#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 326406167

Model # XE50M09CG55U0

Store SKU # 1007039178

Perf Plus 50 Gal 5500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater - WA, OR Version w/9-Year Tank Warranty and 240-Volt

$779.00
Buy 3 or more $701.10
Apply Now
Pay $729.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Electronic temperature adjustment and service indicators
  • 50-Gallon tank provides hot water for households with 3-5 people
  • Demand Response Compliant for States Requiring Utility Management
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

Rheem performance plus 50 Gal. electric medium water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 3-people to 5-people. This unit comes with two 5500-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. It features a user-friendly electronic control to easily adjust set temperature. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 9-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 2-year in home labor warranty. Great investment and value: warranty lasts 3-years longer thanks to the added internal tank protection features. This model is direct response ready: features a built-in CTA-2045 port for easy connection to utility demand response programs.

Highlights

  • Attention Washington and Oregon residents, current state regulations require new electric water heaters to be demand response ready to allow local utilities to connect them to your utility's program; this model is equipped with a built-in port for easy connection to utility demand response programs
  • 50 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 3-people to 5-people
  • Delivers 63 Gal. of hot water in the first hour
  • Simple temperature adjustment with electronic control
  • 9-year limited warranty on tank and parts for long term confidence
  • 2-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • Self-cleaning feature reduces sediment and mineral build-up to prolong tank life
  • Dual 5500-Watt heating elements heat water quicker
  • 0.92 uniform energy factor means it's a high efficiency water heater
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Now features a brass drain valve for added resiliency & durability
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 326406167

Model # XE50M09CG55U0

Store SKU # 1007039178

Specifications

Dimensions: H 48 in, W 22.25 in, D 22.25 in

Dimensions

Kilowatt

5.5

Product Depth (in.)

22.25 in

Product Height (in.)

48 in

Product Width (in.)

22.25 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

0.75

Details

Amperage (A)

23 A

Application Type

Residential

Efficiency Level

High

Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

63

Fuel Type

Electric

Household Size

3-5

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

150 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

90 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

50 gal

Number of Elements

2

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

119 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

45 gal

Required Volt Connection

240 volt

Returnable

90-Day

Tank Lining Material

Enamel

Tank Warranty

9 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

0.92

Water Connection Location

Top

Water Heater Features

Demand Response Ready, Glass-Lined Tank, Self Cleaning, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile

Medium

Wattage (watts)

5500 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

AHRI Certified, UL Certified

Labor Warranty

2 Year

Part Warranty

9 Year

Questions & Answers

9Questions
caret
Q:is there any difference between the Washington/Oregon version of Rheem Gladiator 50 gallon water heater and regular versions of the same model?
by|Apr 29, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi Doug and thank you for your question. Attention Washington and Oregon residents, current state regulations require new electric water heaters to be demand response ready to allow local utilities to connect them to your utility's program; this model is equipped with a built-in port for easy connection to utility demand response programs. This is just to let the consumer know that it already has this feature.

by|May 5, 2024
    caret
    Q:On your website it's showing the Rheem 50 Gal. Tall and the Rheem 50 Gal. med. paired together as a recommended buy. Is this for running two units as a series for larger households?
    by|Mar 30, 2024
    1 Answer
    Answer This Question

    A:  Hi Steve, yes buying 2 50 gallon units would be to support larger households or those who would like more hot water for their usage at home.

    by|Mar 31, 2024
      caret
      Q:Do you need to have wifi set up in the house for the leak detection and other features to work?
      by|Mar 20, 2024
      1 Answer
      Answer This Question

      A:  Hi Ashley and thank you for your question. Please call 866-279-4566 for what will and will not work.

      by|Mar 22, 2024
        caret
        Q:Is the leak detection compatible with a hot water circulator since the drain valve will be open?
        by|Mar 1, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Gino, Thank you for your question. This would depend on the set up. Please ask your installer.

        by|Mar 1, 2024
          Showing 1-4 of 9

          Customer Reviews

          3.6 out of 5

          • 3.6 out of 21 reviews
          • 0% recommend this product
          Filter by:
          Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews
          Junk, avoid at all costs
          I bought this unit in December, and 5 months later the panel inside caught on fire. Rheem tried to blame us and said that it was probably because of how it was installed. Absolute nightmare of a process, unable to get to anyone useful on the phone with Rheem. We finally did get someone to replace, and when they did, we noticed it was leaking that night. When they came out the following day, plummer determined that the tank had a leak. So back to square 1.
          by
          Response from RheemMay 23, 2024
          Hi,

          We are sorry to hear about your troubles with your water heater. It’s unfortunate that you’ve had such a challenging experience.

          The water heater you have reviewed is generally well-reviewed, with many users praising its smart features and the convenience of the app. However, your experience highlights the importance of proper installation and the potential issues that can arise if problems occur.

          Installation is a critical factor for the performance and safety of water heaters. The water heater you have reviewed comes with a detailed use and care manual that provides the installer with basic directions and recommendations for the proper installation and adjustment of the water heater. If the unit was not installed according to these guidelines, it could potentially lead to issues.

          It’s concerning to hear about the fire and the leak you experienced. These are serious issues that should be addressed promptly.

          Remember, it’s crucial to have a certified professional handle the installation and any necessary repairs to ensure the safety and longevity of your water heater. We hope your situation improves soon. For additional assistance, please call 888-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.


          Derius rheem
            The water heater is good but the experience with Home Depot and Fed Ex was not good
            by
            Response from RheemMay 14, 2024
            Hello Hans,

            Thank you for your 4-star review! We are sorry to hear of your issues with Home Depot and Fed Ex. Should you ever require assistance with your water heater, the experienced agents of our Technical Support Team are ready to help. You may contact them at 866-279-4566 from 7 A.M. to 7 P.M. CST. Thank you again!

            Isaiah rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            Bought one and it leaked , Home Depot was good at taking it back , even though the box says DO NOT RETURN to place of purchase , it was a headache, bought another one and had no problems ,
            by
            Response from RheemMay 15, 2024
            Hello,

            We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the unit and are glad to hear that you were able to have it quickly resolved. We always strive to provide a quality product and customer experience. We will certainly use your feedback to help provide our current and future customers have a better experience and product. If you ever need assistance or just have questions about your water heater, feel free to reach out to our Technical Support Team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

            Isaiah rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            • Verified Purchase
            The hot water heater that I purchased is working nice insulation was easy. Look look forward to many of years of hot water.
            by
            Response from RheemApr 5, 2024
            Hi,

            We are glad to hear that your Perf Plus 40 Gal. 5500-Watt Elements Medium Electric Water Heater is working well, and that the insulation was easy to handle. It’s great that you’re looking forward to many years of hot water. Enjoy your new appliance!

            Derius rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            I'm very happy with my new water heater. It has features that were not available on my old water heater. The ability to monitor performance and issues is a great feature.
            by
            Response from RheemApr 4, 2024
            Richard,


            Thank you for the 5-star review. We are glad to hear that you’re happy with your new Gladiator 40 Gal. Medium 12-Year 5500W Electric Tank Water Heater. It’s great that you find the monitoring features useful. Thank you for sharing your experience!

            Derius rheem
            • Verified Purchase
            Don't get one
            We had to bring 2 of them back due to not working properly and plumber told us to return and we will not get another
            by
            Response from RheemMar 13, 2024
            Hello Selena,

            We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. Rheem will certainly use your feedback in our unwavering commitment to delivering our valued customers the finest product and service.

            Isaiah rheem
              1 found this review helpful
              by
              • Verified Purchase
              The water tank had dents all over it. I believe this happened when the delivery driver put it on my porch by himself. I was not at home. The box was not damaged, so I didn't find this until the package was opened on the day it was installed. It does work.
              by
              Response from RheemMar 7, 2024
              Hi,

              Thank you for this review. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced with your delivery due to the cosmetic damage found on your water heater. As the manufacturer of this product and partner with Home Depot we would like to give you peace of mind. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty, as well as a 1-year labor warranty. For assistance with the delivery issue on your water heater, please contact HomeDepot.com customer service department at 1-800-466-3337 any day between 6 A.M and 2 A.M. EST. Home Depot Customer Service will be able to assist you with this issue or transfer you to your local store for more assistance.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              It seems to be working great. Appreciate leak detection feature and wi-fi enabled controls and ability to have schedules and vacation mode.
              by
              Response from RheemFeb 23, 2024
              Hi,

              Thank you for this 5-star review. For additional assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST. One of our experienced analysts will be happy to assist you.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews