let's see what we can figure out. For best results using Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint, apply over a base coat or primer of similar color for best coverage and amplified glitter effect. Then be sure to shake the can vigorously for one minute after the mixing ball begins to rattle, also shake often during use. Apply holding the can upright 12-14” from surface and spray in a steady back-and-forth motion, slightly overlapping each stroke. Keep the can the same distance from the surface, keeping it in motion while spraying. Apply two or more light coats a few minutes apart until the desired coverage has been achieved.
    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Excelente color! I love it...
    Excelente color! I love it
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    GOOD... But not GREAT
    Does what it is supposed to, mostly, didn't get the results pictured as the glitter is not as prevalent.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Was only pairing 3 thin wall picture frames…had to go...
    Was only pairing 3 thin wall picture frames…had to go by a second can…$30+ for paint…very poor product to get the glitter effect.
    by
    Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 12, 2023
    Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience, Mike! When applying Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray, we recommend applying several light coats a few minutes apart to help build the finish. Applying over a similar color base coat or primer can also help with coverage.
    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
    • Verified Purchase
    Terrible
    No matter how much I shook the can, this paint never came out correctly. At first it sprayed clear then the color came out in spurts, then the can clogged. Coverage was terrible and it started flaking when it dried. I ended up having to repaint with another color after sanding this stuff off. I've used tons of rustoleum and always been happy with the quality. This one fell short. I called the company and they're sending a refund, so I give them 5 stars for customer service
    by
    Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 9, 2023
    Thank you for sharing your experience, Ferg. For best results, be sure to thoroughly mix Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray for at least one full minute after the mixing ball begins to rattle. While we hate to hear about the issues you encountered, we are happy you were able to get help. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 4 Rustoleum
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      Does not show up as sparkly as can top shows....
      Does not show up as sparkly as can top shows. Would have to do multiple layers, and not much paint in can to do such.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 24, 2023
      Thank you for sharing your experience. Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint offers an sparkling finish to craft and decorative projects. For best results, apply 2 or more light coats a few minutes apart. Additional coats will create a bolder look. - Rust-Oleum Product Support 4 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      by
      • Verified Purchase
      I thought it had a base coat in it but...
      I thought it had a base coat in it but it doesn’t, don’t get me wrong it is glittery but it made it inconvenient not knowing it didn’t have a base coat when looking at the cap it looked like it was a full color.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 12, 2023
      Thanks for sharing your experience. Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint is a heavily pigmented coating, loaded with glitter. Use of a Painter's Touch 2X Ultra Cover Primer provides excellent adhesion and hide, it is especially recommended for bare wood and metal.
      https://www.homedepot.com/p/Rust-Oleum-Painter-s-Touch-2X-12-oz-Flat-White-Primer-General-Purpose-Spray-Paint-334019/307244964
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
      • Verified Purchase
      Won't spray and can is almost full
      I have purchased many cans of glitter spray over the years. My small go to can from another manufacturer is no longer available, so I bought several cans of the Rustoleum brand. Invariably, after one or two brief uses, I go to use the can again and it will not work despite always clearing out the nozzle properly and/or using new nozzles. It's like the stuff is stuck in the can with no pressure, as the can still is almost full. This is also a problem with other Rustoleum spray products.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 10, 2023
      Oh no, not something we like to hear! Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint contains a lot of pigment and glitter, for this reason is it important to shake the can vigorously for at least one minute once the mixing ball begins to rattle. During the painting process, it is just as important to shake vigorously to ensure the pigment and glitter remain blending in the can. All this shaking typically results in a good, consistent spray. Give us a call at 800-481-4785, so we can hear more about your application and try to make things right.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
        Won't spray and can is almost full
        I have purchased many cans of glitter spray over the years. My small go to can from another manufacturer is no longer available, so I bought several cans of the Rustoleum brand. Invariably, after one or two brief uses, I go to use the can again and it will not work despite always clearing out the nozzle properly and/or using new nozzles. It's like the stuff is stuck in the can with no pressure, as the can still is almost full. This is also a problem with other Rustoleum spray products.
        by
        Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 10, 2023
        Oh no, not something we like to hear! Rust-Oleum Specialty Glitter Spray Paint contains a lot of pigment and glitter, for this reason is it important to shake the can vigorously for at least one minute once the mixing ball begins to rattle. During the painting process, it is just as important to shake vigorously to ensure the pigment and glitter remain blending in the can. All this shaking typically results in a good, consistent spray. Give us a call at 800-481-4785, so we can hear more about your application and try to make things right.
        - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
          The glitter texture and color looks great! I only wish...
          The glitter texture and color looks great! I only wish the glitter had thicker coat coverage.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Need more ! Incredible stuff. Gave the exact results....
          Need more ! Incredible stuff. Gave the exact results. I was looking for.
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Showing 1-30 of 1,312 reviews

          Frequently Bought Together

          +
          +
          Price:
          $5379