#1 Home Improvement Retailer

30 inch Digital Electric Smoker with 4 Racks in Black

Apply Now
Save up to $100 on your qualifying purchase.
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Features four chrome-coated smoking racks
  • Patented side wood chip loading system
  • Easy to use - simply plug smoker in and set digital controls
  • View More Details
How to Get It

Frequently Bought Together

Top Rated

Product Overview

Make outdoor cooking easier with this MES 130B Digital Electric Smoker. For easy operation, you can plug it into a standard outlet and set the digital controls. Four chrome-coated smoking racks give you ample cooking space, and a side wood chip loading system allows you to create flavor without heat loss. A removable drip pan makes clean-up convenient.
  • Perfect for the beginner or the pro - achieve competition-ready results in your own backyard, without the hassle of charcoal or propane
  • Feed a couple or a crowd - four chrome-coated smoking racks and 711 sq. in. of cooking space
  • Add flavor without losing heat - patented side wood chip loading system - add wood chips without opening door
  • Set to savor - power on/off, control cooking temperatures, and time with the easy-to-use digital control panel
  • Adjustable air damper for smoke control
  • Removable drip pan for easy clean-up
  • Water bowl for adding moisture and flavor

  • Click here for more information on Electronic Recycling Programs
  • California residents

Additional Resources

From the Manufacturer

You will need Adobe® Acrobat® Reader to view PDF documents. Download a free copy from the Adobe Web site.

Compare Similar Electric Smokers

Big Chief Front Load Smoker
current product
Top Rated30 inch Digital Electric Smoker with 4 Racks in Black
Best Seller30 in. Digital Electric Smoker in Black40 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Legs in Black
NameBig Chief Front Load Smoker30 inch Digital Electric Smoker with 4 Racks in Black30 in. Digital Electric Smoker in Black40 in. Digital Electric Smoker with Window and Legs in Black
Save $20.00 (7%)
Grill/Smoker FeaturesGrease Pan,Rust ResistantAutomatic Shut-Off,Digital Temperature Control,Grease Pan,Locking Lid/Door,Water SmokerDigital Temperature Control,Grease Pan,Heat Thermometer,Locking Lid/Door,WindowDigital Temperature Control,Grease Pan,Heat Thermometer,Locking Lid/Door,Water Smoker,Window
Grill/Smoker CategoryVertical SmokerVertical SmokerVertical SmokerVertical Smoker
Number of Cooking Racks5 Racks4 Racks4 Racks4 Racks
View ProductView ProductView ProductView Product



Assembled Depth (in.)
19.88 in
Assembled Height (in.)
33.27 in
Assembled Width (in.)
20.47 in
Cooking Space (sq. in.)
708.84 in²


Accessories Included
No Additional Items Included
Grill Color Family
Grill Wheels
Grill/Smoker Category
Vertical Smoker
Grill/Smoker Features
Automatic Shut-Off,Digital Temperature Control,Grease Pan,Locking Lid/Door,Water Smoker
Grill/Smoker Fuel Type
Ignition Type
Number of Cooking Racks
4 Racks
Outdoor Living Product Type
Product Weight (lb.)
42.241 lb
Total BTU

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings
CSA Listed
Manufacturer Warranty
1 Year

Questions & Answers

Typical questions asked about products:

  • Is the product durable?
  • Is the product easy to use?
  • What are the dimensions of the product?

Customer Reviews

  • 4.2
    out of 481 reviews
  • 70%recommend this product
Filter by:
Showing 1-10 of 481 reviews
Dieting Godsend
I recently started a diet eliminating fried foods and this smoker has been an integral piece of the puzzle. It is very easy to use and allows you to continue other activities while your meal is cooking at an optimal temperature. I have mastered chicken wings, cornish hen, steaks, and turkey wings. I will step my game up and smoke a turkey and beef tenderloin next. The setup and cooking instructions were simple and complete.
  • Verified Purchase
  • Recommended
I absolutely DO NOT recommend buying any smoker from Masterbuilt. I am in disbelief at the fact t...
I absolutely DO NOT recommend buying any smoker from Masterbuilt. I am in disbelief at the fact that Home Depot even sells this hunk of junk. First, The door handle cracked about 6 months after very light use. Then, The entire perimeter of the opening to the smoker has chipping and cracking paint. We haven't even owned the smoker for a year. Masterbuilt did send us a new door, but they refuse to acknowledge the chipped and cracking paint on the inside of the smoker. I just feel that this is very cheaply made, doesn't even really produce a ton of smoke, and not worth the money. I would recommend for Home Depot to not carry this product anymore, as I usually would trust products that I buy from Home Depot and this has been a huge disappointment.
Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportMar 23, 2021
We appreciate your feedback regarding our smoker. Paint is not covered on our warranty as it may burn off during use. We recommend cleaning the inside with mild soap and water as to remove smoke build up. You may condition the unit with cooking oil. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance. Masterbuilt
    1 found this review helpful
    Poorly Designed and Cheaply Constructed
    - Hard to keep smoke under 250 degrees and have to "pre-light" with a torch for anything under that. It appears that the wood tray is to far from the heating element. - The wood tray is very small and doesn't allow for long periods with out adding more wood chips. - The drip tray is really really hard to remove. I have to pull up hard on the heating assembly to remove. - After 5 uses, all the paint around the chamber opening is peeling. I wasn't expecting the moon at this price point, but I expected it to work well with out having to develop my own "fixes."
    Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportNov 5, 2020
    Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please note, you should NEVER prelight an electric unit with a torch. If your unit requires pre-heating due to extensively low temperatures a pot of boiled water sitting on the center rack enclosed in the smoker for ten minutes will bring the temperature up. This torch, you have used, will damage your temperature sensor and your smoker will no longer set or hold temperature correctly as it will damage your electrical components to introduce flame. The wood chip tray is designed to keep the ignition small and last approximately 45 minutes, to avoid adding too much heat into the smoker. Due to the excessive temperatures, the paint may be damaged or it may be due to lack of cleaning and creosote build up eating the coating. Please reach out to our customer support team if we can assist. Masterbuilt
      3 found this review helpful
      Design Flaw for Smoking
      From an engineering design viewpoint, there is a design flaw of this model unit. The end conclusion is that this model of smoker will not create sustained smoke if you are trying to maintain a 225F temperature. By the way, I am a mechanical engineer and an experienced smoker so I know what I am talking about. I have a lot of experience with the Masterbuilt electric smoker of the very same type that I purchased several years ago (Model 20070910). I loved that one… The heating element burned out on the my old one and I was in a bind, so I went out to Home Depot and picked up a new smoker as I couldn’t get an element the same day. I used it that day to smoke salmon for a couple hours. The next day when cleaning it up, I noticed that the wood chips in the tray were only charred and there was no ash. That is not normal and I tried a test run after reviewing the directions and the unit. While the directions say to set the temperature to the high of 275F to initiate the smoke, it did, but when you turn the temp. back down to a normal smoking temperature of 225F it dissipates and eventually disappears even when there are plenty of dry wood chips. After sending Masterbuilt emails, photos, and video demonstrating my process, they gave some suggestions to ensure it was operating properly. I knew it wouldn’t help but spent 3 hours experimenting on a nice day so that I could better give them my feedback and write this review. I followed the directions and their suggestions and used my high-end electric thermometer to monitor the internal temp. with the set temp first at 275F and then back down to 225F. The smoker maintained the temperature levels were right where they should be BUT It Does Not Maintain SMOKE when you are at the 225F setpoint. I gave Masterbuilt this input as well, told them that I was returning the unit for a refund (Thank you Home Depot), and had not heard from them in over 2 months. I ended up purchasing a new element from them to fix my old one. I have since “smoked” 40 lbs. of pork butts for 14 hours at 225F. I am back in action but with the old model smoker. Here are my design comments: In one of the pictures provided, the chip tray is a good ½-3/4” above the heating element. This does not allow for the chips to ignite and burn to make smoke unless you continually set it to 275F. In my older model, the tray is about ¼” and is at least 2X larger and had no issues making “smoke”. Also, the chip tray and feed tube are much smaller in the newer model so, in theory, you would have to feed chips more frequently.
      Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportSep 4, 2020
      Thank you for taking the time to review our product. We are sorry to hear that you experienced this issue. For best production of smoke, please be sure to use 1/2 cup of wood chips (dry). In warmer temperature, we would recommend leaving the air damper open to reduce the heat build-up so the element will continue to remain on. We appreciate your suggestions and have forwarded the information to our product development team. We are happy to hear that the retailer was able to provide you with a resolution. Please let us know if I can be of any further assistance. Masterbuilt
        13 found this review helpful
        Awesome smoker...so easy to use and meals have some out perfectly cooked and smoky!
        Awesome smoker...so easy to use and meals have some out perfectly cooked and smoky!
        • Verified Purchase
        • Recommended
        1 found this review helpful
        day three
        Day one, tri-tip was tender and juicy. Day two, chicken wings were perfect. Day three, got two briskets in. Fingers crossed. I will update after I eat the brisket. BTW, I’ve had this three days and used it every day. Easy to use!
          • Recommended
          6 found this review helpful
          Works well enough but $250 is high
          I have had this less than 2 years and the water pan rusted through. not sure why they used such flimsy material for it but you can get a new water pan these days for whatever reason-covid 19 supply shortage? They act like it won't ever be restocked. anyways, the smoker itself works pretty good. Food comes out delicious if you know what you are doing. it doesn't take long to learn. you can set it and forget it. most of these electric smoker companies have recipes on their website if you need to learn how to do things. I like it because it cooks well, and it is insulated so it maintains heat better especially during cooler weather. My only complaint other than the water pan rusting out is that the pan for the wood chips only holds enough for maybe 2 hours.
          Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportJun 12, 2020
          Thank you for sharing your feedback. All parts, for purchase, are available at Masterbuilt.com. I am glad to hear you are enjoying your unit and its functionality. Masterbuilt
            • Recommended
            5 found this review helpful
            Masterbuilt Pro Electric smoker
            The smoker box is fine but the digital Electric Controller is a defective piece of crap. I've seen 25 other reviews of this product and every one of the reviews says the same thing. Electronic Digital controller stopped working after as few as four or five uses. Don't waste your money on this piece of junk. If you go online to purchase a new controller (which will quickly stop working) they are an average of $44.00.
            Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportMar 11, 2020
            We are sorry to hear this. If you still have the smoker in your possession, we can assist you. Please contact our Customer Support team at www.masterbuilt.com. Masterbuilt
              9 found this review helpful
              THe digital control will fail. the first one I wa smrt enough to buy 2 yr wrranty. digitl control...
              THe digital control will fail. the first one I wa smrt enough to buy 2 yr wrranty. digitl control failed. They wouldn't replace but cut me a check for like $200. did my research think this unreputanle company had changed the design and bought a 140 model which was supposed to have a "new" digitsl controller. his one crapped ourt during thanksgiving cooking. Still looking for receipt, but warrnty is only 90 days so it doesn't matter. SO UI'm doin my due diligence to wrn other wherever I an to not buy Masterbuilt electric digital. I'm inherently lazy and thought set it and forget it would be nice. It would be if it didn't urn itself off randomly. Just spresding the word about Masterbuilt. I' now fgot wo shells onmy porch with bad controllers. (will provide photos.) Junk junk junk
              Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportDec 19, 2019
              Hello fxsales, we are sorry to hear about your experience. If we can assist you in anyway, please contact us at 1.800.489.1581. Masterbuilt
                6 found this review helpful
                I have had this approximately 3 weeks now. Have smoked a number of smaller items such as Cornish ...
                I have had this approximately 3 weeks now. Have smoked a number of smaller items such as Cornish hens, steaks , ribs and a good sized 10 lb pork butt. As far as the overall construction it is well put together. However I have encountered two issues with the unit and have discovered that many have had similar issues. The unit would just quit smoking. once the unit came up to the 225 degree mark, the cycling of the coils to maintain temp is not enough heat to keep the chips from extinguishing. Many talk about the need to have the bottom of the chip tray contact the coils. This unit has approximately 1/4 to 1/2 in of space between the coils and the bottom of the tray. I also noticed that things were taking substantially longer than anticipated to finish. So I purchased a dual probe thermometer and monitored the ambient temp inside the unit versus what the controller displayed. To my surprise there was a 30 degree difference. So back to the internet I went to see other's experiences. Once I cranked the unit up to where the probe was reading 225 degrees, the unit smoked fine and the meat started to cook as anticipated. Come to find out that this is also a pretty common complaint. It appears these folks have got an issue with the controller not reading temps correctly. Overall, I really like the unit but am really disappointed with the accuracy of the controller.
                Response from Masterbuilt Tech SupportSep 19, 2019
                RedSmoker, thank you for choosing Masterbuilt and taking the time to share your experience with the smoker. If we can assist you in any way, please contact our Customer Service Department at www.masterbuilt.com. We are happy to assist you! Masterbuilt
                  7 found this review helpful
                  Showing 1-10 of 481 reviews