#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100065446

Model #BWD12-120C

Store SKU #130781

Big Dog CONNECT 3500 GPH Submersible Battery Backup Sump Pump with Smart WiFi Capable Monitoring Controller and Charger

$49700
Apply Now
$undefined.00 /mo* suggested payments with months* financingApply Now
  • 24-hour-a-day monitoring of pump, power and battery conditions
  • Dual micro-reed float switch ensures pump turns on when needed
  • Optional WiFi Module allows for text, email or in-app alerts
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

+
+
Price:
$49700

Product Overview

When you simply want what's best for your basement, The Basement Watchdog Big Dog Connect is the system for you. Providing 24-hour a day monitoring, it will protect your basement from a power outage, primary pump or float failure, provide extra pumping capacity when needed, and can even take over for your primary pump indefinitely when AC power is available. It will sound an audible alarm and give a visual warning on the control box pinpointing needed maintenance or irregularities with the battery, pump, or power conditions. This system is part of The Basement Watchdog Connect line, giving it the ability to communicate with a Basement Watchdog Connect Module (WiFi module BW-WiFi or Home Automation Module BW-HZM). When connected to The Basement Watchdog WiFi Module the system will send a text, email alert or a notification through the Basement Watchdog App to alert of any irregularities. The Big Dog is designed with reliability in mind. With its dual float switch, easy to understand alarms, weekly self-test, 2200 GPH pump, and long-lasting battery, you can feel safe that The Basement Watchdog is watching out for you.
  • Pumps 2,200 GPH at 10 ft. lift and 3,500 GPH at 0 ft. lift
  • USB port allows for connection to a Basement Watchdog module (BW-WiFi or BW-HZM), giving you real time alerts (text, email, or through the Basement Watchdog app)
  • Remote terminal allows the ability to connect with a home security system, or other device
  • User friendly control panel provides 24-hour a day monitoring, detects irregularities, sounds an alarm, and pinpoints problems and solutions
  • Powerful 20 Amp charger charges the battery quickly and shuts off completely to prolong battery life
  • Runs the pump weekly to ensure it is working properly
  • Compatible with maintenance or maintenance free AGM batteries
  • Can take over for your primary pump indefinitely when AC power is available
  • Increase run time by connecting two standby batteries (30HDC140S or BW-27AGM) using the Basement Watchdog parallel jumper cable (PJC)
  • Easy to install
  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Sump Pump Backup Batteries

Pre-Assembled Emergency Backup Sump Pump SystemUpgraded 1/2 HP Combination Battery Backup System
current product
Big Dog CONNECT 3500 GPH Submersible Battery Backup Sump Pump with Smart WiFi Capable Monitoring Controller and Charger
1/3 HP Submersible Sump Pump and 441 Battery Back-Up Emergency Sump Pump System with Alarm
BrandSuperior PumpWayneBasement WatchdogLiberty Pumps
NamePre-Assembled Emergency Backup Sump Pump SystemUpgraded 1/2 HP Combination Battery Backup SystemBig Dog CONNECT 3500 GPH Submersible Battery Backup Sump Pump with Smart WiFi Capable Monitoring Controller and Charger1/3 HP Submersible Sump Pump and 441 Battery Back-Up Emergency Sump Pump System with Alarm
Price
$45239
$48999
$49700
$60900
Ratings
(21)
(155)
(64)
(4)
Voltage12v120v,12v12v115v
Discharge Flow @ 0 ft. (gallons/hour)1380510035002700
Impeller MaterialStainless steelThermoplasticNon-corrosive ABShigh temp engineered thermoplastic
Battery Life (hours)06 h50 h4.25
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
5
Product Height (in.)
8.25
Product Width (in.)
8.75

Details

Amperage (amps)
10
Battery Life (hours)
50 h
Battery Type Required
12-volt
Discharge Flow @ 0 ft. (gallons/hour)
3500
Discharge Flow @ 0 ft. (gallons/min)
58
Discharge Flow @ 10 ft. (gallons/hour)
2200
Discharge Flow @ 10 ft. (gallons/min)
37
Housing Material
Thermoplastic
Impeller Material
Non-corrosive ABS
Included
Control Box,Hardware,Pump Hookup
Number of Batteries Required
1
Pack Size
1
Power Type
Battery Powered
Product Weight (lb.)
5
Returnable
90-Day
Voltage
12v

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
No Certifications or Listings
Manufacturer Warranty
2 Year Limited

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 64 reviews
  • 80% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews
Not all that's it's cracked up to be...
I've owned this thing for a few years, and thought all was well. I've checked it from time to time, and it always says everything is fine. While the pump works fine, and I do catch the pump being tested from time to time, I found the maintenance of the battery is horrible. Evidently, it must overcharge the battery, as all through the water level indicator showed good, I decided to check anyway, and found the battery 1/2 gallon low. Ergh! I call and the tech says the water level indicators are notoriously unreliable so you have to check the batteries every 3 months. Well, how about fixing the sensor so it actually works right? Or, remove the feature so people don't rely on it. So I fill up the battery, charge them over night with my automotive charger, and let it rest a bit and find it's only holding around 12.2v. Great, a ruined battery. So, before I go to buy a new one, I hook up back up just to have something in the interim, and find that the system is indicating 12.2v is 100% !!! What? 12.2v fully charged is less than 25% capacity bordering on junk! Wow, it's pretty clear the charging and maintenance portion of this unit is garbage. I'd suggest that you do NOT rely on the battery level sensor and check it manually - and frequently. Then I'm going to find a way to disable the charging function and just use a battery tender so I'm sure they are being properly charged. You know, the thing that really gets me is, you spend top dollar because you want the piece of mind that your finished basement is protected. It's really irritating when you find out that your investment is just a mirage, as although it's showing all's well, the reality is, if I had had a long outage, this thing probably would have only lasted a few minutes due to improperly maintaining and ruining the battery. IMHO, you are much better off just getting a manual switched system, and use a battery tender as all of the fancy features of this expensive unit don't work correctly once you peel back the flimsy veneer. Better yet, use the ~$600 you'd spend on this system with the required battery and tax, and use that as a down payment on a NG backup generator that will offer real protection. When you factor in burning through $150 batteries every couple of years, its a no brainer. I've attached a photo of the control panel showing all's well, and the battery charge level is 100%, while the next photo shows the connected battery only has 12.20 Volts. Junk, Imho.
by
  • DIY
35 people found this helpful
This thing is terrible.
Let me list of the issues with this system… First of all, you get a battery with no acid in it. Do you have to buy battery acid and mess around with that to fill up the battery to get it to work. Second, only one of the caps that were supposed to come with the battery was included. It needs six, so it was inoperable. I hooked it up to a different battery that I had only to find out that the back up pump just keeps running - The float switch didn’t work properly. So the summary here is this thing is a total piece of junk. You are much better off to just get a back up power supply that will take over if the power goes out than to mess around with this stupid system. Save yourself a bunch of time and money and go in another direction. You will thank me.
by
Response from WatchdogNov 15, 2021
We are sorry to hear you had a problem with the setup of the system. We do offer a maintenance-free battery option (no acid required) that might better suit your installation. We can also help troubleshoot the issue you are having with the float switch and the pump running non-stop. If you haven’t already, I would recommend contacting our customer support team at 800-991-0466, option 3. We are available to take incoming calls from 9am – 5pm CT Monday through Friday.
    • Recommended
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    This the second time we have updated our "basement Watchdog" Sump Pump pit has two Sump Pumps. On...
    This the second time we have updated our "basement Watchdog" Sump Pump pit has two Sump Pumps. One Clear Water and one BACK-UP as in your Picture! We also the sump pump on the FLOOR to discharge the washing charge from the washing machine! Great !
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    Had a little problem getting it onto my internet WiFi...
    Had a little problem getting it onto my internet WiFi but once I figured it out it works as advertised
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    I had the early model of this system which probably...
    I had the early model of this system which probably lasted for over 25 years. Only had to replace the low water probe. Now if this Big Dog performs as good as my last one I will be very happy. I never had an urge to look for a different replacement.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
    Rating provided by a verified purchaser
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    2 people found this helpful
    Charging circuit needs periodic checking for proper operation
    Home Depot review 8/24/2020 for the Basement Watchdog Big Dog CONNECT 3500 GPH Submersible Battery Backup Sump Pump with Smart WiFi Capable Monitoring Controller and Charger. The expectations of most homeowners might not line up quite perfectly with this product, particularly with respect to charging. Eventually, I experienced overcharging which ruined one battery. Solution was to send the unit back to Glentronics for calibration which fixed the issue. Most homeowners would be unable to diagnose this as all system indicators were normal on the display. One tipoff was very frequent charge cycles every few minutes. A voltmeter across the battery indicated overcharging. The Glentronics personnel were fine with confirming my analysis over the phone and suggesting to send the unit back to them for calibration. The unit was out of warranty, so I sent it back at my expense, paid a nominal fee for calibration and return shipment. It took a couple of weeks, and I was performing this during a dry season with little to no risk of needing the battery backup unit. After calibration, it continued to work fine. Looking at the reviews, I do see at least one other person who experienced issues with overcharging.
    by
    Response from WatchdogAug 25, 2020
    We are sorry to hear you had a problem with one of our systems. From what you described, it sounds like you have an older model system, as systems currently in production do not require calibration. These units do not require periodic checking for proper operation. For more information, please contact our customer support team at 800-991-0466, option 3. We are available to take incoming calls from 9am - 5pm CT Monday through Friday.
    • Recommended
    1 person found this helpful
    Easy to instal...
    Easy to instal
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    I had this unit installed to replace a 15 year old Watchdog that stopped working. The Watchdog w...
    I had this unit installed to replace a 15 year old Watchdog that stopped working. The Watchdog worked very well for the past 15 years...kept working through many power outages. Have not had an seepage in the basement thanks to Watchdog. I had to replace the battery about every five years but that is normal. Great product.
    by
    • Verified Purchase
    • Recommended
    1 person found this helpful
    Showing 1-10 of 64 reviews