#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 314032888

Model # FMHSA-72MTL

Store SKU # 1005584145

Expressions 6 ft. Farmhouse Alder Stain Grade Wood Shelf Mantel

$258.00
Apply Now
Pay $233.00 after $25 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Farmhouse alder fireplace mantel for a timeless rustic décor
  • Wood beam mantel installs on fireplace or use as decorative shelf
  • This fireplace mantel or shelf can hold up to 20 lbs.
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

The EVERMARK Expressions Farm House mantel will add appeal to any fireplace or wherever a shelf is needed. Made from stain-grade alder, our Farm House mantels have that rustic look, with occasional knots and a subtle wood grain that will give it character and charm. Each fireplace mantel comes complete with mounting boards and instructions for mounting on smooth walls or brick/masonry fireplaces. Whether used as a focal point on a fireplace, or as a decorative shelf in a bedroom, this alder mantel will add character and appeal for years to come. The EVERMARK Expressions line of products are designed to add beauty and function to your home. From stair treads, stair railing, a complete selection of stair parts, and other mouldings and millwork, EVERMARK has what you need to make your house beautiful.

Highlights

  • Beautiful rustic fireplace mantel for that farmhouse look
  • This mantel for a fireplace supports weight up to 20 lbs. when mounted correctly
  • Applying stain to this mantel will bring out the beautiful character of the wood grain
  • Top and bottom of mantel is plywood to ensure stability; all facings are solid wood species
  • Rustic farmhouse fireplace mantel can also be used as a shelf
  • Measures 72 in. wide, 5.5 in. high, and 8 in. deep
  • Made in the USA
  • For interior use only
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 314032888

Model # FMHSA-72MTL

Store SKU # 1005584145

Additional Resources

Shop All EVERMARK
From the Manufacturer

Specifications

Dimensions: H 5.5 in, W 72 in, D 8 in

Dimensions

Product Bottom Width (in.)

72

Product Depth (in.)

8 in

Product Height (in.)

5.5 in

Product Width (in.)

72 in

Details

Color Family

Wood

Color/Finish

unfinished

Features

Solid Wood

Finish

unfinished

Material

Wood

Paintable/Stainable

Paintable, Stainable

Product Weight (lb.)

16.6 lb

Returnable

90-Day

Wood Type

Alder

Warranty / Certifications

Manufacturer Warranty

Yes, 1-year limited warranty against manufacturers defects, Limited to replacement of product only, not installation.

Questions & Answers

15Questions
caret
Q:How much does this mantel weigh? Is the back open or does it look like a solid beam on all sides?
by|Dec 9, 2023
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Vinti, This mantel weighs about 16lbs.

by|Dec 14, 2023
    caret
    Q:Are the corners/joints mitered?
    by|Oct 7, 2023
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi Curious, No, the corners of this mantel are lap jointed.

    by|Oct 11, 2023
      caret
      Q:Does this mantel come with specific instructions for staining, i.e., prep work including sanding, etc.? Please advise where these are built and where they are shipped from.
      by|Oct 7, 2023
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi Curious, No, finishing instructions are not included. You can consult with associates in Paint Dept. For their recommendations

      by|Oct 10, 2023
        caret
        Q:Does this mantel include what is needed to mount this to a wall? either hardware or mounting beam?
        by|Sep 25, 2023
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Shell, There is a mounting board included but since there are so many different wall surfaces to which it can be mounted (wood, stone, tile, etc.), the hardware is not included.

        by|Sep 26, 2023
          Showing 1-4 of 15

          Customer Reviews

          3.7 out of 5

          • 3.7 out of 41 reviews
          • 63% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews
          over priced
          Dont see the value and it was damaged .i may teturn the item, not sure that i want to have to repair it.
          by
          Response from Steve VibertDec 29, 2023
          Hi fireplacemantel,
          We are very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the product. Please feel free to return it to your local home depot for a refund or exchange. If you have additional questions, please reach out to our customer service department and a team member will be happy to assist. M-F 9am-5pm 678-455-5188 SureWood-LNL
            • Recommended
            Worked well for our project. Not easy to find a mantel
            by
            Response from Steve VibertJul 27, 2023
            Hi HomeDepotCustomer,
            Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review! SureWood-LNL
            • Verified Purchase
            Poorly made units
            These units were very poorly constructed with a thin layer of veneer which was poorly crafted with dull saw blades, wood putty and uneven wood colors. See my photos.
            by
            Response from Steve VibertMar 20, 2023
            Hi Ryan, we're extremely sorry to learn of your experience with this mantel. You may return it for an exchange if you wish. Some of that damage appears to be shipping related, but the saw blow out is unacceptable. We sell hundreds of these without any reported issues, so we hope this is a rare occurrence. Again, sorry that you encountered this situation and for the delay in completing your project. SureWood-LNL
              Don’t waste your money
              Box says Alder Mantel made with “solid wood construction” but actually it is plywood box with a very thin alder surface. For $225 it doesn’t even come with the screws or fasteners. You could make this for about $50 so I returned it. We wanted an actual solid wood mantle.
              by
              Response from Steve VibertNov 22, 2022
              Thank you for your review. SureWood-LNL
                Questionable Hardware Recommendations and Overpriced
                Do yourself a few favors when you buy this, so you don't have to turn right around and go back to the store to get proper stuff to mount it like we did: 1) Get a *straight* 2" x 4" and cut it to 4.5 feet long, and throw out the 30" long, 2" x 2" trash mounting piece it comes with. 2) Then, if drilling into brick, get about five 3/16" x 3.25" Tapcons (and the corresponding Tapcon drill bit) so you can actually get a proper 1.75" anchoring into the brick, and place them evenly along the much longer 2" x 4" you had to buy to mount it properly. They recommend 2.5" long screws which is underspecified as they would only penetrate 1" into the brick. Keep in mind actual thickness of a 2" piece of wood is 1.5". They literally recommend a screw length that would result in more length of screw in the mounting wood (1.5") than in the brick (1"). Fail. Not safe. 3) Then, since you now have a proper 2" x 4" to mount the mantel to, skip the crummy little 1.5" finishing *nails* they recommend to actually mount the mantel. No, get yourself some proper 2.5" wood *screws* and again, screw the top, back edge of the mantel into the much longer, taller, much stronger 2" x 4" all the way along the back every 8-10". Short finishing nails, which barely have any head on them, is a terrible recommendation for the only hardware that actually holds the mantel to the mounting piece. Again, what were they thinking? 4) We did also use some heavy duty construction adhesive between the mantel and the mounting piece just for extra measure. Did not do this between the 2" x 4" and the brick wall as each Tapcon requires about 1500 lbs of force to pull out of the brick, so no need at all. We were also happy with how the mantel fit against the brick once mounted, so didn't bother with any messy/sloppy bead of silicone around the mantel once installed. Would've looked like crap along rough Chicago brick. 5) Personally, we also found the color of the mantel to be pretty red. Quick coat of stain to take the red out and it looked great. Overall, the mantel cuts themselves and the seams are all well done, nice and square, nice knots in the mantel, and nice grain pattern. But the recommended mounting hardware is underspecified if not borderline dangerous. They literally suggest using screws that penetrate less into the brick than into the mounting piece of wood, and short finishing nails with tiny heads to mount the actual mantel, and all of this on a 30" long 2" x 2" for a mantel double the length. Say it out loud, that just sounds dangerous and underspecified in every way. Be safe and use a longer, bigger 2" x 4" for mounting, and large enough, proper hardware to mount it safely. The mantel looks like a million bucks once it's done, but don't kid yourself - this thing is worth about $50 at most - I mean, it's largely particleboard. That said, we are happy with the final result and with our mounting solution, it feels very strong and safe.
                by
                Response from Steve VibertDec 18, 2020
                Hi Puma1552, we do thank you for a well-written, informative review. You bring up several points that we will review about the installation process. All steps in the installation guide were tested and deemed safe for the 20lb load rating. The steps you took to install the mantel are, no doubt, able to withstand more downward force. We will review our installation instructions and make any necessary changes to them. Finally, there is no particle board in our mantels. The less-visible top and bottom of the mantel are engineered alder plywood, making it able to withstand the extreme temperature and humidity changes much better. The sides and face of the mantel are solid alder wood. No particle board is used in the construction of our mantels. Again, thank you for your review, and your pictures are wonderful. That mantel does look amazing! SureWood-LNL
                  • Recommended
                  8 found this review helpful
                  Quick and simple
                  I was quite happy with two of these mantels. They arrived fast and in great condition. They were easy to install. The finish & style matched my deco perfectly.
                  by
                  Response from Steve VibertNov 23, 2020
                  Thanks so much, Mangotree! We're happy that your project went well, and that your rooms look great. SureWood-LNL
                    • Recommended
                    3 found this review helpful
                    Poor quality craftsmanship for a finshed mantel. Clearly visible nail holes w wood putty filled in, corners were bent or damaged from probably mishandling the mantel.
                    by
                    Response from Steve VibertMay 9, 2024
                    We apologize for your experience. Please return to your nearest Home Depot for a refund or exchange! SureWood-LNL
                    • Verified Purchase
                    Don't waste your time and money
                    Ordered twice, both times it arrived damaged. No padding to protect the ends and edges of the mantel during shipment, only a thin cardboard box. Very poorly made, even without the damage. Home Depot was great with the returns, had the delivery company come and pick it up to return to the manufacturer.
                    by
                    Response from Steve VibertApr 21, 2024
                    Thank you for taking the time to review! SureWood-LNL
                      • Verified Purchase
                      First order and replacement order both were damaged. Manufacturer needs to pack mantels with foam or bubble wrap protection and mark box FRAGILE. We are waiting for the third replacement to see if it will be the same.
                      by
                      Response from Steve VibertDec 14, 2023
                      Hi KAREN,
                      We are very sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the product. Please feel free to return it to your local home depot for a refund or exchange. If you have additional questions, please reach out to our customer service department and a team member will be happy to assist. M-F 9am-5pm 678-455-5188 SureWood-LNL
                      • Verified Purchase
                      Showing 1-10 of 41 reviews

                      Compare Similar Items

                      current item

                      Product Width (in.)

                      72 in

                      72 in

                      60 in

                      72 in

                      Product Depth (in.)

                      8 in

                      9 in

                      9 in

                      9 in

                      Product Height (in.)

                      5.5 in

                      5.5 in

                      5.5 in

                      10.5 in

                      Material

                      Wood

                      Wood

                      Wood

                      Wood

                      Features

                      Solid Wood

                      Floating

                      Floating

                      No Additional Features