#1 Home Improvement Retailer

Internet # 326589656

Model # XE20S06ST38U0

Store SKU # 1001020914

Performance 20 Gal. 3800-Watt Elements Short Electric Water Heater with 6-Year Tank Warranty and 240-Volt

$429.00
Apply Now
Pay $379.00 after $50 OFF your total qualifying purchase upon opening a new card. info
Apply for a Home Depot Consumer Card
  • Short profile design for installation in height-restricted spaces
  • 20-Gallon tank provides hot water for households with 1-2 people
  • Same-day installation in most areas. Call 1-855-400-2552 by noon.
  • View More Details
Store
0 in stock
icon
Free & Easy Returns In Store or Online
Return this item within 90 days of purchase. Read Return Policy

Product Details

About This Product

The Rheem Performance 20 Gal. Electric short water heater provides an ample supply of hot water for households with 1-people. to 2-people. This unit comes with two 3800-Watt elements and an automatic thermostat which keeps the water at the desired temperature. A 240-Volt electrical connection is required for installation. A premium grade anode rod provides long-lasting tank protection. Factory installed temperature and pressure relief valve and 3/4 in. water connections are included with the water heater for easy installation. This model has a 6-year limited tank and parts warranty plus a 1-year in home labor warranty.

Highlights

  • 20 Gal. tank provides ample hot water for households with 1-people to 2-people
  • Electric water heater is easy to maintain
  • 6-year limited warranty on tank and parts for your convenience
  • 1-year in home labor warranty for peace of mind
  • Adjustable thermostat to adjust water temperature to meet your hot water needs
  • Dual 3800-Watt heating elements
  • Automatic thermostat keeps water at your desired temperature
  • Requires a 240-Volt connection for installation
  • Short tank fits in tight applications
  • Designed for easy replacement of your existing water heater
  • Now features a brass drain valve for added resiliency & durability
  • Call 1-855-400-2552 before noon for same-day installation service in most areas, or visit our Water Heater Installation page for more information.
  • Return Policy
  • California residents
     see Prop 65 WARNINGS

Product Information

Internet # 326589656

Model # XE20S06ST38U0

Store SKU # 1001020914

Specifications

Dimensions: H 31.5 in, W 17 in, D 17 in

Dimensions

Kilowatt

3.8

Product Depth (in.)

17 in

Product Height (in.)

31.5 in

Product Width (in.)

17 in

Tank Valve Size (in.)

0.75 in

Water Connection Size (in.)

3/4 in

Details

Amperage (A)

15.83 A

Application Type

Residential

Electricity Phase

Single Phase

Finish Family

Gray

First Hour of Delivery (gallons/hr)

0

Fuel Type

Electric

Household Size

1-2

Indoor/Outdoor

Indoor

Maximum Temperature (F)

150 F

Minimum Temperature (F)

90 F

Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

20 gal

Number of Elements

2

Pack Size

1

Product Weight (lb.)

62 lb

Rated Tank Capacity (gallons)

20 gal

Required Volt Connection

240 volt

Returnable

90-Day

Tank Lining Material

Glass

Tank Warranty

6 Year

Uniform Energy Factor

0

Water Connection Location

Top

Water Heater Features

Overheat Protection, Temperature Pressure Relief Valve

Water Heater Profile

Short

Wattage (watts)

3800 W

Warranty / Certifications

Certifications and Listings

UL Listed

Labor Warranty

1 Year

Part Warranty

6 Year

Questions & Answers

107Questions
caret
Q:Breaker for model XE38S06ST38U1? I have a Rheem 38 gallon 3500W tank from 1986 and it is on a 20A Double Breaker. One person said that is fine, but another said it needs a 25A Double Breaker. What is correct for the model XE38S06ST38U1?
by|May 24, 2024
1 Answer
Answer This Question

A:  Hi SamE and thank you for your question. The Recommended Over Current Protection (Fuse or circuit breaker amperage rating) is 25. The Copper Wire Size AWG Based on NE.C. Table 310-16 (75°C) should be 10. As with all installations, please also check local codes.

by|May 28, 2024
    caret
    Q:can I get the temperature longer? is there a swicht or something to press?
    by|May 21, 2024
    2 Answers
    Answer This Question

    A:  Thank you for your question. Please refer to the use and care manual that was provided with the water heater.

    by|Jun 1, 2024

      A:  Hi and thank you for your question. The question is not clear, please call 866-279-4566 for assistance.

      by|May 21, 2024
        caret
        Q:What are the H & C pipe connection sizes?
        by|May 18, 2024
        1 Answer
        Answer This Question

        A:  Hi Denis, the water connections are 3/4 inch.

        by|Jun 15, 2024
          caret
          Q:What is the difference between an aluminum anode rod and a magnesium anode rod
          by|May 18, 2024
          1 Answer
          Answer This Question

          A:  Hi Karen, other than the difference of metals the magnesium rod are more efficient for soft water while aluminum are better for harder water.

          by|May 19, 2024
            Showing 1-4 of 107

            Customer Reviews

            4.5 out of 5

            • 4.5 out of 422 reviews
            • 89% recommend this product
            Filter by:
            Showing 1-10 of 422 reviews
            Buyer Beware!
            The box this water heater came in was not damaged, but when I opened it there was a significant dent on the bottom edge, another on the upper side and the drain valve was rotated off center indicating that the interior tank has been impacted and rotated. I concluded that it would be foolish to pay a plumber to install a water heater with these defects. So I took it right back and Home Depot gave me a refund. See attached photos of these observations.
            by
            Response from RheemFeb 2, 2024
            Hello Ian,

            Thank you for your review and feedback. We apologize for the inconvenience you may have experienced with our product. We always strive to provide a quality product and customer experience. We will certainly take your feedback to help our current and new customers have a better experience and product.

            Isaiah rheem
              This water heater is poorly made and has been seeping...
              This water heater is poorly made and has been seeping water since it was installed at the bottom, wasting our installation fee and time, I feel very frustrated 。
              by
              Response from RheemJan 24, 2023
              Hi Andy,

              Thank you for this review! We apologize for the inconvenience that you have experienced because of the leak on your water heater. The water heater that you have reviewed includes a 6-year parts and tank warranty as well as a 1-year labor warranty for your convenience. If you need assistance with your water heater, please call our Technical Support team at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST.

              Derius rheem
              • Verified Purchase
              3 found this review helpful
              Very disappointed leaking water heater
              I installed the water heater and 4 hours after it started leaking from the anode plastic cover. when I opened the plastic cap was all full of water coming out of the anode. I will never buy Rheem water heater again. Very bad quality.
              by
              Response from RheemNov 18, 2021
              Hi,

              We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience, please call Technical Support at 866-279-4566 between the hours of 7 A.M. and 7 P.M. CST and one of our experienced analysts will be happy to help you.

              Jennifer rheem
                1 found this review helpful
                Wow!
                So I went back and forth on this. I had a 30 gallon installed up in the attic of my small home. Been up there for 20 years. Was the only place to put a 30 gallon. But it could not be serviced easily in the tiny attic and one of the elements went bad. Decided if I could find a small compact unit that I could tuck in the living room behind a chair. Propane point of service was not an option. And electric point of service I’ve read are loaded with problems with hard iron laden well water. So I figured I’d give this a try. WOW can this thing make hot water! It’s the only one I could find that had 2 elements. Plumber was skeptical if it would make enough. But we installed it anyway. I am very pleased! Factory settings are for 120 degrees. That’s perfect. It installed easily. Seems to be insulated with foam now which is good vs my old 30 gallon that had fiberglass. I decided to take a long shower see how it did. I have a normal shower head. One of those adjustable ones that they sell now. 2.5 gallons per minute or something like that. 20 minutes no problem. Water was still good and hot! Could not believe it. Way longer shower than I normally take. All the other hot water needs it’s fine for. Nice and compact. Heat traps are all preinstalled. Plumber just replumbed the lines to it. Then electrician ran wire from the old switch box. Lower power draw than my 30 gallon. Was easy. Could have done myself but not legal in Massachusetts so decided to have it done for me. I would think this would be fine for up to 2 people. Especially if you space out showers. Seems to recover fast. Hoping a smaller heater will also save me some money. Less water to keep hot. Price was reasonable I thought. We shall see how it holds up. First GE 30 gallon I had went 20 years. GE stopped making and rheem took over. The 30 gallon rheem also lasted 20 years. So if I get another 20 years I’ll be quite pleased.
                by
                  • Recommended
                  12 found this review helpful
                  working fine. switched from 30 gal to 20. saves $$ 1 person. I never run out of hot water on 115°.
                  working fine. switched from 30 gal to 20. saves $$ 1 person. I never run out of hot water on 115°.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  10 found this review helpful
                  Very satisfy with my purchase, I like the size of the tank as if fit trough the opening I had (to...
                  Very satisfy with my purchase, I like the size of the tank as if fit trough the opening I had (to go inside my boat engine room)! Just install it on my motor yacht!
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  4 found this review helpful
                  This Rheem 20 gal. Electric hot water tank was a breeze to install. I used SharkBite connectors a...
                  This Rheem 20 gal. Electric hot water tank was a breeze to install. I used SharkBite connectors and pex piping. I install the unit in five minutes. The unit provides plenty of hot water. I am very happy with the product.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  5 found this review helpful
                  Easy installation and works as expected. I am replacing a 40gal gas w/h with this 20gal for the b...
                  Easy installation and works as expected. I am replacing a 40gal gas w/h with this 20gal for the bathroom and laundry and a 7gal point of use for the kitchen. To eliminate the long runs of piping due to the location of the gas unit, hopefully reducing water/hot water waste waiting for hot water to reach the sink or tub (the w/h is now directly below the bathroom in the basement). Weather or not this will save money is yet TBD (2 weeks in) but the convienence of nearly instant hot water should be well worth it. The point of use unit will be installed below the sink in the kitchen after a remodel.
                  by
                  • Verified Purchase
                  • Recommended
                  4 found this review helpful
                  Awesome little water heater. Fits into a tight closet and doesn't make any noise. Provides more t...
                  Awesome little water heater. Fits into a tight closet and doesn't make any noise. Provides more than enough hot water for a good shower. For being 220 volt my electric bill actually went down.
                  by
                    • Recommended
                    8 found this review helpful
                    Had to special order this item but it arrived on-time at my local HD store, undamaged and ready t...
                    Had to special order this item but it arrived on-time at my local HD store, undamaged and ready to go. After reading the reviews prior to ordering, I installed a brass drain valve to replace the cheap plastic one that comes with it. I also did my own pressure check using a garden hose to check for possible leaks in the pressure relief valve, elements, and the vessel itself. Too many reviews had leaks in these areas and I wanted to be sure. Fortunately, no leaks on this one. Installation was normal and no leaks so far after a few weeks of using it. I replaced a single element 120v heater with this 2-element 240v heater and noticed right away that recovery time is much shorter now. I can now take a shower and do dishes right away and have hot water for both. My only complaints (besides the cheap drain valve) are 1) no provision for side plumbing. It would have been nice to have plugs that allowed either top or side plumbing as my old heater was side plumbed so I had to redo the water lines. 2) The pressure relief valve was plumbed to point to the back of the heater as stated in several reviews. I had hoped that mine would be different but no such luck. Why would they point it to back of the closet opposite the element and electric access panels? Makes no sense and required much more elaborate plumbing for the drain line. Otherwise, it's working well and I hope it lasts well beyond the 6 year warranty period.
                    by
                    • Verified Purchase
                    • Recommended
                    9 found this review helpful
                    Showing 1-10 of 422 reviews

                    Compare Similar Items

                    current item

                    Nominal Tank Capacity (gallons)

                    20 gal

                    38 gal

                    10 gal

                    20 gal

                    Water Heater Profile

                    Short

                    Short

                    Compact

                    Compact

                    Tank Warranty

                    6 Year

                    6 Year

                    3 Year

                    3 Year

                    Application Type

                    Residential

                    Residential

                    Commercial

                    Commercial

                    Required Volt Connection

                    240 volt

                    240 volt

                    208 volt

                    120 volt