#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #308486749

Model #500005

5 gal. #SC-533 Cedar Naturaltone Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating

  • Resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete
  • Creates a  smooth, slip-resistant, waterproof coating
  • Best results require proper cleaning and preparation of surfaces
  • See More Details

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:

Product Overview

BEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER resurfaces properly prepared weathered wood and concrete and features even better adhesion and cracking resistance. This latest formula utilizes an advanced 100% acrylic resin to create a durable waterproof coating for your tired and worn out deck while rejuvenating its look. It has an easy, splatter resistant application.
  • Barefoot friendly, smooth finish
  • Higher viscosity formula helps conceals splinters and cracks up to 1/4 in.
  • Do not apply when conditions are below 50° F or above 90° F
  • Slip resistant, waterproof solid color coating
  • Covers up to 375 sq. ft. per 5 Gal.
  • Apply with 1/2 in. nap roller cover
  • Recoat in 4-6 hours
  • For use on properly prepared wood and concrete surfaces in sound condition
  • Available in 54 colors with custom color matching available
  • Durable, mildew resistant finish
  • Allow wood to be completely dry for a minimum of 24 hours prior to applying coating
  • Actual paint colors may vary from on-screen and printer representations
  • Online Price includes a Paint Care fee in the following states: CA, CO, CT, DC, ME, MN, OR, RI, VT, WA
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Exterior Wood Stains

current product
5 gal. #SC-533 Cedar Naturaltone Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
5 gal. #SC-330 Redwood Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-365 Cape Cod Gray Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-129 Chocolate Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
BrandBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVERBEHR PREMIUM ADVANCED DECKOVER
Name5 gal. #SC-533 Cedar Naturaltone Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-330 Redwood Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-365 Cape Cod Gray Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating5 gal. #SC-129 Chocolate Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating
Price
Ratings
(245)
(308)
(270)
(236)
TransparencySolidSolidSolidSolid
Container Size5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon5 Gallon
Paint/Stain FeaturesAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,WaterproofAbrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Stain & Sealer In OneNoNoNoNo
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Container Size
5 Gallon
Coverage Area (sq. ft.)
375
Product Depth (in.)
12.25
Product Height (in.)
15
Product Width (in.)
12.25

Details

Application Method
Brush,Paint Sprayer,Roller
Color Family
Orange
Color/Finish
Cedar Naturaltone
Dry to the touch (hours)
4
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Maximum Optimal Temperature (F)
90
Minimum Optimal Temperature (F)
50
Number per Package
1
Paint/Stain Features
Abrasion Resistant,Advanced Hide and Coverage,Chemical Resistant,Durable,High Foot Traffic,Low Odor,Mildew Resistant,Skid Resistant,Textured,UV/Fade Resistant,Uniform Spray Sheen,Waterproof
Paint/Stain/Waterproofer Product Type
Wood Deck Restoration Coating
Product Weight (lb.)
52.6
Recommended Number of Coats
2
Returnable
90-Day
Stain & Sealer In One
No
Substrate Condition
Finished Wood,Old/Reclaimed Wood,Pressure Treated Wood,Unfinished Wood
Substrate/Surface Usage Type
Composite,Concrete,Wood
Time before recoating (hours)
4
Transparency
Solid
Vertical/Horizontal
Vertical / Horizontal

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty
Limited Warranty

Questions & Answers

16Questions15Answers

Can this be sprayed on

Asked by Kat April 28, 2021
1
Answer

Hi Kat - Thank you for your question! Experienced users can apply Advanced DeckOver an airless sprayer. We recommend using a .027" - .035" tip with no mesh filter at 2400-3200psi. Best - Sara

Anyone use this to finish new AC plywood? If so, is primer recommended?

Asked by HeyJames April 21, 2021
1
Answer

Hi HeyJames- Thank you for your question! Advanced DeckOver can be applied to vertical AC plywood without priming the surface beforehand. If the plywood is on the floor, we don't recommend applying this product to your project. We currently don't have a similar finish we can recommend for plywood floors, but you may want to reach out to your local Home Depot for some suggestions on another product that would work. Best wishes for your project! - Sara

My deck is over 20 years old and has had coats of water seal and stain previously. I was going t...

Asked by Mema May 27, 2020
2
Answers

Perfect coverage, looks new, filled 8n holes and minor imperfections

can you apply with airless sprayer ?

Asked by joe May 24, 2020
1
Answer

Hi joe, Thank you for your question. Advanced DeckOver can be applied with an airless sprayer. We recommend using a .027" - .035" tip with no mesh filter at 2400-3200 PSI. Best - Sara

Anyone use this on a swingset?

Asked by John May 6, 2020
1
Answer

Hi John, thanks for writing in with your question. Yes, our Advanced DeckOver can be used on a swingset. However, keep in mind that this is a thick textured coating. If that's the finish you're looking for, then yes, you can apply two coats after cleaning with the All-In-One Wood Cleaner and allowing the wood to dry. Good luck with your project! -Giovanna

how many square feet does a 5 gal. cover

Asked by rick April 23, 2020
1
Answer

Hi rick, A five-gallon bucket of DeckOver is enough for two coats on up to 375 sq ft. Please feel free to reach out with any additional questions you may have. Best of luck with your project! ~Doris

is this considered an elastomeric paint?

Asked by knicey March 27, 2020
1
Answer

Hi knicey, Thank you for your question. As it turns out, DeckOver is not considered an elastomeric paint. I'm sorry if this causes an inconvenience. Please feel free to reach out with any additional questions you may have. ~Doris

I live in florida. the weather is dry for a while longer I hope. however, humidity below 50%? ain't gonna happen.

Asked by JonoB March 24, 2020
1
Answer

Hi JonoB, thank you for your question. Our product can be used in various climates. However, for the most successful application, during your application we do recommend staying below the label humidity recommendations. Higher humidity may cause the coating to not cure properly or fail prematurely. Hope this info helps. Happy coating, and best of luck with your project. -Joanna

I put this on and in a few years it is peeling/blistering. 1- can I paint over it with new deckov...

Asked by ziggy October 12, 2019
4
Answers

How do I prepare the deck?

Can I use this over a 13 year old composite deck that is mostly porous and molds/stains easily?

Asked by Tag October 10, 2019
2
Answers

Yes, just sand it and wipe with cleaner and wait till dry to paint

5 gal. #SC-533 Cedar Naturaltone Smooth Solid Color Exterior Wood and Concrete Coating - page 2

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 245 reviews
  • 83% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 245 reviews
Makes a nice finish over an older but still stable deck. Decking looks almost new.
Makes a nice finish over an older but still stable deck. Decking looks almost new.
by Essex
I applied this product as directed to seasoned, treated lumber deck measuring approximately 450 s...
I applied this product as directed to seasoned, treated lumber deck measuring approximately 450 square feet. The surface was absolutely dry and clean. I applied approximately ten to twelve gallons, exactly as directed (expensive). Within a few weeks of the specified application of 2 coats exactly as instructed, the Deck Over blistered and began to peel. I thought it was limited to a small area where I first noticed the problem. I contacted Behr and they sent me 2 more gallons of Deckover to redo the place where the problem was first noticeable. Several months later I began to notice more and more of the blistering and peeling, because the product flat out does not adhere properly to clean, dry, seasoned treated lumber. I recontacted Behr and again sent photos of the problem. A new representative suggested I get a pressure washer or a sander to remove the blistered cracking paint over the entire deck, and he would send two gallons of a different product, some cleaner and some primer that would repair the mess. I knew the blisters would not respond to pressure washing and suggested I could use abrasive disks which I had been using to repair with the worst of the affected surface. The polycarbide disks are are expensive, and I asked if Behr would compensate for the disks. He said he would pay up to $50 if I sent a receipt. I ordered more disks and sent him a receipt for $33 to which I got a response that he would send my reimbursement after I signed a release form which releases Behr from all liability if I accepted the two gallons of some other kind of replacement product along with a gallon of cleaner and some primer. What a cheap unethical outfit! WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS PICTURE! This is an inferior, misrepresented product, and Behr's remedy is shoddy and unethical. I'm including three pictures which depict the product failure and the mess I am left with. "BEWARE OF (the) BEHR" . DeckOver is an expensive product that has ruined my deck, with minus 5 star, lousy poor customer service for their obvious misrepresentation of their product.
by Horrible
Response from BehrAug 31, 2019
Hi Horrible,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear the coating continued to peel, and even more for your experience you had directly through us. I can assure you customer satisfaction is important to us. If you're not satisfied, please reach out again and let us know; we'd like to help as much as we can. Either way, it sounds like you're on the right path to removing any of the loose coating. However, keep in mind that it's key to follow the spread rate. For 450 square feet, you'd only need 6 gallons of product for two coats. Either way, we hope to hear from you soon to try make things right by you. -Edith Behr
2 people found this helpful
did not last one season and caused problems
Used this product because it seemed just what we needed for protecting our deck. Looked great and texture was nice. Started peeling off within a year but this was not the major problem. Water got under the peeled areas and started to rot the deck. Definitely will be using something else after repairing deck. And we did properly prepare the deck before application as best we could. It was aging, but we had never had this problem with other semi-transparent stains. They wore off, but did not lift from the deck and hold water. Too bad because I liked how it looked.
by dee
Response from BehrMay 4, 2021
Hi dee - Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry to hear that this product started to peel within a year and water got under the coating! To fix the finish, I recommend removing the loose DeckOver, replacing any unsound boards, cleaning the surface with our wood cleaner, then applying 2 new coats to all 6 sides of the boards to protect them from the elements. Another option would be to recoat with our Solid Color Waterproofing Wood Stain & Sealer which will provide the same opaque look. For further assistance with your project, please feel free to reach out to us directly. We'd be happy to help. - Sara Behr
do not use this product!
i bought this deck coating at the end of the 2020 summer and it was applied by a professional. after application I found that it stains very easily from normal foot dirt and leaves. I also found that the deck gets soo warm in the sun that you cannot walk barefoot on it. I have never had this problem with previous deck paints.
by Theo29
Response from Joanne, Behr Customer CareApr 13, 2021
Hi Theo29, thank you for your review. I’m so sorry the deck gets dirty easily and hot to walk on. I recommend cleaning the surface with our All-In-One Wood Cleaner to try removing the dirt. Also, if preferred, you can recoat in a lighter color, as lighter colors won’t retain as much heat as darker colors. Customer satisfaction is important to us, and we appreciate your feedback. I’ll reach out to you directly to assist you with this further. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us, and I hope to hear from you soon! -Joni
Great coverage
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Great product for old deck. Very thick formula but easy to apply. Covers most of the cracks in the wood giving it a fresh look. I just hope it will last long.
by Ken02
Deck Makeover
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] If you want your deck to look fresh and new, this is the DIY stuff to use. My old weathered deck full was full of gaps and large splits in the wood. This not only fills the gaps but withstands harsh winter conditions. Highly recommend this product and it is easy to use.
by JenAMom
Deck Looks Like New!
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The Home Depot associate who suggested this product said it was "like iron!" He was right. Not only did it look great on my deck but 6 months later the deck cleaned right up with a mop and looked like I just stained it!
by BillyBravesong
Short term fix, peeling off in strips
This product was recommended to me by Behr and I used it to bring my old deck back to life. For several months, it held up and then I started to notice that like paint, it was wearing off on the steps. I should tell you that I only use the deck steps on average once a month, so they are by no means a high traffic area. By this spring, it was peeling up and off the wood in defiant strips. I am so upset. I should have listened to my dad and just used a stain. The quality of this product does not live up to its marketing.
by AndriaRN
Response from Doris, Behr Customer CareMar 31, 2021
Hi AndriaRN,

Thank you for reviewing Behr DeckOver and emailing Behr directly. I'm very sorry to hear about the peeling issue experienced, as it certainly isn't what we want our customers to go through. I understand how disappointing this must be, and I want to find a way to help.

The loose DeckOver can be removed with a floor sander/grinder. Home Depot usually has great rental options available. After removing the loose areas and cleaning with Behr All-in-One Wood Cleaner, the surface should dry for at least 24 hours in dry weather before recoating. If there are DeckOver remnants left, they can be topcoated.

I've emailed you directly to follow up and look forward to hearing back from you.

Kindest regards,

Doris
Supet Happy with this paint
[This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Purchased the paint to paint my front porch. It was great to work with and gave great coverage. Loved it so much, that I purchased more of it to paint my boards on my trailer.
by Baybot
Used to refinish interior plywood subfloor
I used this to refinish an interior plywood subfloor that had been under really disgusting 40 -year-old carpet with pets and kids and was in bad condition. I did use an orbital floor sander with 60 grit sandpaper to go over the floor quickly first, and I also didn't follow the instructions. This stuff is super thick, like peanut butter. It's basically a wood filler/paint combo. After struggling to apply it with the 1/2 nap roller Behr recommends and finding it thick and uneven and clumpy, I decided to try my own method based on the idea that its more like wood filler than paint. Applied it with a plastic finishing trowel, then went over it with a large paint pad to smooth out the trowel lines. Came out much better that way and my plywood subfloor looks great.
by asodlkfjasldfj
Showing 1-10 of 245 reviews