#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100122019

Model #12108

Store SKU #328413

10.1 oz. Latex Window Glazing

  • Glazes single pane glass in wood or metal frame windows
  • Weather resistant formula allows for indoor and outdoor projects
  • Formulated to be paintable
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me

Frequently Bought Together

++
Price:

Product Overview

This easy-to-apply DAP 10.1 oz. Latex Window Glazing provides a durable, protective seal that prevents the penetration of air and moisture. It's safe for use both indoors and outdoors. And its attached applicator spout makes application simple.
  • For face glazing single pane glass in wood or metal frame windows
  • Paintable
  • Weather-resistant, durable seal for interior and exterior use
  • Resists sagging, shrinking, cracking and chalking but remains tough
  • Cleans up with soap and water
  • Non-toxic
  • Subject to or will include a recycling fee in the following states: CA, OR
  • Flexible to allow for normal expansion and contraction
  • California residents

Info & Guides

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Specifications

Dimensions

Product Depth (in.)
2
Product Height (in.)
11.25
Product Size (oz.)
10.1
Product Width (in.)
2 in

Details

Color Family
Whites
Color/Finish
White
Features
Paintable,Shrink Resistant
Interior/Exterior
Exterior,Interior
Kit
No
Pack Size
1
Paint Tool Product Type
Plaster, Stucco and Textured Surface Repair
Patching & Repair Product Type
Spackling Paste
Product Weight (lb.)
1.33
Substrate/Surface Use Type
Metal,Wood

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 3.6
    out of 125 reviews
  • 52% recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-30 of 125 reviews
Messy
I purchased this for an exterior French door, and it was a nightmare to work with! Also the product hardened within a few days. I do not recommend this product.
by
Response from DAPProductExpertOct 7, 2020
Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Latex Window Glazing. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, such as: temperature, humidity, fill depths, application surfaces or any information regarding your application technique, it is not possible to provide a proper reply or any specific product usage guidance in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
    1 person found this helpful
    Horrible
    This stuff was like cake icing. I thought it’s be like using caulk but it was 100x thinner. Took me hours to do just a few window panes. Then it started running by the end of the day. Not made for high humidity areas. If that wasn’t bad enough, just a couple of months later & it’s FULL of mold, coming apart & still not completely dry in couple of places!
    by
    Response from DAPProductExpertSep 1, 2020
    Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Latex Window Glazing. DAP Latex Window Glazing is an acrylic latex (water based) formula, its sole drying mechanism is the loss of water (evaporation). All of the performance issues that you describe appear to be related to moisture. The most common causes for long dry times are generally related to one or a combination of factors such as: damp application surfaces, low temperature, high humidity, poor air circulation and/or deep/thick application of the product. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, such as, temperature, humidity, fill depths or any information regarding your application technique, it is difficult to provide you with a more detailed reply or any specific product usage guidance in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
      1 person found this helpful
      An awful product. Don't make the mistake I made in assuming that this is the same stuff that com...
      An awful product. Don't make the mistake I made in assuming that this is the same stuff that comes in the small tub that you normally use to glaze glass in a window frame. It's not. Apparently, to get it to come out of a tube, it contains a solvent to thin it. Apparently, that solvent begins to dry out immediately. The result is that, by 15 minutes or so, it surface hardens and you cannot smooth it out; it just pills up into an ugly mess that you can't even get off a window frame without stripping. Imagine how it would be to try to smooth out fast dry acrylic latex caulk after 20 minutes--that is what you have here (see my attached picture). I have glazed many many windows, so I'm not just a weekend DYIer. In the case shown in the picture, I was not even fully glazing a window glass--I was using this stuff to set the glass on an old exterior door. It still made a mess because it began to dry before I could turn the door over and smooth out the overflow. Why did I buy it in the first place? I saw it used on the TV show "This Old House" a week ago and my old tub of DAP had dried out. So much for their product placement. I have used many DAP products and think they are very good. This one needs to be changed. I will never buy it again.
      by
      Response from DAPProductExpertNov 6, 2018
      We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP Latex Window Glazing. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience. DAP
        2 people found this helpful
        This product sags
        I used this product to replace dried glazing on an old window. It sagged on the vertical edges of each pane. The product was much thinner than I expected.
        by
        Response from dappwrJun 16, 2021
        Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Latex Window Glazing. This is a significantly different formula in terms of both chemistry and user experience (when compared to traditional putty-style, oil-based products, such as '33' Glazing). By design, this formula is intended to apply very similarly to a traditional caulking compound. Because you did not provide any details regarding your attempted application, such as, temperature, humidity, surface materials, surface preparation, fill depths or any information regarding your application technique, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any specific product usage guidance in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP's Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience.
          the tip is great makes it look nice...
          the tip is great makes it look nice
          by
          • Verified Purchase
          It worked for me, I'll explain how -
          I waited until the end of fall to paint my windows, just to see the glazing (probably original, 1978 build) half cracking away. I intended to buy regular glazing compound, but I couldn't wait the 2 months it can take for traditional compound to skin over for paint before it would already be freezing outside. I saw this, and figured being water based it would skin over faster. Because it skins over faster, it'll probably dry through and start cracking faster too, but it's a compromise I made due to starting the project so late in the year. I read a lot of reviews, most of them being negative, but here's what I did and it seems fine. I chiseled the old stuff out, pulled out the points, and pulled the glass out. I then chiseled some more and sanded everything with 120 grit because that's what I had. I primed the window frame with kilz original primer. It's oil based. I did this because at that point I still thought I was going to used the regular dap 33 glazing compound. You can probably use water based primer with this, so long as you paint over with water based paint. I left it to dry for about a day. Now for glazing: I used the angled tip to fill a 45 where the window would seat. I was pretty generous with the caulking. All the excess will ooze out, and you'll be able to scrape it or cut it with a razor blade later. I laid the glass in, and pressed the sides down. Make sure everywhere you can see around the window has compressed caulking to make sure the whole face of the frame is sealed. If it's not, pull the glass up and add more caulking. Press in some glazing points. My windows are 32x24, and I used 4 on the long sides and 3 on the short sides. I probably went over-kill, 2 per side closer the corners is probably fine. After this, I used the gun sideways to make a large 45 because my windows sit pretty deep. I held the gun up a little bit, and was careful to apply a steady, oversized 45. Even still, it doesn't actually matter how well you apply it, so long as there is more than is needed laid down. I then grabbed my putty knife. The only one I have is a 6" knife, and it worked fine. I wet the edge, set it in the corner, and dragged it straight to make the 45 degree edge. This takes some skill to do straight, especially in the corners. You have to scoop out the excess, without pressing the knife into the 45 you want to keep. Just try it. Keep your knife wet. If you mess up, just add more material. The water helps keep it from drying out on you, if you drag the knife without it being wet it'll drag dry streaks and it won't look smooth. After that, use a knife or the putty knife to scrape the excess. You can wait for the caulking to dry before doing this. If you wait, you'll have less risk of messing up the glazing, but it'll take more work to scrape the dry caulking. I use a blade to cut a straight line along the glass to glazing edge before razor blading the glass up to that line. I let this set in my basement for 3 weeks. I only planned on a week, but was busy. I think DAP recommends 2 weeks if it's freezing out. I painted the exterior side of the window with exterior paint, and painted the interior side with interior paint. It's been installed for 2 months now, and it looks great. All in all, this process requires you to be a little quicker than you would have to be with regular glazing, so it's arguably harder to get an equivalent result. If you do it correctly however, you can install the window much sooner than you could had you used regular glazing. Good luck!
          by
            • Recommended
            This product runs down the window every time that it...
            This product runs down the window every time that it rains.
            by
            Response from DAPProductExpertDec 9, 2020
            Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Latex Window Glazing. DAP Latex Window Glazing is an acrylic latex (water based) formula, its sole drying mechanism is the loss of water (evaporation). The most common causes for long dry times and/or slow performance development (such as water resistance) are generally related to one or a combination of factors such as: damp application surfaces, low temperature, high humidity, poor air circulation and/or deep/thick application of the product. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, such as, temperature, humidity, fill depths or any information regarding your application technique, it is difficult to provide you with a more detailed reply or any specific product usage guidance in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
            • Verified Purchase
            ABOUT THOSE BAD REVIEWS..YOU NEED WATER!
            This year I decided that our 91 yr old house needed all windows glazed. Had never done it in my life so decided to try this because of quick cure. Because I hadn't educated myself on how to apply it, I wasted hours figuring out how to get a decent result only to scrape it off and try again. I then went to youtube and put in a search for "how to glaze a window sash with dap latex glazing" and up came a very helpful video. The guy's name is The Homestead Craftsman. (I have no affiliation with him at all). He shows you in detail how to apply it and get a good result. My results were just ok because I was such a noob .. a tad lumpy on the line but the overall was ok. I then switched to the Dap 33 and did find it much easier to get a good result. The trick is cutting the tube far down enough at an angle so you can easily get a somewhat flat, thick line of caulk into the window 'rabbit', then either fine-misting the caulk with water or dipping your knife in water so the caulk slides vs sticks to the knife. You can then get a flat line. The caulk does dry in about 3 days despite sometimes dripping with my misting or wet knife, but temps and humidity have to be good. The person who experienced the glaze bleed on their door probably applied it in less than ideal cure temps/humidity. Mine cured in a few days in July/Aug here in PA and it hardened with no sign of issues despite multiple rains. After the Winter, if I see peeling or other issues, I will edit this review but I'd say that although I prefer Dap 33 for an easier result, this stuff is workable if a quick cure is needed. Just watch the video first.
            by
              Perfect home for mold
              Unless you live in a very dry location, don't use this. I gave it ample time to dry before painting it, like 2 weeks, and yet a month after painting, mold was growing in it! I bleached it and the mold grew right back. I'm going to have to strip it off and redo the whole thing with traditional glazing. I wanted something less strenuous to apply as I am a 52 year old woman but... this is not a good shortcut. Won't make this mistake again.
              by
              Response from DAPProductExpertSep 21, 2020
              Thank you for posting your review. We are sorry to see you low star review on DAP Latex Window Glazing. Based on the short interval between the application of the sealant and the appearance (of what is assumed to be biological growth) there is a high likelihood that the application surface had biological contamination (mold/mildew) present at the time of application. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience and to provide some additional guidance prior to attempting a corrective application. DAP
                After reading the reviews I was hesitant to use this...
                After reading the reviews I was hesitant to use this product. I am redoing my 100 plus year basement windows by removing them from the foundation. Some of the glass were exposed to weather. I found this product very easy to work with. I allowed the glaze to harden 8 days in the house, too hot in the garage. I primed the glaze by taping the glass to make sure the prime covered the entire glazed pane. I then painted over the primed glaze and made sure to remove the tape while that paint was wet. Clean look and am hopeful after prime and paint they hold up.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Worked as expected. Easy to use....
                Worked as expected. Easy to use.
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Easy to apply and remove excess - even as a...
                Easy to apply and remove excess - even as a first time glazer!
                by
                • Verified Purchase
                Do Not Pirchase
                As a general contractor for over 35 years, I was furious at myself for being talked into buying this product. The alternative was to buy a huge tub of 33 Window Glaze (only size they had) which would last me five lifetimes. Paint guy said it was fast and easy. What a crock. The product is so loose that it drips down the frame making it impossible to tool. It took me 45 minutes just to remove it. Stick to the putty. I’m returning unused portion for a full refund.
                by
                Response from DAPProductExpertJul 14, 2020
                Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Latex Window Glazing. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, such as bead size, temperature, humidity, the materials you were bonding or any information regarding your application technique, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any product usage guidance. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
                  • Recommended
                  3 people found this helpful
                  Goes on quick but does not last
                  I used this latex glazing to do a project that requires glazing a LOT of windows. It took some getting used to, but was faster than standard glazing once I had practice. I was excited to not paint all those panes. HOWEVER, in less than a year, the caulk "melted" off the panes with exposure to rain. This happensed on both the window that I glazed and did not paint (as the instructions say you can) and the windows I glazed and then later painted.
                  by
                  Response from dappwrJun 16, 2020
                  Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP Latex Window Glazing. Because you did not provide any background or details about your use of this product, it is difficult to provide an explanation for the issue that you have described. Based on the photographs that you have posted, it would appear that you have used the product on salvaged windows in a non-traditional window installation. At your convenience, please contact DAP's Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you to better address your specific concerns.
                    Very easy to use
                    Used this to reglaze replacement panes in several windows in my historic home. It was my first time fixing windows and this product is incredibly easy to use. A 10"x10" square took me about 5 minutes. I will be using this product to reglaze all my windows.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      5 Star Review
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                      by
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser...
                      Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                      by
                      Response from DAPProductExpertMay 4, 2020
                      We're sorry to see your low star review. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience or the reason that you were not satisfied with the product, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any product usage guidance. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Don't waste your time
                      I only had one window pane to glaze that I really didn't want to paint, so I gave this product a try. I wasted hours trying to get a good edge. First of all this stuff makes a mess. It was getting everywhere! Then it's impossible to tool in correctly and makes more mess when you do. After a couple of tries I wiped it all out and read the reviews for tips. I tried letting it set up some and running a wet finger down the bead to clean it up...several times...and finally gave up, threw it in the trash, cleaned it all out and went back to the store to buy the putty. I'm so angry with myself for not doing this after the first attempt. Live and learn, though. I am writing this review so you have the opportunity to learn from my mistakes. I looked like I didn't know what I was doing in front of my customer. I explained I was trying a new product and just needed to get the hang of it, but a job that should have taken an hour and 20 minutes max start to finish wound up taking me several hours and I looked like an idiot. Never again.
                      by
                      Response from DAPProductExpertApr 24, 2020
                      Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your frustration with the DAP Latex Window Glazing. This is a significantly different formula in terms of both chemistry and user experience (when compared to traditional putty-style, oil-based products, such as '33' Glazing). If you are not satisfied with your purchase, the product may be returned to the point of purchase or returned directly to DAP for a refund of your purchase price. Instructions for this process can be found on the product package. DAP
                        1 person found this helpful
                        Difficult to tool
                        Difficult to obtain good finish. Too runny and near impossible to tool, Will use regular putty next time.
                        by
                        Response from DAPProductExpertMar 9, 2020
                        Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP Latex Window Glazing. This is a significantly different formula in terms of both chemistry and user experience (when compared to traditional putty-style, oil-based products, such as '33' Glazing). While interchangeable with DAP '33' Glazing for most window glazing repair projects, Latex Window Glazing has more in common with an acrylic-latex (water-based) caulking compound than a traditional oil-based glazing putty. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you and to provide some additional application guidance. DAP
                          1 person found this helpful
                          Terrible product
                          I used to be a professional painter. I have glazed a lot of windows in my life. This latex caulk style glazing is terrible. It is not thick enough to stay in place. The more you try and fix it the worse it gets Keeping your knife wet helps but is very fussy. I can not get the same uniform appearance that I expect from a glazing product. Maybe I got a bad batch. Back to oil based glazing. Bummer, I was excited to use it...because traditional glazing has it's cons as well.
                          by
                          Response from dappwrNov 12, 2019
                          Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP Latex Window Glazing. This formula was specifically designed as an "easier to use" alternative to the traditional oil-based glazing compounds such as DAP '33' Glazing. For experienced users of glazing compounds, the heavier bodied oil-based formula is typically preferred. For inexperienced users, the softer latex formula, which is applied by way of a standard caulking gun, cleans up with water and can be painted directly with acrylic latex (water based) paint is typically preferred. Should you have any additional questions or wish to discuss this further, please free to contact DAP's Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.
                            Hard to work on existing, mounted windows. It takes too...
                            Hard to work on existing, mounted windows. It takes too long to dry and it is hard to apply.
                            by
                            Response from DAPProductExpertNov 6, 2019
                            We're sorry to see your low star review. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any product usage guidance. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
                            • Verified Purchase
                            The product as such is fairly good, easy to apply. The problem I have with it is the packaging. U...
                            The product as such is fairly good, easy to apply. The problem I have with it is the packaging. Unlike, say, a tube of caulk, this comes with a spreading nozzle with a square profile. Therefore, it is IMPOSSIBLE to seal after use, making it essentially a one use item. This problem is ridiculously easy for DAP to fix, namely include external threads and a resealable cap, but no, they cheap out, presumably so you have to buy a new tube, every time you need to repair a window more than a few days out. Also, this product does not seem to be available in any other packaging (like a resealable tub) at least not at Home Depot. This is the perfect definition of a two star product, good, but impractical in most cases.
                            by
                            Response from DAPProductExpertNov 6, 2019
                            Thank you for posting your feedback. DAP Latex Glazing is furnished with a "chisel point" application nozzle to aid in proper placement of the glazing compound (without the need for additional tooling/smoothing). This specialty nozzle is only used with this specific product. Should the cartridge need to be saved/stored between applications, the nozzle can be covered with a standard plastic food storage bag and held in place with a rubber band (be sure the remove as much air as possible). Should you have additional questions or require additional guidance, please feel free to contact DAP Technical Customer Service at 888-327-8477. DAP
                              • Recommended
                              Goid easy to work with product.
                              Goid easy to work with product.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              Did not hold glass in window pane. glass fell out when installer was attempting to remove excess ...
                              Did not hold glass in window pane. glass fell out when installer was attempting to remove excess caulking from inside of window. Ease of use is the only good factor.
                              by
                              Response from DAPProductExpertOct 30, 2019
                              Thank you for posting your feedback. Based on your commentary indicating: "glass fell out when installer was attempting to remove excess caulking from inside of window." would indicate that the installer did not properly install the Latex Window Glazing. As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "5.Install glazier’s points (wood window frames) or spring clips (metal window frames) at quarter points of windowpane to hold glass." These mechanical fasteners are required when installing glass into the frame, as they provide support for the glazing until it develops its full performance. Failure to install these mechanical fasteners will likely result in issue that you describe. Should you have additional questions or require additional guidance, please feel free to contact DAP Technical Customer Service at 888-327-8477. DAP
                              • Pro
                              • Verified Purchase
                              4 Star Review
                              Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              Easy to use, just what we needed to install a window
                              Easy to use, just what we needed to install a window
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              • Recommended
                              It was easy to work with....
                              It was easy to work with.
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              More Liquefied than the tub of Glazing. Easy to...
                              More Liquefied than the tub of Glazing. Easy to go on and spread with your fingers (if needed). Prefer it over the tub glazing, but both did the trick !
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              5 Star Review
                              Rating provided by a verified purchaser
                              by
                              • Verified Purchase
                              Showing 1-30 of 125 reviews