#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet #100097524

Model #18103

Store SKU #984590

Alex Plus 10.1 oz. White Acrylic Latex Caulk Plus Silicone

$3.58
  • Long lasting, all-purpose acrylic latex caulk plus silicone
  • Waterproof seal makes it ideal for interior and exterior projects
  • Paintable within 30 minutes of application
Store
0 in stock
Text to Me
caret

Product Details

For your next interior or exterior sealing project, look to this Alex Plus 10.1 oz. White Acrylic Latex Caulk. Perfect for trim, baseboards, molding and more, it's paintable 30 minutes after you apply it. All-purpose acrylic latex with silicone delivers a quality seal that lasts.

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.
caret

Specifications

caret

Questions & Answers

180Questions
caret
Q:Can this be used in a commercial kitchen on FRP board?
by|Jan 24, 2023
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry. DAP ALEX PLUS is not FDA or NSF rated for food zone applications. For application requiring Certification by NSF / ANSI Standard #51 and/or FDA Regulation No. 21 CFR 177.2600, DAP recommends SILICONE MAX Kitchen & Bath or Commercial Kitchen Silicone. Both of these sealants are specifically formulated/tested to meet NSF and FDA requirements (application/use in inspected food handling/processing facilities). Should you have any additional questions, wish to discuss your project in more detail, please feel free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

by|Jan 25, 2023
    caret
    Q:What is cute time
    by|Dec 19, 2022
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry. As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature "applies white and dries clear in 7-14 days (depending on joint depth, temperature and humidity). Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

    by|Dec 19, 2022
      caret
      Q:Can it be used for glazing glass on an exterior door that is behind a storm door.
      by|Dec 6, 2022
      2 Answers
      Answer This Question

      A:  Thank you for posting your inquiry on DAP ALEX PLUS. ALEX PLUS is not designed, tested, labeled or recommended for use as a window glazing compound. Window glazing (glass installation/sealing) applications require the use of more specialized products. For a recommendation on the proper products and methods for this type of work, please feel free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477.

      by|Dec 21, 2022
        1 found this answer helpful

        A:  I wouldn’t feel comfortable counting on it for glazing even if not exposed to the elements.  I’d use product made specifically for glazing.

        by|Dec 21, 2022
          1 found this answer helpful
          caret
          Q:Can it be used for nail holes in pvc
          by|Nov 30, 2022
          2 Answers
          Answer This Question

          A:  This is great caulk. It should work fine however it may shrink the first application and require a second application.

          by|Dec 7, 2022

            A:  Thank you for posting your feedback. As is the case with all of DAP's sealants, they are designed for "bead" application. The application that you describe (nail hole filling) would appear to be a "surface defect" repair, which would typically be made with a repair filler. As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "Not for filling surface defects." At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477, so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your project and to discuss more appropriate repair product options.

            by|Dec 6, 2022
              1 found this answer helpful
              Showing 1-4 of 180
              caret

              Customer Reviews

              4.4 out of 5
              (1,513)
              • 4.4
                out of 1,513 reviews
              • 78%recommend this product
              Filter by:
              Showing 1-10 of 1,513 reviews
              Love DAP for all kinds of applications. I have used...
              Love DAP for all kinds of applications. I have used many cases inside & out on my old farmhouse I've been refurbishing. It fills in nicely & smooths well, holds paint well, & it just is a very good product that I like a lot. And I like getting it delivered to my door too! I've used it around windows, woodwork, bathtub, filling in all the spaces in the outside asbestos shingle my house is covered with, fixed a few leaks, around counter top, you name it. It stays put. I think it might be holding my whole house together! LOL!
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              5 found this review helpful
              terrible product
              Shrinks beyond belief. Makes you work three times as hard. Never again.
              by
              Response from DAPProductExpertSep 27, 2021
              Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any details regarding your experience, it is difficult to provide you with a proper reply or any product usage guidance. As is the case with all acrylic-latex (water based) sealants, volume loss will occur as the product dries, this is a normal characteristic for this type of formula. Only non-water/solvent-based sealants are capable of "low/no volume loss" performance; however, these types of sealants will require the use of solvent (mineral spirits/paint thinner) for clean-up, likewise, some of these sealants are not paintable. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you regarding your experience. DAP
                8 found this review helpful
                Tired of this horrible product!
                You CANNOT get a clean bead when the tip is cut any smaller than 3/16 of an inch. I’ve installed windows and painted for decades, and have caulked thousands of windows, doors, and walls. If you’re a pro and used to high quality sealants, this product will drive you up a wall. Additionally, caulk continues to seep out despite the fact that there’s no pressure being appkied by the gun. Useless!!!
                by
                Response from DAPProductExpertJun 23, 2021
                Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP Alex Plus. We are not clear as to your commentary indicating: "You CANNOT get a clean bead when the tip is cut any smaller than 3/16 of an inch." At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information regarding your experience and to offer some additional application guidance. DAP
                  • Recommended
                  16 found this review helpful
                  Garbage product
                  Caulked my entire solarium. 2 weeks later all the caulking cracked
                  by
                  Response from DAPProductExpertApr 22, 2021
                  Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any project details, such as: application surfaces, surface preparation, application conditions or application technique, it is difficult to provide a proper response in this format. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain this additional information from you and to determine how best to proceed. DAP
                    10 found this review helpful
                    My favorite caulking for all jobs!!
                    I use this caulking for so many different applications. Any gaps less then 1/8” are good to be filled with this caulking. I typically wait a few hours before I actually paint over it. Use a wet sponge for the cleanest application. Run a small bead of caulking and then go over it with a wet sponge and you get a very clean and even caulking line.
                    by
                      • Recommended
                      41 found this review helpful
                      Whole room cracked within days. Ruined paint job.
                      I will start this off by saying that I am a contractor that specializes in high end cabinetry and finishes. I have used this product before without issue but will absolutely never use it again. I spent the better part of a week prepping and painting a room in my own house to be used as a nursery only to have every single caulked joint in the room crack wide open in less than a week. Paint and primer were standard latex off the shelf at Home Depot. Primer went on before caulk. The only thing I can think of is that this was a bad batch from the factory. I don’t even care about the $40 box of caulk. It’s the repair time I’ll never get back. Very frustrating.
                      by
                      Response from DAPProductExpertFeb 22, 2021
                      Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with DAP ALEX PLUS. Because you did not provide any background or details about your use of the product, it is difficult to provide a proper explanation for the issue that you have described in this format. Based on your commentary regarding "cracking" in such a short period of time, it would appear that the application (joints/materials) that you are using the DAP ALEX PLUS on, may be experiencing a significant amount of movement/instability. Joints/materials that are prone to experience significant expansion/contraction forces may require higher performance products, such as DAP DYNAFLEX 230 or DAP EXTREME STRETCH. These types of more specialized elastomeric joint sealants offer several times the amount of flexibility offered by DAP ALEX PLUS. At your convenience, please contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477 so that we can obtain some additional information from you about your experience and to discuss alternate product options. DAP
                        23 found this review helpful
                        This white acrylic latex caulk + silicone was cheap, easy...
                        This white acrylic latex caulk + silicone was cheap, easy to use, easy to clean & applied very smoothly. I have used this for many jobs in & around my home & am 100% satisfied with this product. I do recommend this & I give it 5 stars. I will purchase again.
                        by
                        • Verified Purchase
                        38 found this review helpful
                        Bad caulk, didn't last a year!
                        We prepped our house, pressure washed it and let it dry. We re-caulked every crack, joint and seam with this caulking. After a year, it has come apart and has failed. We have included 3 pictures of the many seams we have to redo. We are now having to remove this caulking and re-caulk again, after painting the whole house and garage. Very disappointed in Dap in not making a good product. The caulking we bought says it has a 35 year durability guarantee. It didn't even last a year. Now, scrape this junk off, re-prime and try to blend the paint where it doesn't look too bad. Does anyone know a good company that makes good caulking?
                        by
                        Response from DAPProductExpertSep 8, 2020
                        Thank you for posting your feedback. We're sorry to see your low star review on DAP ALEX PLUS. Based on the photographs that you have posted (depicting your application), it would appear that the product has been applied to "butt joints". As indicated on the product package label and supporting product literature: "Not for continuous underwater use, filling butt joints, surface defects, tuck-pointing or expansion joints." Product applied in these types of conditions/joint assemblies, will not perform as designed. For joints where more flexibility is required (such as butt joints), more specialized elastomeric sealants such as DAP DYNAFLEX 230 or DAP EXTREME STRETCH would be recommended. Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please free to contact DAP’s Technical Customer Service Department at 888-327-8477. DAP
                          19 found this review helpful
                          This is a good cheap caulk, I use it primarily for filling gaps between trim and walls before painting.
                          I have also used it for window applications to which it performs well. The caulk does shrink a little but is paintable in 30 minutes. I usually wait an hour or so. I can cap it and it still works great a few months later. Clean-up is easy compared to full silicone caulk. Caulk dries an off-white color with a matte finish.
                          by
                          • Recommended
                          32 found this review helpful
                          Easy to work with. Easy clean up. Looks great. Lasts a long time.
                          Easy to work with. Easy clean up. Looks great. Lasts a long time.
                          by
                          • Verified Purchase
                          • Recommended
                          24 found this review helpful
                          Showing 1-10 of 1,513 reviews

                          Frequently Bought Together

                          Best Seller
                          +
                          +
                          Price:
                          $358