#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for US Stove Wiseway 2,000 sq. ft. 40,000 BTU Non Electric Gravity Fed Pellet Stove

Internet #206691061

Model #GW1949

Store SKU #1001645348

  • Features a gravity-fed design for silent operation
  • Has an output of 40,000 BTU
  • Features a glass viewing window to check pellet levels

Customer Reviews

  • 3.9
    out of 76 reviews
  • 70% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 76 reviews
easy set up and started working fine
just got the stove setup followed instructions for startup, reach 600 degrees in 35mins. going to see how long 40lbs will burn. raised temperature in the room 20 degrees in less than an hour from starting the torch. 2000 sq. ft.
by
Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
    • Recommended
    2 found this review helpful
    I often lose power during ice storms so when I learned that pellet stoves with forced exhaust are...
    I often lose power during ice storms so when I learned that pellet stoves with forced exhaust are dangerous to run when the power is out, I started looking for an alternative. I read every thing I could about this stove. It came with some issues: the exhaust is 3" but 3" pipe did not fit - I had to do some creative crimping to make it work; ash buildup chokes out the flame unless you find a way to knock it out of the primary burn basket - easy enough to handle I use a long metal file every few hours. Those are the drawbacks. The benefits are fantastic. The stove gives a warm even heat with little upkeep, especially compared to the hassle of a wood stove. I have had a few questions and the help is very friendly, helpful and responsive. I can let the stove run all night and it keeps the house warm. Summary, this stove is a machine you have to learn. There is an art to getting and keeping it working, but it is far easier than a wood stove and offers the huge benefit of working even without power. Well done US Stove Company.
    by
    Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
    Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
      • Recommended
      22 found this review helpful
      I've been using this stove for a month and it runs differently for each individual. You have to h...
      I've been using this stove for a month and it runs differently for each individual. You have to have an excellent draft...no air leaks in the stove pipe at any point. Use Rutland furnace cement to seal up stove pipes that are not air tight. Having a good draft prevents heat from backdrafting up the feed chamber. I have added a heat sink on the outside of the feed tube to keep it cooler, for added protection. I also had to spread the burn chamber a tiny amount to get it to not plug up. Tweaking it makes it more dependable, and will burn longer periods. I like the steady burn and the release of constant heat.
      by
      Response from USStoveExpertJan 24, 2018
      We are happy to hear your satisfaction with our unit! Thank you for your review. We love hearing feedback to know how we can improve for our customers! USSC
        • Recommended
        16 found this review helpful
        I haven't fired it up yet, but the review is...
        I haven't fired it up yet, but the review is on the quality. It was all set up except the base, that went on easily, and the drawers, which did not. The burn drawer fit fine, the second burn drawer had to be pushed down on the end (on the inside which will probably make all the un-burned pellets fall to the back) and the fire pot what would not close at all. The tabs on the outside of the drawer had to be pulled out so the drawer would slide in all the way. The metal on the burn pot is very thick and hard to manipulate. Hope everything works out okay when it is lit off.
        by
        Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
        Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
        • Verified Purchase
        1 found this review helpful
        damaged and parts missing...
        damaged and parts missing
        by
        Response from USStoveExpertOct 16, 2017
        Please give us a call at 1-800-750-2723 Ext. 5050 and we ill be happy ta assist with your issues! USSC
        • Verified Purchase
        1 found this review helpful
        The performance of this stove is subject to proper draft and the need to take a little time to le...
        The performance of this stove is subject to proper draft and the need to take a little time to learn how control the temperature required for your home. Proper cleaning is essential but is not difficult nor time consuming. 5 minutes a day with a shop vac will do. For me it is easier to maintain and operate than a wood stove. No electricity needed and none of the hassel with cord wood. I give it 5 stars easy!
        by
        Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
        Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
          • Recommended
          13 found this review helpful
          Instructions are clear except what will happen if you leave the feed chamber open or the hopper o...
          Instructions are clear except what will happen if you leave the feed chamber open or the hopper open. About the third day it wasn't feeding the pellets properly and I opened the feed chamber Late that evening to see the pellets burning there. I closed that lower cover and left the feed hopper cracked (unlatched) over night. The next morning I found the pellets had smoldered all the way up into the hopper. I removed all the pellets in the stove and found the chutes and hopper were left quite rough from the smoldering pellets. I spent over an hour scraping and sanding the surfaces I could reach so the pellet stove could work again. What I discovered was the pellet basket as delivered wasn't allowing the pellets to flow freely enough. I widened by prying the bars further apart and it ran better. The biggest issue with this stove is ash in the burn path builds up (with even the best pellets) and I have to clean it every morning to get enough heat from the stove (I use a Ridgid WD30500 shop vac) I tried a big shop vac to clean it and the hose is too fat. The Ridgid 3 gallon one has a 2" diameter hose and that will go up the burn path to the 1st corner and remove most of the ash buildup (I bought mine from Home Depot). I plan to run this stove for a long time as we live in the boonies and a power outage is likely. I have a tall 14' flue and I went with 4" pipe as recommended by US Stove. They have yet to return my request (3 weeks ago) at their site for tips to stop back-burning...Note the glass door soots up before I burn a whole bag of any pellets and the pellet hopper is quite high I use a stool to fill it and I'm 5' 11" tall.
          by
          Response from USStoveExpertDec 30, 2016
          I apologize for a representative not getting back to you in a promptly manner. Leaving open the feed chamber or the hopper allows for too much airflow to enter the unit. The unit was tested for optimal use with all doors and chambers closed off with only the natural draft as airflow. On most pellet stoves, the ash has to been cleaned out daily due to buildup. In regards to your soot buildup on the glass, it is likely due to airflow issues. We would like to resolve any issues if you could call 1-800-750-2723 EXT 5050. We look forward to hearing from you! USSC
            • Recommended
            18 found this review helpful
            bought a wiseway stove when I built my home in 2012 and have had nothing but problems with it. 1...
            bought a wiseway stove when I built my home in 2012 and have had nothing but problems with it. 1. can not regulate the heat sometimes it will flare up to and over 800 degrees and other times like tonight (November 25, 2016) it will not stay lit. I have spoken to owner/inventor and he sent me a new (smaller) primary burn pot and still nothing but problems. Gary also told me to spread the burn pot bars apart when not burning or to place a can over the intake port if burning too hot. Again nothing has worked. Also have tried different pellet manufactures but no luck. 2. Pellets get stuck in the feed hopper due to unfinished ridges that catch the pellets and hang them up stopping the flow of pellets also leading to the stove going out when not attended. Don't waste your money on this stove great idea but doesn't work.
            by
            Response from USStoveExpertNov 28, 2016
            I am sorry to hear about your issues with the Wiseway. However, the unit has started being manufactured by US Stove in the past year. Some of the designs differ from the units seen from the original owner/inventor. Any issues or needing parts, please call 1-800-750-2723 EXT 5050. USSC
              11 found this review helpful
              Starting second winter burning at night only so far keeping house between 73 & 80 being left half...
              Starting second winter burning at night only so far keeping house between 73 & 80 being left half open or closed for heat. Using one bag every two days . Put in front of fire place for some reel heat and it puts that out. Last winter in the 30s it burned a bag in about 36 hours to keep the house 70 to 78 our house is 2400 sq ft. in Oregon.
              by
              Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
              Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
                • Recommended
                15 found this review helpful
                USSC Wiseway pellet stove
                I used the stove for the first time tis weekend since it has not been cold prior to this. I started and functioned properly. It really puts out the heat and is easy to use. I am looking forward to a nice warm cozy winter day to really enjoy this pellet stove.
                by
                Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
                Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
                • DIY
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                4 found this review helpful
                Watch the burn basket
                Have had this stove for about a year and a half. Use it as the primary heat source for a 1200 s.f. single level home with a finished attic. The primary burn basket has been replaced twice with the third one burning up as we speak. The manufacturer says yearly maintenance is required on all pellet stoves but at $45 a piece and 2 a year, it becomes questionable if this is cost effective. Great idea, just not well executed.
                by
                Response from USStoveExpertMar 10, 2016
                We apologize to hear about the burn basket as we recently started manufacturing this unit. If you have any questions or concerns, please call US Stove at 1-800-750-2723 for us to help resolve this issue. USSC
                • DIY
                8 found this review helpful
                wiseway gravity fed pellet stove
                the stove works well and provides heat without electrics the fit of the gaskets for the feed corridor don't fit well and will not last long the fall of the pellets must be monitored frequently as they plug up causing the stove to burn the wrong way I expected the stove to be made with heaver material with better fit and finish even with the problems I have had I would still recommend the stove
                by
                Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
                Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
                • DIY
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                5 found this review helpful
                Homeowner
                Absolutely love this stove switched from a wood stove to the wiseway stove in October 2015.My house is 1975 sq.ft two floors keeps my house at 70 on low ..no mess ,no bringing in wood easy to clean ..cost efficient uses a bag a day (24hr) would recommend this stove and I have too many people ..Heat is evenly distributed throughout the house
                by
                Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
                Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
                  • Recommended
                  11 found this review helpful
                  Great product!
                  I use it exclusively to heat my 2350 sq. foot 2 story home. At 25 degrees outside, it keeps my home at a toasty 69 with the unit set on low. It takes a little bit of getting used to using the unit but it is well worth the learning curve. I used Pellet Vent Pro chimney piping. I would buy it again even though it is a little bit more expensive than other electric pellet stoves with the same heat output. Simple to start the burn/'draft process and easy to clean. I get about 20 hours of heat from a 40 lb. bag of pellets.
                  by
                  Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
                  Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
                  • DIY
                  • Recommended
                  13 found this review helpful
                  Wise ways pellet stove
                  This is a pellet stove that functions like a wood stove. It has to be vented out of your house like a wood stove, It has no blower to get the smoke up the chimney, needs a draft like a wood stove to remove the smoke. Must be installed properly to work well. Make sure you get professional information before you install. Smokey's Stove is a great source.
                  by
                  Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
                  Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
                  • Pro
                  • Recommended
                  18 found this review helpful
                  Best infomation
                  Great stove but for technical support or install information Smokeys Stoves is best contac 541 476 2174
                  by
                  Response from USStoveExpertJul 27, 2021
                  Thank you. Glad to hear you are satisfied with your purchase USSC
                    • Recommended
                    11 found this review helpful
                    Showing 1-30 of 76 reviews

                    Frequently Bought Together

                    +
                    +
                    Price:
                    $1400.00

                    Compare Similar Items

                    current item

                    Area Heated (sq. ft.)

                    2000

                    2200

                    2800 sq ft

                    2800 sq ft

                    Features

                    Adjustable feed rate, Rear heat shield, Side heat shield

                    Adjustable feed rate, Mobile home approved, Pedestal Base, Programmable Thermostat, Rear heat shield, Side heat shield

                    Adjustable Thermostat, Adjustable feed rate, Air Wash System, Ash Drawer, Mobile home approved, Programmable Thermostat, Rear heat shield, Side heat shield

                    Adjustable feed rate, Air Wash System, Ash Drawer, Programmable Thermostat, Rear heat shield, Side heat shield

                    Material

                    Steel

                    Steel

                    Steel

                    Steel

                    Hopper Capacity (lb.)

                    60 lb

                    47 lb

                    55 lb

                    80 lb

                    Indoor/Outdoor

                    Indoor

                    Indoor

                    Indoor

                    Indoor