#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Customer Reviews for Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 2 Gal. White Water-Based Interior/Exterior Primer and Sealer

Internet #202713102

Model #259115

Store SKU #395175

  • Primer preps for paint, blocks stain and odors on surfaces
  • Resists blistering, peeling and mold and mildew growth
  • Ultra-low odor water based primer dries to touch in 35 minutes

Customer Reviews

  • 4.5
    out of 3,151 reviews
  • 85% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 3,151 reviews
Does not stop paint from peeling
Bathroom ceiling paint began peeling a couple of years after remodel. Purchased Bulls Eye 123 and treated the peeling surface exactly as instructed and applied primer. Painted again using good quality ceiling paint. The ceiling began peeling within a month of application.
by
Response from Rust-OleumSupportAug 23, 2023
Let's talk about this, Bob! While Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer will adhere to most surfaces, it will not adhere to surfaces that have moisture issues. Constant exposure to moisture and high humidity can cause most paints and primers to blister and peel over time.
- Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
    2 found this review helpful
    Worst primer I have ever used
    This was recommended to me by various painters. I just put 2 coats on white walls that I tested some other “new” white color options on and you can still see them all. The whole gallon on 2 walls. Now I get to go buy the kilz primer that I normally use and redo it all over again. Don’t waste your money on this junk
    by
    Response from Rust-OleumSupportJun 9, 2023
    We appreciate you reaching out, John, and sharing your experinece. Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer will trap stains and colors in the film of the primer, preventing bleed through to the topcoat. Please keep in mind, this must be topcoated with an opaque paint since it is a primer, and it is not intended to be left as is.
    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
      3 found this review helpful
      Don't waste your time and money
      I really don't know why all the "pro's" recommend this. I've tried it on various surfaces and it doesn't cover a thing. Nor does it adhere to the surface. Complete waste of my time and money. I'm going back to Kilz.
      by
      Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 26, 2023
      Let's talk about this! Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer will trap most stains in the film of the primer and prevent bleed through with the topcoat. Since this is a primer, it does require an opaque topcoat for full durability and performance. In ideal conditions, this primer fully cures after 7 days and will have reached full adhesion at that point. We recommend avoiding scratching or abrading the surface before that point.
      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
        1 found this review helpful
        Does not stick on all surfaces as advertised
        We bought this primer to go over our cupboard doors that had a mild shellac. It appeared like it was going to adhere because it didn’t bubble. When dried it scratches off like a lottery ticket. Horrible. Why say it sticks to any surface and then not stick at all? Makes a much bigger mess and cost.
        by
        Response from Rust-OleumSupportMay 3, 2023
        Let's see what we can figure out. As noted on the Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water Based Primer label, surface must be clean, dry, sound and free from dust, dirt, excessive chalky material, grime, grease, oil, wax, mildew, wallpaper adhesive, or any contamination that may interfere with adhesion. Shellac contains wax, no paint or prime will adhere to shellac that contains wax, it is an unpaintable surface.
        Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
          3 found this review helpful
          Laid down real smooth...
          Laid down real smooth
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          Amazing paint
          Amazing paint first timer but pro recommendation
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          • Recommended
          1 found this review helpful
          Primer is horrible, waste of time
          I have used the Zinser shellac primer before, and that works well. Was looking for a lower odor option, so I gave this one a try. Unfortunately, a very different experience. I has primed a shelf using this product, and after it dried for over a month, had to drill some holes for shelf pins. I used blue painters tape to mark the spot and make for a cleaner hole. When removing the tape, it basically made the primer bubble up and came off in entire sheets. I would not recommend this product.
          by
          Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 2, 2023
          Let's talk about this! Since this is a primer, Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer does need to be topcoated with an opaque topcoat for full durability and performance. We recommend applying a topcoat after one hour, or at least before a week has passed, to ensure the new coat properly adheres.
          - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
            3 found this review helpful
            The white was used on pressure treated wood and it...
            The white was used on pressure treated wood and it took three coats before it looked good.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            Quality primer, been using this brand for over 30 years,...
            Quality primer, been using this brand for over 30 years, it’s never let us down, as with everything, price is getting higher, but, the quality is still there.
            by
            • Verified Purchase
            1 found this review helpful
            Peels off joint compound
            I used this product on new drywall. A few weeks after I had primed and painted I had to do some rework due to minor drywall damage. As I was working the area the paint and primer started to peel off the area that was joint compound. It sticks fine to the paper part of the drywall but what good is it if it doesn't stick to joint compound. I will never use this product again.
            by
            Response from Rust-OleumSupportSep 6, 2022
            Let's talk about this, John! When repairing drywall, the joint compound may need time to cure before priming with Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer or the areas may need to be sealed. If needing further assistance, please give us a call at (888) 855-1774.
            - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
              4 found this review helpful
              Did not cover in one coat!
              This did not cover in one coat, and will peel if the surface being primed is not cleaned and sanded prior to applying the primer.
              by
              Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 25, 2022
              We need to know more to get to the bottom of this Dean. The only surface prep necessary before applying Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water Based Primer is making sure the surface is clean. Surfaces should be clean, dry, sound and free of dust, dirt, excessive chalky material, grime, grease, oil, wax, mildew, wallpaper, adhesive or any contamination that may interfere with adhesion. If unsure of cleanliness, always wash surface with an appropriate ammoniated cleaning solution or solvent
              (do not use TSP as a cleaner). Paint and primers tend not to stick to grease and grime.
              - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
                1 found this review helpful
                We design and create Liquid Marble/Epoxy countertops and use this...
                We design and create Liquid Marble/Epoxy countertops and use this product as a bonding primer on top of non-porous surfaces prior to designing. Excellent product!!!!!!!!!!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Great product
                Great product to prime your wood items. Love how the coverage.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                2 found this review helpful
                d
                I needed to paint bee boxes.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                • Recommended
                No good. Doesn't coat well.
                Seems to defeat purpose of primer. Very hard to get primer to cover evenly. Even second coat had problem sticking. Home Depot recommended this brand but I think I wasted time and money with this.
                by
                Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 25, 2022
                We need to know more to get to the bottom of this Heidi. Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water Base Primer has excellent adhesion to properly prepped surfaces. Give us a call at 888-855-1774 so we can hear more about your application and try to make things right.
                - Rust-Oleum Product Support 6 Rustoleum
                  4 found this review helpful
                  Went on poor, rolled poor, looks poor
                  I have never had paint go on like this. It went on both thick and thin somehow, and would pick back up on the roller if I dared go over the same spot in quick succession. I ignored it at first, but then noticed the primer looked like it was melting off the wall in places. I tried applying thick and thin coats to not avail. I am now trying to scrape off all the paint I can, and will have to sand the whole room. These walls were scrubbed clean and thoroughly dried before painting.
                  by
                  Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 15, 2022
                  Yikes, something is amiss here, and we need to gather more details to get to the bottom of it! Please give us a call at (888) 855-1774 to talk with us further about your application with Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer. We hope you will give us a chance to try to make things right with you!
                  - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                    3 found this review helpful
                    Indoor project
                    Like the coverage and low smell
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    So far, So good
                    Bought this so I could apply paint to "oil-finished wood" rocking chairs. Seems to bind well on top of the oil stain, and seems to accept the paint on top. Time will only tell how the paint finish stays on without cracking, etc. This primer went on easily, but it's not as easy as paint to wash off of your skin.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    2 found this review helpful
                    bare wood
                    do not use. I used this on my bare wood cabinets. used two coats and can still see the stains. PLEASE use the good primer - zinesser
                    by
                    Response from Rust-OleumSupportDec 29, 2021
                    We want to try to help, Marc! Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer will trap most stains in the primer film and prevent bleed through to the final topcoat. And while this primer can be used with some types of tannin, an oil-based primer may be better suited. We recommend Rust-Oleum Zinsser Cover Stain Oil-Based Primer for most bare wood surfaces.
                    https://www.homedepot.com/p/Zinsser-Cover-Stain-1-gal-White-Oil-Based-Interior-Exterior-Primer-and-Sealer-3501/100398377
                    - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                      Buy the Item !!!!!!
                      Love the Primer!!!!!!! I did my kitchen cabinets and it covered a lot the first time rolling. I highly recommend and would definitely bug it again. Great product and price!!!!
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      • Recommended
                      2 found this review helpful
                      Very thin primer. Drips easily…. No smell!...
                      Very thin primer. Drips easily…. No smell!
                      by
                      Response from Rust-OleumSupportOct 6, 2021
                      Thank you for sharing your experience, Kitty! To ensure the best consistency with Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer, it is essential that the product is thoroughly mixed prior to each use and often during application. Care needs to be taken to mix along the sides and bottom of the can.
                      - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                        Well to start off it's got the coolest name ever! Zinsser is exciting enough with the Z and myste...
                        Well to start off it's got the coolest name ever! Zinsser is exciting enough with the Z and mysterious origins but, couple that with "Bulls Eye" how can you miss? (get it ...miss...Bulls Eye) anyway 1-2-3 is just bonus. The stuff works great and dries fast (even in Florida humidity). It is neither tacky nor chalky. It is just a good primer doing it's thing. I've only ever used it on new wood and previously painted and sanded wood. I have no clue about other surfaces. I would trust what thos wacky Zinsserites have written on the can.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        • Recommended
                        1 found this review helpful
                        Stain Bleeds Right Through. Does not cover.
                        See pics. This primer does not cover, even with two coats. Very uneven coverage in any case. A waste of time and money.
                        by
                        Response from Rust-OleumSupportApr 13, 2021
                        Thank you for sharing your experience! While Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer will trap most stains in the primer film, we do not recommend it for use on water stains or over tannins on wood that are not water-soluble. Instead, we recommend Rust-Oleum Zinsser Cover Stain Oil-Based Primer for those stain types.
                        https://www.homedepot.com/p/Zinsser-Cover-Stain-1-gal-White-Oil-Based-Interior-Exterior-Primer-and-Sealer-3501/100398377
                        - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                          2 found this review helpful
                          Bad Batch or Bad Product?
                          I've been doing contract work for 18 years and have never had any issues with a paint or primer. It was my first time using this primer but I will never use it again. I was very disappoint when, after hours of prep-work, I applied a first coat of Bulls Eye primer over some oak wood only to have the tannin show through, even though it says it's able to cover it. I hoped a second coat would fix this, but it didn't. Not only that, but both coats dried with an odd texture as seen in the photos; like I had too much paint or not enough paint on the roller. I don't usually review products but this one is costing me so much time/money that I felt it should be mentioned. Super frustrating to have to sand all this off and start over with something else.
                          by
                          Response from Rust-OleumSupportMar 22, 2021
                          Oh no, this is not what we expect to hear, Henry! Please give us a call at (888) 855-1774, so we can get to the bottom of your experience with Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer. We hope you will give us a chance to try to make things right with you.
                          - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                            8 found this review helpful
                            I bought this to paint our bathroom laminate countertop. ...
                            I bought this to paint our bathroom laminate countertop. It covered with one coat. Then I used another paint on top of this product. It does what it’s supposed to, be a primer.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            6 found this review helpful
                            I painted my kitchen cabinets with 123 and didn’t have to sand. I also used behr cabinet and trim...
                            I painted my kitchen cabinets with 123 and didn’t have to sand. I also used behr cabinet and trim paint after I applied the primer. It has been about a year and a half now and the cabinets are still looking great!! Easy to clean. I used white as my color.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            2 found this review helpful
                            I am a pro with over 35 years working in the commercial painting industry. This particular job re...
                            I am a pro with over 35 years working in the commercial painting industry. This particular job required a primer (tinted) that would stick to formica fixtures. I usually use Gripper but choose Zinsser this time. All fixtures were prepped, primed and painted. End product looks good and seems to stick well. Time will tell.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            5 found this review helpful
                            After a few coats of this I waited a day...
                            After a few coats of this I waited a day to paint over it. The paint is still in place on the kitchen cabinets. So far good quality.
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            3 found this review helpful
                            Did not cover a old hardwood door that I have in my home, but I will continue to put on more coat...
                            Did not cover a old hardwood door that I have in my home, but I will continue to put on more coats. I wish I could have found something to cover these blotches in one coat or two coats. Probably OK for very light stains that need minimal cover.
                            by
                            Response from Rust-OleumSupportJul 22, 2020
                            Let's talk about this, Greg! If applying Rust-Oleum Zinsser Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Water-Based Primer on a more porous surface, like bare wood, and additional coat of primer may be needed. Please keep in mind, since this is a primer it will need an opaque topcoat for full durability and coverage. This primer will trap most stains in the paint film and prevent bleed through on the topcoat.
                            - Rust-Oleum Product Support 3 Rustoleum
                            • Verified Purchase
                            4 found this review helpful
                            This primer was great.... primed a cement backyard wall with one coat, which was dirty and I need...
                            This primer was great.... primed a cement backyard wall with one coat, which was dirty and I needed to paint it...one coat of the 1 2 3 primer before the main paint...wall looks great... would recommend it ... nice product
                            by
                            • Verified Purchase
                            • Recommended
                            2 found this review helpful
                            Showing 1-30 of 3,151 reviews

                            Frequently Bought Together

                            ++
                            Price:
                            $4998

                            Compare Similar Primers

                            current product
                            Bulls Eye 1-2-3 2 Gal. White Water-Based Interior/Exterior Primer and Sealer
                            Bulls Eye 1-2-3 126 oz. Gray Water-Based Interior/Exterior Primer and Sealer (2-Pack)Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Plus 1 gal. White Water-Based Interior/Exterior Primer and Sealer (2-Pack)Peel Stop 1 gal. White Triple Thick Interior/Exterior High Build Binding Primer (2-Pack)
                            BrandZinsserZinsserZinsserZinsser
                            NameBulls Eye 1-2-3 2 Gal. White Water-Based Interior/Exterior Primer and SealerBulls Eye 1-2-3 126 oz. Gray Water-Based Interior/Exterior Primer and Sealer (2-Pack)Bulls Eye 1-2-3 Plus 1 gal. White Water-Based Interior/Exterior Primer and Sealer (2-Pack)Peel Stop 1 gal. White Triple Thick Interior/Exterior High Build Binding Primer (2-Pack)
                            Price
                            $4598
                            $5896
                            /case
                            $6998
                            /case
                            $8600
                            /case
                            Ratings
                            (3144)
                            (378)
                            (14)
                            (515)
                            ApplicationSealerSealerSealerSealer
                            Primer PurposeColor Changing, Odor Blocking, Stain BlockingColor Changing, Odor Blocking, Stain BlockingOdor BlockingSealant
                            Container Size2 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon1 Gallon
                            SheenFlat/MatteFlat/MatteFlat/MatteFlat/Matte
                            Surface Material UseConcrete/Brick/Masonry/Stone, Drywall, Metal, WoodConcrete/Brick/Masonry/Stone, Drywall, Metal, WoodConcrete/Brick/Masonry/Stone, Drywall, Metal, WoodCeiling, Concrete/Brick/Masonry/Stone, Wood
                            Paint/Stain FeaturesMildew ResistantMildew ResistantMildew ResistantSealer
                            Application MethodBrush, Paint Sprayer, RollerBrush, Paint Sprayer, RollerBrush, Paint Sprayer, RollerBrush, Paint Sprayer, Roller
                            View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product